Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools

Use lighter fly fishing tippets to fool more fish without worrying about breaking them off because the strength of knotted Super Strong™ Tippet is higher than any other nylon material and much greater than that of fluorocarbon tippet materials. Line retainer on each spool. Fly fishing tippets available: in 8X, 7X, 6X, 5X, 4X, 3X, 2X, 1X, 0X, .012, .013, .015, .017, .019, .021, .023, and .025.
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
86 of 90(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pretty Disappointed,
July 15, 2014
By: CJHnh
from Manchester, NH
"I was pretty disappointed with the last couple of spools of this I bought. I have used this tippet in the past with no problems until now. I don't know if you have changed something with it or maybe I got an older spool, but I have had a lot of trouble with my clinch knot holding. It takes me 3-4 times to tie it with out it coming undone and have lost numerous fish this season due to it untying."
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leader,
July 14, 2014
By: gobbleflyfisher
"Quick shipment and the leader ties easily and the dispenser has a interesting and useful elastic band to keep it from unraveling."
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Super,
June 25, 2014
By: SalarMan1
from Phoenixville, PA
"I have tried them all, and I stick with Orvis Super Strong because nothing else even comes close. The suppleness, color, knot strength and pound test per diameter...all make it the very best."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tippet material,
June 16, 2014
By: mikeb44
from Phoenix, AZ
"Great for dry fly fishing...I use Flurocarbon for nymphing....there is a difference!"
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tippet 4x super strong,
May 2, 2014
By: fisherman44
from washington
"excellent strength for size, good stiffness for a graduated hand-tied tippet. I use it in combo with the Orvis 4x bimini and add 5x and 6x fluorocarbon Mirage as terminal gear."
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided leader,
April 1, 2014
By: Cadfli
from Avon , ct.
"Great item last all summer so you don't have to change leaders often."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tippet,
March 20, 2014
By: Biggradey
from Halifax PA
"I have been using this tippet for years. It is the best that I have found."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used this tippet for years,
March 18, 2014
By: flyrod86
from CT. River
"Have tried other brands from time to time, but their knot strength is inferior."
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best tippet material around,
March 9, 2014
By: LWTheSage
from Brighton, CO, USA
"I have used Orvis Super Strong tippet material exclusively for several years. It has the greatest strength of any tippet material I have ever used, and for the same nominal 'size,' 5x, for example, it provides better strength with a smaller diameter of any on the market. The smaller diameter means that I can make presentations on water conditions that other tippet materials would spook fish. In my most commonly used sizes, 5x and 6x, I keep 100 meter spools in my vest. For larger and smaller sizes I keep the 30 meter spools. Excellent material. Fluorocarbon may be stronger, but I find it impossible to use except with fluorocarbon leaders because it cuts other leader materials. It is also 3 or 4 times as expensive as the Super Strong tippets."
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tippett,
January 28, 2014
By: Cessna140
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Landed a 5 lb trophy rainbow trout using this 3x Tippett while fly fishing with a streamer. Excellent product for the price."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the length,
January 17, 2014
By: petelortz
"Highly recommend as the strength and float ability is good. I also like the longer total length spool."
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good strong tippet,
January 15, 2014
By: wildlifepro
from Colorado
"I've been using Orvis tippet for many years and it hasn't let me down"
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good tippet material with great knot strength.,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"I like to build my own trout leaders and I have used Orvis Super Strong for years. Each year it just gets better. Great knot strength!! and turns over well."
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Among best I've used!,
December 14, 2013
By: ArmatureAngler
from North East
"Orvis tippet is among the best I've used. From subtle summertime dry fly presentations, to fall steelheading, Orvis tippet performs flawlessly!"
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong as described,
October 17, 2013
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
"For dry fly fishing, this tippet is excellent. It seems as strong as 5X. Since tippet is the weakest link in fly fishing, I experiement with many brands to try to find the best. I would say that this tippet is the strongest for its size that I have ever used."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stronger than most,
October 17, 2013
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
"I have used this tippet and continue to buy it because it is stronger than most tippets I have used. I fish through some of the coldest parts of the winter in the Eagle, Blue, Frying Pan and Roaring Fork rivers of Colorado and the Meramec river in Missouri. This tippet holds up well especially around ice, which can easily break off the tippet."
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leader material to work with,
October 14, 2013
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"Orvis Super Strong material knots easily and neatly with barrel and surgeon's knots. The new wider diameter spools are easy to work with when building leaders with multiple sections."
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Breaks FAR too easily,
September 18, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Frederick, MD
"Was very difficult to even knot this without it breaking. Absolutely going to exchange."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Performance at Reasonable Cost,
September 3, 2013
By: NZer
from Hawkes Bay, NZ
"Used this tippet material in PA and after using several brands of tippets here in New Zealand, have gone back to using it here. A definite advantage to have a high strength to diameter ratio when trying to fool and land the larger trout here."
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice n strong.,
August 26, 2013
By: Gypsies
"I love orvis' nylon tippet. Good strength and easy to knot."