Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts

Prewashed for softness, our women's signature 8-oz. cotton denim shorts have roomy front patch pockets, two back button-through pockets, and button-detail belt loops. Fly-front closure. Women's cotton denim shorts in chambray, white, stone, dark indigo. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 6-20; 8" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
5
71 of 85(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Review 1 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable & Practical,
April 10, 2014
By: Svenflicka
from Norwood, MA
"Great for casual wear walking the dog or gardening in comfort and style."
Review 2 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pair to go Anywhere,
April 2, 2014
By: NaplesStarShopper6384
from Massachusetts
"The fit and styling are perfect. You don't often see the nice detailing like the buttons, and the length is good. Neither too short nor too long.so very comfortable!"
Review 3 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I expected,
March 31, 2014
By: wapitihunter1
from Northern Wisconsin
"These are rather nice shorts, however, they are below the waist and that's not something I've come to expect from Orvis. That kind of fit is okay if you are 20 but Orvis normally has great clothing for the average person. Had to send them back."
Review 4 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic fit,
March 20, 2014
By: Marylynnjbfb37
from Katy, TX
"These are the second pair of Vintage Denim shorts I have purchased. They have a great fit and the fabric is very soft and comfy. The length is just right (not too short and not too long)."
Review 5 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Low Rise & runs small,
March 18, 2014
By: missutility
from Denver, CO
"Disappointed that these shorts run at least one size smaller in the waist than other Orvis pants. I'm usually a 16, but these didn't come close to fastening. Order up a size (maybe 2 sizes) from your usual Orvis size. Back to the local store they went."
Review 6 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate Comfort,
March 1, 2014
By: QuailHollow
from Williamsburg, VA
"Ultimate comfort for summer. True to size, easy care."
Review 7 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific shorts,
January 20, 2014
By: shoppingnana
from Cleveland, Ohio
"I have been looking for denim shorts for a while. When I saw them advertised by Orvis, I knew they would be just what I wanted. Can't wait for warmer weather to wear them."
Review 8 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase Great price,
December 20, 2013
By: 9goldens
from Austin,TX
"These shorts are exactly as stated! They are light weight and have a great fit! I would reccommend them to others!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A repeat order,
November 18, 2013
By: Rutilus
from Oxfordshire
"Delighted to order more Vintage Denim explorer Shorts.I have found the cut/fit to be excellent and the material is soft and most comfortable. This item washes well and needs minimum ironing.
I now have a pair of every colour, And they are de- rigeur whenever the weather is suitable for shorts.
"
Review 10 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denim shorts,
November 18, 2013
By: helentblue
from Dothan, AL
"These shorts look great and are comfortable at the same time."
Review 11 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit,
October 24, 2013
By: SGAH
"I bought both the denim and chambray version of these shorts and am thrilled with the cut, the fabric, the overall fit. True to Orvis quality, these are a winner."
Review 12 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well-made, conservative.,
October 15, 2013
By: horsesandhounds
from Central Montana
"These shorts are well constructed, the length is perfect, and the fabric is nice. The legs, however, are very wide. Unfortunately, they weren't flattering on me. I so much wanted these to work."
Review 13 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shorts I've found,
October 9, 2013
By: 123BD
from Gaithersburg, MD
"These shorts are comfortable and fit just right. They look great with a tee shirt or blouse and go anywhere."
Review 14 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fit ever!,
September 25, 2013
By: IDClair5
from Oakton, VA
"WOW! what a great fit! love these to wear to work! have received alot of compliements!"
Review 15 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Every day Shorts,
September 15, 2013
By: wildsmith
from Broomall, PA
"Having 2 pair of the dark indigo in my closet in size 14 I lost weight over last winter so I bought 3 pair of size 12 in the Spring. What could be better than having a white pair and a chambray pair also. Both the new shorts are wonderful. I consider these shorts the perfect fit, perfect fabrics and perfect for every day wear. I particularly like the straight sides so that they look trim, neat and modern in the broad sense. I obviously love these shorts."
Review 16 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
September 9, 2013
By: ScottishLass
"Right size, right length and very comfortable. Denim is not too heavy."
Review 17 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explorer Shorts,
September 2, 2013
By: Jenifer
from London
"Perfect fit, great quality material. Very satisfied"
Review 18 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big legs,
August 23, 2013
By: longtoesII
from North Carolina
"I like these shorts and will keep them but the leg openings are bigger than I expected and bigger than pictured. Material is good quality and I like the style."
Review 19 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Denim shorts,
August 5, 2013
By: huskydog3
from La Crescenta, CA
"These are quality fabric denim shorts. They are nicely sewn. I think they run just a smidge small."
Review 20 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable Casual Shorts,
July 28, 2013
By: Truly
from Northern Vermont
"This is my 3rd or 4th pair of shorts in this style. They are comfortable, well made and the length is good. My only complaint is that the "chambray" is heavier and darker than previously and is more like washed denim."