Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin short-sleeve safari shirt breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century, and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Short-sleeve safari shirt in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.687 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
107 of 115(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 22, 2015
By: Quedog686
from South Orange, NJ
"Very impressed with the quality of this shirt. It is soft yet durable. As a veteran of the U.S. Army Infantry, I have spent my share of time in the bush. I wish it would have been while wearing this shirt."
Review 2 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality.,
April 22, 2015
By: DTodd
"This shirt is everything I hoped it would be. The material is tightly woven and durable and everything is double stitched. Sizing runs true and the fit is great. Next I want to try one of the linen versions."
Review 3 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
April 14, 2015
By: James46
from Ann Arbor
"Quality and fit as expected, this should wear for years!"
Review 4 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
April 6, 2015
By: paroba66
from Dallas, TX
"Well made and fitting shirt. Sizing is accurate and the color was consistent with the pictures online. Very happy with this purchase."
Review 5 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt, slightly heavy,
April 4, 2015
By: CPTCO
from Colorado
"I purchased this shirt last week and like it so far. It's actually pretty stylish for what my wife calls "explorer" shirts. Large fits me like it should, I usually wear a large tall, but took a chance. Good length. Only drawback is, it's a little heavy. I would say it's around 6-7 oz. cotton. On the plus side, it should last forever."
Review 6 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SS Bush Shirt,
March 31, 2015
By: Devildawg
from Sacramento, CA
"Nice fit.
Material is very comfortable.
I now have two of these.
"
Review 7 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
indespensible,
January 17, 2015
By: greavy
"best shirti 'v ever bought, i love it to bits wear it in summer on its own, and in winter with tshirt or jumper. really great! good weight, good sizing and good looks"
Review 8 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value,
November 15, 2014
By: GB525
"once i got the sizing right it was a good fitting quality shirt and value for money"
Review 9 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size Check,
September 15, 2014
By: DrawDog
"I really wanted the Light Khaki but it wasn't going to ship until next year, so I ordered the British Tan as a size check. Even though it is darker than it appears on the site, I liked so much, I decided to keep it. Very well made... a quality product! I will still order the Light Khaki next February."
Review 10 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavy Duty!,
September 8, 2014
By: archaicboy
from Michigan
"This is a heavy duty shirt that I anticipate will take me a decade to wear out. Generously sized. Tough material, well put together. Top quality."
Review 11 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt. Run a bit large,
August 24, 2014
By: BoomChuckaLucka
from Kansas City, MO
"Nice, heavy shirt. Size tends to run a bit large. Since I have wide shoulders due to carrying the weight of the world on them, I thought I'd buy this one in large too. No way Jose!!! I found my self swimming in the length of new shirt. I took it back and ordered the medium. Looks great. First time I wore it out, had someone ask if I was an adventurer. I told them no, I'm a father to 3 young kids, but thanks for asking...Seriously, buy the shirt and order it 1 size less unless of course you have a massive man belly and need the extra cloth."
Review 12 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really good shirt,
August 8, 2014
By: outback68
"Made really well. true to size and important to note, does not lose fit after washing machine abuse."
Review 13 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Of The Kind,
August 4, 2014
By: OldSubSailorSS
from New Mexico
"I wear safari shirts practically all the time primariarly for the spacious pockets (I keep my wallet secure in one) and for the good looks and sporty appeal. Yeah, you can find a cheaper one (I know. I've owned a few) that begin to unravel in places but these that Orvis has are the longest wearing and best looking I've ever bought."
Review 14 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made shirt,
August 4, 2014
By: Chuck179
from Palm Harbor, FL
"This shirt was made from a heavier
material from what I had expected.
It was very well made but it would not be comfortable to wear in very hot weather.
"
Review 15 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
June 26, 2014
By: AJChamay
from Marblehead MA
"Based on my experience with similar Orvis shirts I think its a very good product. I returned it and and 2 earlier shirts because of faulty packaging.
Apparently these shirts from China are packaged by machine and its not working properly."
Review 16 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shirt - Could Also Be In Lighter Material,
June 21, 2014
By: pacificmm
from Olympia, WA
"I have several of the long sleeve bush shirts. They fill my closet and I wear them throughout the week. I love them - especially for the predominant cool weather of the Pacific Northwest where I live. The short-sleeved bush shirt is also great. The only thing I would add is that it would also be nice to have this kind of bush shirt in a lighter cotton material. Years ago I purchased similar shirts from another company that were lighter cotton and they were great for warm weather. Knowing Orvis craftsmanship - I know Orvis could also make great short-sleeved shirt in a light cotton material."
Review 17 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 20, 2014
By: Lukas12
"Very nice my wife got it for me for fathers day. I love it color, texture, fit all perfect!"
Review 18 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great item from Orvus.,
June 16, 2014
By: Jovus
from Richmond Ky.
"Just what I was looking for.
Size is accuret and garment has a nice soft hand.
"
Review 19 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 16, 2014
By: universityadmin
from Indiana
"As a university administrator, I need a more casual look in the summer months from the normal shirt and tie, and this shirt works well, and stays neat in appearance all day. It has a distinctive look that gets compliments from guests who attend our summer orientation programs. An attractive and well made shirt, of which I have three colors."
Review 20 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heavy Duty,
June 15, 2014
By: foreman776
from Calgary, AB
"Great durable shirt. It will also keep you warm on chilly nights. I wouldn't want to wear it on a hot day though as it is very heavy cotton. Nice looking though. Overall, a great shirt for fishing or to wear around town."