Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet

Our Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet is ideal for all saltwater fly fishing, plus steelhead and Atlantic salmon. Also for freshwater nymphing where trout are leader-shy. Refraction index on Mirage™ is very close to water which makes it near invisible to fish. Often you can go up one tippet size and still gain the same results, plus it tends to sink, making it an excellent tippet for nymphing and streamer fishing. Mirage fluorocarbon fly-fishing tippet offers superior abrasion resistance which is critical in many big game and saltwater applications where structure and hard mouths can cause increased abrasion. Fly fishing tippet has line retainer on each spool.
Average Customer Rating:
4.782 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
76 of 78(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Review 1 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Pike leader material,
April 7, 2014
By: DannyBugger
from Quebec, Canada
"According to the description of this product, it offers a really good abrasion resistance. That's what I'm looking for to make my pike and musky leaders, from butt to tippet to bite guard section. In Canada, when you hook a Northern Pike just above a weed pad, you know you'll have to deal with weeds."
Review 2 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good tippet,
March 24, 2014
By: FloppyHat
from midwest
"I've purchased this tippet before and while it's not the cheapest, it's been my go to for durability, clarity, and overall casting performance. Spend the money. =)"
Review 3 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
March 14, 2014
By: Dlspa1
"I've used many Tippett materials none as nice as Orvis easy to work with VERY STRONG"
Review 4 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable,
January 30, 2014
By: MOTroutMan
"Been using the Mirage 4x for about 3 years now. In that time I have had 3 knots come lose on me (and that was probably my doing) and only 1 line break that didn't come from me getting hung up in a tree. Most people I fish with use other companies 5x or 6x on the crystal clear Missouri streams and have told me time and time agian I need to get away from using the 4x. 9 out of 10 times I out fish them. I am slowly but surely getting them to switch to this product."
Review 5 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great for above freezing but...,
January 24, 2014
By: copperjohn
"i have been using the 4x and 5x for about 7 years. this is an excellent product.. but i have found a couple of flaws with this Orvis product .
first and foremost is that as one of the reviews stated at times it breaks for almost no reason even when tying the suggested knots. all with non expired spools, this lead me to do a test.. 3 below zero, Swift river (MA)... we could not keep a knot from breaking nor could we keep the tippet from breaking ...we switched to brand "F" in an even lesser pound rating (all we had was 6x) and no breakage... this we tested at many times, all with the same results.
and the second, but this may not be a concern any longer...we have also found a great many spools have been wound too tight and actually have cracked the inner spool all but ruining the spool of tippet...i have returned about 12 spools over the years, not an easy task . your closest store to me is almost an hour away..
"
Review 6 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
have you seen ths leader in action - it's great,
January 2, 2014
By: ultra
"Ive been using Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet for many years an have great results. I alwasys ask my fishing partner "Can you see my line in the water" It's that good for fishing real clear waters in the Tahoe Basin."
Review 7 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't nymph without it,
December 14, 2013
By: AJtrout
from Central PA
"Mirage pure flourocarbon tippet is just so effective when nymphing. It allows you to use the the lightest wieghted nymph to get into the strike zone and keep the most natural drift. I love it and so do the fish!"
Review 8 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best line,
November 11, 2013
By: davesl
from Durham
"Excellent product low profile excellent strength
Excellent knot hold
"
Review 9 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super-tough and stiff material,
October 14, 2013
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"Orvis Fluorocarbon is outstanding for building heavier leaders as used to turn over large salt water streamers and poppers. Low "memory", it comes off your reel nearly straight. Tying surgeon and barrel knots is a challenge in the heavier diameters; a small pair of shoemaker's pliers is a big help in setting the knots neatly."
Review 10 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing Gear,
August 20, 2013
By: Traveler13
from Idaho
"Orvis does provide the best in quality fishing gear, from rods and reels to leader material and flies. Can't go wrong and even though it is a bit pricey, you do get what you pay for!"
Review 11 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mirage Tippet, small/medium bass mid range cast,
August 14, 2013
By: ChiefSwift
from Austin, TX
"Very strong and fine tippet that cast well and never picked up a wind not. Been able to pull in small mouth and crappie. I've only snapped the line on an oak tree ;)"
Review 12 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mirage Pure Fluoro Tippet,
July 23, 2013
By: Swearengen
from Connecticut
"Finest tippet I've ever bought. This was recommended to me by a friend who says he buys nothing else (and I see why)."
Review 13 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6X Tippet,
May 1, 2013
By: Fishmaster1
from Butler, PA
"I have been using Mirage Fluorocarbon all year. I am very impressed with the quality and strength of the product. I would highly recommend this product to all fly fishermen looking for a top quality fluorocarbon."
Review 14 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 24, 2013
By: Owenone1
from Hanover, PA.
"I have tried and used many tippet materials in my career trout fishing. This product is superior by far to any other product I have ever used. Save time and $$$ and buy the Orvis Mirage tippet material and you will never go back to brand B. Quality of tippet is excellent and the dispenser is a real innovation and time and frustration saver in fishing mode."
Review 15 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mirage Fluoro tippet,
April 23, 2013
By: HasBeen
from Western NY
"Bought some of this last year on sale in4x& 5x. for steelhead fishing the Lake Ontario tribs. Very disappointed in this stuff. Seems brittle, not good knot strengh and breaks easily for no reason on a fish or snag anywhere on the tippet.Has cost me some nice fish & more than a few flies the past seasons. I usually use Maxima Ultrageen . 4 lb UG breaks harder than the 7lb or 5lb Mirage. I like the fact it sinks the fly ,which I do feel gets me more hookups , but the end result has been frustrating, I'm taking it out of my vest because I have lost confidence
in it,.Maybe I got a bad batch.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 29, 2013
We thank you for your feedback regarding this product. When transitioning from nylon-based tippet material such as Maxima to fluorocarbon such as the Mirage, there are several tradeoffs. Nylon is inherently stronger in tensile and knot strength than fluorocarbon, but lacks the abrasion resistance and invisibility underwater. Due to its construction, fluorocarbon is more dense and more brittle than nylon, but many anglers still choose it as tippet material for streamer or nymph fishing because of its superior abrasion resistance and translucency in the water. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Review 16 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for fly fisherman,
March 1, 2013
By: Duckslayer62
from Russellville, Tn
"I like Orvis product because they are quality made and this product works great . I received my package ahead of time"
Review 17 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The good stuff,
December 28, 2012
By: ZachB
from Louisville, Kentucky
"This stuff does the trick. Being virtually clear in the water you can go heavier then normal. I usually go with 5x but can get away with 3x no problems."
Review 18 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Tippet!,
December 28, 2012
By: VersatileFisher
from Pleasanton, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"ORVIS Fluro Tippet is the best you can buy. I have tried them all. Especially good for nymphing. The new tippet dispenser is very well designed."
Review 19 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Larger Spools,
November 19, 2012
By: MIKEC4W
from Sandonia
"I only use Fluorocarbon Tippets
Orvis has the best I have found
The 100 yd spools make it possible for me to buy enough for the season.
Great Stuff Great Size Spools
"
Review 20 for Mirage Pure Fluorocarbon Tippet
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Strikes!,
November 11, 2012
By: TheBear51
"This Flourocarbon tippet material really does get more strikes.
I didn't count and compare, but it was very obvious that I was getting well above my average number of strikes using the Flourocarbon.
I am sold on this. I won't be leaving home without it in the future."