Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Fern Print Dress

Batik printed by hand in shades of blue and white, this button-front summer dress has short sleeves, pin tucks for shape, and box-pleat trim along the open V-neckline and sleeves. Unlined for warm-weather comfort. Button front summer dress in blue print. Rayon. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8); about 28" long from waistline.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
6
37 of 52(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fern Print Dress
Review 1 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
sizing off,
February 28, 2013
By: gramto9
from Ocala, Fl.
"This was my 1st Orvis order so I assumed that the sizing would be the same as most. I ordered a small in this dress & it was HUGE! Loved the fabric & the style but couldn't have altered it enough to fit me properly. I usually wear a small so I was very disappointed."
Review 2 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dress!,
July 25, 2012
By: MsToba4
from Canada
"This was my first order, so I was unsure of the quality and sizing. The medium was a perfect fit and the fabric is top notch! I thought it might be thin and flimsy, but it has enough weight to hold it's shape. I'm sure it will become one of my favorite dresses. I will definitely be ordering more items! And thanks for the super fast delivery!"
Review 3 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviews Help,
June 11, 2012
By: chambersinger
from Lexington, KY
"I purchased this dress based on the reviews I read. I was not disappointed. It is classic and summery. I found the sizing (M) to be generous but not overly so, and the overall lines of the dress are very slimming (it can hide small muffin-tops!). It looks good with pearls or a mid-size stone/quartz necklace."
Review 4 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely garment,
June 5, 2012
By: skinny1
from Thornton, AR
"This is a beautiful and well made garment. I returned it because the fit was a bit boxy for my taste."
Review 5 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
blue fern,
May 24, 2012
By: pam425
from Spotsylvania, VA
"I ordered a small and not sure even if this had come in a petite small it would have worked. I had to return it. It draped the floor and just hung like a sack of potatoes on me. I did not need to unbotton, just pulled it over my head. I'm 5', 120 lbs. But know that Orvis is generous in it's sizing. Also had an unpleasant odor."
Review 6 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase,
May 23, 2012
By: tattar4now
from Fort Pierce,Florida
"I love wearing this dress.! I oftern have problums with dresses.Some are to long and I have to take them to the dress maker to have a fitting.Not with ths dress. I took it right out of the box,put it on and off I went. The material is nice to the touch. I recived many compliments on this dress. Iffyou ever have it in differant collours. I will buy it again."
Review 7 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I expected,
May 11, 2012
By: NanaLove
from NC
"I really like the look of this dress and the flow of it in the picture but the cut on the neck is so matronly that I couldn't bear to wear it. I am getting to that age but I don't need any help getting there. Please look for the flow and the modest front cut but please try to keep it young. All of us young grandmas would appreciate it."
Review 8 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Flattering,
May 7, 2012
By: LeslieN
from San Antonio, TX
"This dress fits beautifully and is extremely comfortable in the extreme heat of south Texas. The pleated details add a distinct touch to the dress. I received many compliments on the dress and am very happy with this purchase. I love this dress!"
Review 9 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
so disappointing,
April 27, 2012
By: MollyR
"Dress was very nice, usually wear large but medium fit perfectly, but returned immediately because smell was terrible--very pungent--a day of airing did nothing. Spouse asked me to get it out of the house! A few previous reviewers had trouble with this too, and did not seem to resolve the problem, so, sigh, am still looking for a dress for summer wedding."
Review 10 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very nice looking,
April 19, 2012
By: Lechientigre
from Boulder ,Co
"I give it 3 stars because it smells hideous ! it is probably the method for treating the colour but still smells bad .I air it on outdoor line for 3 days still the scent lingers. Also beware the size ,can be roomier than expected. I am petit around size 8-10 and medium was big but I fixed it wearing with a nice belt."
Review 11 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versital Dress,
April 12, 2012
By: Beachreader
from Morehead City, NC
"I needed a dress for several spring showers and an outdoor vineyard reception. When I saw this dress, I knew it would work! I live in an area that be quite humid in the early summer and linen often looks a mess so the great light material of this dress is just what I needed."
Review 12 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
April 10, 2012
By: kmore
"the fit was a size and a half larger than the size I typically wear and the size I ordered. Very disappointing. Has a frumpy fit to it, compared to the catalog picture, maybe do to the size disparity?"
Review 13 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lovely, but ...,
April 10, 2012
By: countrygirlinthecity
from Oklahoma
"The dress fit well & was just the look I wanted; however, the processing odor (strong & noxious) would NOT go away. It was aired outside over night, hanging inside for another day and still it stank. Perhaps dry-cleaning, but that's another $5-6 with no assurance that would help.
It went back. Sorry."
Review 14 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good replacement,
April 10, 2012
By: shilly
from Warwick UK
"this has been bought as a replacement for a similar dress purchased from Orvis at least 6 years ago, and which has given wonderful service. I hope this will be as useful in the hot weather. the neck is high enough, and the sleeves loose enough, so all I need is the weather!"
Review 15 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Love Love this dress!,
September 21, 2011
By: luv2shopfromhome
"I was really hesitant to order this dress based on some of the reviews but I'm glad I did. I ordered a size smaller than usual and it fits perfectly. It is so comfortable and casual but could be dressed up as well - it will be a summer favourite for me!"
Review 16 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oh, this dress!,
August 15, 2011
By: lora
"I'm wearing this dress for my daughter's wedding. The venue will be nature/music type place in Catskills of NY (semi-formal). Could be hot or cool so i can just wear nice cover if needed. (dark blue)
Had a seamstress shorten sleeves, add a snap at top of button front, tack down a couple of pleats at shoulders and add thin shoulder pads. Feels so amazingly comfortable! Wearing white huracha- type sandals.
Only wish I had the nerve to wear white cowboy boots and jeans jacket!!!!"
Review 17 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart/casual,
August 1, 2011
By: labrador10
from Devizes, UK.
"Happy with this purchase which can be dressed up or stay casual too. Hand washing is OK too although advice was for dry cleaning."
Review 18 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful for hot weather,
July 17, 2011
By: clerk
"The dress is great for work or going out afterwards. Colors are vibrant; good buttons; spacious fit."
Review 19 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice dress,
July 5, 2011
By: missprissintexas
from texas
"I like this dress. The more you wear it the fabric stretches. So I followed the directions of a little tag on the dress that said you could hand wash this dress and it will shrink up. So I wear the dress, then use my trusty woollite and hang the dress to dry. The dress shrinks up and then i wear it around a bit before i leave the house and it stretches to a good fit.... not too tight and not too loose. This dress is great for the hot weather! I am not disappointed in my purchase, as it is so hard to find clothes that i like."
Review 20 for Fern Print Dress
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool,
July 4, 2011
By: AVL1
from Arlington, VA
"This dress is comfortable and cool, I love it. It can be dressed up for the office with a jacket. And it is perfect for a casual outing with friends. The only thing I would change is the length; a tad bit shorter would be awesome. If I was a taller woman it would be perfect, but I am only 5'2". Maybe the next version will be the right length..."