Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Purple Haze

A soft hackle fly that exhibits great movement. A terrific caddis emerger fly pattern on its own just under the film or as a dropper behind a dry. purple.Sizes: 16, 18, 20, 22.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Purple Haze
Review 1 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
low light fly,
September 8, 2014
By: fredfish
from Branson, MO
"Good fly for tailwater early mornings before sun hits water. I use small sizes (18, 20, 22) which I feel fish take as a midge which are prominent bug in our water. I think that the purple shows up in low light. For what ever reason, fish like it. Have caught 20in rainbow on size 20."
Review 2 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than I could tie,
July 24, 2014
By: Wanders57
from Chicago 'Burbs
"I was a commercial fly tyer for many years. I could never replicate this amazing fly no matter how I tried.
This is a terrific producer when swung down and across stream"
Review 3 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a fly, what a night!,
July 3, 2014
By: AroostookTroutMagnet
from Fort Fairfield, ME
"Bought this fly on a whim, got it in the mail and that night was at my favorite hole on the Aroostook River in Northern Maine. Trout were rising all over the place so I tied on my favorite, no luck. I tied on my next go to, no luck. Then I tied on the Purple Haze...the trout were swarming it! I proceeded to catch and release over 15 Brookies with a beautiful 17 1/2" being the largest. What a fly, what a night!"
Review 4 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout love it!,
June 5, 2014
By: SkysoldierWWF
from Western Washington
"Without question this is one of the best dropper flies I have ever used on Western Rivers."
Review 5 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nymph tandem dynamite,
February 16, 2014
By: Tigerbait
from Smoky Mountains
"By far the best trailer I have ever fished in success and range of water."
Review 6 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fly,
February 6, 2014
By: MTTroutBum
from Ledger, MT
"This is a well tied fly that I use as an emerger when using a Purple Adams Parachute. Works very good on the Marias River."
Review 7 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My "Go To" fly,
December 7, 2013
By: OhJon
from Caledonia NY
"The Purple Haze is a sure thing fly on Spring Creek, Caledonia and most other steams around there. I get best results with the size 22. This pattern is a true wonder."
Review 8 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have For Western MT,
March 16, 2013
By: skeeb
from Minneapolis, MN
"Both this and the parachute dry are big-takers on the streams of western Montana."
Review 9 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly,
October 14, 2012
By: River
from Bellevue, WA
"I'm convinced trout are attracted to the purple in this emerger pattern. I've had great luck with this fly!"
Review 10 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat nymph,
May 11, 2012
By: Gallagher
from Mountain city , TN
"I've caught many smaller trout with this guy and bought it just because I loved the way it looked also tied very well …"
Review 11 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Fly,
March 13, 2012
By: Tigerbait
from Smoky Mountains
"Very effective fly as a dropper behind a prince nymph. Unbeatable combo."
Review 12 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great potential,
February 23, 2012
By: HafCanadian
from Clackamas, OR
"Well tied and I expect it to work as well subsurface as Purple Haze dries have worked for me in the past; cutthroat trout seem to have a thing for them."
Review 13 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to fly,
July 11, 2011
By: OhJon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Purple Haze, in size 22, has become my "go to" fly in difficult still water conditions. This small soft hackle always works, on very quiet pools in our heavily fished local streams.
I fish it on 7x Mirage, usually as a dropper behind a #16 Copper John or BH Prince.
"
Review 14 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
good fly/bad hook,
July 17, 2010
By: fredfish
from Branson, MO
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The trout loved this fly. Problem was, the hooks broke on each of them even using 6X tippit!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing this quality concern with the hook. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 15 for Purple Haze
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pittsburg NH,
July 6, 2010
By: Anonymous
from Andover, MA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"4th July weekend on trophy stretch of Connecticut River - LOTS of pressure - plenty of fish but they were super wary. After trying a number of things with no luck decided to try "something different" and tied on a #20 Purple Haze behind an olive Czech Nymph. Proceeded to pick up 3 fish - a rainbow, small LL salmon, and a fat 17" Brookie - and missed a number of hits - in a couple dozen casts. This will be my go-to nymph rig trailer when the fish are being picky."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Purple Haze
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2