Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools

Use lighter fly fishing tippets to fool more fish without worrying about breaking them off because the strength of knotted Super Strong™ Tippet is higher than any other nylon material and much greater than that of fluorocarbon tippet materials. Line retainer on each spool. Fly fishing tippets available in 8X, 7X, 6X, 5X, 4X, 3X, 2X, 1X, 0X, 18.5 lb., 20 lb., 25 lb., 35 lb., 40 lb., 50 lb., 60 lb., and 65 lb.
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
87
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
99 of 104(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Review 1 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tippet Material,
December 16, 2014
By: RCF10
from Rogers, AR
"I've used most of the major brands, both FC and mono but I believe Orvis gives me the best overall performance of all. I seem to come back to it time after time. And when I order directly from Orvis I have no concerns about its freshness. It's an excellent product."
Review 2 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so strong,
December 7, 2014
By: Jimmy48
from Andorra
"I bought this on a visit to the nice Orvis shop in London, with friendly staff.
But once on the river I noticed a lot of unusual breaking with this nylon, especially on the knot. So I decided to change the make and everything went normal as usual. Sorry, but I don't recommend this product.
"
Review 3 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis super Strong tippet Material,
November 14, 2014
By: Moosieh
from Shepperton,UK
"Always good to have a spool in your pocket. Easy to tie a spare bimini tippet to match your braided leader.
10/10
"
Review 4 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid product,
October 13, 2014
By: ACPCCI
from Houston, TX
"Super Strong is an excellent mono for leader and tippet material and is priced very reasonably. It ties well and straightens easily with proper friction application. Specs seem to be consistent and accurate."
Review 5 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tippet,
September 28, 2014
By: Baxterman
from Santa Fe ,NM
"I use this super strong tippet with confidence that when I am fishing, it will not spook the fish and when I set the hook it is strong and give me greater odds of landing it.
I also like the storage roll and the band that keeps the tippet line in place until I need it.
"
Review 6 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good tippet for the money!,
September 24, 2014
By: cdcovington
from King, NC
"I bought three spools; 4x, 5x, and 6x. The spools snap together and, when combined with the tippet spool holder, are a very convenient way to store tippet material in an accessible way. The elastic bands around the spools are a great feature, as they allow for quick and easy acquisition, while keeping the spool neat and tidy."
Review 7 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY FAVORITE,
September 1, 2014
By: FACEANDCRANE
"I am able to control and land (into my net) 16" to 22" Brown Trout when I fish the Madison River---definitely my favorite."
Review 8 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Another great Orvis Product,
August 4, 2014
By: Jvskinn
from Breckenridge, CO
"Good tippet, and the packaging is user friendly. Lives up to the Orvis standard."
Review 9 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works for me,
July 30, 2014
By: BRUCE7B
from Mountains of NC
"I used to buy whatever tippet was on sale. Three years ago I switched over to Orvis Super Strong and that is all I buy now. I have spools of everything from 25 pound to 7x and I make my own leaders from sections of the different strengths based on the type of fishing I will do that day. Works for me!"
Review 10 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pretty Disappointed,
July 15, 2014
By: CJHnh
from Manchester, NH
"I was pretty disappointed with the last couple of spools of this I bought. I have used this tippet in the past with no problems until now. I don't know if you have changed something with it or maybe I got an older spool, but I have had a lot of trouble with my clinch knot holding. It takes me 3-4 times to tie it with out it coming undone and have lost numerous fish this season due to it untying."
Review 11 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leader,
July 14, 2014
By: gobbleflyfisher
"Quick shipment and the leader ties easily and the dispenser has a interesting and useful elastic band to keep it from unraveling."
Review 12 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Super,
June 25, 2014
By: SalarMan1
from Phoenixville, PA
"I have tried them all, and I stick with Orvis Super Strong because nothing else even comes close. The suppleness, color, knot strength and pound test per diameter...all make it the very best."
Review 13 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tippet material,
June 16, 2014
By: mikeb44
from Phoenix, AZ
"Great for dry fly fishing...I use Flurocarbon for nymphing....there is a difference!"
Review 14 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tippet 4x super strong,
May 2, 2014
By: fisherman44
from washington
"excellent strength for size, good stiffness for a graduated hand-tied tippet. I use it in combo with the Orvis 4x bimini and add 5x and 6x fluorocarbon Mirage as terminal gear."
Review 15 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided leader,
April 1, 2014
By: Cadfli
from Avon , ct.
"Great item last all summer so you don't have to change leaders often."
Review 16 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tippet,
March 20, 2014
By: Biggradey
from Halifax PA
"I have been using this tippet for years. It is the best that I have found."
Review 17 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used this tippet for years,
March 18, 2014
By: flyrod86
from CT. River
"Have tried other brands from time to time, but their knot strength is inferior."
Review 18 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best tippet material around,
March 9, 2014
By: LWTheSage
from Brighton, CO, USA
"I have used Orvis Super Strong tippet material exclusively for several years. It has the greatest strength of any tippet material I have ever used, and for the same nominal 'size,' 5x, for example, it provides better strength with a smaller diameter of any on the market. The smaller diameter means that I can make presentations on water conditions that other tippet materials would spook fish. In my most commonly used sizes, 5x and 6x, I keep 100 meter spools in my vest. For larger and smaller sizes I keep the 30 meter spools. Excellent material. Fluorocarbon may be stronger, but I find it impossible to use except with fluorocarbon leaders because it cuts other leader materials. It is also 3 or 4 times as expensive as the Super Strong tippets."
Review 19 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tippett,
January 28, 2014
By: Cessna140
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Landed a 5 lb trophy rainbow trout using this 3x Tippett while fly fishing with a streamer. Excellent product for the price."
Review 20 for Super Strong Nylon Tippet in 30- and 100-meter spools
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the length,
January 17, 2014
By: petelortz
"Highly recommend as the strength and float ability is good. I also like the longer total length spool."