Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts

We went to great lengths to create the perfect pair of men's twill drawstring shorts. Pigment-dyed pure cotton twill—an Orvis exclusive—double washed for a broken-in feel makes these summer shorts a cool, breathable favorite from the first wearing; an elasticized drawstring waistband lends an easy fit and unmatched comfort. Quarter-top pockets; two rear button-through pockets. Zip fly. Men's twill drawstring shorts are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-46. 9" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
44 of 52(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Review 1 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Shorts,
September 1, 2014
By: Wilf
from Miami, Florida
"These shorts are perfect for the winter in my hometown - Miami! Excellent weight and the finest construction I've ever seen in casual - at the beach - wear. Thank you so very much for providing such a PERFECT garment!!!"
Review 2 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts,
August 11, 2014
By: wmhjr
from San Jose ca
"I know have all 3 colors. I like the elastic waistband. Very durable pair of shorts. They go thru the wash and come out looking great."
Review 3 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality,
July 30, 2014
By: Linda46
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"As with most all Orvis products, these shorts were top quality...very sturdy fabric, great detail & styling.
I bought these shorts for my husband and he is always pleased with anything from Orvis. Do note however, they run quite large. So if in doubt, order down in size."
Review 4 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good comfort value,
July 28, 2014
By: Bavaria
from MS
"These shorts are comfortable and an excellent value"
Review 5 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not exaclty blue shorts,
July 26, 2014
By: Paki
from Houston, TX
"one of the reviews I read said the blue shorts were not blue and I agree, but I like the fabric and the fit. after washing these "blue" shorts will be more grey than blue. I would have ordered the tan ones but they were sold out. Suggest Orvis hit the maker on quality of color."
Review 6 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
July 26, 2014
By: Kboy
from mail order
"Need belt loops with elastic.Inseam
to long shorts dropped below knees
"
Review 7 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just what I expected,
July 15, 2014
By: Bebe21
from Williamsville, New York
"It's actually hard to find good quality draw string shorts. These are exactly what I was looking for. The are a substantial weight, but feel broken-in after the first washing."
Review 8 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shorts!,
July 15, 2014
By: PaulaH
from Heiskell, TN
"I bought these for my husband for Fathers Day. He loves them. Bought them in 2 colors and he wears them all the time!"
Review 9 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Wuality,
July 15, 2014
By: Natbean
from Mississippi
"The product was excellent but
just a bit too thick fabric for my
husband. Overall very well made!!
"
Review 10 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My New Shorts,
June 19, 2014
By: BeaverMan
"I love my new shorts! Fit perfectly, soft comfortable fabric and they show off my manly legs.."
Review 11 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice shorts,
June 11, 2014
By: samjam
"The shorts appear to be well made.The fit is a bit trimmer than I am used to from Orvis. Could have used a little more room in the crotch area.Only time will tell how well they hold up."
Review 12 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
June 4, 2014
By: BajaBill
"Well made, great value. Second purchase of these shorts."
Review 13 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product !!,
May 19, 2014
By: Duffy4
from Wisconsin
"Fit is great, mat'l is very good.
Never been disappointed with any
product from Orvis.
"
Review 14 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
color accuracy.,
May 8, 2014
By: nickless
from Chicago
"The shorts I ordered were to be navy. The order with them when they arrived said they were navy, but I have to say, navy isn't an accurate description. The color is closer to a deep olive brown. They are OK, but the catalog calling it navy isn't accurate. Thanks."
Review 15 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good choice,
May 5, 2014
By: Admiralderuyter
from Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
"The shorts are cut very well and the fabric is sturdy but soft."
Review 16 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very good purchase,
April 23, 2014
By: sheep
from whittier, ca
"I had a need for a pair of shorts, with summer coming. I saw these shorts in your catalog and bought two pair, A good decision on my paart and a good product on yours."
Review 17 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Consistently rips out in the crotch,
August 4, 2013
By: Georgie2
"I bought four pairs of these, and the style, fabric and cut is just what I wanted. They are very comfortable and durable. But all four pairs ripped out in the crotch within the first couple of times I wore them. I figured they were defective, since this has never happened to me before with a pair of shorts (or pants), so I sent them back. Orvis was nothing but helpful. They accepted the return of my shorts and sent me four more pairs. But the same thing happened to every one of the new ones, too. I now have four MORE pairs of shorts ripped out in the crotch. Got to be something wrong with this design, or the sewing of that seam."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 9, 2013
We have contacted our customer to offer thanks for this review. We respect and welcome our customers’ comments, and we continually strive to improve the quality of everything we sell.

This issue has been reviewed by our Quality Assurance Department, and we have confirmed the problem; Orvis has taken action to correct the issue and make sure this item is absolutely right. You can shop with confidence at Orvis—we will happily refund or exchange any purchase that isn’t 100% satisfactory.

Review 18 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Twill shorts,
July 10, 2013
By: Coton
from Pennsylvania,
"A very solid product . Shorts are comfortable and true to size. The legs are a little long, but not excessive."
Review 19 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough size matchup,
June 28, 2013
By: Blumax
"Loved blue color and no-belt waist idea, nice material.
But found elastic a bit too loose and rise could have been little more.
"
Review 20 for Vintage Twill Drawstring Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I was looking for.,
May 25, 2013
By: Gabe1
from Marietta, GA
"I read the other reviews before ordering these shorts. Shorts were just as described. Good trim fit. Legs are not excessively wide."