Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)

When the temperatures rise or the fishing take you to the tropics, layering in UV-protective clothing becomes necessary to stay cool and protect you from the UV rays of the sun. Overheating is as dangerous as hypothermia and having the right clothes to allow for evaporational cooling is essential. The Tropical Layering System consists of the following protective clothing elements:
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Review 1 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
February 27, 2013
By: rereb
from blue bell pa
"the buff is a very versitile product that can be worn in many ways .
great for keeping warm in winter."
Review 2 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Multi Functional,
January 2, 2013
By: Steelfloater3
from Portland, Oregon
"I had originally purchased the buff to chase bones in the Florida Keys. However while fishing in the great Northwest nymphing for steelhead I was amazed at how well the buff protected my face from the cold wind chill. There is literally no drawback to the performance of the Buff!"
Review 3 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
solid product,
December 29, 2012
By: klcl
"solid product that fits true to size. the finish on the palm side allows for a good grip. very comfortable."
Review 4 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great glove,
December 25, 2012
By: FF122345Bill
from Wichita, Ks
"Very good for all but the coldest fly fishing. Easier to hold on to fish."
Review 5 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
August 15, 2012
By: rsl7501
from Colorado
"a very good quality item. Looks great, fits perfect."
Review 6 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
June 18, 2012
By: jackobbs
from Waunakee, WI
"Keeps the sun off your neck, very versatile, comfortable to wear. Made in Spain."
Review 7 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for all seasons,
May 1, 2012
By: Anonymous
"I bought a new one because I use my current one virtually all year and I am wearing it out. Great product!"
Review 8 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Slacks,
March 29, 2012
By: RKELK
from McLean, VA
"I had purchased this last year and had used it especially during long intercontinental flights. They are lightweight and very comfortable and do not wrinkle!
So, I went ahead and ordered a second pair (and it was on sale too).
"
Review 9 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for a cool southern morning on the water.,
February 7, 2012
By: Superfly
from Gulf Shores, AL
"Great pair of pants! They keep you warm on a cool morning of fishing but dry quickly if you happen to get wet."
Review 10 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Walk & Wade Special,
February 3, 2012
By: Chico
from Cincinnati, OH
"This is a great pair of pants to walk & wade when air temperatures rise. They are also great for the rafting when you don't need full waders and you are bound to get wet getting in & out to fish. Nice belt system with a snap on the belt loop to keep the clip in front. The material is very durable and will take a few trips through the laundry. They run true to size and are immediately comfortable.
The best part of all is the weight. You will not sacrifice valuable luggage weight with these pants. With the nylon belt, you could even wear them through airport security. They are quick to dry (even better with quick dry underpants) and maybe the only pants you wear for the week of fishing."
Review 11 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
different color,
October 17, 2011
By: scrappyone
from Denver, CO
"the shirt ordered and received is a different color light blue than the one I saw in the store"
Review 12 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Sun Glove,
August 19, 2011
By: ColoFlyFisher
"I just used my new sun gloves for the first time and I think they are great. They dry quickly, unlike previous pairs, the fingers are nicely snug (I'm a woman with medium-sized hands) and I like the full-palm hook-resistant stuff. The thumb is a little long for my hands, so I have to turn it back and make a cuff, but that's not a problem. Have had to do this with every sun glove I've ever had."
Review 13 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Shirt for all uses,
July 7, 2011
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
"I recently was down in Asheville fishing the Blue Ridge and lost my shirt (literally) along the way. It was probably left in the rental car or at the hotel or maybe even streamside. I thought I'd get over it, but being home I've missed this shirt terribly so I bought another one! Great alone on a summer's day or as a layering piece in cooler weather. I even wore it last night to the Red Sox game (and they won, must have been the shirt)."
Review 14 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dont fish without it,
July 7, 2011
By: muddler
"Being a fair skinned fishing enthusiast, I have often suffered from excessive sun exposure, despite my efforts with sunscreens etc. Now with the UV buff, my neck and ears are well protected, and I have the freedom to fish all day when the hatch is on. I wouldnt go fishing without it !!"
Review 15 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
June 15, 2011
By: waterlogged
"I usually wear long sleeves for sun protection while out fishing and would come away with the top of my hands sunburned. Decided to try the sun gloves and love them. They are very comfortable and keep your hands protected. Recommend to anyone..."
Review 16 for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfortable and stylish,
April 12, 2011
By: palmetto
from James, South Carolina
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this to use in outdoor activities primarily for sun protection. Very comfortable even in hot sticky conditions. Note that the pale blue color is much closer to pale green than blue."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tropical Layering System with Sun Protection (85°+)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1