Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TH Zebra Midge

The zebra midge is a great stillwater fly pattern where chironomids are present. Chironomids can represent a significant portion of the trout's diet in stillwater. Sizes: 16, 18, 20, 22.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TH Zebra Midge
Review 1 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tail water key fly,
February 14, 2014
By: livestoflyfish
from somewhere on the South Holston River
"On the South Holston River and Watauga River in TN this fly is a key producer. Especially on the South Holston when the water is low (dam not generating/releasing water). Trout in tailwaters thrive on tiny bugs, size 20 and even smaller. Anything dark and small is a safe bet. I have personally caught close to a hundred fish on zebra midges in the last year and a half.
Adding a tail of crystal flash, and featuring this fly in a purple color would also be a good idea, but black works very well. Don't go to a tailwater without tiny zebra midges"
Review 2 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dark Olive Zebra Midge,
November 13, 2013
By: Mathias
from Putah Creek, CA
"Have been dead drifting this in #22 behind an american pheasant tail or #20 copper john and i gotta say the midge is their favorite. I am constantly pulling in 10"-16" rainbows every other drift with the majority of them chewing on this midge pattern. This one resembles identical color and size to the natural midges I find in Putah Creek, CA. I give this pattern 5 stars for imitation, however 3 for craftsmanship. After fishing for about a week with the first one I had purchased the hook broke... would be great if they could make the hooks stronger. Awesome nymph"
Review 3 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slays Western Tailwaters,
May 4, 2013
By: MantheyFlyFishing
from Littleton, CO
"Definitely the most productive pattern all around for any Western tailwater. I've caught more big fish on this fly than any other pattern...I usually drop it behind a larger midge or baetis pattern. Works wonders during the late fall through late spring!"
Review 4 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality of TH Zebra Midge,
March 5, 2013
By: Owenone1
from Hanover, PA.
"The quality of the Orvis Zebra Midges that I received recently are outstanding. Actually purchased the colors available in different hook sizes. These guys really work in PA trout streams and I cannot wait to get out there and try them out as I have been very successful in the past using these TH Zebra Midges."
Review 5 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly solo and tandem,
November 10, 2012
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"This is an absolutely awesome fly. A very good fly to use with a dropper/tandem fly setup. I've pulled many nice fish with it, all-year round. It works great with a double nymph setup or as a dropper with a dry (such as a large stimulator). Highly recommended."
Review 6 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Required for Eastern Sierras.,
November 9, 2012
By: Floattuber
from Huntington Beach, CA
"Works very well as a dropper while fishing the lakes and streams near Bishop, CA."
Review 7 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout magnet!,
October 16, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"I dropped a #22 black Zebra off of a 16 Pheasant Tail, and dead drifted it down riffles on the White River in AR with huge success! For a while it was hooking a trout every other cast. I just ordered 20 more!"
Review 8 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly,
July 11, 2012
By: pudgy
from Ledgewood ,N J
"The tungsten bead gets down to the fish. A great search pattern."
Review 9 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to Midge,
April 24, 2012
By: drummin1
from Northern Colorado
"This is a fly I can always count on to come thru....even on a slow day. It's so generic that fish will take it even when they are being picky. I fish in Northern Colorado and this one always works, esp. early in the season. The Orvis flies are well-tied and hold up to hours of abuse!"
Review 10 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go Too fly,
April 3, 2012
By: tookie
from Downingtown Pa
"Over the last seven weeks this fly has simply been amazing. I have used size 18 in both black and red, as a single or as a dropper off a larger nymph. This has been my go too fly."
Review 11 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clutch pattern,
January 5, 2012
By: Swan
"The tungsten that Ovris uses improves one the best go to flies. Spring Creeks, Tail Waters, Headwater, Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter; anytime or place for picky fish. size18-22"
Review 12 for TH Zebra Midge
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TH Zebra Midge - good bug,
August 10, 2010
By: Flyfishnwithu
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I've fished this in 20's and 22's in Southeast Oklahoma, and in the Eastern and Western Sierra's. Very productive bug. Glad to see it available on the Orvis site. Be prepared to carry several of these as they do sometimes get beat up."
Ratings-Only Reviews for TH Zebra Midge
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1