Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Bavarian Wool Coat

The quality of this jacket is impeccable. Made in the very distinctive and traditional Bavarian style. Very recognizable Alpine-style jacket of pure, rich and dense wool that can be worn as an outerwear piece or a sport coat. Handsome real horn buttons and genuine leather trim on the elbows, pockets, and yoke. Nylon lining offers smooth comfort and easy on-and-off. In loden. 100% wool. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bavarian Wool Coat
Review 1 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Loden Cloth,
June 8, 2013
By: SkiMan
from Planet Earth
"I purchased the Rascher Loden Vest and like it so much that I came back back and bought the matching jacket. The Tyrollean styling is a bit more formal than commonly seen on the streets of my town,but that's one of the things I like about it.
Only one complaint: Two of the buttons nearly fell off when I unwrapped the package!
"
Review 2 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality, a bit large,
June 6, 2013
By: FireLookout
from Virginia
"This is a very high quality jacket, with lots of Tyrolean flair, which will equally well with jeans or slacks. More an outdoor jacket than a sport coat, but could serve as both. Only negative is that it is cut somewhat wide through the chest, at least on me. A bulky sweater fills it up nicely, and I may opt to move the buttons a little to snug it up. Overall, a good looking and well made product."
Review 3 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unusaual and interesting,
April 4, 2013
By: Brunavia
from California
"Very well made. Nice weight for spring . Ample room for a sweater underneath. The antler buttons are a nice touch."
Review 4 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Bavarian Jacket,
January 21, 2013
By: Greyhoundbuddy
from Bristol, Connecticut
"I purchased this jacket last month, because I love the style of a traditional "Janker" Bavarian hunting jacket. This is the real thing: made by Rascher, a mark of quality in German hunting clothes. I've spent a good deal of time in Germany and Austria and I've always liked this look. Maybe not for everyone, but certainly perfect for me. Great details, such as the stag horn buttons and leather trim, and all carefully stitched -- the quality really shows through in every way. My wife loves the way it looks on me as well and it can be dressy or casual. Hats off to Orvis for offering this jacket here in the US. Rascher's quality is unsurpassed, and I hope Orvis carries more of their clothing line in the future."
Review 5 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of a kind,
December 25, 2012
By: Lawdocjoe
from Austin, Texas
"You will be the only one on your block with one of these. This jacket exudes a certain "old world" feel, and a sense of "I can wear what I want" - and get away with it looking cool. Like anything else from Orvis, it is quality made. Had to have the sleeves taken in and the tailor charged me the price of a nice bottle of wine, but it was wort
h it.
"
Review 6 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stand Out In Any Crowd,
November 24, 2012
By: chris10452
from Gallupville, New York
"When I saw this jacket in the catalogue I feared that it would be a little too pretentious, a little much for my upstate environ. I liked the style and evident Tyrollean vibe and with the stand-up collar, it was definitely in vogue but I wouldn't spring the tab on an item that I wasn't 100% on.
Then my brother and I saw it in an outlet and he tried it on...wow, it looked great. He passed on it that day but 6 weeks later, my wife and I saw it and the rest is history.
This jacket will always be the only one like it I every crowd. It's stylish and trim with a hunting/field sense and it will dress up a casual outfit just right. Leather accents are beautiful and it's pleasantly warm with excellent lining.
I wear medium in most Orvis outerwear and medium is perfect in this jacket.
Don't be intimidated...this jacket is sharp. My lawyer will be jealous of this one, too."
Review 7 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Coat, not so cool on me,
March 10, 2012
By: Radagast
"Well, it's a sweet looking coat and totally unique (at least relative to what you see people wearing in the states), but it looked a little too hokey on me. Also well made, and good material and everything."
Review 8 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket,
February 29, 2012
By: jpjdef
"I've always wanted a Bavarian Style Jacket. This Jacket is beautiful in every detail. The green loden wool is warm but extremely light.. The horn buttons along with the suede details and embroidery is what makes this jacket stand out. I ordered the large and returned it for the medium, which fits great. The horn buttons could be reinforced."
Review 9 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well done!,
February 21, 2012
By: slider11
from Northwest
"Opinons are strong on this beautiful jacket. They either love it or scratch their heads (I have had both). What matters is how you feel. The horn buttons are pure Austrian and I suppose I could replace them if I get tired of them. I nearly ordered an XL as I am 6'1" and 200, with athletic build, but opted for an L because the back belt is only for show. I was lucky - it fits perfectly. The wool is amazing."
Review 10 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicest coat at the club.,
February 21, 2012
By: Wizard01
from Holland Mich.
"This is the finest shooting coat I have found anywhere. The tayloring is impeckable as is the quality of materials. The detail in the tayloring is like none I have found elsewhere.
The sizing runs a bit large, I could have worn a small,( not offered ) but the med. works fine with a swearet.I am 152 lbs @ 5'9''. I just could not return this coat."
Review 11 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy look,
February 14, 2012
By: Gregorio
from Ohio
"Really a nice weight. Dressy for hunting. It looks custom fitted but still plenty of room underneath for extra layers."
Review 12 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket!,
January 5, 2012
By: DHMoller
from State College, PA
"I've been looking for a traditional Austrian folk jacket for a while and this one hits the spot. Great details (horn buttons & leather applications), great fit, and authentic loden color and wool materials make this a winner. It is casual enough to look great with jeans but can also be dressed up with a pair of black dress pants. I would definitely recommend it due to the great look, materials, details and versatility."
Review 13 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get you noticed coat,
January 5, 2012
By: ArnieH
"This coat will definitely get you noticed! Distinctive design, high quality and fun to wear. This coat runs true to size and is fully lined. There is nothing else like this in the market, wear it as a sport coat or a jacket. The only recommendation that I would make to improve it is to make the sash on the back adjustable. Other than that I would buy it again if needed."
Review 14 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ready for the Shoot in Bavaria,
December 30, 2011
By: NumberSix
"I love this jacket. The quality is excellent but understated. The style is distinctly German--not often found in the U.S. The sleeves are a whisker long, but one grows accustomed to it. I may have the jacket tailored this summer, but right now I am enjoying it too much to give it up even for a short while. Rugged enough for outdoors, but formal enough for the table."
Review 15 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very solid,
December 30, 2011
By: ashhant
from CT
"I am thrilled with this jacket. It is very high quality and unique. Be aware tha the sizes run large; I was a size below the expected and there is still a bit of room, but Orvis handled the return really well."
Review 16 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unlimited,
November 4, 2011
By: DocHop
from Tahoe, CA
"This jacket has a great span of use. I've dined in it at the Ritz, then outside enjoying an Opus X in the brisk fall air. It does fit a little large, but is great over a sweater, also the arms seem a little long- hoping to have this tailored. My wife says don't worry about it, but I like to see my own hands."
Review 17 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique Hunting Jacket,
October 8, 2011
By: NOVA
"To be fair, I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into when I ordered this jacket. The style is not typically seen in the US and I was a little unsure what to think when I received it in the mail.
The details are amazing and its a high quality jacket for sure. My reason for knocking a star off is the sizing. I'm a 39 chest and I was swimming in a medium. It might be ok with a really heavy sweater, but not with a shirt only (for me). The buttons stood out a little too much for my taste. But then again, that's the style I suppose. Even the Orvis rep raised an eyebrow at the style when I returned it to my local store. I'm sure it looks great on others, just not me..."
Review 18 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handsome Jacket!,
August 6, 2011
By: Longshot
from Broken Arrow, OK
"I just received this jacket yesterday. It is a beautiful item. I ordered a large and it seems to run true to size, giving plenty of room for movement if worn with a reasonably heavy weight long sleeved shirt or thin sweater. It feels comfortable enough to shoot in, but is handsome enough to wear as an outer jacket to dinner on a cooler evening with a dress shirt. The horn buttons look cool, although I may have already lost the spares."
Review 19 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
June 23, 2011
By: percival
from saratoga springs, ny
"Upon receipt of this jacket , I was amazed at the quality and attention to detail that is obvious when you first put it on. i also agree with one reviewer on the scarcity of this jacket here in the US since i have not seen them offered outside of Germany. Unfortunately, I will have to buy a Drilling to go with the jacket!.I'm an XL and the fit was great."
Review 20 for Bavarian Wool Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
May 18, 2011
By: Rayx
from Harrisburg, PA
"Looks Great! I got it in a medium even though in the size charts I would be a large (I am 5'6, 36+ waist, 41 chest) and it fits almost perfectly."