Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Trout Bum Quarter-Zip

Our men's quarter zip shirt is perfect for early summer mornings out on the river or as a layer under your wading jacket when a storm comes up. Polartec® Power Dry® fabric, highly breathable and comfortable, keeps you dry when you sweat, and dries quickly if it gets wet. Zip to keep the chill off, or unzip for ventilation. Vertical zip pocket for gadgets and cell phone. This men's quarter zip shirt has a slightly slimmer fit, tailored for your active lifestyle. Polyester/wool. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
53 of 57(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Review 1 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid,
February 3, 2015
By: Ernie15
"This is an easy piece to throw over on a chilly day. Works well with several events."
Review 2 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great layer!,
January 23, 2015
By: dterapin
from East Texas
"These are great looking and vey comfortable. I wear it inside and outside in our cool East Texas weather and it feels great. Good for layering since it's not bulky at all. My wife was very happy when she first saw me wearing one. She really thought it looked great. Machine washable. Very nice!"
Review 3 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
December 27, 2014
By: jaslags
from Georgia
"The quality and softness of the shirt are above our expectations. As a gift purchase, I am pleased with the excellence of the style."
Review 4 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
December 23, 2014
By: Ken911
from Scottsdale, AZ
"The is a great pullover! I would highly recommend."
Review 5 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1/4 zip,
November 11, 2014
By: massanuttenmt
from Harrisonburg, VA
"Nice quality, good fit. The type of product I was looking for. Has a good feel to it."
Review 6 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 4, 2014
By: Bumpus
from Asheville, NC
"Great sweater. However, normal size of XL exchanged for L. Fits great, feels great, looks great."
Review 7 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!!,
September 9, 2014
By: CJdfw
from Dallas TX
"Light weight and great for the early fall fishing getaways!!"
Review 8 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just OK,
July 15, 2014
By: dustyd
"It was OK but not exactly what I wanted. I didn't see that it contained wool. My mistake as the details clearly said that it did"
Review 9 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality,
June 4, 2014
By: Miketgorg
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great quality item.
Feel is soft and look is casual.
Overall trout bum product line makes my fishing trip more comfortable what ever the weather.
"
Review 10 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad I found it,
December 20, 2013
By: GooseCutter
from Washington, DC
"I picked this up last night from the local store when I was actually there looking for another product. Boy am I glad I did - I would not have ordered this online, but it is much better in person. It was perfect over a long sleeve base layer and under a wading jacket this morning when I hit the river for an hour before work. Temp was 44F.
Afterwards, I pulled it back on over my dress shirt and, after removing the zipper pull, it looks like a fine-gauge merino sweater under a sportcoat.
The body runs a bit big, but I expect that with Orvis and I'd rather have the right length than the right width."
Review 11 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 5, 2013
By: EricCO
from Boulder, CO
"Nice styling, great color, interesting concept (fleece and wool). Sleeves a bit long.
Remains to be seen how it will wear over time.
While supposedly designed with a snugger fit -- It's not as snug as what I am accustomed to with athletic clothes for running / nordic skiing / cycling etc. I think Orvis is meant for a different body type than mine."
Review 12 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fleece pullover,
September 24, 2013
By: Matt270
"This is a top of the line fleece pullover. I'm ordering at least one more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile And Looks Great.,
June 12, 2013
By: Karl
from Winter Haven, FL.
"I actually bought this to use as a base layer on a trip to Europe. It is the perfect weight on its own but when paired with a wading jacket it is good down to reasonably cold temperatures. I am 6'3' and the large fit me perfectly. It looks great with jeans or slightly more formal khakis or chinos. The only negative is the cord zipper pulls which I removed. This is a great all around peice!"
Review 14 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great light weight pull over,
April 30, 2013
By: SamG
"This shirt is the perfect weight for a summer night bonfire or fishing on a chilly Spring day. Arms are a little long, but not too long to wear comfortably."
Review 15 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and light,
March 11, 2013
By: Anonymous
"I'm trying this shell to go over a base layer when xcountry skiing. Haven't actually tried it there yet but I have worn it around the house. The size seems right on and it is very light but warm and comfortable. I only wish the pocket were larger and the zipper pulls were better quality. But overall, I like it so far."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm and Snug,
February 22, 2013
By: AtlantaDuck
"My wife purchased this pullover for me and I've worn it a few times now. I really like it. It is a snug fit and the waffle like material adds warmth.
Only issue I have with mine are the sleeves. They are at least two inches too long. I've never had this problem with a shirt or pullover before so I know I don't have short arms ; ). Maybe I got a bad sample - don't know.
I folded the sleeves up and it works fine. Not as stylish looking though."
Review 17 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Casual Wear,
February 20, 2013
By: GradyB
from Peoria, IL
"I was looking for something to wear over a t-shirt on cool fall or spring days that would provide warmth without bulk, look good, and be comfortable. This fits the bill very well. The fabric is soft without being feminine. The fit is loose enough to leave room to cover a t shirt, yet not bulky in any sense. The extra layer provides good warmth on days when the temperatures are in the 50s or 60s. As soon as spring gets here, I'm sure I'll be wearing this as while on the stream and afterwards while enjoying dinner with my fishing friends, so the Trout Bum label fits. A very, very good product and a good value for the money."
Review 18 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good product,
January 14, 2013
By: GaryWW
from Ia
"I like the shirt but it is a little itchey. The strings for the pulls are troublesome and will probly have to go but overall Im happy with the purchase."
Review 19 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Gift,
December 28, 2012
By: deni
"My husband already has this shirt on rust and it is his favorite shirt. I was hoping to find it in the catalog in another color to give hime for his birthday! Sadly I couldn't find it, so I just looked on the label filled in the search box and there it was and I got it on time for his birthday!! yeah!"
Review 20 for Trout Bum Quarter-Zip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pull Over,
January 2, 2012
By: Leonard
from Tuscaloosa, AL
"Of all the items I purchased recently, this is the item I have enjoyed the most."