Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools

Use lighter fly fishing tippets to fool more fish without worrying about breaking them off because the strength of knotted Super Strong™ Tippet is higher than any other nylon material and much greater than that of fluorocarbon tippet materials. Line retainer on each spool. Fly fishing tippets available in 8X, 7X, 6X, 5X, 4X, 3X, 2X, 1X, 0X, 18.5 lb., 20 lb., 25 lb., 35 lb., 40 lb., 50 lb., 60 lb., and 65 lb.
Average Customer Rating:
4.746 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (122 reviews)
5 stars
103
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
116 of 122(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Tippett,
May 18, 2015
By: F1y66F1sh
from Online
"I rely on the quality of Orvis for a very important part of my fishing.
Thank You I know that I can count on the dependability.
"
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent leader.,
May 9, 2015
By: Chocky1948
from Teignmouth UK
"I was recommended this SuperStrong by an acquaintance who fly fishes internationally, I have to say it was a good call!
It's soft and supple, thinner lb for lb than its competitors and has good knot strength.
I use it when the winds are light as its so light and supple it can birds nest in stronger winds using 3 or four flies!
"
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Leaders,
May 6, 2015
By: HVernon
from Nixa, MO
"I have used these leaders for trout fishing here in MO for years and have found them to be superior to anything I have tried before."
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
April 28, 2015
By: PAFlyfisher210
from Johnstown, Pa
"Tying up leaders with this stuff is a breeze. Love the green color as well, should be almost invisible to fish. Can't wait to try!"
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent,
April 24, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
"I go through this a lot as a guide and it's great stuff. Best to use new every season as nylon does not last as long as fluorocarbon. Make sure to dispose of properly it really makes a difference in our environment. Take the time to do it and our wildlife friends and fish will thank you."
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best tippet around!,
April 20, 2015
By: Stegen1982
"Will pay the premium and import to South Africa for the rest of my life. Fish landed EVERY time"
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
April 20, 2015
By: Denis47
"I use Orvis Super Strong Nylon in all its strengths. The material has good knot strength and abrasion resistance, with a little bit of give if you get a big fish on light tippet. Great value"
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome and Easy to use,
April 7, 2015
By: Skippey
"Tippet is top notch and extremely easy to use. I only buy Orvis tippet"
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my favorite tippet,
March 31, 2015
By: Tombombadill
from Philadelphia, PA
"orvis tippet works real well. I like it better then any other tippet."
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply superb tippet material.,
March 28, 2015
By: brownrainbow
"Just a great product , fished it for many seasons and always impressed. I do from time to time drop back to using other top quality tippet material just in case I'm missing out. However mostly resort back to this super strong tippet. One reason is that I was fishing a lovely little pool on my local river, I know it holds plenty of fish, I started off using another top brand material, no takes so changed to another top brand material, still no takes. Frustrated and convinced I was doing everything right swapped back to my faithful orvis SS tippet & bang 5 trout one after the other in very short time. Not believing what had just I happened swapped back to the other brand, guess what not a touch so swapped back and again instant take. I'm not saying the other tippet material isn't good but the orvis SS definitely has something. Similar has occurred several times so now this is my tippet of choice."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ONLY great leader,
February 19, 2015
By: PaDutchman
from Toms River, NJ
"I have been fly fishing for many years and have tried various brands.
I have found that Orvis provides the top of the line with leaders (and fly line). I catch more trout with them so maybe the fish likes them??
"
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
less for more,
January 30, 2015
By: frank3
from Oregon
"I used to purchase Orvis leader material for one unique feature, and that was that there was an expiration date on the spools. I purchased four leader spools, no expiration date. Now Orvis leaders are just back in the pack, even though with shipping I pay more than at a local store for a similar brand. Disappointed to say the least."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always trusted,
January 1, 2015
By: kwikdraw
from Chesterfield Virginia
"I have always felt very comfortable with all my purchases from Orvis, my Grandfather and Father always said shop with a company with a track record, there is no other company with the same record as Orvis."
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Tippet,
December 31, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Great quality monofilament tippet. I use them from 6x to 50-lb and they have all performed superbly."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tippet Material,
December 16, 2014
By: RCF10
from Rogers, AR
"I've used most of the major brands, both FC and mono but I believe Orvis gives me the best overall performance of all. I seem to come back to it time after time. And when I order directly from Orvis I have no concerns about its freshness. It's an excellent product."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so strong,
December 7, 2014
By: Jimmy48
from Andorra
"I bought this on a visit to the nice Orvis shop in London, with friendly staff.
But once on the river I noticed a lot of unusual breaking with this nylon, especially on the knot. So I decided to change the make and everything went normal as usual. Sorry, but I don't recommend this product.
"
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis super Strong tippet Material,
November 14, 2014
By: Moosieh
from Shepperton,UK
"Always good to have a spool in your pocket. Easy to tie a spare bimini tippet to match your braided leader.
10/10
"
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid product,
October 13, 2014
By: ACPCCI
from Houston, TX
"Super Strong is an excellent mono for leader and tippet material and is priced very reasonably. It ties well and straightens easily with proper friction application. Specs seem to be consistent and accurate."
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tippet,
September 28, 2014
By: Baxterman
from Santa Fe ,NM
"I use this super strong tippet with confidence that when I am fishing, it will not spook the fish and when I set the hook it is strong and give me greater odds of landing it.
I also like the storage roll and the band that keeps the tippet line in place until I need it.
"
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good tippet for the money!,
September 24, 2014
By: cdcovington
from King, NC
"I bought three spools; 4x, 5x, and 6x. The spools snap together and, when combined with the tippet spool holder, are a very convenient way to store tippet material in an accessible way. The elastic bands around the spools are a great feature, as they allow for quick and easy acquisition, while keeping the spool neat and tidy."