Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

The Ultimate Travel Jacket

Built for comfort and versatility when you're traveling, this jacket is based on a well-loved jacket loaned to us by a loyal customer. Removable sleeves make our travel jackets for men ideal through a wide range of temperatures; the removable hood means brisk ocean breezes or light rain won't slow you down. Multiple pockets keep your belongings secure and organized; stow MP3 player, passport, tickets and boarding passes, cell phone, keys, glasses, and more in labeled internal pockets. Right-side water bottle holder. Shoulder yoke and other stress points reinforced with tough, abrasion-resistant nylon canvas. Corrosion-resistant hardware and fasteners. 23 outside pockets; 5 inside pockets. Travel jackets for men in olive. Cotton/nylon. Washable. Imported.Sizes: XXL(50-52). About 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
1
54 of 67(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Review 1 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutey fantasic jacket,
June 4, 2011
By: Tweedman
from Laholm Sweden
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This jacket has made me leave my fishing bag at home. All nessecary equipment is nicely carried in all the 27 pockets.
Superb for wading and fishing.
"
Review 2 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bitterly disappointed,
January 3, 2013
By: Casenbas
from Surrey, England
"This is marketed as an all weather jacket, yet it barely came down to my hips. Don't tell me I ordered the wrong size, because the chest and the arm lengths were absolutely fine. I had no option but to send it back and claim a refund. As I had to pay the postage both for despatch and return, it means I spent £10 and got absolutely zippo for it. I am bitterly disappointed with Orvis as a result."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not suprised it is on sale,
January 1, 2013
By: rphoto
from Mt. Juliet , Tn.
"The jacket is about 2-4 inches too short and very difficult to remove when worn over long sleeves, (unlined sleeves.). It is being returned tomorrow, I would consider purchasing an improved item in the future."
Review 4 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
January 1, 2013
By: Esoxman
from Reigate Surrey
"Many great features but 4 design faults as follows that make it not worth the large price:
1) Just a couple of inches too short
2) Needs a drawstring - the whole effect of the coat is far too baggy
3) No need for poppers - previous reviews say they break off anyway. Zips or velcro are all that is needed.
4) Too many small and probably useless pockets. Less is more, to a degree.
"
Review 5 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
December 29, 2012
By: Vict
from New Jersey
"Bought this jacket for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it! It's great on a rainy, wet day since the jacket repels water. It's comfortable and roomy enough to wear with a hoodie underneath. Overall, a great buy!"
Review 6 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needs Some Work,
December 13, 2012
By: worldtravelor
from Northern Virginia
"Overall I thought the jacket worked well on my trip overseas, however I was disappointed that the top right-hand snap came out of the jacket after only a few days of use. An improvement I would make is to lengthen the jacket a little bit to bring the lower pockets down a little as this is a travel jacket and doesn't need to be kept out of the water."
Review 7 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good vest fit,
December 11, 2012
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"Wear a 46 jacket which is somewhat large on me; the Large jacket fits well. Comments regarding the short length are offset by the vest versatility, plus wears well sitting down, in car, whatever. Like the jacket, on sale worth the money"
Review 8 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lots of sites for goodies,
December 9, 2012
By: rayfigy
from Modesto, California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I went to a Tour to Europe with Trafalgar as my tour management and I tock my jacket that first I thought it was stupid to have to many packages but as I travel to Europe many cities I found my jacket to be so help full with the packets and also with the comfort of being over me shield me from the elements that I thought this jacket it is worth the cost.and I recommend it to any body who travels"
Review 9 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate Travel Jacket,
December 8, 2012
By: tuxnjeans
from Arizona and Tennessee
"The jacket is excellent and well-made. My only minor criticism is that if you want to unsnap the hood and store it in the rear pocket then you are left with the unremovable straps sewn onto the collar which are used to secure the rolled up hood. They look weird up there without the hood so I eventually cut them off. Removable straps would be an improvement. Otherwise I am exceedingly pleased with the jacket."
Review 10 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a unique classic purchase,
November 1, 2012
By: Bodkin
from Bournemouth
"Perfect:looks good and just so practical for travelling the world.Well made and delighted with this original jacket"
Review 11 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for international flights,
November 1, 2012
By: chrisp
from Ireland
"This travel jacket is a really good product and it does exactly what it was supposed to do. It has a great variety of pockets for everything you need on long haul flights, with lots of room for a few heavy items that you don't want weighed in your hand luggage! It is certainly shower proof but I don't know if it could withstand a downpour as I haven't tried that yet. I would have liked one of the upper inner pockets to have a zip, but that's a minor quibble and it is still a great product - especially at the price in the sale."
Review 12 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Jacket with many pockets!,
October 31, 2012
By: Barontango
from East Sussex
"A well made travel jacket with numerous useful pockets. Despite the number of pockets the jacket was not bulky.For travelling the jacket would save a small suitcase! At it's original full price it was somewhat expensive however I was fortunate enough to buy it in the sale."
Review 13 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ulimate Travel Jacket,
October 31, 2012
By: Anonymous
"Everything you could wish for when looking to purchase the perfect travelling jacket, light weight, yet robust, well made, and providing all the necessary pocket storage needed for all the things we have to take with us when we travel.
A jacket design that has been thought about, and is about as good as it gets.
"
Review 14 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Could have been better,
October 18, 2012
By: eccechance
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I liked the look of the coat. I would never have used it as a vest with the zip out arems but it didn't bother me. The "pockets in the back of the coat were similar to "game pockets"; I dont hunt but they can be fuctional.
I would say my biggest criticism is that I knew there were A LOT of pockets on the coat but when I was able to evaluate the design, many were just disfuctional. You have MANY little pockets that could hold one or two items (a compass, a lighter, a small flashlight, power bars, cell phone, camera etc). My point is that rather than have 10 little pockets 3-5 medium pockets would have worked better for me. I do not want to have to search for the pocket with the compass and come up with a power bar, a flashlight or a lighter in the process; (I think is was Galileo who said simplicity is elegance).
You have a good foundation but you need to improve on it. Thank you"
Review 15 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent jacket,
October 17, 2012
By: Ray605773
from Lincolnshire ,UK
"This is a nice jacket !
It fits perfectly and is well made to the usual high standard and I like the icons on some of the pockets which are specially constructed for personal items.
I am looking forward to getting many years use out of it"
Review 16 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tried too hard,
September 11, 2012
By: NoReply
from Boulder, CO
"First, I am a devoted Orvis fan and will always be. But, this jacket was returned because it was so full of pockets, my wife said, they tried to hard to make it into something. The jacket got lost in the design. Just don't need that many pockets. It would be constant frustration looking for something you placed somewhere the day before. Quality is top notch. One fourth the pockets and I would have kept it."
Review 17 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did not meet my expectations,
September 7, 2012
By: Tigerstatic
from SC
"Ordered a large and it was OK in the shoulders and chest but was too short for the type jacket it is. Also needed a waist draw string. Was boxy.
Pockets were almost overwhelming and surely added cost that drove the price up. You end up paying for features you really don't need."
Review 18 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
August 10, 2012
By: Kamchatchafisher
"Great jacket, lots of pockets for junk on trip. Do not use the snap pockets since all the snaps come out after a few uses. That much $ for jacket, all snaps, zippers should work perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love my coat,
June 6, 2012
By: notafisherman
from Hertfordshire
"I bought this coat in the Edinburgh shop and wore it out the shop,it was atypical cold showery Scottish evening but my new coat kept me warm,I just needed a hat.I managed to pull off the right breast pocket popper which upset me but I managed to put it all back together.
A lovely coat,as it should be for the money.All those pockets are brilliant.I have not tried it without the sleves yet.
"
Review 20 for The Ultimate Travel Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Design,
May 22, 2012
By: TommyBee
from Santa Rosa, CA
"This is the Swiss Army Knife of clothing. The jacket is replete with every kind of pocket needed to store all of those indispensable items required for any trip. Well built and comfortable this jacket rocks."