Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin short-sleeve safari shirt breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century, and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Short-sleeve safari shirt in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (100 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
92 of 100(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
June 26, 2014
By: AJChamay
from Marblehead MA
"Based on my experience with similar Orvis shirts I think its a very good product. I returned it and and 2 earlier shirts because of faulty packaging.
Apparently these shirts from China are packaged by machine and its not working properly."
Review 2 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shirt - Could Also Be In Lighter Material,
June 21, 2014
By: pacificmm
from Olympia, WA
"I have several of the long sleeve bush shirts. They fill my closet and I wear them throughout the week. I love them - especially for the predominant cool weather of the Pacific Northwest where I live. The short-sleeved bush shirt is also great. The only thing I would add is that it would also be nice to have this kind of bush shirt in a lighter cotton material. Years ago I purchased similar shirts from another company that were lighter cotton and they were great for warm weather. Knowing Orvis craftsmanship - I know Orvis could also make great short-sleeved shirt in a light cotton material."
Review 3 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 20, 2014
By: Lukas12
"Very nice my wife got it for me for fathers day. I love it color, texture, fit all perfect!"
Review 4 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great item from Orvus.,
June 16, 2014
By: Jovus
from Richmond Ky.
"Just what I was looking for.
Size is accuret and garment has a nice soft hand.
"
Review 5 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 16, 2014
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"As a university administrator, I need a more casual look in the summer months from the normal shirt and tie, and this shirt works well, and stays neat in appearance all day. It has a distinctive look that gets compliments from guests who attend our summer orientation programs. An attractive and well made shirt, of which I have three colors."
Review 6 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heavy Duty,
June 15, 2014
By: foreman776
from Calgary, AB
"Great durable shirt. It will also keep you warm on chilly nights. I wouldn't want to wear it on a hot day though as it is very heavy cotton. Nice looking though. Overall, a great shirt for fishing or to wear around town."
Review 7 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine bush shirt,
June 11, 2014
By: Beltman
from Clifton, VA
"Added this sturdy and stylish shirt to my collection of other Orvis bush shirts. The British tan color is a little more brown than I prefer, but still a nice shirt over all."
Review 8 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable Longevity,
June 3, 2014
By: AnythingForMyHoney
from California
"I purchased 5 different colored shirts for my husband for 5 days of construction (General Contractor) work during summer season. He wears them even on the weekends for play (Disc Golfing).
It looks professional w/shorts or slacks, gives him freedom of movement, washes well, colors last even after a year of washing, high quality stitching, & it just looks good for everyday wear too. It's worth the price. I always say, "you get what you pay for," so if you can afford it, I highly recommended these shirts. :D"
Review 9 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shirts,
June 3, 2014
By: Jimbetco
from Salisbury, NC
"Orvis has always had the best quality and design for my taste."
Review 10 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love These Shirts,
May 28, 2014
By: ramoore1956
from New Bern, North Carolina
"Great look and so comfortable. I every color they offer. I wear them tucked in or shirtail out. No ironing needed except for the hem if you wear shirtail out. A bit pricy but a lot of bang for the bucks."
Review 11 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent fishing shirt,
May 28, 2014
By: broadkillfrank
from boothyn pa 19061
"heavyweight cotton, very durable,fits well and is very comfortable. my favorite fishing shirt. also wears well .have purchased other color and will purchase another."
Review 12 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tall Sizes Please!!!!!!,
May 26, 2014
By: MickeyJagguar
from North Carolina
"Love it but it doesn't look as good as it could because you do not offer tall sizes. Come on guys ... give us tall in the "bush" products / give us tall in the linen products / give us tall in the hemp-tencel products!!!!"
Review 13 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
May 12, 2014
By: Doug01
from Houston, TX
"It is very comfortable, and cool for Houston summers"
Review 14 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to go on Safari,
May 12, 2014
By: Bill717
from Houston, TX
"I bought this shirt to take on safari this year. The material is light enough where I won't die from the heat and sturdy enough to withstand the outdoor experiences in East Africa. Not to mention that it looks great on."
Review 15 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size WAY off,
May 4, 2014
By: Quoddy
from New York/Vermont Border
"Bought this shirt at the end of last year and didn't have the opportunity to try it on before traveling. This was supposed to be the shirt I wore for a particular casual meeting. When I tried on the shirt, large, I found it was in excess of an x-large. Having no opportunity to replace it on the spur of the moment, I was stuck wearing this sack for the entire day. It has sat in my closet ever since. Quality of the shirt kept it a 3."
Review 16 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
April 30, 2014
By: zoomie
"I am a size in between M and L. Depending on the manufacturer, it becomes a chore to pick the correct size from a catalogue. The M size is cut larger so it fit perfectly. I would buy it again in different colors. I was happy with the purchase."
Review 17 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light @Easy,
April 23, 2014
By: urizen
"Short-sleeved shirt looks crisp and smart. Wicks perspiration well and epaulets help carry camera snugly"
Review 18 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit is for bigger guys,
April 22, 2014
By: CharterPilot
from Chicago
"The material is second to none but the fit is sort of baggy. I am 6'3" 160 pounds. I ordered a medium. The length is fine but the body is a bit big. Will take to a tailor to trim it down a bit. Three stars for the fit. The material though gets 5."
Review 19 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shirt,
April 14, 2014
By: Rike72
"This is a great quality shirt. I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 20 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size Problem,
April 7, 2014
By: Bronxcowboy
from Washington, DC
"Though I am a long-time amd frequent Orvis customer and usually buy a shirt with 17 1/2" neck/ 33"sleeve, the large size of the bush short-sleeve shirt was too small and the XL too big. Not sure what the problem is."