Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Trout Bum Quarter-Zip

Our men's quarter zip shirt is perfect for early summer mornings out on the river or as a layer under your wading jacket when a storm comes up. Polartec® Power Dry® fabric, highly breathable and comfortable, keeps you dry when you sweat, and dries quickly if it gets wet. Zip to keep the chill off, or unzip for ventilation. Vertical zip pocket for gadgets and cell phone. This men's quarter zip shirt has a slightly slimmer fit, tailored for your active lifestyle. Polyester/wool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 31(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Review 1 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful for those cooler river days,
November 14, 2014
By: Ralfino
from Sheffield , UK
"This top is a useful layer to cope with temperature variations during a day's fishing on the river. It is not really designed for warmth on the coldest days, but it comes into its own when there is a breeze blowing down the river, or the cool of the evening begins to bite. I often use it as a first layer on cooler spring or summer mornings with a sweater or shirt on top, then strip down to it alone as the day warms up. It allows the breeze to pass through a little so that it provides a cooling effect on the arms, but keeps the back warm under waders, for example.
My only criticism is that it is a little short in the body.
"
Review 2 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't hesitate,
November 14, 2014
By: Eyebrook
from Warwickshire & West Sussex
"Surprisingly warm and ideal for late summer evening chill. Washes well and a good fit."
Review 3 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what you need!,
November 13, 2014
By: onlyoutdoors
from london
"really good.
easy to wear.
nice looking.
what more do you want!
"
Review 4 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simple, practical and does what it says on the tin,
November 13, 2014
By: Crabacle
"A very good top - in fact I wear it out too as its warm and not bulky.
It could do with being a little less itchy - hey but that might be just me.
A very good buy.
"
Review 5 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome light weight,
June 11, 2014
By: Shallowaterassassin
from Mobile, AL
"Great purchase. You can throw this on under any condition and be comfortable. Orvis nailed this one!"
Review 6 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great comfortable pullover,
June 4, 2014
By: Chris1563
"This is a great pullover. The zipper on the pocket has a fly on it which was a nice subtle touch"
Review 7 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good staple,
May 28, 2014
By: Radagast
"Comfortable, simple, looks good, to the point. The large runs slightly on the bigger side so if you are on the margin you might want to try a medium."
Review 8 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
May 14, 2014
By: Aruba
from Bethlehem Pa
"Don't see the need for the zipper but I would buy another very comfortable."
Review 9 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What You Are Lookign For,
April 30, 2014
By: huntingdog
from San Francisco, CA
"The Trout Bum brand keeps getting better and better. Tailored for comfort and durability. Keeps you warm and works as a layered item for extra warmth or by itself as an alternative to a sweater or sweatshirt. Perfect pocket location for phone or other small items you want to get to quickly. On top of all this it looks great."
Review 10 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the best!,
April 18, 2014
By: ZeissMan
from Greenwood Village, Colorado
"Bought one last year. What a great sweater. Went ahead and bought three more in all the colors this year. For Colorado, they are perfect. With a 1/4 zip like the dryrelease casting T-shirt under it, you can take almost any weather. And since they wash and wear so nicely, they are a dream to take care of. Get one now!"
Review 11 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice, comfortable pullover,
April 11, 2014
By: Ranger1977
from London, KY
"Very nice, comfortable pullover. Use it fishing on cool mornings, but nice enough to wear out for dinner."
Review 12 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
caught me read handed,
March 25, 2014
By: JD42
from Lafayette Indiana
"I'm wearing it right now! I love this pullover, I'm a square kinda guy after years of playing linebacker in HS and college, 5'10" and weigh 260 the XXL fits perfectly, drapes nicely for dressy look, super breathable (unlike all my other pullovers), lightweight (not much warmth but I didnt want warmth) the green color is rugged and classy. Cell pocket on chest seems like it wouldnt work well cuz shirt is so light but it does the trick on my galaxy 4. Collar is perfect height too. I'd love to have this in a full zip too gang with some side pockets, FYI."
Review 13 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great mid-weight pullover,
February 25, 2014
By: 3dhiker
from Austin, TX
"This pullover is just the right weight for mild to cool days. Warm enough to take the chill off, but light enough to wear on breezy mild days. It looks very sharp as well - casual, but still nice enough to wear to work (I got the dark navy one). It has a nice tailored look. My one complaint is that the product info said it ran small in size, but I found it to still be a bit long in the sleeves, and bit large in the shoulders (for a medium). I'm also not a big fan of the front zipper pocket, but it still looks nice and is useful."
Review 14 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice wool shirt - simple styling,
February 24, 2014
By: madhockeydad
"Hi
I like the wool shirt. It is very plain and the styling is simplestic. I find it ok for casual activities but it's not the kind of shirt that can do double duty both casual and more refined."
Review 15 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't ask for a better layer!,
February 3, 2014
By: Orvisguyswife
from Flat rock,nc
"Stumbled upon this while shopping for my husband and avid outdoorsman...just the right weight to layer more many different type outings..he's usually a large but the medium was perfect..went back a month later and purchased in the navy..could easily use three or four as a staple in active guy wardrobe!"
Review 16 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice,
January 13, 2014
By: huntwife
"My husband took it right out of the bag and wore it. Very comfy fit true maybe a bit small because he is in between XL & XXL and I got him the XXL."
Review 17 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Quarter-Zip Shirt,
October 5, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"The Orvis Trout Bum quarter-zip is a versatile garment; I have worn it alone in cooler weather and as a layering piece in the cold. I even wore it to the office on a casual Friday and made my fly fishing office mates jealous. The made-in-Canada shirt features great Polartech quick-dry, wool/poly-blend fabric."
Review 18 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Favorite Sweater,
September 2, 2013
By: ErikTheRed
from Scottsdale, AZ
"The Polartec® Power Dry® fabric is warm and comfortable, yet breathable, making the Quarter-Zip a must have for your fishing wardrobe."
Review 19 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value,
May 16, 2013
By: alanj
from Colorado Springs, CO
"The quality of workmanship as well as comfort at a very resonble price makes this an outstanding value."
Review 20 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
May 8, 2013
By: WaveRider
from McLean, VA
"Wore it fishing on the Potomac during the Shad run. Perfect for a crisp 45 degree morning. Light weight, but just thick enough to cut the light breeze, and the chest zipper pocket was handy for cell phone. Wish I had more."