Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

"The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train

Our 16-foot oval track will go completely around the base of the tree. Stop-and-go action button. Large toy train set includes locomotive, coal tender, livestock car, caboose, and 20 lengths of track. Superbly detailed with authentic locomotive sound, horn, and working headlight. Contains small parts. Requires six AA batteries, not included. Large toy train set is for ages 3 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
18 of 27(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Review 1 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a fun product,
December 26, 2012
By: chazie
from Ulysses, PA
"Had a lot of fun putting the track under the tree, and keeping it on track. Reviewer is an over 60 adult male who remembers his youthful train."
Review 2 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase for home no children,
November 27, 2012
By: sunshinemuw79
from Fultondale, AL
"Love the train but comes off track with small touch. Great to go around
tree and listen to the train whistle. It is a good conversation piece for all.
"
Review 3 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent produce,
November 21, 2012
By: spam2
from Austin, Minnesota
"We purchased this same product 20 years ago. Last year it quit and was extremely happy to find the same product again. We put this train around our Christmas tree. We have grandkids that are excited we have another one."
Review 4 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hardly Classic Train Set,
January 26, 2012
By: JimDMA
from Boston, MA
"Product arrived with marks on the box indicating that it had been used a gift prior to my purchasing. Obviously, a returned product being resold. On opening box I discovered several of the couplers were broken. Maybe this was why it was returned in the first place. I purchased a similar product in 2006 from Orvis and was hoping this new train would be of the same quality. I was very wrong.
It was returned for a full refund.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Quality Toy,
January 7, 2012
By: trainwrecktwo
from Savannah GA
"We purchased the train for our grandson who is three years old. Parts began to fall off of it from the time we opened the box. The engine is sturdy but the cars are poor quality. One drop on a carpeted floor was the end of the caboose. The roof fell off. The next was the freight car. The wheels fell off. Grandson was upset but not as much as his grandfather.
We shall see what Orvis has to say. After all their name is on the box.
"
Review 6 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this train!,
December 30, 2011
By: Sharlee
from Boston, MA
"We have this train going around our Christmas tree. Our two year old granddaughter loves to give her stuffed animals a ride.
The size of the train is perfect!"
Review 7 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santa's Train,
December 29, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Chicago, IL
"I ordered this train set for my 1st and only grandchild. It was delivered well before Christmas, was top qualilty built, and he simply loved it! It was his best present by far! Exactly what I expected from Orvis products. Thank you."
Review 8 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
so-so at best,
December 28, 2011
By: DanaN
from Palo Alto, CA
"When we opened the box, we saw that one wheel was already broken off. The set is very cheap and rickety. However, the price is pretty low in comparison to other train sets, so I guess you get what you pay for!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Product SpecialistDecember 31, 2011
An Orvis Product Specialist contacted this customer and apologized that this train did not meet expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate this feedback and are currently reviewing concerns raised by our customer.
Review 9 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Purchase,
December 26, 2011
By: MusicGranny
from Conneaut Lake, PA
"I am sorry but I am returning this train. It is not close to quality. It was hard to set the track up and is very fragile."
Review 10 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed grandparents,
December 16, 2011
By: justnana
from Glenolden PA
"This present is for our young grandson who will probably not notice there are parts missing. The train itself will please him but it probably won't last very long. We had to use a paper clip for a missing hook between the train cars. The track is flimsy.And no we didn't return it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for under the tree!!,
December 11, 2011
By: grama
from Atlanta, Georgia
"We wanted to have a train to go under the tree for a number of years but had never gotten around to getting one till it was too late to get it in time for Christmas.
This year we saw The Classic Rail SuperSize train and ordered it a couple of weeks ago. It is now under the Christmas tree - looks and runs Great. Shipping was very fast as well.
We love it and so will our Grandkids when they see it and hear it going around the tree.
"
Review 12 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
December 10, 2011
By: Denverdoodles
from Connecticut
"Train came broken because made of weak plastic. The noise isn't enjoyable its too loud and rather irritating. Will be looking for a better train for next year."
Review 13 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Classic Train,
December 6, 2011
By: Osogrande
from Texas
"This train would not work when removed from the box after installing batteries. No instructions, or troubleshooting guides. Train was shipped back. Train is made of plastic. Great shipping container however!"
Review 14 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Train around the tree,
November 29, 2011
By: Viktoria
from VT
"The Train itself and all the cars is nice - however the locomotive is rather loud but it have a good "train sound" - must be on hard wood floor, the plastic tracks are not sturdy enough - Everything is made of thin plastic so in my opinion it is NOT for small children under 5 years - For the price and a little effort it makes a Great Christmas Decor around the tree"
Review 15 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Frustrating Toy!,
November 28, 2011
By: maplessk
"I have a 2 & 4 year old, one of which is VERY into trains. So, I thought this would be a good year to get a train to go around the tree. I would not recommend getting this train unless you have the ideal set-up as pictured in their display (hardwood floors & a tiny tree skirt). I have a regular size tree skirt, so the train track has to run over 2 sides of it. The tracks don't connect well to begin with, but when you throw in the bumps from the tree skirt, the track doesn't stand a chance. Not only that, it's difficult to get all the wheels of all the cars placed perfectly on the track so that it runs straight. Finally, the cheap, plastic hooks holding the cars together frequently don't stay on (and one of the them came broken in the package).
As I mentioned above, some of my problems might go away if I had the perfect set-up, but for $80, I shouldn't have to create an ideal setting. My children have been very disappointed & frustrated, making me wish I had never purchased this to begin with."
Review 16 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this train!,
February 5, 2010
By: enthusiastic
from Northern California
"I bought this train a few seasons ago and have used it around the Christmas tree ever since. I love it and so do my grandchildren who are 4 and 20 months! Because it is not electric the kids can turn it on (by pushing a button) and watch it go. One of the cars is big enough for a stuffed animal or small doll to go for a ride. Since Christmas my grandson who is 20 mos goes to where the tree was and says," choo choo!" The tracks are a bit fragile and it would be nice to have replacements available. I recommended the train to two friends who each purchased one."
Review 17 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Train for Christmas,
February 3, 2010
By: Grannadot
from Louisiana
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've always wanted a Train around the Christmas Tree for the Grandchildren. This one looks like a real train, has the smoke, whistle and another noise. We tried it on the carpet and it did keep running off the track, but think that on a hardwood floor, it will not do this. I think the product was worth the price. If someone wants a really nice train, they will have to pay the big bucks for one."
Review 18 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 18, 2010
By: treetoady
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was a birthday gift for our 7 year old grandson. After I read the reviews, I was a little leery, but decided to get it anyway. He loves it! Other reviews said they couldn't figure out how to make it smoke. Ours smoked all by itself. Very cool! It isn't heavy black smoke- just little wisps. There were no instructions at all, but wasn't hard to figure out how to put it together and make it go. It makes great train noises. The track is the part that could be improved. It is not durable and one part keeps coming apart when the train runs over it, causing derailment."
Review 19 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For show ...not heavy play,
December 31, 2009
By: AnnieB
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Train was functional and cute. Not for younger children. Easily derailed and too fragile for typical Christmas morning roughhousing."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 11, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the train set did not meet the customer's needs. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customers concerns on to the manufacturer so they will be aware of the problem.
Review 20 for "The Classic Rail" SuperSize Train
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From Santa to Eli!,
December 30, 2009
By: Bridalbrains
from Spring, Texas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our grandson is a 3 1/2 year old train junkie! So we got him this, from Santa ... Christmas morning he went bonkers! All other gifts were totally ignored! The only problem was no one could figure out how to make it smoke. But he didn't know it was supposed to, so it didn't bother him a bit. It will come out, now, every Christmas, around the tree, with wonderful memories to be relived each time."