Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools

Use lighter fly fishing tippets to fool more fish without worrying about breaking them off because the strength of knotted Super Strong™ Tippet is higher than any other nylon material and much greater than that of fluorocarbon tippet materials. Line retainer on each spool. Fly fishing tippets available in 8X, 7X, 6X, 5X, 4X, 3X, 2X, 1X, 0X, 18.5 lb., 20 lb., 25 lb., 35 lb., 40 lb., 50 lb., 60 lb., and 65 lb.
Average Customer Rating:
4.729 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (129 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
122 of 129(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be better,
July 8, 2015
By: James29
from Medford, NJ
"I have used the Orvis Super Strong Bimini Tippets (5X) for 20 years or so and have never had a problem; and that's why I keep using them. They really are super strong, have great turn-over and present perfectly. I also like the fact you can just pull one off the spool and when you need another one it's ready to go. The only other thing is that I wish the tippets also came in spools of 7.5' lengths when delicate presentations in clear waters are needed."
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tippet,
July 6, 2015
By: JLBrown
"I am new to fly fishing but this seems like a good product. It ties well without breaking and seems to resist abrasion from river rocks."
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Stuff,
July 5, 2015
By: DaiUsk
"A strong tippet of very good clarity ideal for construction of casts, replacement of cast tip and for droppers. Useful cutter on spool."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tippet,
June 27, 2015
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"I've reviewed Orvis' tippet in the past and the answer is the same...this is a great tippet and you can trust it. It's all I use. Enough said."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bird nest city,
June 16, 2015
By: seemah
from napanoch ny, rondout and neversink rivers
"I tried the tippet material on the same leader I had been using. I went according to 10' 60/40 formula. the flies I tried were size 14. the tippet consistently birds-nested around the fly, and the fly around the tippet. it was a mess I never experienced with maxima chameleon, same 3lb test. I used the maxima next day same flies no birdsnest."
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What you need,
June 4, 2015
By: kjv627
from Pa. and Mt.
"I have been using Orvis Super Strong leader material for 20 years. It has never let me down.Just make sure to change out the tippet (4,5,6) every year."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
June 2, 2015
By: Springbranch
"I have used Orvis tippets pretty much exclusively for the last decade. Overall quality seems fine as does the knot strength. I will continue to use it."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Tippett,
May 18, 2015
By: F1y66F1sh
from Online
"I rely on the quality of Orvis for a very important part of my fishing.
Thank You I know that I can count on the dependability.
"
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent leader.,
May 9, 2015
By: Chocky1948
from Teignmouth UK
"I was recommended this SuperStrong by an acquaintance who fly fishes internationally, I have to say it was a good call!
It's soft and supple, thinner lb for lb than its competitors and has good knot strength.
I use it when the winds are light as its so light and supple it can birds nest in stronger winds using 3 or four flies!
"
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Leaders,
May 6, 2015
By: HVernon
from Nixa, MO
"I have used these leaders for trout fishing here in MO for years and have found them to be superior to anything I have tried before."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
April 28, 2015
By: PAFlyfisher210
from Johnstown, Pa
"Tying up leaders with this stuff is a breeze. Love the green color as well, should be almost invisible to fish. Can't wait to try!"
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent,
April 24, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"I go through this a lot as a guide and it's great stuff. Best to use new every season as nylon does not last as long as fluorocarbon. Make sure to dispose of properly it really makes a difference in our environment. Take the time to do it and our wildlife friends and fish will thank you."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best tippet around!,
April 20, 2015
By: Stegen1982
"Will pay the premium and import to South Africa for the rest of my life. Fish landed EVERY time"
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
April 20, 2015
By: Denis47
"I use Orvis Super Strong Nylon in all its strengths. The material has good knot strength and abrasion resistance, with a little bit of give if you get a big fish on light tippet. Great value"
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome and Easy to use,
April 7, 2015
By: Skippey
"Tippet is top notch and extremely easy to use. I only buy Orvis tippet"
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my favorite tippet,
March 31, 2015
By: Tombombadill
from Philadelphia, PA
"orvis tippet works real well. I like it better then any other tippet."
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply superb tippet material.,
March 28, 2015
By: brownrainbow
"Just a great product , fished it for many seasons and always impressed. I do from time to time drop back to using other top quality tippet material just in case I'm missing out. However mostly resort back to this super strong tippet. One reason is that I was fishing a lovely little pool on my local river, I know it holds plenty of fish, I started off using another top brand material, no takes so changed to another top brand material, still no takes. Frustrated and convinced I was doing everything right swapped back to my faithful orvis SS tippet & bang 5 trout one after the other in very short time. Not believing what had just I happened swapped back to the other brand, guess what not a touch so swapped back and again instant take. I'm not saying the other tippet material isn't good but the orvis SS definitely has something. Similar has occurred several times so now this is my tippet of choice."
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ONLY great leader,
February 19, 2015
By: PaDutchman
from Toms River, NJ
"I have been fly fishing for many years and have tried various brands.
I have found that Orvis provides the top of the line with leaders (and fly line). I catch more trout with them so maybe the fish likes them??
"
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
less for more,
January 30, 2015
By: frank3
from Oregon
"I used to purchase Orvis leader material for one unique feature, and that was that there was an expiration date on the spools. I purchased four leader spools, no expiration date. Now Orvis leaders are just back in the pack, even though with shipping I pay more than at a local store for a similar brand. Disappointed to say the least."
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always trusted,
January 1, 2015
By: kwikdraw
from Chesterfield Virginia
"I have always felt very comfortable with all my purchases from Orvis, my Grandfather and Father always said shop with a company with a track record, there is no other company with the same record as Orvis."