Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin short-sleeve safari shirt breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century, and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Short-sleeve safari shirt in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
5 stars
110
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
129 of 137(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bush Shirt,
July 28, 2015
By: tomcat725
"The Short Sleeve Bush Shirt was an excellent purchase. A little pricey but solid, well made and will probably last many, many years!"
Review 2 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome shirt,
July 17, 2015
By: simmons
from Seattle, WA
"I own a travel adventure company and have been wearing bush/safari shirts since the 80s, but this one is the real thing - by far the best in terms of styling, utility and ruggedness that I have ever owned. The short sleeve version is best for warm weather (less material) and makes for a trimmer look. If you run into bad weather or mosquito-country, you should be packing a light jacket anyway to protect your arms."
Review 3 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made and looks good,
July 14, 2015
By: Safaribear
from London, UK
"Good quality shirt which looks good and is well made."
Review 4 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Product,
July 2, 2015
By: Larry123
from Orchard Park, NY
"Just wore my new short sleeved bush shirt and it's a winner! I have 2 long sleeved versions and this one is just as good. Quality material and tailoring. Plenty of pockets. Generous fit. Reasonably priced. I couldn't be more pleased."
Review 5 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Outdoor cool,
July 1, 2015
By: ymugmike
from York
"As it is not sold in a Tall version, it was a bit of a gamble purchase. It would have been helpful to have the option to fully roll down the sleeves. This is not possible as delivered because the back of the turn up is stitched to the sleeve. Consequently, the sleeves are a bit too short.
Solid quality cloth in a subtle olive drab green.
As both pockets have button down flaps, it would be helpful to have a slot for glasses inset behind the flap tops.
"
Review 6 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good,
June 29, 2015
By: eddieBYOB
from TX
"This shirt is thick and runs large. Not for summer"
Review 7 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
June 11, 2015
By: Jpc1967
from Spartanburg SC
"A superb quality shirt that is a classic ! Buy one ."
Review 8 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged Bush Shirt,
June 9, 2015
By: KSK1
from Santee, CA
"A very durable, well made shirt. A bit thicker cloth than I envisioned, but certainly designed to last for many years. I generally wear 16 1/2 x 35 in LS dress shirts and in this design a large fit appropriately. Expect wrinkles out of the dryer."
Review 9 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 9, 2015
By: Zandale
from Lexington ky
"A nice summer shirt with 2 large pockets which is why I wanted the shirts."
Review 10 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great summer shirt,
June 5, 2015
By: DRinTX
from San Antonio, TX
"I already purchased the long sleeved version of this shirt a year or so ago. Although the design is a bit overly martial for me, the shirt is extremely sturdy and well made. In other words, typical Orvis."
Review 11 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic bush shirt,
June 3, 2015
By: cuddly44
from West Chester, PA
"Perfect appearance and the only reason it did not get 5 stars is that it is a bit heavier than we had expected. It is short sleeved but not summer weight. Still it looks great on, and my husband is happy with the purchase. Excellent Orvis quality!"
Review 12 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Purchase,
June 3, 2015
By: Skiw
from Seabrook, Texas
"This shirt is great and feels good.
Friends have commented that it looks great
"
Review 13 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bullet- and Bombproof Bush Shirt,
June 3, 2015
By: Whiskeyjack
from Atlanta, GA
"I love this shirt. It costs more than I typically spend on menswear, but it's worth the price. It's thick, rugged, and damn manly. I wear it when doing yard work, when putting some boots on the Appalachian Trail, out fishing the Chattahoochee, or any other time some thicker protection is warranted. All cotton, so it breathes well. Wife loves how it hangs on me (always a plus).
Very pleased, will likely buy one or two more in other colors. (Bought the British tan.)"
Review 14 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality with a plus. -,
June 2, 2015
By: Nonnie71270
from Ruston, Louisiana
"Love Orvis products for my guys! Timeless styling and quality plus! Laundry time to a minimum with the fabrics Orvis puts in their garments!"
Review 15 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SHORT SLEEVE BUSH SHIRT,
June 2, 2015
By: SBLAIR
from WALLED LAKE, MI
"GREAT SHIRT I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT . IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE!!"
Review 16 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Made But Heavy Cloth,
May 28, 2015
By: OskiRules
from California
"The short-sleeved bush shirt is well made but uses a very heavy cloth. Thus durability should be great but a lighter cloth would be nice. Size and fit was fine."
Review 17 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent Shirt!,
May 18, 2015
By: LaszloL
from Los Angeles
"Like previous shirt I purchased from Orvis, this shirt-sleeved bush shirt is excellent! Very well made, stiched, I am 100% confident it will last for a very long time."
Review 18 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fermin Raves About Cool Shirt,
May 18, 2015
By: thisisstoopid
from Peru, IN
"Our Son in Law is a movie producer. He works mainly in Cuba. He was in rapture over the new cool shirt for hot weather!
He loved the sage color as well, and the cologne I "tucked in" with his shirt is the neatest fragrance he has ever enjoyed!
Thanks for helping me set up a home run birthday gift.- Joey Kubesch"
Review 19 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
QUALITY RULES!,
May 8, 2015
By: IRISHMIKE
from GREENFIELD,WI.
"DURABLE,COMFORTABLE AND SPORTY.WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR."
Review 20 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite Shirt!,
April 27, 2015
By: RobGro
"After years of searching everywhere for a nice bush shirt, I decided to give Orvis' a try. The quality and construction of this shirt are superb. I really like the styling and fit as well. The shirt is remarkably comfortable for being such a heavy fabric. This is the best bush/safari shirt I've found anywhere."