Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Reels

Our large arbor Mirage fly reel combines superior performance and a great price to put it in a class all by itself. Using the same principles employed for the brakes of fighter jets, the carbon to stainless drag gives smooth, consistent, and infinitely-adjustable stopping power—from free spooling to a dead stop. Imported.Size I, II, III, IV, V, VI in black, gold, black nickel. Size VII in gold and black nickel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
76 of 80(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Reels
Review 1 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel on the market,
March 12, 2012
By: chawk
from Traverse City, MI
"When I first casted the Helios rod, I thought that Orvis had reached the pinnacle. I was wrong. When they created the Mirage reel to put on the Helios, my 58-year-old body thought it died and went to heaven. Light and strong with a terrific drag, the Mirage couples perfectly with a Helios and can't be beaten.
-Chuck Hawkins
Owner, Hawkins Outfitters, 2010 Orvis Endorsed Guide Service of the Year
"
Review 2 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All you need for trout fishing,
April 14, 2015
By: PatagoniaBakerLodge
from Patagonia, Chile
"I own several in size 1,2 and 3. For trout fishing it does not get better.
I use and abuse these reels for several seasons and they hold like new. My Mirage 2 was dropped from a moving truck and kept its shape running perfect. Can only say the same about the old Battenkill Reels, all my other Orvis reels has required service or change of parts, not the Mirage.
Looks awesome to on my Helios, Winstons and TT rods.
"
Review 3 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Drag System,
March 27, 2015
By: MitchellCyr
from Mammoth Lakes, CA
"The Mirage reel has the best drag system I've experienced in a reel."
Review 4 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely and smooth - easy to use,
March 10, 2015
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
"I got this reel for my Helios 2 864-4. I have it loaded with Airflo Ridge line. Boy does it work well. I've unexpectedly fooled a few steelhead while nymphing and this drag more than proved itself. Well done Orvis!"
Review 5 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best reel on the market,
February 26, 2015
By: 007Eamon
"only one for both fresh water and sea for VERY big fish"
Review 6 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Every Penny,
February 15, 2015
By: ShoreboundHero
from Madison, WI
"I have wanted one of these reels for years. I am primarily a musky fisherman with the occasional saltwater trips and the sealed drag on this reel is perfect. The drag starts smoothly and my local store was able to set it up for high capacity backing so now I am set. Thanks again for such a wonderful product!"
Review 7 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mirage = fish,
February 12, 2015
By: Bobw723313
from Cross Lanes,WV
"I have a mirage LAIII and II both have excellent drag and durability. I sincerely believe this reel has helped catch fish that otherwise I would not have"
Review 8 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic reel,
February 5, 2015
By: Chestersdad
from Canterbury
"This is an excellent reel. It is light, easy to change the spool and has a tremendous drag. It also looks the part.
I purchased a Mirage V to go bonefishing. It worked very well in perhaps the most hostile of conditions. I now look forward to to catch some salmon!"
Review 9 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis mirage,
September 16, 2014
By: CodyPerson
from Memphis, TN
"I love this reel. Between the appealing styling and wonderful performance this is my favorite reel on the market. This reel's drag system could stop a freight train. Enough said."
Review 10 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great saltwater reel,
September 16, 2014
By: Trout2Grouse
from New Hampshire
"Excellent reel. Great quality and craftsmen ship. Smooth for long casts and fast pickup with superior drag mechanism."
Review 11 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Reel - 1 Problem,
September 11, 2014
By: 239JNam
from Fort Myers Fl.
"I bought a Mirage 8 weight several months ago and it is quite the reel. While all my buddies are throwing 10 weights because their drag cannot handle the large Snook I am stuck with my 8 weight mirage.
The only problem I've had so far was that my drag knob completely seized. I couldn't loosen or tighten my drag. Besides that this reel is well worth the money."
Review 12 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Trout Extravaganza,
August 12, 2014
By: Graybeard
from Richmond, VA
"6 days ( Aug 3 - 10 ) fishing with my virgin ( no longer ) Helios 2 -4 wt / Mirage reel/ Hydros line on the Yellowstone and Madison Rivers...other guys all wanted to try the set-up and I am meeting one of them at the Richmond Orvis store to help him decide whether a 4, 5 or 6 wt is right for him. I have used my 5 wt Sage for 12 years and it's good, but not like the Helios 2. Right price / right 4 wt / better caster and presenter. Can't beat that."
Review 13 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel you will ever own!,
August 7, 2014
By: MBOB
from FLAGSTAFF
"This is probably the best reel out there. It's engineered well, smooth in looks and performance and performs at a five star level. It's likely you will not have this level of quality at this price ever again."
Review 14 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Reel,
July 3, 2014
By: PaulInBoston
from Boston, MA
"I bought this to replace my 15 year old large arbor Bauer for my new 9 weight rod. It's a real step up, lighter, saltwater resistant, and a smoother action. No more trips back to the factory because the salt ate the reel."
Review 15 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good reel,
June 19, 2014
By: Patanichols
from West. Irginia
"I purchased the mirage and was immediately impressed with the overall design and feel. The reel preformed flawless and I believe that the reel will provide years of service. There are no hidden cracks or crevices to snag leader or tipper. I highly recommend this reel"
Review 16 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better brake than on my truck,
May 27, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"Pike are angry toothy critters that feel tame as a kitten on this reel. I matched this reel with an 8 wt Helios 2 and a 26 inch pike on the other end. No worries to report here. The drag on this reel is as smooth as a babies bum and flawless. If I had brakes this good on my old truck I wouldn't be so white knuckled behind the wheel. This reel slows them easily and stops em' in their tracks ! And yes, it looks cool too. Nicely done and highly recommended. Thanks Orvis !"
Review 17 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just buy this reel,
May 20, 2014
By: QKSLVR
from Newfoundland, Canada
"I've just taken possession of a Mirage IV for atlantic salmon and salt water. The quality is superb and the drag is as smooth as butter but stops a truck. Will order another for my H2 5 weight"
Review 18 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My third one.,
March 13, 2014
By: denmac
from Thorntown, Indiana
"I love these Mirage reels. This is my third one I've purchased. I love the large arbor, lite weight, and sealed drag. The large arbor lets me pick up line quick to help me fight large fish. The lite weight keeps me casting all day. I always seem to come home from a day on my local stream with the reel covered in mud and dirt and never have to worry about the sealed drag. I just rinse it off and it's ready to go again. They are worth every penny."
Review 19 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great reel that works great BUT,
March 4, 2014
By: Troutbill
from Marion, NC
"The reel matched with my H2 6wt rod works and looks great. My problem with it is the anodized 6061 T6 aluminum is too soft therefore it is easy to damage, dent or bend out of shape."
Review 20 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Reel,
February 11, 2014
By: PeterGR
"I have been using a 6 weight fly rod for bone fish and have ended up burning up the drag on other reels. This one should do the trick while being light weight."