Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools

Use lighter fly fishing tippets to fool more fish without worrying about breaking them off because the strength of knotted Super Strong™ Tippet is higher than any other nylon material and much greater than that of fluorocarbon tippet materials. Line retainer on each spool. Fly fishing tippets available: in 8X, 7X, 6X, 5X, 4X, 3X, 2X, 1X, 0X, .012, .013, .015, .017, .019, .021, .023, and .025.
Average Customer Rating:
4.788 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
82 of 85(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided leader,
April 1, 2014
By: Cadfli
from Avon , ct.
"Great item last all summer so you don't have to change leaders often."
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tippet,
March 20, 2014
By: Biggradey
from Halifax PA
"I have been using this tippet for years. It is the best that I have found."
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used this tippet for years,
March 18, 2014
By: flyrod86
from CT. River
"Have tried other brands from time to time, but their knot strength is inferior."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best tippet material around,
March 9, 2014
By: LWTheSage
from Brighton, CO, USA
"I have used Orvis Super Strong tippet material exclusively for several years. It has the greatest strength of any tippet material I have ever used, and for the same nominal 'size,' 5x, for example, it provides better strength with a smaller diameter of any on the market. The smaller diameter means that I can make presentations on water conditions that other tippet materials would spook fish. In my most commonly used sizes, 5x and 6x, I keep 100 meter spools in my vest. For larger and smaller sizes I keep the 30 meter spools. Excellent material. Fluorocarbon may be stronger, but I find it impossible to use except with fluorocarbon leaders because it cuts other leader materials. It is also 3 or 4 times as expensive as the Super Strong tippets."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tippett,
January 28, 2014
By: Cessna140
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Landed a 5 lb trophy rainbow trout using this 3x Tippett while fly fishing with a streamer. Excellent product for the price."
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the length,
January 17, 2014
By: petelortz
"Highly recommend as the strength and float ability is good. I also like the longer total length spool."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good strong tippet,
January 15, 2014
By: wildlifepro
from Colorado
"I've been using Orvis tippet for many years and it hasn't let me down"
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good tippet material with great knot strength.,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"I like to build my own trout leaders and I have used Orvis Super Strong for years. Each year it just gets better. Great knot strength!! and turns over well."
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Among best I've used!,
December 14, 2013
By: ArmatureAngler
from North East
"Orvis tippet is among the best I've used. From subtle summertime dry fly presentations, to fall steelheading, Orvis tippet performs flawlessly!"
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong as described,
October 17, 2013
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
"For dry fly fishing, this tippet is excellent. It seems as strong as 5X. Since tippet is the weakest link in fly fishing, I experiement with many brands to try to find the best. I would say that this tippet is the strongest for its size that I have ever used."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stronger than most,
October 17, 2013
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
"I have used this tippet and continue to buy it because it is stronger than most tippets I have used. I fish through some of the coldest parts of the winter in the Eagle, Blue, Frying Pan and Roaring Fork rivers of Colorado and the Meramec river in Missouri. This tippet holds up well especially around ice, which can easily break off the tippet."
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leader material to work with,
October 14, 2013
By: DBFJr
from Granby, CT
"Orvis Super Strong material knots easily and neatly with barrel and surgeon's knots. The new wider diameter spools are easy to work with when building leaders with multiple sections."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Breaks FAR too easily,
September 18, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Frederick, MD
"Was very difficult to even knot this without it breaking. Absolutely going to exchange."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Performance at Reasonable Cost,
September 3, 2013
By: NZer
from Hawkes Bay, NZ
"Used this tippet material in PA and after using several brands of tippets here in New Zealand, have gone back to using it here. A definite advantage to have a high strength to diameter ratio when trying to fool and land the larger trout here."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice n strong.,
August 26, 2013
By: Gypsies
"I love orvis' nylon tippet. Good strength and easy to knot."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holds up to toothy fish like Pike and Musky,
August 7, 2013
By: js80
from Madison, WI
"I just returned from a fishing trip where we were targeting smallmouth bass but occasionally hook into a pike or musky. Compared to my friend who was using similarly sized fluorocarbon, the Orvis Super Strong held on while the fluorocarbon resulted in multiple bite-offs.
If you're heading out fishing for bass in pike or musky country, I recommend this tippet material. I used 35 lb and caught bass sub-surface as well as multiple pike and musky (up to 33" in length)."
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
leaders and tippets,
July 15, 2013
By: fishunter2559
from Alabama
"For me, Orvis SS leaders and tippet material are the industry standard."
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality without Compromise,
July 3, 2013
By: Sedgefly
from Derbyshire, UK
"At 2.2kg test and 0.15mm diameter, Orvis Superstrong is invisible in water and delivers instantaneous hook setting."
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
time to switch out + better product,
July 2, 2013
By: solocanoe
from Fort Smith, AR
"One of my earliest mentors taught that carrying around tippet spools for years was something like not changing your oil to try to save money on your car.
I guess I've listened. Over the years I tend to buy new tippet spools after they get to be about a year old. Pretty inexpensive...and good insurance. (I write the date I bt it on each spool)
this trade in was actually a 'trade-up' for me. The super strong is nice. better it seems. Orvis continues to impress."
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I got this tippet in 8X and even though it is not even 2 lbs. test, it is still crazy strong. That said, don't go crazy with your drag or palm if/when you hook into a big brown. It is not THAT strong, but still will hold up well to 10-12 inch trout. Great tippet!"