Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit

Get into saltwater fishing with the Streamline 9' 8-weight Tip-Flex fly rod and reel outfit. Great for striped bass, bluefish, bonefish, redfish and a host of other species. Features Orvis Streamline 9' 8-weight, 4-piece rod with full-wells grip and fighting butt. Comes with Clearwater IV reel, 125 yards of 30-lb. Dacron backing, a 100' weight-forward 8 line, and a 9' 2X leader. Complete with rod and reel carrying case and a copy of The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Review 1 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great beginner's tool,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"I own some 20 top of the line fly rods from Orvis, from my first 1985-vintage 7' #5 Otter down to a 9' # 7 Helios 2 that I purchased from Orvis UK just a few weeks ago in December 2013. I bought the 9'6" # 7 Streamline outfit as a christmas present for a young relative, who is not yet sure wether she'll like saltwater fly fishing for seatrout in the Danish Baltic. Trying it out on a nearby gravel pit, I was surprised at how well the budget priced rod stood against the far more expensive rods. It feels just as well with a #6 line, and with some care will even cast a # 8 line over the 25 meters' distance that you need most of the time. Of course, it's heavier and the line would have to be exchanged for the salt, but I'm sure that this is a reliable tool for her first seatrouting experience with me in April this year. Will come back for a Helios or Access, if she sticks to it."
Review 2 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
October 1, 2013
By: parlour52
from Wallingford, Oxfordshire UK
"I was looking for a starter kit for my trip to the SW Florida beaches, I prefer ~Orvis products based on previous experience and this one seemed to fit the bill.
Having received it within a few days, I am really pleased.The rod is excellent, as is the line/backing. I will probably upgrade the reel in time, but it is fine for now.
Altogether a great package and great value.
"
Review 3 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You actually get better than you pay for!,
May 28, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"I purchased the 8wt 9' Saltwater outfit to replace an old and tired fiberglass rod. Very much like going from the slide rule to the scientific calculator. Sweet is the only way to describe the experience of using this outfit."
Review 4 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Camper,
January 22, 2013
By: troutzilla
"I am a beginning saltwater fly fisherman, this complete outfit was just what I was looking for. I have made several new purchases with Orvis because of the quality of the item and fast shipping. Looking forward to catching some Surf Perch, Halibut and Corbina."
Review 5 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
streamline,
November 12, 2012
By: chefgunn
"step up to the clearwater....its much better for a little more in cost. dont pay for the expedited shipping if you rellly need it in time for a trip....came 7 days later"
Review 6 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fly rod and reel,
October 22, 2012
By: Splinter
from NJ
"The fly rod is very nice and comes in a quality rod holder. My dissapointment comes in the reel itself. The knob for reeling is very small and hard to use and I should have just bought the rod and saved the difference to purchase a quality reel."
Review 7 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for the money,
October 7, 2012
By: GrouserGSP
from Grand Rapids, MI
"With the up coming salmon and steelhead runs I needed a rod and reel fast. So I ordered the Steamline 908-4 outfit. I received this on time from Orvis and the service was excellent, second to none. The day after I received my outfit I hit the river and caught several large raibows. What a great performing system for the money. I have other excellent Orvis rods and reels, this one doesn't skip a beat when I compare. It also stands up to the big pike looking for a meal in the rivers. May I add that I have received a lot of compliments on the performance of this system. Other trout anglers wanted to try my Streamline out and were even more impressed after giving it a test run."
Review 8 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First fly rod,
October 3, 2012
By: Rangerrick
"Looking forward to catching some monster bass here in Virginia"
Review 9 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mostly very good,
August 16, 2012
By: Clashbain
from Sutherland, UK
"The case, rod and line were all as I would expect from Orvis. The reel however seems very cheap and unlikely to last very long. Overall a good value package and the reel is the least important item in a fly fishing combo."
Review 10 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product and economic.,
August 15, 2012
By: Pelo
from Pando-Uruguay
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"It's my first team fly, I feel very comfortable to start throwing the fly. I tried it in the sea and throw big flies with ease. I hope someday to buy a bigger combo to catch big fish.
Thanks to all the Orvis team for their help, this combo came to Uruguay in just 5 days.
"
Review 11 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
August 14, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Minneapolis, MN
"Very good quality and comfortable product. I am new to flying fishing and I loving using this item as my first fly fishing rod."
Review 12 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Starter Rod,
January 2, 2012
By: 6dogs
"Got this for my son who took up fly fishing this past summer. Was hesitant to order online without seeing the product but couldn't find anything locally. It was ready to go out of the box and he's fished every day since he got it for Christmas. He caught a bass his first outing within the first 30 minutes! We did have to adjust the reel as I ordered it wrong when asked which side to mount it on. It's completely reversable which is very nice. Very satisfied and will continue to order from Orvis as his experience builds and he's ready to move up."
Review 13 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
8n wt Streamline Combo,
December 29, 2011
By: JBinFlorida
from Jensen Beach, FL
"I was well aware I was buying an entry level Fly package but I was a bit disappointed in the combo. It was advertised as a saltwater setup but the line that came with it was freshwater. Drag on reel was very weak even when locked down. Rod was a bit whippy for an 8wt. Overall quality was the same as the $50 beginner sets you see in stores. I chose to return the combo and look for a better setup."
Review 14 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
first flyrod,
November 17, 2011
By: SAM997
from Stuart,FL.
"As a newcomer to the sport I did not want to spend too much$ on something I may not enjoy. The outfit came with every thing but leader. I am taking lessons next week so I have not used it as of yet. I bought it because I borrowed freinds Orivs outfit and like all the info I could get from Orivis website."
Review 15 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect starter!!!,
January 25, 2011
By: VAFisher
from Purchased in Northern VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this combo about a year ago to get started in fly fishing. After taking some casting lessons and trying several different rods that were very nice and very expensive I went to the local Orvis store to find an affordable beginner set. The Orvis representative (Dan) took me out to practice casting and the feel was great! The feel of the rod is just like my father’s which costs double the price of the package. I use this locally in North VA, I take it flats fishing when in Florida, and I even brought it to Alaska on the Russian river and brought in Salmon everyday for a week straight!
This rod performs as nicely as many of its higher
priced competitors but for a very affordable price!
"
Review 16 for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Broke fast,
December 31, 2010
By: ibikedthere
from St Louis MO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this specifically for a trip to Hawaii (Kauai and the Big Island) and was very pleased with the appearance and value of the rod, reel, case, line and book (Not really called out on the product description but it was an enjoyable read on the plane). The case in one respect is nicer than the case for the Clearwater II rod -- it has a clear section for the reel holder. Very attractive matte green material for the rod, good feel for the length and weight and a sense of good workmanship. All I needed to add was tippet and a fly.
First day out, I was in a few feet of water near Hanalei and casting around some rocks in gentle surf. The accuracy and distance were impressive against a light wind. I'm used to a five weight 8'6" rod, so having more reach and oomph was a lot of fun. Had a couple bites when I caught the hook on a rock (lava rocks with lots of small holes). I gave a tug and the rod snapped just above the second ferrule from the tip. I was really surprised (for a couple reasons!) but mostly because the line snapped at the same time, meaning the rod has the same strength as 8# tippet!
I collected the parts and gave Orvis a call. The fishing department said I could return the rod and for $50 have it repaired in the course of a few weeks. Because the rod is only part of a combo package, and not made by Orvis, they couldn't ship just a replacement section of the rod, or only the rod.
I'm still evaluating that option, because I went ahead and bought the next rod up, the Clearwater II and had it shipped to the next stop on our journey. It's $200, and works and feels great. Orvis customer service was able to get the rod to me in just a couple days (I called on Sunday a.m. and had it in hand, in Kauai, Wednesday evening for about $20 shipping). The Clearwater II has the 25 guarantee.
So, I'm not sure I can recommend the combo. It was operator error to tug on a stuck line, but it seemed awful early for an 8 weight rod. I'd give it a very qualified recommendation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Streamline 8-weight 9' Saltwater Outfit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1