Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 906-4 Tip

A big-water trout and bass or panfish rod. Great for throwing big hair flies and streamers. Comes with Orvis Streamline 906-4 Tip-Flex rod. 9', 6-weight rod has a reverse half-wells grip and comes complete with Clearwater III reel, 150 yards of 20-lb. Dacron backing, a 90' weight-forward 5 chartreuse floating line and a 9' 2x leader. Comes complete with a rod and reel carrying case and a copy of The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing. Perfect for the beginning angler. Just add a fly and it's ready to fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 906-4 Tip
Review 1 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 906-4 Tip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stand-by,
December 24, 2013
By: veterancustomer
"The vast majority of my fishing is done with a 8'6" 5-wt but just once in a while I need a little more punch for the bigger waters and this slightly longer/heavier rig is going to do it just fine. Rod, reel, line, leader and carrying case for a hundred. Bargain of the year and I am going to keep it in the car just in case."
Review 2 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 906-4 Tip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good rod, expected a better reel,
June 19, 2013
By: Rogers02
from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
"I love the rod but the reel feels a little cheap for the price I paid. If I would have known I would have spent the extra money to buy a Clearwater outfit."
Review 3 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 906-4 Tip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back in the saddle,
September 7, 2012
By: Greenebelly
from Ferndale,CA
"I fly fished when I was young(er). I have moved to northern CA and couldn't resist it any longer. I walked into the fly shop and was looking for a cheaper outfit that would fit in my truck. (I didn't want to pop for the Helio's if the spark was gone you know!) This little 6WT rod is FAR superior to what I had in the early eighties! I was throwing tight loops into the wind on the Eel river in no time! THANK YOU! (Wife is NOT happy!) I am now sneaking, err,....saving funds for the Helios. Problem is this, I now need the 3WT for trout AND the 8WT for steelhead/salmon! Wifie saw the price tags!" Why isn't the entry level one good enough?!?!?", she says! (What happens at the fly shop, stays at the fly shop!)"
Review 4 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 906-4 Tip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great First Rod,
February 7, 2012
By: Ollyman
from Sausalito, CA
"I live in the San Francisco bay area, this setup was recommended to me by a casting instructor. With all of the wind that is typical for this area the 6 wt does a great job of getting out there, also very forgiving. The rod and reel are good quality, no regrets."
Review 5 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 906-4 Tip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this set,
September 23, 2010
By: VAFisher
from Purchased in Northern VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I needed an entry level starter kit and this is perfect! The rod feels great, better than any or the other brands I tested. I couldn't feel a difference between it and some very expensive rods I was able to try.
The reel is a little on the weak side with plastic internals but the entire set was tough enough to catch red salmon on the Russian River in Alaska!"
Review 6 for Streamline Fly-Fishing Outfit 906-4 Tip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Streamline outfit,
April 3, 2010
By: Farcast
from Co Durham, England.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this outfit over a year ago and whilst i have caught trout with it, i found it to be a bit underpowered.
The rod does not seem have the power to cast long distances well or when windy.
A good rod outfit however for a beginner to use on small still waters and its got the Orvis name tag.
It is a good outfit to start with and then move up to something like the Western Series."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and regret that this rod's action does not cast comfortably for him. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.