Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader

PolyLeaders are like mini fly lines that are constructed the same way with a PVC coated monocore. They are tapered and act as a natural extension of your line tapering down to your tippet. They cast beautifully, and come in four densities that allow you to fish the entire water column. They are available in Clear Floating, Intermediate Sinking (1.5 inches/second), Fast Sink (3.9 inches/second), and Super Fast Sink (6.1 inches/second).Each leader has an exposed monocore tip to attach your tippet in whatever fashion you prefer from blood knot to triple surgeon's, or tie a perfection loop for a loop-to-loop connection.The Trout Leader is 7-feet and you can add 4- to 8-ft. of 2- to 12-lb. tippet depending on conditions.The Salmon Leader is 10-feet and you can add 4- to 8-ft. of 8- to 24-lb. tippet depending on conditions.Both Trout and Salmon are available in all four densities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Review 1 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect extension to a fly line,
October 16, 2014
By: YooperInChicago
"Casts like a integral part of you r fly line, turns over super nice."
Review 2 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality,
April 8, 2014
By: NJShorefly
from Barnegat, NJ
"Lost the fish but didn't break the leader and upon inspection, leader is in good shape for fishing in an area full of rocks"
Review 3 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
What Happened!,
October 8, 2013
By: Greg0183
from Pulaski, NY
"Leader broke off 4 inches from the butt end of the leader. We've never salmon fished before, and we broke off hooks from the 20lb fluorocarbon that we fell back too. Would have not been surprised for a thinner section of the Orvis poly leader to snap but not the butt end. Makes me suspect it was defective."
Review 4 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leaders Fine - Website Not,
August 28, 2013
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
"These leaders are fine and do what they are supposed to, however the UK website wasn't very helpful as it stated the leader colours but not the sink rate (you need to look at the US site or third party sites for this."
Review 5 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
December 28, 2012
By: ZachB
from Louisville, Kentucky
"This was much cheaper then buying sinking line for my reel and even cheaper then buying a new spool for my reel. This really gets your flies down in that slack water behind some riffles so you can target them big Ol trout."
Review 6 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Pleasure to Cast,
December 19, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Excellent turnover with both single-handed and two-handed rods. I use the intermediate, fast, and extra fast sink on my switch rods often when swinging streamers and nymphs for both trout and steelhead. Connect a length of tippet using a loop-to-loop and you're ready to go! Excellent turnover, easy to cast, and gets to fly to the depth it needs to be in a hurry."
Review 7 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beats others,
October 5, 2012
By: fredfish
from Branson, MO
"I have used other brands of sinking leaders for years. They got the fly down but were awkward to cast. This summer I tried the polyLeaders and they cast great! They get the fly down where the fish are and are easier and cheaper to use than a sink tip line. May cost more than others, but are well worth it. Pleasure to cast and they work!"
Review 8 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No need to switch spools,
September 16, 2012
By: MattL
from Winooski, VT
"Switching spools is difficult, especially when the place you fish most is completely rocky, and you're swinging around a 10' Hydros that is a pain when it comes to running line through the guides because there is nowhere to rest the rod. This leader is a nice extension of my line and casts pretty well too, even on a steelhead tapered line. You might want to add a small tippet ring or swivel to the end since blood knots will eventually shorten the mono at the end of the leader though. Other than that this is a simple yet effective way of avoiding the hassle of switching spools to use sink-tip."
Review 9 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PolyLeader,
April 27, 2012
By: Nutbeam
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"Turns over really smoothly. Great leader for salmon fishing."
Review 10 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PolyLeader,
February 11, 2012
By: HasBeen
from Western NY
"Bought a 7' x fast sink trout for fishing Great Lakes Trib Steelhead. We have had a mild winter and flows are Stained and higher than normal .This thing worked like a charm. No more shot needed to hamper casting. Landed 4 fish up to 9 lbs the last 2 trips .Easy to put on and take off. Worth having one in your vest. Will buy different sizes ."
Review 11 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 29, 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"Perfect for swinging flies on a switch or spey rod when sections of lead-core or T-14 are just too much (just make sure your line is designed to throw tips ... it'll make things so much easier). I like to affix a small (#10) swivel to the working end and attach my tippet to the swivel. This helps to prevent twist, and shortening of the leader as one reties."
Review 12 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Leader,
September 29, 2011
By: flyfishallfish
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Works very well with floating fly lines,strong and perfect to fish for Salmon on Salmon River,NY."
Review 13 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poly Leader,
September 5, 2011
By: FireFly2
"I bought the intermediate leader, hoping to sink wooly buggers without using sink tip lines. While the fly does sink at the tippet end, the leader never sank all the way to the fly line. I never felt my fly was sinking far enough. Will purchase a fast leader to get my flied deeper."
Review 14 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Alternative to a Sink Tip Line,
June 8, 2011
By: PaintCreekGuy
"I started using a sinking leader this spring, and it is a nice alternative to a sink tip line. Use this leader with a floating line in a shallow stream and the leader will sink enough to get your fly or nymph down to where the fish are. I've fished this with beadhead nymphs and Copper John's and it works - I've caught fish with it. If want to go back to a floating line, just remove the sinking leader and replace it with a floating leader. Let's you transition between floating and sink tip lines without getting a new fly line on your reel (or changing spools)."
Review 15 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Polyleaders,
March 22, 2011
By: yettiaz85
from Scottsdale, AZ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I had great success with this sink-tip poly leader. I would give it a 5/5 but I never tried other sinking set-ups so I have no control.
I was fishing a warm water winter action lake here in Arizona (Canyon Lake) with floating line, a 7 foot black poly leader, mirage tippet and a olive cone head woolly buggar and the leader not only worked great but exceeded my expectations. I lost count of how many bluegills, green sunfish, had a few small bass, and one big old hungry channel catfish surprise.
Not only do these leaders present the fly well in the strike zone but will help you land bigger fish in my opinion. I had played several fish and snags before landing that 2 foot cat on the same leader to tippet surgeons knot and big thanks to Orvis of Scottsdale thanks you guys rock."
Review 16 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well looky here...,
January 31, 2011
By: KCandTheFlyFishingBand
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'll let the picture speak for itself. This leader + some Mirage Fluorocarbon 1X tippet got the fly right where it needed to be."
Review 17 for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good purchase,
June 10, 2010
By: redneck74
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm glad I bought the leader I don't have to put wieght on my leaders to get my fly down"
Ratings-Only Reviews for 7' Trout and 10' Salmon PolyLeader
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5