Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit

A complete fly-fishing outfit for trout, bass or panfish. Comes with Orvis Streamline 8' 6", 5-weight rod. Reverse half-wells grip and comes complete with Clearwater III reel, 150 yards of 20-lb. Dacron backing, a 90' weight-forward 5 chartreuse floating line and a 9' 2x leader. Comes complete with a rod and reel carrying case and a copy of The Orvis Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing. Perfect for the beginning angler. Just add a fly and it's ready to fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
57 of 61(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Review 1 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best combo,
September 2, 2013
By: fishingtildi
from uvalde tx
"this combo is a great buy. I am new to fly fishing and have found that it is easy to use. I have even introduced some of my friends to fly fishing, using this combo as well. It is a perfect value for beginners, as well as seasoned fly fishermen. I love that it is easily assembled and disassembled and can be carried anywhere!"
Review 2 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly Rod/Reel Combo,
July 24, 2013
By: Yunick
from Manchester, CT
"First time fly fisherman. Painstakingly reviewed a number of rod/reel combinations before deciding on the Orvis 5-weight 8'6" combo as a 50th birthday present for myself.
I made the right choice, very happy with the product. Have not had one issue, the quality appears to be quite good.
Can't wait to buy an Orvis 8-weight salt water rod!
"
Review 3 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Starter Kit,
July 24, 2013
By: rbarno
from Weston, MA
"I've been buying Orvis gear for 30 years, including my 3 new Helios 2 rods. I recently visited a friend in Bavaria, Germany, and after returning I decided to get him started fly fishing. I looked around a little, but after learning that Orvis sells a nice beginner kit, I purchase it in the 8.5 ft. model. When it came in the mail, I was very pleased to see that although simple, this beginner kit has the quality and detail that made me proud to bestow it on a discerning German scientist! The fit and feel were balanced and attractive, and the price point was just right for a beginner set. I added a few leaders, nice box of my fly patterns, floatant and a few other important items. When he received the gift, he was elated. He read the Orvis beginners guide, and could not wait to find a stream to try out his newfound sport of fly fishing! OF course, I included an Orvis catalogue!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb starter combo,
June 21, 2013
By: Jjsweeney
from Lexington, KY
"Great rod and reel combo for a beginner! Bought it for my girlfriend to teach her the basics of fly fishing and she loves it!"
Review 5 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can do this,
June 19, 2013
By: Jordan5
from North Carolina
"New to the world of fly fishing. So I took the class from Orvis liked the way it felt in class and bought it. This rod is great I feel like it is helping me through all my mistakes learning to cast. I would and have recommended this rod to all my friends. If you are a newby get this rod you will be glad you did."
Review 6 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great starter rod and reel,
June 19, 2013
By: Humpmaster
"I really like the action of this fly rod.And I must say I really like the weight of the reel. It's not to heavy compared to others I've tried out."
Review 7 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good so far!,
June 18, 2013
By: BrettM
from NYC
"I got this at the local NYC orivs store. I've been using it for about 2 months now and fished with it quite a bit. The book was an amazing place to start. I took the Free orvis classes to get more direction and I've had an amazing time! only one problem with the drag on the reel and the guys at the Orvis store swapped the reel for a new one."
Review 8 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
got orvis?,
June 18, 2013
By: nabibrian
from Portland, Oregon
"Everything is as described.
The book it comes with is a nice addition.
The reel this outfit comes with will definitely need to be replaced as it seems kind of cheap and not as solid as other orvis reels that I've owned."
Review 9 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good starter pole/reel,
June 14, 2013
By: GreenRhino
from Deposit, NY
"Works well for me as a beginner in the rivers of Northern Appalachia. Primarily we fish for Brown trout"
Review 10 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
June 8, 2013
By: BillG3222
from NH
"Works for me.
Easy to cast. Compact when cased. I keep it in my truck at all times. You just never know when you might get the urge to fish.
"
Review 11 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than I expected,
May 22, 2013
By: Jeffd
from Lenoir, NC
"This is my first fly rod and I could not be more pleased. I began reading the free book that was included, practiced casting in the front yard and went to a neighbors pond to try it out. The rod and reel functioned perfectly, cast smoothly and worked flawlessly when I caught my first two bluegills! I could not be more pleased! Thanks Orvis!"
Review 12 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream fulfilled,
May 21, 2013
By: Fahjah
"I purchased this product for my son in order to fulfill his dream of catching a trout on a fly-rod. Which he did.
I was so nice to be able to open the case, assemble the rod, tie on a fly and fish.
He is now hooked for life. Nice work!
"
Review 13 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality rod for the price,
May 20, 2013
By: cookie73
from Fraser River, Colorado
"I picked this rod up as a started rod for a friend and have ended up using more myself. Not the best rod on the market but for the price it can't be beat."
Review 14 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right for my 14 y old son,
April 21, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
"We used this combo at the FF 101 school in Plymouth Meeting and found it to perform superbly. Sorry, Orvis, we will use this for awhile before upgrading. Excellent construction and a great value. Thank you Orvis, my son is hooked on something real, not electronic."
Review 15 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I expected better quality from Orvis,
April 18, 2013
By: Chet22
from Washington, DC
"I received this combo as a gift from my brother.
I took it fishing on the Potomac for the shad run. While fighting my first fish, the 3rd section of the rod snapped. Considering the rod had only been used to practice casting in my yard, I did not expect it to just break.
Before it broke, it did cast nicely. The rod and reel are a good match and I think it's a great starter outfit to introduce someone to fly fishing.
I will say that my customer service experience was great. I went through the rod repair process, but took the opportunity to upgrade to the Access 5-weight 8'6" Fly Rod—Mid Flex instead. It arrived on my doorstep three days later and I was back on the water."
Review 16 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first orvis rod,
March 3, 2013
By: manu
from stornoway
"i was wanting to have a go at orvis set up, have to admit not disappointed at all. good value for money and great to cast"
Review 17 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT AND AFFORDABLE,
December 29, 2012
By: Glynda
from Nederland, TX.
"Purchased this for my grandson who is just getting into fly fishing. He was thoroughly impressed and excited about receiving such a quality set."
Review 18 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great starter setup!,
December 28, 2012
By: vtchris
from alabama
"Great setup to learn and I love that it will last a longtime."
Review 19 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great gift,
December 25, 2012
By: Newbie77
"I got this gift as a Christmas present for my dad, who is a budding fly fisherman. The price and reviews of this product were excellent and it has not disappointed."
Review 20 for Streamline 5-weight 8'6" Freshwater Outfit
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Decision,
November 12, 2012
By: DaKine
from Charlotte, NC
"I purchased the Streamline 5 wt Freshwater Outfit this month. Could be happier with the purchase. Excellent quality and performance."