Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet

Our Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet is ideal for all saltwater fly fishing, plus steelhead and Atlantic salmon. Also for freshwater nymphing where trout are leader-shy. Refraction index on Mirage™ is very close to water which makes it near invisible to fish. Often you can go up one tippet size and still gain the same results, plus it tends to sink, making it an excellent tippet for nymphing and streamer fishing. Mirage fluorocarbon fly-fishing tippet offers superior abrasion resistance which is critical in many big game and saltwater applications where structure and hard mouths can cause increased abrasion. Fly fishing tippet has line retainer on each spool.
Average Customer Rating:
4.768 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
109 of 112(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Review 1 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stealthy,
July 1, 2015
By: Lillois
from Sonoma
"Great knot tying power and great stealthy presentation.
I use Mirage tippet for Atlantic salmon, trout and steelhead fishing.
"
Review 2 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mirage Tippet,
June 29, 2015
By: lrbtrout
"This is my go to tippet material for finicky trout. Just haven't found anything better."
Review 3 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tippet,
June 27, 2015
By: Trico
from stanhope,nj
"Mirage tippet works well for dries or nymphs and in the 100 meter spool is a good buy."
Review 4 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tippet,
June 13, 2015
By: JamesVenning
from Northern Ireland
"Although expensive worth every penny. Best fluorocarbon on the market."
Review 5 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Faulty Batch??,
June 13, 2015
By: AndyW6
from Aberdeen, Scotland
"Bought a spool and fished with it last week. Lost 2 rainbows as a result of the fluorocarbon (not any knot or loop) breaking. Tested the material when I got home by gently loading it on a spring balance and found it consistently snapped around 4 lb, nowhere near its 7 lb rating! Just about to return it to the shop to discuss and try another spool."
Review 6 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only tippet to use!,
May 6, 2015
By: Penns
from Paxtonville, PA
"I have tried all other tippet on the market and keep coming back to Mirage. All other brands have dissaponted me in one way or another."
Review 7 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fluorocarbon,
May 4, 2015
By: brizzul
from Bristol UK
"Reliable thin strong fluorocarbon. One of the best for diameter to strength ratio. Recommended"
Review 8 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
April 29, 2015
By: Chromie
from Colorado
"I've been using this tippet for many years now. Never been disappointed. It's strong and has great knot strength. I always choose Orvis tippet and leaders over any of the other stuff in the fly shops."
Review 9 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mirage is Magic,
April 21, 2015
By: AlaskaDean
from Chugiak, Alaska
"I have been using Mirage tippets for as long as I can remember, at least 8 years. My friends and I did a test where we took 6 different brands of fluorocarbon tippet and tested them in a fish tank for visibility. The Mirage is the only one that we could not see once it got into the water. Knots stay tied. It's tough and holds up to demanding conditions in Alaska waters for trout, grayling and salmon."
Review 10 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best tippet,
April 7, 2015
By: Missourimuddler
from Manchester, MO
"Other tippets I've tried seem to twist and tangle more. Wouldn't think of buying any other brand."
Review 11 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tippet,
March 20, 2015
By: Scott7894
"Tippet worked fine. Hm it is too easy to shop online."
Review 12 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good for stripe bass,
January 22, 2015
By: BobCe
"Although the .030 80lb test does not test at 80 pounds it is thinner than all others at the strength it tests out.
I whish it was available in larger spools"
Review 13 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tippet,
January 7, 2015
By: MikeYfromPA
from Pennsylvania
"I use this tippet exclusively. I use mostly 6x and cannot find a complaint about it. Ive used a lot of different companies tippet, but this is hands down the best ive used."
Review 14 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy Buy,
January 6, 2015
By: OsoVulador
from Seattle WA
"Great Line!!!! Doesn't kink and bend as much as a lot of other brands. Has yet to snap when I have a fish aboard. Will definitely continue to purchase in the future."
Review 15 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
strong,
December 17, 2014
By: Chuckb123
from nc
"This stuff is really strong and abrasion resistant. You can fish smaller line with added confidence. It is worth the cost difference."
Review 16 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fluorocarbon Leader Material,
December 13, 2014
By: DWH46
from Ithaca, NY
"I have been using the Orvis Mirage Fluorocarbon leader material for several years. I find it to have significantly greater abrasion resistance than nylon materials. This is the primary use benefit for me. However, the knot strength is also good -- with the measured blood knot strength on the order of 75-80% of the leader breaking strength - with well tied knots.. Elongation to failure is also good -- adding to the resistance to shock loading failure.
This material is available in larger gauges which is helpful for the construction of shock tippets and/or full fluorocarbon leaders. Orvis may be one of the few suppliers of these larger gauges.
The price point is very competitive.
All in all a very good value."
Review 17 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My go to,
December 2, 2014
By: DanFromOhio
from On a tailwater somewater...
"When the bugs are small but the fish are too big for 7x, I go to Orvis fluoro in a 6x. The fluorocarbon won't spook the fish, and the break-offs go way down! Good stuff."
Review 18 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong for diameter,
December 2, 2014
By: KurtfromPA
from Kutztown PA
"This stuff is not only stronger than most, it is incredibly tough and abrasion resistant. Salmon fishing with friends, all using 1X, but mine was the Mirage - they broke off fish after fish while I lost very few. This leader made the difference. It is an expensive bargain."
Review 19 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Fluorocarbon So Far,
November 14, 2014
By: blackandpeacock
from Guisborough
"In this ever changing world of technology it is difficult to keep up with advancements in tippet material. My expectation of a tippet probably does not match yours but I find Mirage Tippet suits me, it is easy to tie and has just the right amount of stiffness to enable a good dropper presentation and a good turnover."
Review 20 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fluorocarbon,
October 15, 2014
By: RCF10
from Rogers, AR
"Since I've started making my own leaders I have decided to use fluorocarbon tippets. I have had great success with Mirage. I highly recommend it as it increases the number of chances to set the hook."