Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Herringbone Cotton Shirt

Handsome herringbone cotton adds a rugged outdoors look to this comfortable, casual shirt. Spread collar with button-through patch pocket. Two-button cuff adjustment. This will be your go-to shirt every weekend. 100% cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.028 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
27 of 36(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Review 1 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations,
November 14, 2014
By: JSC48098
from Michigan
"Reviews of this shirt were very positive and I had high expectations for this shirt. I'm pleased to report that the shirt exceeded my expectations. Looks great; feels good; and wears well. The shirt is now among my "go-to" shirts for everyday, casual wear. Looks great with jeans as well as chinos. Highly recommended."
Review 2 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrifiic purchase,
March 8, 2014
By: Mate
from Texas
"the soft effect of herringbone design
matching the fabric so well, attracted many complements for my husband
shirt. He also found a cap that complements the shirt design of the
shirt. I buy all of my husband's
clothes from Orvis and have never
been disappointed,
"
Review 3 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
February 17, 2014
By: Jcory
"I had high hopes for this shirt but it was a disappointment. What was supposed to be an XL barely qualified for L and the sleeves were much too short for the labeled size..
I am returning to Orvis for a refund along with several other disappointing items. Orvis seems to have shifted in vendors and in quality over the last few years and I have grown frustrated with the quality or lack thereof of lots of Orvis products after many years as a customer.
"
Review 4 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Shirt,
January 22, 2014
By: Oakie
from Leesburg, VA
"This Herringbone cotton shirt is super! It is warm and stylish. Also easy to wash!"
Review 5 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
January 5, 2014
By: JeepDriver
from Southern Kentucky
"A very comfortable well fitting, well wearing, feel good shirt"
Review 6 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Attractive,
December 27, 2013
By: kathymusicteacher
from Geneva, IL
"I purchased this shirt for my husband for Christmas. He's admired it in the store and has always been very happy with every Orvis product he's owned. Once again, Orvis did not disappoint. It is well-made, true to size, and very attractive. It's in the wash right now, but I'm confident it will wash and dry without any problems."
Review 7 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Gift,
December 26, 2013
By: CHPanda
from Chapel Hill, NC
"Got this as a birthday present. What a comfy shirt. I am looking forward to cooler weather so I can wear it."
Review 8 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks good, feels good, but.....,
December 14, 2013
By: geowiz
from Colorado foothills
"This shirt looks good. It has the different style that I wanted. It feels good right out of the packaging. But the sleeves are a little short and after a day of normal ware, it feels like its not going to hold up for very long; even the buttons feel a little loose.
In summary, the fit is a little small and durability may be disappointing -- time will tee.
"
Review 9 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Watch out on Sizing,
November 12, 2013
By: Dave7
from Cody, WY
"The sizing runs a bit tight which is OK, however, watch out after the first cold water wash!! The shirt shrank 15% to 20% and is now unwearable. The local clothing charity will be getting a nice donation this week."
Review 10 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor choice,
December 31, 2012
By: talula
from California
"Did not keep this shirt.....the fabric was not good quality....could tell it would have "snagged" very easily."
Review 11 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and Great Fit,
December 30, 2012
By: Rnighthawk
from Maryland
"Received shirt for Christmas. Very pleased with fit and comfort. I wear a size large (42 regular jacket and 17 X 34 inch shirt) and the fit is spot - on. I like the look, texture, and warmth of wool without the itching."
Review 12 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lasrge on the small side,
December 29, 2012
By: herringboneharry
"fits a little snug compared to you no iron shirts, bought a large and its fit is a little smaller tha your regular Orvis no iron shirts"
Review 13 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt but not as expected,
December 28, 2012
By: CoffeeShopGirl
from Jackson, WY
"Really nice shirt !!! Bought 2 as Christmas presents. Size was true to fit. Gave it 4 stars not on the quality but in the picture it looked as if the herringbone was brown when in fact it is green."
Review 14 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top shelf quality,
December 28, 2012
By: KCrick
from Kansas City, MO
"Herringbone shirt was top shelf quality in every way. It was a Christmas gift for my son, and he loved it."
Review 15 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not a good fit,
December 26, 2012
By: Chieftan
from Minnesota
"nor is it an Orvis product. It's cut toot ight and the fabric snags I returned it!"
Review 16 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Son's Favourite Shirt!,
December 4, 2012
By: JustMyView
from Toronto Canada
"Of all the shirts, Orvis and others, that I've bought my son over the years, this is his favourite. In fact he asked me for one more for Xmas. My son is a very casual guy. He likes these shirts' extra weight and cosy feel. They are his favourite to change into when he gets home from work. They are extra warm and being all cotton, wash and wear well."
Review 17 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor sizing,
November 27, 2012
By: billybuffalo
from Denver, CO
"Material is attractive. Sizing does not conform with other of Orvis' shirts. Too bad, I liked the look and material."
Review 18 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice,
November 19, 2012
By: NativeTexan
"Have ordered several items from Orvis before. Have been happy with all of them. My size is between a Med. and Lg. A Med. from Orvis fits me perfectly. I wore this shirt to the theatre this weekend and received compliments on it and was asked where I got it."
Review 19 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty great,
May 14, 2012
By: afterdavid
from Northern California
"This came waaaaay on the big side, but I washed it in hot water and dried it on warm and it shrunk down to a great fit. I'm one of those types that likes to have a few quality things that I wear down to the bone before I replace and this shirt definitely fits the bill. Sturdy, thick, and good looking. Also, I got it on sale which was great, because I never would have paid the $80 or so bucks it costed normally."
Review 20 for Herringbone Cotton Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Fall Shirt,
May 10, 2012
By: alabamadmd
from Birmingham, AL
"Definitely more of a green than a beige. Thicker shirt, great for cooler weather. Classy, subtle patterning is great for pairing with all types of sportcoats, vests, etc. If you're debating between a Med and Large, I would go Med."