Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Trout Bum Quarter-Zip

Our men's quarter zip shirt is perfect for early summer mornings out on the river or as a layer under your wading jacket when a storm comes up. Polartec® Power Dry® fabric, highly breathable and comfortable, keeps you dry when you sweat, and dries quickly if it gets wet. Zip to keep the chill off, or unzip for ventilation. Vertical zip pocket for gadgets and cell phone. This men's quarter zip shirt has a slightly slimmer fit, tailored for your active lifestyle. Polyester/wool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Review 1 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice, comfortable pullover,
April 11, 2014
By: Ranger1977
from London, KY
"Very nice, comfortable pullover. Use it fishing on cool mornings, but nice enough to wear out for dinner."
Review 2 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
caught me read handed,
March 25, 2014
By: JD42
from Lafayette Indiana
"I'm wearing it right now! I love this pullover, I'm a square kinda guy after years of playing linebacker in HS and college, 5'10" and weigh 260 the XXL fits perfectly, drapes nicely for dressy look, super breathable (unlike all my other pullovers), lightweight (not much warmth but I didnt want warmth) the green color is rugged and classy. Cell pocket on chest seems like it wouldnt work well cuz shirt is so light but it does the trick on my galaxy 4. Collar is perfect height too. I'd love to have this in a full zip too gang with some side pockets, FYI."
Review 3 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great mid-weight pullover,
February 25, 2014
By: 3dhiker
from Austin, TX
"This pullover is just the right weight for mild to cool days. Warm enough to take the chill off, but light enough to wear on breezy mild days. It looks very sharp as well - casual, but still nice enough to wear to work (I got the dark navy one). It has a nice tailored look. My one complaint is that the product info said it ran small in size, but I found it to still be a bit long in the sleeves, and bit large in the shoulders (for a medium). I'm also not a big fan of the front zipper pocket, but it still looks nice and is useful."
Review 4 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice wool shirt - simple styling,
February 24, 2014
By: madhockeydad
"Hi
I like the wool shirt. It is very plain and the styling is simplestic. I find it ok for casual activities but it's not the kind of shirt that can do double duty both casual and more refined."
Review 5 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't ask for a better layer!,
February 3, 2014
By: Orvisguyswife
from Flat rock,nc
"Stumbled upon this while shopping for my husband and avid outdoorsman...just the right weight to layer more many different type outings..he's usually a large but the medium was perfect..went back a month later and purchased in the navy..could easily use three or four as a staple in active guy wardrobe!"
Review 6 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
January 13, 2014
By: huntwife
"My husband took it right out of the bag and wore it. Very comfy fit true maybe a bit small because he is in between XL & XXL and I got him the XXL."
Review 7 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Quarter-Zip Shirt,
October 5, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The Orvis Trout Bum quarter-zip is a versatile garment; I have worn it alone in cooler weather and as a layering piece in the cold. I even wore it to the office on a casual Friday and made my fly fishing office mates jealous. The made-in-Canada shirt features great Polartech quick-dry, wool/poly-blend fabric."
Review 8 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Sweater,
September 2, 2013
By: ErikTheRed
from Scottsdale, AZ
"The Polartec® Power Dry® fabric is warm and comfortable, yet breathable, making the Quarter-Zip a must have for your fishing wardrobe."
Review 9 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value,
May 16, 2013
By: alanj
from Colorado Springs, CO
"The quality of workmanship as well as comfort at a very resonble price makes this an outstanding value."
Review 10 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
May 8, 2013
By: WaveRider
from McLean, VA
"Wore it fishing on the Potomac during the Shad run. Perfect for a crisp 45 degree morning. Light weight, but just thick enough to cut the light breeze, and the chest zipper pocket was handy for cell phone. Wish I had more."
Review 11 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What the Dr Ordered,
May 7, 2013
By: wolfe
from Madisonville KY
"Purchased for Alaska trip layering. Size & fit as advertised with overall quality excellent."
Review 12 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great product,
May 7, 2013
By: Leights
from Healdsburg, CA
"My son picked a Trout Bum Quarter-Zip at the Orvis store In SF. He wears it so much I thought I should try one. I did, and now I know why he wears his so much. It's great just around the house as well as on cool mornings and evenings."
Review 13 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value,
November 22, 2011
By: sasar
from Portland ,OR
"Great shirt, great value, love the breathable soft material!"
Review 14 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shirt,
November 1, 2011
By: jao2x
from Nashville, TN
"Wearing this product as we speak. It has become one of my favorite layering shirts. Fits very well and is comfortable. However, the pictures and description led me to believe it would be a little thicker. Nonetheless, it is a great sweatshirt that holds up to early morning fishing and casual wear."
Review 15 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt. Pain to wash,
November 1, 2011
By: boisebrad
"This is a great shirt. In particular, I like the flexibility of the mid weight. Excited to see a PolarTec work with natural fibers. High tech wool rocks. The only downside is it requires a delicate cycle and flat dry."
Review 16 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice!,
October 28, 2011
By: berkshiremike
from Ma
"I bought two of these at $30 each and they are well worth the money. I fished all fall with these on and they were great. Would like the cuffs a little tighter"
Review 17 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great light jacket,
October 26, 2011
By: Snapper
from Gainesville Ga
"This pull over is so sweet! Just the right weight for a big fella who doesn't like to be too hot. Great fit. Great looks on the creeks and around town. Lots of complements. Orvis did it again. A must have for a real trout bum."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1