Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit

This is the same great Streamline starter fly fishing rod-and-reel outfit we offer for adults, but with a slimmer, shorter grip to make it easier for the junior angler to hold. The outfit includes a Streamline 7'9", 5-weight, Mid-Flex fly rod (the perfect length and weight for smaller frames), a Clearwater III reel, fly line, fly-line backing, and a fly-fishing leader. Also includes a carrying case and The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing. Just add a fly and they're ready to fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Review 1 for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kids outfit,
September 7, 2013
By: Quimby
from South Dakota
"I got two of these for my 6 and 9 yr old Grand Dudes. They are exactly what we needed. Now the fun starts!"
Review 2 for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Days,
September 19, 2012
By: Ragingriver
from Lancashire, UK
"The delight in my grandsons eyes was soon converted into confident casting, a pleasure to watch."
Review 3 for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basic, very good starter rod/reel,
September 3, 2012
By: Ezra
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Much has already been said, so I wont repeat it all. This is a great, starter rod/reel. It lacks bells and whistles (such as drag adjustment, too stiff rod action), but it is MORE than enough for a beginning fly angler, whether young or old.
I bought this rod/reel for my 9-yr-old daughter.
Meanwhile, I recently 'borrowed' it and used this rod/reel in the West Branch (of Croton Watershed) in NY to catch a couple of Brown trout. There is a lot of overgrowth, trees, etc to actually a smaller rod is better.
It is all-too-easy to get swept away online to buy a $1000 rod/reel, but at the current price, this is a superb deal from Orvis."
Review 4 for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A fab gift for a Grandson/Grandaughter,
August 20, 2012
By: Crinkly
from Dublin, Ireland
"What a great present, I saw it in your 5th Ave store but it was a little big for my suitcase.
Ordered it online for my 7 year old Grandson's Birthday.
What a great little rod , ideal for little hands and after 30 minutes he is casting like a pro!
I tried it myself & it is a super rod.
Beutifully presented, complete with Reel , Fly-Line and backing , noting to do but tie a fly on.
Would I recommend this to other Grandads - absolutely !
It will become a family heirlooom and be passed on to my Grandson's younger sister and brother.
"
Review 5 for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought for one g-child last yr-Now will buy 2 more,
November 3, 2011
By: CycleGirl
from Burlington, VT
"My 8 yr old grandson saw me using my Helois fly rod. He asked to try it out. That was all he talked about for days. Last Xmas I got this Jr outfit for him. We were out by May. He made usual mistakes but caught on fast. At end of day one he was making nice 25 yd casts. At end of this Fall, he was doing side cast and roll casts. The rod is perfect size. Now the younger 2 grandkids want in on the fun. It is worth the extra spent to personalize the rod for them. Personalizing it made it even more of a treasure. Now I am looking for waders in their sizes cause Spring and Fall waters are very cold."
Review 6 for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandsons Are Ready!,
October 12, 2010
By: Doug
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've taken two grandsons fishing on numerous occasions, but it was the fly fishing experience that they were intrigued with. I recently purchased two of these rod outfits. As advertised, all you need to do is add the fly. The rods are manageable in terms of size and weight for these 10 year olds. They were even thrilled with the tube case to transport their favorite rods. Within minutes we were all practicing casting in their front yard. They are as happy with their first new rods and reels as I am with my Helios & CFO combo. I'd recommend this outfit to any parent or grand parent who wants to share the passion of flyfishing with young ones. The book included with your purchase is outstanding while not being overwhelming for a young person."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice starter kit,
October 11, 2010
By: seabeebillm
from Bentonville, AR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this kit for my 10 year old son to get him started in fly fishing. I'm not sure you could find a better beginner package for the money, casts well, easy to handle, and looks great. After some practice casting in the front yard, took him to Roaring River state park in Cassville Missouri and he caught a nice 18" rainbow with an elk hair caddis on his first cast. I've taken this rod out myself on a couple of occasions, when I was fishing for panfish in a local creek. My only complaint is, like the other reviewer, the drag was nonexistent and had to be adjusted. Also I wish that the rod had arrived from Orvis with a loop at the end of the fly line rather than the leader being tied on with a nail not. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking to buy a kit for a younger or smaller framed person. Hope this helps."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Streamline Junior Guide Starter Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Fine Starter Package,
March 22, 2010
By: BeachBum
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this outfit for my nephew for his first fly fishing experience. It's really attractive and a good value. I was initially disappointed with the reel, as the drag was nonexistent. A call to an Orvis tech resolved the problem quickly. All I had to do is remove the drag button by backing out the single screw and tighten down on the underlying nut."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.