Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet

Our Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet is ideal for all saltwater fly fishing, plus steelhead and Atlantic salmon. Also for freshwater nymphing where trout are leader-shy. Refraction index on Mirage™ is very close to water which makes it near invisible to fish. Often you can go up one tippet size and still gain the same results, plus it tends to sink, making it an excellent tippet for nymphing and streamer fishing. Mirage fluorocarbon fly-fishing tippet offers superior abrasion resistance which is critical in many big game and saltwater applications where structure and hard mouths can cause increased abrasion. Fly fishing tippet has line retainer on each spool.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
95 of 97(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Review 1 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good for stripe bass,
January 22, 2015
By: BobCe
"Although the .030 80lb test does not test at 80 pounds it is thinner than all others at the strength it tests out.
I whish it was available in larger spools"
Review 2 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tippet,
January 7, 2015
By: MikeYfromPA
from Pennsylvania
"I use this tippet exclusively. I use mostly 6x and cannot find a complaint about it. Ive used a lot of different companies tippet, but this is hands down the best ive used."
Review 3 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy Buy,
January 6, 2015
By: OsoVulador
from Seattle WA
"Great Line!!!! Doesn't kink and bend as much as a lot of other brands. Has yet to snap when I have a fish aboard. Will definitely continue to purchase in the future."
Review 4 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
strong,
December 17, 2014
By: Chuckb123
from nc
"This stuff is really strong and abrasion resistant. You can fish smaller line with added confidence. It is worth the cost difference."
Review 5 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fluorocarbon Leader Material,
December 13, 2014
By: DWH46
from Ithaca, NY
"I have been using the Orvis Mirage Fluorocarbon leader material for several years. I find it to have significantly greater abrasion resistance than nylon materials. This is the primary use benefit for me. However, the knot strength is also good -- with the measured blood knot strength on the order of 75-80% of the leader breaking strength - with well tied knots.. Elongation to failure is also good -- adding to the resistance to shock loading failure.
This material is available in larger gauges which is helpful for the construction of shock tippets and/or full fluorocarbon leaders. Orvis may be one of the few suppliers of these larger gauges.
The price point is very competitive.
All in all a very good value."
Review 6 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My go to,
December 2, 2014
By: DanFromOhio
from On a tailwater somewater...
"When the bugs are small but the fish are too big for 7x, I go to Orvis fluoro in a 6x. The fluorocarbon won't spook the fish, and the break-offs go way down! Good stuff."
Review 7 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong for diameter,
December 2, 2014
By: KurtfromPA
from Kutztown PA
"This stuff is not only stronger than most, it is incredibly tough and abrasion resistant. Salmon fishing with friends, all using 1X, but mine was the Mirage - they broke off fish after fish while I lost very few. This leader made the difference. It is an expensive bargain."
Review 8 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Fluorocarbon So Far,
November 14, 2014
By: blackandpeacock
from Guisborough
"In this ever changing world of technology it is difficult to keep up with advancements in tippet material. My expectation of a tippet probably does not match yours but I find Mirage Tippet suits me, it is easy to tie and has just the right amount of stiffness to enable a good dropper presentation and a good turnover."
Review 9 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fluorocarbon,
October 15, 2014
By: RCF10
from Rogers, AR
"Since I've started making my own leaders I have decided to use fluorocarbon tippets. I have had great success with Mirage. I highly recommend it as it increases the number of chances to set the hook."
Review 10 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fising Fluoro,
October 6, 2014
By: JackLaw
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Practically invisible, easy to knot and tough gives you an edge over mono. The tippet gives your leader extended life."
Review 11 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good tippet for salmon,
October 2, 2014
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I tend to use a poly leader with a floating line when fishing for salmon from the beach. I had used Maxima for a while as the tippet and it worked okay. But I think I'm seeing much better results with Mirage tippet. Use a perfection loop on the back end and a trilene knot to tie on the fly."
Review 12 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice tippett,
July 15, 2014
By: scoreby6
"Super soft, nearly invisible, ties up really nice....used on wet and dry flies"
Review 13 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IGFA 6x tippet,
July 15, 2014
By: ShoreboundHero
from Madison, WI
"Excellent product as always. Good for finicky fly presentations and holds knots well."
Review 14 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best tippets Mtl.,
July 11, 2014
By: SilverTabby
from Folcroft, PA
"Like this much better than Orvis SS. Mostly use 3x-4x in the spring for beep running buggers. Holds up well to abrasion. Knots hold tight. Like this on my hand tied leaders."
Review 15 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't miss the strike of your day,
June 26, 2014
By: Lillois
from Sonoma
"I fish for Atlantic salmon every year in Quebec and sometimes you only get a strike during the whole day. Well, this is why I use Mirage tippet... strong, invisible, abrasion resistant... I use to use Maxima but I am now convinced that Mirage is better. You get more strike and lose less fish."
Review 16 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice stuff,
May 28, 2014
By: cooleo
from swift river
"Have no trouble with all knots and holds those large river trout to net for a good release"
Review 17 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Pike leader material,
April 7, 2014
By: DannyBugger
from Quebec, Canada
"According to the description of this product, it offers a really good abrasion resistance. That's what I'm looking for to make my pike and musky leaders, from butt to tippet to bite guard section. In Canada, when you hook a Northern Pike just above a weed pad, you know you'll have to deal with weeds."
Review 18 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good tippet,
March 24, 2014
By: FloppyHat
from midwest
"I've purchased this tippet before and while it's not the cheapest, it's been my go to for durability, clarity, and overall casting performance. Spend the money. =)"
Review 19 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
March 14, 2014
By: Dlspa1
"I've used many Tippett materials none as nice as Orvis easy to work with VERY STRONG"
Review 20 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable,
January 30, 2014
By: MOTroutMan
"Been using the Mirage 4x for about 3 years now. In that time I have had 3 knots come lose on me (and that was probably my doing) and only 1 line break that didn't come from me getting hung up in a tree. Most people I fish with use other companies 5x or 6x on the crystal clear Missouri streams and have told me time and time agian I need to get away from using the 4x. 9 out of 10 times I out fish them. I am slowly but surely getting them to switch to this product."