Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin short-sleeve safari shirt breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century, and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Short-sleeve safari shirt in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
107
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
124 of 132(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good,
June 29, 2015
By: eddieBYOB
from TX
"This shirt is thick and runs large. Not for summer"
Review 2 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
June 11, 2015
By: Jpc1967
from Spartanburg SC
"A superb quality shirt that is a classic ! Buy one ."
Review 3 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged Bush Shirt,
June 9, 2015
By: KSK1
from Santee, CA
"A very durable, well made shirt. A bit thicker cloth than I envisioned, but certainly designed to last for many years. I generally wear 16 1/2 x 35 in LS dress shirts and in this design a large fit appropriately. Expect wrinkles out of the dryer."
Review 4 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 9, 2015
By: Zandale
from Lexington ky
"A nice summer shirt with 2 large pockets which is why I wanted the shirts."
Review 5 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 5, 2015
By: DRinTX
from San Antonio, TX
"I already purchased the long sleeved version of this shirt a year or so ago. Although the design is a bit overly martial for me, the shirt is extremely sturdy and well made. In other words, typical Orvis."
Review 6 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic bush shirt,
June 3, 2015
By: cuddly44
from West Chester, PA
"Perfect appearance and the only reason it did not get 5 stars is that it is a bit heavier than we had expected. It is short sleeved but not summer weight. Still it looks great on, and my husband is happy with the purchase. Excellent Orvis quality!"
Review 7 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Purchase,
June 3, 2015
By: Skiw
from Seabrook, Texas
"This shirt is great and feels good.
Friends have commented that it looks great
"
Review 8 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bullet- and Bombproof Bush Shirt,
June 3, 2015
By: Whiskeyjack
from Atlanta, GA
"I love this shirt. It costs more than I typically spend on menswear, but it's worth the price. It's thick, rugged, and damn manly. I wear it when doing yard work, when putting some boots on the Appalachian Trail, out fishing the Chattahoochee, or any other time some thicker protection is warranted. All cotton, so it breathes well. Wife loves how it hangs on me (always a plus).
Very pleased, will likely buy one or two more in other colors. (Bought the British tan.)"
Review 9 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality with a plus. -,
June 2, 2015
By: Nonnie71270
from Ruston, Louisiana
"Love Orvis products for my guys! Timeless styling and quality plus! Laundry time to a minimum with the fabrics Orvis puts in their garments!"
Review 10 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SHORT SLEEVE BUSH SHIRT,
June 2, 2015
By: SBLAIR
from WALLED LAKE, MI
"GREAT SHIRT I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT . IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE!!"
Review 11 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Made But Heavy Cloth,
May 28, 2015
By: OskiRules
from California
"The short-sleeved bush shirt is well made but uses a very heavy cloth. Thus durability should be great but a lighter cloth would be nice. Size and fit was fine."
Review 12 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent Shirt!,
May 18, 2015
By: LaszloL
from Los Angeles
"Like previous shirt I purchased from Orvis, this shirt-sleeved bush shirt is excellent! Very well made, stiched, I am 100% confident it will last for a very long time."
Review 13 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fermin Raves About Cool Shirt,
May 18, 2015
By: thisisstoopid
from Peru, IN
"Our Son in Law is a movie producer. He works mainly in Cuba. He was in rapture over the new cool shirt for hot weather!
He loved the sage color as well, and the cologne I "tucked in" with his shirt is the neatest fragrance he has ever enjoyed!
Thanks for helping me set up a home run birthday gift.- Joey Kubesch"
Review 14 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
QUALITY RULES!,
May 8, 2015
By: IRISHMIKE
from GREENFIELD,WI.
"DURABLE,COMFORTABLE AND SPORTY.WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR."
Review 15 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Shirt!,
April 27, 2015
By: RobGro
"After years of searching everywhere for a nice bush shirt, I decided to give Orvis' a try. The quality and construction of this shirt are superb. I really like the styling and fit as well. The shirt is remarkably comfortable for being such a heavy fabric. This is the best bush/safari shirt I've found anywhere."
Review 16 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 22, 2015
By: Quedog686
from South Orange, NJ
"Very impressed with the quality of this shirt. It is soft yet durable. As a veteran of the U.S. Army Infantry, I have spent my share of time in the bush. I wish it would have been while wearing this shirt."
Review 17 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality.,
April 22, 2015
By: DTodd
"This shirt is everything I hoped it would be. The material is tightly woven and durable and everything is double stitched. Sizing runs true and the fit is great. Next I want to try one of the linen versions."
Review 18 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
April 14, 2015
By: James46
from Ann Arbor
"Quality and fit as expected, this should wear for years!"
Review 19 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
April 6, 2015
By: paroba66
from Dallas, TX
"Well made and fitting shirt. Sizing is accurate and the color was consistent with the pictures online. Very happy with this purchase."
Review 20 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt, slightly heavy,
April 4, 2015
By: CPTCO
from Colorado
"I purchased this shirt last week and like it so far. It's actually pretty stylish for what my wife calls "explorer" shirts. Large fits me like it should, I usually wear a large tall, but took a chance. Good length. Only drawback is, it's a little heavy. I would say it's around 6-7 oz. cotton. On the plus side, it should last forever."