Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Reels

Our large arbor Mirage fly reel combines superior performance and a great price to put it in a class all by itself. Using the same principles employed for the brakes of fighter jets, the carbon to stainless drag gives smooth, consistent, and infinitely-adjustable stopping power—from free spooling to a dead stop. Imported.Size I, II, III, IV, V, VI in black, gold, black nickel. Size VII in gold and black nickel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
81 of 85(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Reels
Review 1 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel on the market,
March 12, 2012
By: chawk
from Traverse City, MI
"When I first casted the Helios rod, I thought that Orvis had reached the pinnacle. I was wrong. When they created the Mirage reel to put on the Helios, my 58-year-old body thought it died and went to heaven. Light and strong with a terrific drag, the Mirage couples perfectly with a Helios and can't be beaten.
-Chuck Hawkins
Owner, Hawkins Outfitters, 2010 Orvis Endorsed Guide Service of the Year
"
Review 2 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Butter Smooth Drag,
August 20, 2015
By: Redelf
from San Pedro, CA
"I got spooled to half my backing on a big Cutty on The Yellowstone and the Mirage was smooth as butter.
I fought the fish for 15 minutes and it actually spooled my 3 times. Ultimately it was the fish that got away, since he snagged my leader in the rocks, but The Mirage was a gem. Need to buy some more!"
Review 3 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel..,
July 14, 2015
By: Rickzzzz
from Gilbert, Arizona
"I've been using an Orvis Access rig for a few years now. It has been a great rod/reel. It was so reliable and worked so well, I upgraded to a Helios2. This thing is so smooth. great reel."
Review 4 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good Item,
July 1, 2015
By: TomKubick
"It was time for un update on my reel. Great decision, I recommend this item."
Review 5 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite reel,
June 5, 2015
By: FirstTimerat57
from Upstate New York
"This is the third reel that I have owned, without a doubt it is the best. The drag is very easy to operate when your in the heat of the battle. I highly recommend this reel to anyone."
Review 6 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All you need for trout fishing,
April 14, 2015
By: PatagoniaBakerLodge
from Patagonia, Chile
"I own several in size 1,2 and 3. For trout fishing it does not get better.
I use and abuse these reels for several seasons and they hold like new. My Mirage 2 was dropped from a moving truck and kept its shape running perfect. Can only say the same about the old Battenkill Reels, all my other Orvis reels has required service or change of parts, not the Mirage.
Looks awesome to on my Helios, Winstons and TT rods.
"
Review 7 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Drag System,
March 27, 2015
By: MitchellCyr
from Mammoth Lakes, CA
"The Mirage reel has the best drag system I've experienced in a reel."
Review 8 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely and smooth - easy to use,
March 10, 2015
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
"I got this reel for my Helios 2 864-4. I have it loaded with Airflo Ridge line. Boy does it work well. I've unexpectedly fooled a few steelhead while nymphing and this drag more than proved itself. Well done Orvis!"
Review 9 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best reel on the market,
February 26, 2015
By: 007Eamon
"only one for both fresh water and sea for VERY big fish"
Review 10 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Every Penny,
February 15, 2015
By: ShoreboundHero
from Madison, WI
"I have wanted one of these reels for years. I am primarily a musky fisherman with the occasional saltwater trips and the sealed drag on this reel is perfect. The drag starts smoothly and my local store was able to set it up for high capacity backing so now I am set. Thanks again for such a wonderful product!"
Review 11 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mirage = fish,
February 12, 2015
By: Bobw723313
from Cross Lanes,WV
"I have a mirage LAIII and II both have excellent drag and durability. I sincerely believe this reel has helped catch fish that otherwise I would not have"
Review 12 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic reel,
February 5, 2015
By: Chestersdad
from Canterbury
"This is an excellent reel. It is light, easy to change the spool and has a tremendous drag. It also looks the part.
I purchased a Mirage V to go bonefishing. It worked very well in perhaps the most hostile of conditions. I now look forward to to catch some salmon!"
Review 13 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis mirage,
September 16, 2014
By: CodyPerson
from Memphis, TN
"I love this reel. Between the appealing styling and wonderful performance this is my favorite reel on the market. This reel's drag system could stop a freight train. Enough said."
Review 14 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great saltwater reel,
September 16, 2014
By: Trout2Grouse
from New Hampshire
"Excellent reel. Great quality and craftsmen ship. Smooth for long casts and fast pickup with superior drag mechanism."
Review 15 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Reel - 1 Problem,
September 11, 2014
By: 239JNam
from Fort Myers Fl.
"I bought a Mirage 8 weight several months ago and it is quite the reel. While all my buddies are throwing 10 weights because their drag cannot handle the large Snook I am stuck with my 8 weight mirage.
The only problem I've had so far was that my drag knob completely seized. I couldn't loosen or tighten my drag. Besides that this reel is well worth the money."
Review 16 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Trout Extravaganza,
August 12, 2014
By: Graybeard
from Richmond, VA
"6 days ( Aug 3 - 10 ) fishing with my virgin ( no longer ) Helios 2 -4 wt / Mirage reel/ Hydros line on the Yellowstone and Madison Rivers...other guys all wanted to try the set-up and I am meeting one of them at the Richmond Orvis store to help him decide whether a 4, 5 or 6 wt is right for him. I have used my 5 wt Sage for 12 years and it's good, but not like the Helios 2. Right price / right 4 wt / better caster and presenter. Can't beat that."
Review 17 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel you will ever own!,
August 7, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
"This is probably the best reel out there. It's engineered well, smooth in looks and performance and performs at a five star level. It's likely you will not have this level of quality at this price ever again."
Review 18 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Reel,
July 3, 2014
By: PaulInBoston
from Boston, MA
"I bought this to replace my 15 year old large arbor Bauer for my new 9 weight rod. It's a real step up, lighter, saltwater resistant, and a smoother action. No more trips back to the factory because the salt ate the reel."
Review 19 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good reel,
June 19, 2014
By: Patanichols
from West. Irginia
"I purchased the mirage and was immediately impressed with the overall design and feel. The reel preformed flawless and I believe that the reel will provide years of service. There are no hidden cracks or crevices to snag leader or tipper. I highly recommend this reel"
Review 20 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better brake than on my truck,
May 27, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"Pike are angry toothy critters that feel tame as a kitten on this reel. I matched this reel with an 8 wt Helios 2 and a 26 inch pike on the other end. No worries to report here. The drag on this reel is as smooth as a babies bum and flawless. If I had brakes this good on my old truck I wouldn't be so white knuckled behind the wheel. This reel slows them easily and stops em' in their tracks ! And yes, it looks cool too. Nicely done and highly recommended. Thanks Orvis !"