Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts

Prewashed for softness, our women's signature 8-oz. cotton denim shorts have roomy front patch pockets, two back button-through pockets, and button-detail belt loops. Fly-front closure. Women's cotton denim shorts in chambray, white, stone, dark indigo. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 6-20; 8" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.215 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
5
78 of 93(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Review 1 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally!,
July 29, 2014
By: TBSS
from Texas
"At last I've found a short with the fit I've been seeking for years. It sits nicely at my waist, not below, and the length is perfect. Most pants and shorts are cut to fit "slightly" below the waist but they won't stay up. I am constantly hitching up my drawers. Love these! Thanks, Orvis."
Review 2 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable,
July 16, 2014
By: Galadriel
from Austin, TX
"These shorts are super comfortable because of the softened fabric. They look neat and are just the right length for me. I am 5'4", 112 lbs and ordered a size 6, which fits perfectly. They seem sturdy enough to hold up well and have good workmanship."
Review 3 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vintage Denim Explorer Shorts,
July 10, 2014
By: catBerry
from Panama City, FL
"My first pair of these shorts was spurred by a sale price promotion to buy these shorts and it was a good decision. I like these old fashioned shorts so much because they make me feel like a kid."
Review 4 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made, good pockets,
May 6, 2014
By: redgrandma
from NYS
"These shorts are based on the older sizing, so they run small. I had to return the first pair I ordered but when the replacement arrived, they fit perfectly. The legs are rather wide but I think this will make them cooler to wear. (We are still waiting for shorts weather.)"
Review 5 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well-made shorts,
May 3, 2014
By: Galadriel
from Austin, TX
"These shorts are just right -- right length, right weight, right fit. They will see a lot of use this summer."
Review 6 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
April 23, 2014
By: oliveqn
from California
"these denim shorts are great! Fit right out of the box. very nice. The look with the contrast stitching is nice. As Orvis usual, the quality is definitely there."
Review 7 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explorer Shorts,
April 22, 2014
By: JoanneB
from NC
"I love these shorts. The fit is perfect and comfortable. They are well made. I have them in several colors."
Review 8 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
April 21, 2014
By: bonjac
from poland, Ohio
"The two pairs of shorts were both skimpy and small sized...disappointed in the fabric.
Both returned.
"
Review 9 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable & Practical,
April 10, 2014
By: Svenflicka
from Norwood, MA
"Great for casual wear walking the dog or gardening in comfort and style."
Review 10 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pair to go Anywhere,
April 2, 2014
By: NaplesStarShopper6384
from Massachusetts
"The fit and styling are perfect. You don't often see the nice detailing like the buttons, and the length is good. Neither too short nor too long.so very comfortable!"
Review 11 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I expected,
March 31, 2014
By: wapitihunter1
from Northern Wisconsin
"These are rather nice shorts, however, they are below the waist and that's not something I've come to expect from Orvis. That kind of fit is okay if you are 20 but Orvis normally has great clothing for the average person. Had to send them back."
Review 12 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic fit,
March 20, 2014
By: Marylynnjbfb37
from Katy, TX
"These are the second pair of Vintage Denim shorts I have purchased. They have a great fit and the fabric is very soft and comfy. The length is just right (not too short and not too long)."
Review 13 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Low Rise & runs small,
March 18, 2014
By: missutility
from Denver, CO
"Disappointed that these shorts run at least one size smaller in the waist than other Orvis pants. I'm usually a 16, but these didn't come close to fastening. Order up a size (maybe 2 sizes) from your usual Orvis size. Back to the local store they went."
Review 14 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate Comfort,
March 1, 2014
By: QuailHollow
from Williamsburg, VA
"Ultimate comfort for summer. True to size, easy care."
Review 15 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific shorts,
January 20, 2014
By: shoppingnana
from Cleveland, Ohio
"I have been looking for denim shorts for a while. When I saw them advertised by Orvis, I knew they would be just what I wanted. Can't wait for warmer weather to wear them."
Review 16 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase Great price,
December 20, 2013
By: 9goldens
from Austin,TX
"These shorts are exactly as stated! They are light weight and have a great fit! I would reccommend them to others!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A repeat order,
November 18, 2013
By: Rutilus
from Oxfordshire
"Delighted to order more Vintage Denim explorer Shorts.I have found the cut/fit to be excellent and the material is soft and most comfortable. This item washes well and needs minimum ironing.
I now have a pair of every colour, And they are de- rigeur whenever the weather is suitable for shorts.
"
Review 18 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denim shorts,
November 18, 2013
By: helentblue
from Dothan, AL
"These shorts look great and are comfortable at the same time."
Review 19 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit,
October 24, 2013
By: SGAH
"I bought both the denim and chambray version of these shorts and am thrilled with the cut, the fabric, the overall fit. True to Orvis quality, these are a winner."
Review 20 for Vintage Denim™ Explorer Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well-made, conservative.,
October 15, 2013
By: horsesandhounds
from Central Montana
"These shorts are well constructed, the length is perfect, and the fabric is nice. The legs, however, are very wide. Unfortunately, they weren't flattering on me. I so much wanted these to work."