Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts

We went to great lengths to create the perfect pair of men's twill drawstring shorts. Pigment-dyed pure cotton twill—an Orvis exclusive—double washed for a broken-in feel makes these summer shorts a cool, breathable favorite from the first wearing; an elasticized drawstring waistband lends an easy fit and unmatched comfort. Quarter-top pockets; two rear button-through pockets. Zip fly. Men's twill drawstring shorts are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-46. 9" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
3.968 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
24 of 31(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Review 1 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Consistently rips out in the crotch,
August 4, 2013
By: Georgie2
"I bought four pairs of these, and the style, fabric and cut is just what I wanted. They are very comfortable and durable. But all four pairs ripped out in the crotch within the first couple of times I wore them. I figured they were defective, since this has never happened to me before with a pair of shorts (or pants), so I sent them back. Orvis was nothing but helpful. They accepted the return of my shorts and sent me four more pairs. But the same thing happened to every one of the new ones, too. I now have four MORE pairs of shorts ripped out in the crotch. Got to be something wrong with this design, or the sewing of that seam."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 9, 2013
We have contacted our customer to offer thanks for this review. We respect and welcome our customers’ comments, and we continually strive to improve the quality of everything we sell.

This issue has been reviewed by our Quality Assurance Department, and we have confirmed the problem; Orvis has taken action to correct the issue and make sure this item is absolutely right. You can shop with confidence at Orvis—we will happily refund or exchange any purchase that isn’t 100% satisfactory.

Review 2 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Twill shorts,
July 10, 2013
By: Coton
from Pennsylvania,
"A very solid product . Shorts are comfortable and true to size. The legs are a little long, but not excessive."
Review 3 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough size matchup,
June 28, 2013
By: Blumax
"Loved blue color and no-belt waist idea, nice material.
But found elastic a bit too loose and rise could have been little more.
"
Review 4 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for.,
May 25, 2013
By: Gabe1
from Marietta, GA
"I read the other reviews before ordering these shorts. Shorts were just as described. Good trim fit. Legs are not excessively wide."
Review 5 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Legs could be wider,
May 1, 2013
By: Darr
"Overall quality and fit is good. Could stand more freedom of movement in the legs."
Review 6 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
VERY DISAPPOINTED,
April 3, 2013
By: 1877
"I'm 6'3''/195 lbs,runner. My wife has
purchased many items for me from Orvis,which I have been very satisfied with. However I'm very disappointed with all three pairs of shorts. Size 34 would not go over the hips, size 36 made it over the hips, but was tight in the crotch and seat Your usual high quality was not there..
"
Review 7 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality,
July 17, 2012
By: Rastis
"Shorts are short from crotch to waist, slipped them on and the crotch tore out, 2 inch slit...... Was a gift from my wife, need to ship back for a refund......."
Review 8 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Crotch split,
July 8, 2012
By: baydogs
"I ordered these shorts in late June, this is early July. They were shipped quickly and arrived quickly. BUT, within a couple of weeks, the seam in the crotch, just below the fly, split out.
I have another pair of these from Orvis and have had no problems and I have several pairs of very similar shorts with the drawstring from another catalog (much less expensive). I have never had a problem with the others - I guess this just had a bad seam.
I took it to a local dry cleaners and had it repaired rather than go thru the hassle of exchanges etc.
Too bad - Orvis stuff is expensive and I would have expected it to hold up.
"
Review 9 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sad to have to return,
June 20, 2012
By: Racoon
from Salt Lake City, UT
"The fabric,construction and color were excellent. I was disappointed to have to return these shorts because they we too tight, although the waist measurement fit. This type of short, for my use, needs to be looser and more relaxed in order to be comfortable during outdoor summer activities."
Review 10 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice summer short,
June 16, 2012
By: Derrick
from Renton, WA
"Quality fabric with a good length and drop. The sizing is perfect and the fabric is soft and pliable. Nice coordinating color with a drawstring to accommodate individual comfort preferences. would definitely purchase again."
Review 11 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fabric!,
June 12, 2012
By: stampqueen
from Muscatine, IA
"I returned these only because they were shorter in length than stated in the catalog. My husband likes them longer."
Review 12 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Constructed but Comfy,
June 8, 2012
By: td17
"These brokered a peace in my house: comfortable enough to lounge in, tailored enough to be seen out in, without the sweatpant styling that you sometimes see in elastic-waisted shorts. Expensive for shorts, but then you can't fault Orvis for bullet-proof quality, so I imagine these will prove to be a good value over time."
Review 13 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
May 30, 2012
By: lady847
from San Francisco, CA
"Bought two pair of these shorts for my husband and he loves them. Just exactly what he wanted. Great durable fabric, perfect fit, drawstring waist, good pockets and really good color selection."
Review 14 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fitting shorts,
May 29, 2012
By: Majid
from Arlington, VA
"The drawstring and elasticized waist of these shorts makes them them the most comfortable I've found recently. Belts are uncomfortable for me, and suspenders simply ridiculous for shorts (unless we're in Tyrol). Even so the tailoring is handsome enough for outdoor suppers at the club with an appropriate polo short. More colors please."
Review 15 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
May 9, 2012
By: twobob
"Love the shorts! Fit well, wear well and are exactly what I wanted."
Review 16 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 28, 2012
By: John7467
"Very comfortable, good fit. This is my second paiir!"
Review 17 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissappointed,
March 27, 2012
By: CindyG
from Atlanta, GA
"When recieved the shorts via mail, there was a large hole along the seam at the crotch."
Review 18 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Shorts!,
March 14, 2012
By: Lilo
from Allentown, PA
"What a disappointment! These shorts are "low rise", and don't fit comfortably. Extra room in the legs is no substitute for far lack of critical "breathing space. Upon reading the reviews, I thought no problem, they'll fit with room to spare.
I've wasted money to try on an ill fitting product. Pardon me if I take a break from Orvis mail order. Very disappointed!!!"
Review 19 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value,
July 15, 2011
By: greyeagle
"Heavy weight twill, perfect for canoeing, fishing and all summer sports. They fit big. I normally wear a 36, but with the elastic waist, could have worn a 34"
Review 20 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
July 4, 2011
By: bozeaux
"I have made several purchases from Orvis and the quality of the products is always excellent."