Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mirage Reels

Our large arbor Mirage fly reel combines superior performance and a great price to put it in a class all by itself. Using the same principles employed for the brakes of fighter jets, the carbon to stainless drag gives smooth, consistent, and infinitely-adjustable stopping power—from free spooling to a dead stop. Imported.Size I, II, III, IV, V, VI in black, gold, black nickel. Size VII in gold and black nickel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
63 of 67(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mirage Reels
Review 1 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel on the market,
March 12, 2012
By: chawk
from Traverse City, MI
"When I first casted the Helios rod, I thought that Orvis had reached the pinnacle. I was wrong. When they created the Mirage reel to put on the Helios, my 58-year-old body thought it died and went to heaven. Light and strong with a terrific drag, the Mirage couples perfectly with a Helios and can't be beaten.
-Chuck Hawkins
Owner, Hawkins Outfitters, 2010 Orvis Endorsed Guide Service of the Year
"
Review 2 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Reel,
July 3, 2014
By: PaulInBoston
from Boston, MA
"I bought this to replace my 15 year old large arbor Bauer for my new 9 weight rod. It's a real step up, lighter, saltwater resistant, and a smoother action. No more trips back to the factory because the salt ate the reel."
Review 3 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good reel,
June 19, 2014
By: Patanichols
from West. Irginia
"I purchased the mirage and was immediately impressed with the overall design and feel. The reel preformed flawless and I believe that the reel will provide years of service. There are no hidden cracks or crevices to snag leader or tipper. I highly recommend this reel"
Review 4 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better brake than on my truck,
May 27, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"Pike are angry toothy critters that feel tame as a kitten on this reel. I matched this reel with an 8 wt Helios 2 and a 26 inch pike on the other end. No worries to report here. The drag on this reel is as smooth as a babies bum and flawless. If I had brakes this good on my old truck I wouldn't be so white knuckled behind the wheel. This reel slows them easily and stops em' in their tracks ! And yes, it looks cool too. Nicely done and highly recommended. Thanks Orvis !"
Review 5 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just buy this reel,
May 20, 2014
By: QKSLVR
from Newfoundland, Canada
"I've just taken possession of a Mirage IV for atlantic salmon and salt water. The quality is superb and the drag is as smooth as butter but stops a truck. Will order another for my H2 5 weight"
Review 6 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My third one.,
March 13, 2014
By: denmac
from Thorntown, Indiana
"I love these Mirage reels. This is my third one I've purchased. I love the large arbor, lite weight, and sealed drag. The large arbor lets me pick up line quick to help me fight large fish. The lite weight keeps me casting all day. I always seem to come home from a day on my local stream with the reel covered in mud and dirt and never have to worry about the sealed drag. I just rinse it off and it's ready to go again. They are worth every penny."
Review 7 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great reel that works great BUT,
March 4, 2014
By: Troutbill
from Marion, NC
"The reel matched with my H2 6wt rod works and looks great. My problem with it is the anodized 6061 T6 aluminum is too soft therefore it is easy to damage, dent or bend out of shape."
Review 8 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Reel,
February 11, 2014
By: PeterGR
"I have been using a 6 weight fly rod for bone fish and have ended up burning up the drag on other reels. This one should do the trick while being light weight."
Review 9 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
REEL NICE>>>,
February 7, 2014
By: johnnyraff
from South Jersey
"Bought this reel for travel and man does it perform very well. I had this thing screaming with bonefish and it never let me down. I got the 8wt so i could use it for stripers also, great all around reel and highly recommended ."
Review 10 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bang for Your Buck,
January 3, 2014
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I bought the V size and it is great. After fishing hard for jacks, reds, and bonnetheads for 10 days straight and no maintenance, I sold my significantly more expensive reel from another brand. It is a wonderful experience to not have sand and water making my drag slip as I fight a good fish. And the drag has been flawless!"
Review 11 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great!,
October 29, 2013
By: flymarcy
"What's say?!
It's my sixth mirage reel, I have mirage I, two mirage II, a III, this one and a V class.....I can't fish without this reel.
Great job orvis!"
Review 12 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stood up to the test,
October 16, 2013
By: gonfishn
from Western Pa.
"Took my Mirage IV salmon fishing on the Salmon River (NY) and what a job it did. While other fishermen were running up and down yelling "fish on" all I had to do set the drag where I wanted it and took control of the fish. I hardly had to move at all. Great reel with a super drag."
Review 13 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Reel,
October 14, 2013
By: DueSouth
from South Africa
"Very smooth drag and great look that suits my Helios 2, brilliant reel for its price range, well done Orvis."
Review 14 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
September 1, 2013
By: Anze
from Slovenia
"This reel is build like a tank. It really has in-built brake that is not dependant where you fish.
I have paired Mirage II with my new Superfine touch 804-4 and just love the combo... As rod is full flex, there is no fear that even larger fish will break a leader. I have set brake very high for the mentioned rod on my Mirage and it stops fish like a dream and there is no fear that some stone or dust will get in your drag system...can not more than recommend this reel.
p.s.: I just love my CFO reels but this one is another step up..."
Review 15 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and Fast and Built for the Salt,
August 5, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I have the Mirage III in Black Nickel. First, I love the color. It's elegant and understated.
The reel itself is amazing. Fast pickup - fastest I've experienced.
I bought it for use with my Helios 2 9'6" 6 weight for saltwater. The light weight of the reel combined with the light weight of the H2 is sublime.
The drag is outstanding. Just note, as other reviewers indicated, make sure you crank up the drag a bit when you start fishing - otherwise you can wind up with some tangles.
The only other thing I'd mention is backing. i'd go shorter than the backing capacity if you're going to use a heavier line (e.g., OB or 40+). For example, I only use 100 yards of 20# backing with my 6 weight 40+."
Review 16 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Reel,
July 22, 2013
By: olsenbk
from Richmond, va
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I love everything about this reel; aesthetically, light weight, smooth/powerful drag, and great line pick-up. Only issue I’ve had with this reel is that the drag can be set too low and if you’re not paying attention and start stripping line out the line can become tangled. But other than that, everything else is so great; it’s a 5 star in my opinion. Thanks!"
Review 17 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
July 4, 2013
By: Rugby10
from Upstate NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Paired with a 5wt H2, this reel is flawless. The drag is smooth, and the knob design is so much easier to use and less clumsy than what is on the Access and the Hydros reels. The black nickel color is stunning and matches perfectly with the H2.
Great reel!
"
Review 18 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice reel.,
May 4, 2013
By: JBright
from Spring Texas
"Love the reel. Waiting on flyline to arrive so I can actually try it out.
I feel very confident that this will be an excellent reel.
This ask for a nickname. Then you tell me how many characters I have to use?????"
Review 19 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid Reel,
March 13, 2013
By: akursus
from Alaska
"This reel is awesome! I was disappointed in the old Vortex reel, but upgraded to this VI and it is unbelievable. The drag is very smooth and can be cranked down enough to stop some serious fish-----no problems holding and landing 50-80 lb GT's. Your knots, line, leader or rod will perish first! It performed better than the more expensive reels I also used, including Tibor and Nautilus in the respective sizes. Good going on this one Orvis!"
Review 20 for Mirage Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth Every Penny...,
February 26, 2013
By: WiscoSkip
from Milwaukee, WI
"I've fished a lot of reels over the years and the Mirage simply takes the cake. Simply put there just isn't another reel out there that offers the performance, look, and durability that the Mirage does for the price. I'm willing to pay for the performance and durability, and have found it to be well worth it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.