Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Montana Morning® Cargo Pants

Not all cargo pants are created equal. Ours, sewn from the same pure cotton chino twill developed in the 1930s by the US Army Quartermaster Corps, are simply a cut above. Triple-needle stitching ensures the construction of our pants is just as tough as the legendary twill; the reinforced seat ensures years of wear. Double-bellows cargo pockets feature hook-and-loop-secured flaps. Quarter-top pockets with faux-suede trim. Flap-closed rear pockets, one with secure button-through. Safari-style tunnel belt loops. Solid brass zipper. Belt not included. Men's cargo pants in khaki. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
32 of 36(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Review 1 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I keep coming back for More,
July 10, 2013
By: Masengill
from East Tennessee
"I think this is a great pair of pants. If repeat business is a good endorsement then they should have a 5 STAR RATING. Over the last years I have purchased 5 pair of these comfortable pants. Sometimes Action speaks louder than Words."
Review 2 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite,
December 31, 2012
By: NJTW
from North Carolina
"I bought these for my husband for Christmas as they were the only cargo pants I found that had pleats in the front, which he likes. I was very pleased when I saw them- a nice heavy material, but good for all but the really warm weather. Well, he has worn them every single day since he got them- today I made him wear something else so I could wash them! And this is a picky guy... So the investment was worth it."
Review 3 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pant!,
December 31, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Wilmington, NC
"These pants fit really well! They're very comfortable & I think will wear well for years."
Review 4 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Pants,
December 21, 2012
By: inthewoods
"Great fabric, good fit, comfortable,useable pockets."
Review 5 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
December 19, 2012
By: Tpoz
"Well made pair of cargo pants that should last for years. The side pockets are big and roomy."
Review 6 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
WAIST TOO TIGHT,
December 15, 2012
By: TIGHT
"THE WAIST WAS TOO TIGHT AND THERE WAS NO EXTRA MATERIAL TO LET OUT, SO I HAD TO SEND IT BACK. I HAVE OTHER PANTS WITH THE SAME WAIST SIZE AND THEY FIT. I CHECKED ON LINE FOR OTHER POANTS, BUT CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS REFLECTED THE SAME PROBLEM."
Review 7 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding,
November 28, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Jacksonville Fl
"These pants sold out last year and when they became available I couldnt waite to order them,when they arrived I was more that pleased.."
Review 8 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid as a rock,
November 20, 2012
By: MADAMXCMD
from Charlotte, NC
"Great pants, very comfortable. Great pockets and belt loops. You will love these pants."
Review 9 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Pants,
November 13, 2012
By: Dayne
from Santa Cruz, CA
"These pants are not only rugged, but extremely stylish, and practical. After all of my searching, I can only find a cargo pocket pant with pleats here at Orvis. I have purchased many things over the years through this company and they back all of their products and handle every transaction very professionally.
Plain and simple, I could wear this backpacking in Yosemite, or into a casual business meeting in Silicon Valley. Incredible!
"
Review 10 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than Satisfied!,
November 12, 2012
By: Jmalia
"These pants were a gift and the recipient was beyond satisfied! The material is sturdy, yet soft and comfortable. The style is outstanding; as well as the quality. These pants can be used as casual or dressed up. Thank you for an outstanding pair of pants yet!"
Review 11 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
montana morning cargo pants,
November 5, 2012
By: coolboy1
from raleigh, n.c.
"i just love this product, very tough, stylish and comfortable. i would highly recommend this item to a friend. it is worth every penny to buy."
Review 12 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What I expected,
October 24, 2012
By: RAB43
from Fredericksburg, Tx.
"I have always enjoyed Orvis shirts and sweaters but didn't know how slacks would work out. I shouldn't have worried, they are just what I have come to expect from Orvis. The weight is right and the fit comfortable. I await cooler weather to test the warmth. If there is room for improvement, it might be in the bottom width of the front pockets."
Review 13 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great casual pants,
October 24, 2012
By: Wulybugr
from St. Louis
"When you are just "knocking around" the cargo pants are just the thing."
Review 14 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality pockets,
October 16, 2012
By: Locutus
from Cheshire
"These are the first Cargo Pants I have had and I ask myself why? They are well made and very comfortable although the waist is not quite as a 'relaxed fit' as my denim chinos. The pockets are a good size and do provide what you want, additional useable carrying space."
Review 15 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, Practical Product,
October 9, 2012
By: TonyK
from Dakar, Senegal
"My wife and I just moved to Africa for two years, so these pants will come in handy. They're a bit heavier than I would like for tropical climates but, on the other hand, they should be more durable. All in all, this is a good quality product that should be practical and last a long time."
Review 16 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great, but. . .,
August 31, 2012
By: Arcticbot
from Alaska
"I know my waist is now 34 but it would be nice to have a slimmer leg. The Orvis cut is generous in both pants and shirts.
Great pants, rugged yet suitable for daily wear. I think they will make good travel pants. The pockets are generous and great for handling the things you need: itinerary, tickets passport, snacks, paperback book, computer AC plug in, until your pants begin to sag and tug at your belt.
"
Review 17 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a good pair of cargo pants with nit picky issues,
August 10, 2012
By: theotherbobert
from Richmond, VA
"What they are is a good, tough, quality product that could have come from the quartermaster corp in the days before wide spread mechanisation became the cavalry norm.
The double seat of these pants is great for being in a leather saddle. No worries, regardless of whether you're on horseback or bicycle, you wont be wearing through the seat of these pants anytime soon. While I am not (normally) a fan of pleats, the pleats on these pants make squatting and riding easier by adding a scootch more room to the hip area.
As far as issues I don't like go what's up with the front pocket opening edging? I think it detracts from look of the pant line. Keep it simple, no fancy edging needed for these boys is needed the pants fabric is tough enough. Also the rear pocket flaps would look better if they both buttoned down or velcroed, instead of the left side Velcro right side button. And deeper rear pockets would make it easier for me to carry my fat wallet.
As I said my complaints are nit picky. My opinion is that if you want a tough pair of cargo pants that are equally at home on the range in a saddle or cycling through downtown these are the pants for you."
Review 18 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hunting pants,
July 30, 2012
By: Hunter49
from Diboll,tx
"These are the most fitting and best made cargo pants I have ever had. I would recumbent them to anyone going to Africa ."
Review 19 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made & Good looking,
May 3, 2012
By: Talisker57
from Colorado Springs
"I was very impressed with the quality of material and manufacture contained in these pants. High attention paid to detail, and they look like they'll last forever."
Review 20 for Montana Morning® Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mr,
February 8, 2012
By: cChucker
from Houston, TX
"These were a replacement for me--I wore the last pare out! I find these to satisfy my need for the utility of cargo pants, but still stylish enough for many occations where normal cargo pants would be too casual. Of course you have to have an appreciation for the somewhat English gentry style..."