Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse

With a face-framing portrait collar, our button front linen blouse has inverted pleats in front, slight shirring at the top of the sleeves, and darts in front and back for shape. Short sleeves, slightly curved hem. Pure linen. Washable. Imported.Sizes: 10; about 23" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Review 1 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OK,
January 28, 2013
By: JAMH
from Chicago
"It's a good quality blouse, but the collar is a bit odd. From the photo, I couldn't really tell what the collar looked like. Still, it's nice enough."
Review 2 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unusual features but a good choice,
May 5, 2012
By: Steve001
from NC
"The blouse has two unusual features...the shoulders are puffed a bit, but not exaggerated, and the collar is wrinkled as if it were not designed properly. I'm not sure why that was a feature (perhaps a mistake), but overall the shape of the collar and the quality of the garment is very nice. When actually worn, neither feature is negative eye catching. It's worth the buy."
Review 3 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 29, 2012
By: cannotfindafreename
"softer material than I thought it would be and fit and price was good"
Review 4 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for the fall,
September 28, 2011
By: garunner
from ga.
"I love this blouse, the fabric is a little heavier than most linen blouses, so it's great for the fall season.The collar just makes it extra special."
Review 5 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Devil in the details,
June 15, 2011
By: ILoveLinen
from SF Bay Area, California
"I've been looking this spring for linen blouses, and they're not so easy to find. This one looked perfect online. Unfortunately, upon receiving it, I found that there were a couple of design details that I hadn't noticed on the website photo, namely the tiny pleats in the collar and the slight puffing of the sleeves at the shoulder. The blouse seems well-made, and the quality of the fabric is very good, but I was looking for a cleaner, simpler style, so I exchanged this for a different style."
Review 6 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great style,
June 9, 2011
By: Swe66
from Edinburgh, UK
"I love the collar on this blouse. And the fabric is pretty light so perfect for summer. everything about this top is great and would definitely be recommending this to my daughters!"
Review 7 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not so good,
May 25, 2011
By: sara12345
"Loved the linen fabric but could not get by the tucks in the collar - did not see them in the catalogue photo and as a seamstress, they just looked like poor workmanship to me rather than a design detail. So I returned it."
Review 8 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pretty shirt,
May 23, 2011
By: momosmom
"lovely material and color, beautifully designed neckline, but the material in the collar was bunched, not smooth, maybe intentional, but looked unironed to me."
Review 9 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anather tight fitting Orvis shirt.,
April 1, 2011
By: JustMyView
from Toronto Canada
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"This blouse had a lot of potential: natural linen fabric, nice neckline and it looks great on the model but, it fit really tight especially around the arms and I will not wear it like that."
Review 10 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this blouse.,
March 19, 2011
By: judaline
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was afraid it would be too big, as Orvis sizes are generous. But I ordered my size, 10 and it's perfect. I haven't washed it, but for looks, comfort and feel, it has my highest rating-wouldn't have bought it if it hadn't been on sale."
Review 11 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mixed Feelings,
March 19, 2011
By: Arlingtonian
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wanted to love this shirt because it has a beautiful feminine style, is nice quality, and a good value, but there was something slightly off with the fit. I normally where a size 12, and based on another review, I ordered both a 12 and a 14. The 12 was tight across the bust (I'm a 36 B) and back, such that if I crossed my arms in front of me, it pulled. The arms, too, were a bit tight. The 12 fit in every other way, including the shoulders hitting just right and the body fitting properly. When I went up to the 14, the bust and back fit well, but every other part, including shoulders, were too big. I hope that Orvis continues to make this shirt, but perfects the fit. The shoreline linen shirt, by comparison, fits just right in the bust and shoulders, but could benefit from the more feminine styling of this shirt. All in all, I stil recommend this shirt because of the quality (heavy linen), feminine details, and it's a good bargain at the sale price. It would be very nice on the right body type."
Review 12 for Portrait-Collar Linen Blouse
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Loved the style,
August 10, 2010
By: mplsmom
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm bummed!! This is a beautiful shirt, lovely style, but unfortunately was too narrow across the front at the shoulder line, and tight in the arms. I'm typically a "med" 10-12, so ordered the 12. Usually everything at Orvis is generously sized--this was not. The fabric was a bit coarse, don't know if this would have bothered me if the fit were better, but it felt scratchy. I did return it rather than reorder it in a 14."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 12, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the sizing. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our clothing as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our fit.