Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan

This springtime version of a long-standing winter favorite makes a great substitute for a jacket on cool evenings and frosty mornings. Heathered pure cotton, breathable and soft, makes this mock-neck cardigan sweater remarkably comfortable; a full lining (jersey-knit pure cotton in the body, polyester in the sleeves) makes on-and-off easy and increases warmth. Zip front sweater has side-entry pockets. Rib-knit trim. The handsome design is derived from traditional Native American patterns. Men's zip front sweater in red multi. Pure cotton with cotton/polyester lining. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Review 1 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1/2 price: good idea,
May 8, 2013
By: Jimmi
from Odessa, FL
"I had admired this item as shown in several catalogs, but at $149 thought it was overpriced. A later catalog showed price reduced to $119, and I almost got froggy enough to jump. I think somebody messed up and printed a catalog showing price as $74 -- the 'online' order wouldn't go thru at that ($74) price -- but phone call to customer service got it done.
This item is WELL worth the $74 -- I still think it would have been overpriced at $149.
"
Review 2 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good show!!,
March 5, 2013
By: MACKEY
from Kingston, PA
"This is a garment that is better than it shows. The detail is exquisite as is the color.I ordered L and perhaps I should have an XL,maybe.Well constructed and achieves my comfort level with nothing to spare.The pockets are a source of despair.Forget about it! Other than that it's a happy purchase.Question the size when ordering and get happy.! It's a good buy."
Review 3 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality! Quality! Quality!,
February 23, 2013
By: socoma
from New England
"Everything is as advertised. In fact, the cyber image doesn't do the color justice; it is a rich, deep cranberry color. It has some weight and is very well made. As far as the pockets as others have mentioned, they are not that bad, after all it is a sweater. Bigger and deeper pockets would have added to the girth around the waist; I am pleased with them as is. Just an outstanding, attractive, quality sweater; just what one expects from Orvis."
Review 4 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item,
January 2, 2013
By: bklynwok
"I bought this for a friend.
Since he has worn this, he's had many compliments.
"
Review 5 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice cardi,
December 15, 2012
By: soredogs
from Burlington, Iowa
"Love the cardigan however I wish I had bought it in a store rather than online. Orvis are now bombarding me with adv. mail"
Review 6 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always a Compliment!,
April 30, 2012
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"It's true....each time I wear this favorite sweater of mine, I get a compliment and a question.....where did you buy that sweater from?
I am not the kind of person that looks for compliments, but this sweater draws the comments!
The color and design are truly Southwestern Indian motif, and that is my taste. Another Orvis winner!
"
Review 7 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BADLANDS CARDIGAN,
January 12, 2012
By: BLUEFIRE
from CALGARY, ALBERTA, CANADA
""Well I truthfully couldn`t be happier with this absolutely gorgeous jacket. A perfect fit, comfortable and ultra light. Love the native patterns and the richness of the cranberry red. I`m delighted and know this cardigan will be a favorite of mine until it falls off my shoulders in thirty years. Recommend this exquisite jacket to anyone................"
Review 8 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Badlands Best,
November 30, 2011
By: SDGramma
from Central South Dakota
"The sweater looks great out of the package. I've been looking for western or Navajo inspired sweater for hubby and this fit the bill perfectly! It is machine washable too! Lining is soft."
Review 9 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome sweater got,
November 14, 2011
By: jcb62
from Michigan
"Got this last Christmas,and I love it. Great quality, nice fit. I wear it as a coat in the fall and winter. It has a nice lining so you can wear it over other shirts. Just love it. I look forward to the weekends so I can slide it back on. You won't be sorry you ordered it."
Review 10 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent product,
October 31, 2011
By: Rasgueo
from Los Angeles
"This sweater is very comfortable, the zipper works great, the fit is perfect. The color is actually a bit richer than in the photo--very nice. All around a good purchase."
Review 11 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding purchase,
September 12, 2011
By: Yerart
from Massachusetts
"This is my first purchase of a warm cardigan sweater. I have several Fall jackets, but this cardigan is really handsome and stylish. I happen to be a fan of Western/Native American clothing and this sweater from Orvis fits the bill perfectly."
Review 12 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost the Best,
February 25, 2011
By: Xeno
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wanted this outstanding cardigan for years...every time I read the catalog it was my first choice...when I saw it on sale, I rushed to get it. However, though I was told that it was a substantial extra large, it is snug and a bit short...I really needed a tall or size bigger. The quality of the material and workmanship for this and the other items I bought was superior to almost any other company. That is why I would recommend Orvis to others."
Review 13 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous,
February 24, 2011
By: dlbkrb
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My spouse is in between a Large and an Extra Large; I think he's an XL, and he thinks he's a L (he's 6' 2", 190 pounds)! Since I don't like tight-fitting garments on men, I ordered the XL, and it fits perfectly. The all-cotton knit makes it wearable for both cold and mild climates. The colors are much richer than they appear on the website. Also, since we live in Okla, we see many indian-inspired designs, most disappointing. But not this one; it's perfect...not too "in your face.""
Review 14 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater!!,
February 24, 2011
By: BigRog
from Hinckley, IL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love this sweater! It is warm and looks great on me.
My wife also likes the way it looks on me. However, I am not sure why Orvis placed two zippers on this sweater? What for? Sometimes it takes longer than it should to zip-up. Also, the pockets are completely dysfunctional. DO NOT put anything in them or you will lose that item. They are too shallow. With that said, I still Love the sweater and really like the looks and feel of it!
"
Review 15 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Western Sweater,
January 17, 2011
By: rivguy
from Iowa in the winter
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am always hesitant to buy clothing that does not come inTall. Orvis could do a little better in this area for all of their clothing.. However, having purchased a number of cotten sweaters from Orvis, I took the change and ordered a size larger than normal. It fits perfect. It is my new favorite sweater. It is well made, has the dual zipper and is warm, not to meantion the obvious great, unique looks."
Review 16 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great looking sweater,
January 1, 2011
By: oat1112
from Billerica, MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this sweater last month for my boyfriend as a birthday present and he loved it. The color's nice, the size's great. This is just a beautiful comfortable and nice looking sweater. My boyfriend is so pleased with my choice."
Review 17 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Christmas Gift,
December 26, 2010
By: PanKwan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Cannot add to the previous comments about this excellent product but will reiterate the need for much deeper out side pockets and perhaps and inside pocket"
Review 18 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poor pocket design,
April 16, 2010
By: BoomerZoomer
from Portland, OR
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This sweater is very comfortable and the lining makes it easy to slip on over a longsleeved shirt. The pocket liners are knitted and only half of the depth that they could be. You can just barely get your hands inside, but do not expect to put your car keys in a pocket and have them stay there. Inside zippered chest pockets along the zipper placket would be a great improvement. Larger outside pockets would make this a five-star review."
Review 19 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Comfort,
March 19, 2010
By: Thadd
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very comfortable, warm, and stylish. Only criticism: pockets are too shallow and stuff falls out when seated."
Review 20 for Badlands Cotton Zip Cardigan
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
March 12, 2010
By: BigRed224
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"There is not much more that I can say about this great looking sweater!!! It is warm and a pleasure to wear!"