Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt

Built from tightly woven pure cotton, our midweight Bush Poplin short-sleeve safari shirt breathes well and wicks dust and moisture to keep you dry and cool on your adventures. Made to take on outdoor use, poplin has been standard issue in expedition and safari clothing for nearly a century, and was used widely in the field during WWII. Two big button-through pleated pockets, working epaulets for binocular or camera straps, and roll-up sleeve tabs. Short-sleeve safari shirt in pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.725 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
74 of 80(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Review 1 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shirt,
April 14, 2014
By: Rike72
"This is a great quality shirt. I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 2 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size Problem,
April 7, 2014
By: Bronxcowboy
from Washington, DC
"Though I am a long-time amd frequent Orvis customer and usually buy a shirt with 17 1/2" neck/ 33"sleeve, the large size of the bush short-sleeve shirt was too small and the XL too big. Not sure what the problem is."
Review 3 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too thick, Too baggy. Made in China,
March 12, 2014
By: Don11
""Bush" Shirt entails a hot weather shirt that breaths well. This was really thick and heavy, not at all like my other cotton poplin shirts.
Im a slim build, it fit in the length but the width was almost double what it should have been.
And last but not least...
Made in china.
"
Review 4 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
March 12, 2014
By: AndrewDPT
from Little Rock, AR
"I ordered 2 short sleeve and 1 long sleeve tall. Returned the long sleeve and got another short sleeve one. Love them! I'm thinking about getting the fourth just to have it all the colors."
Review 5 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this shirt!,
February 20, 2014
By: Bunkie007
from Oakland, CA
"I love the feel of this shirt. It's so comfortable. Well made. This is my second one but in a different color."
Review 6 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bush Shirt goes to Work,
November 24, 2013
By: gunknifefan
from Northeast Florida
"I bought this Bush shirt to wear to the office (casual everyday) during the summer. It was a little thicker material than my long sleeve bush shirts, but the material is soft and very comfortable. I plan to order a 2nd Bush shirt."
Review 7 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First rate field ware.,
September 15, 2013
By: Lazyfisher
from Tiptree,Essex,England.
"A tough practical shirt for all field activities.I've worn mine for fishing,birdwatching and walking.Highly recommended."
Review 8 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
August 19, 2013
By: MTBill
from Montana
"Just got the shirt in the mail. It's smart looking and feels great. I purchased it to go on vacation in Africa. It might be a bit heavy for the desert, but I'll see when I get there. It has nice heft and will be a nice shirt for slightly cooler days here in Montana."
Review 9 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last,
August 5, 2013
By: HughH
from Oxon
"I have been looking for this type of bush shirt for ages. Couldn't believe it when I saw it in your catalogue.
So pleased, I bought 3.
"
Review 10 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abso-very-lute-ly outstanding...,
July 2, 2013
By: Zindago
from Hohberg / Cape Town
"This is - by far - the best shirt, I ever had the priviledge to own. The bush-poplin keeps you dry in hot temperatures and yet, it does not wrinkle easily. Robust overall quality with sophisticated applications - ORVIS at its best!!!"
Review 11 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
June 21, 2013
By: pony61
from Atlanta, GA
"The shirt fits well: I have a thick neck and need a shirt built like this one."
Review 12 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality shirt,
June 18, 2013
By: benchmarke
"This shirt is well made. The detail is good and the fabric is quality with quality stiching. Color was even. No complaints - will reorder."
Review 13 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
June 14, 2013
By: TonyP
from New York, NY
"Soft feel, great fit. Terrific summer hiking shirt. You wouldn't think at first this short would keep you cool, but it does. Great all day comfort.
And great looking too. Enough to wear on a casual night out to a beach bar."
Review 14 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the clothes, not the fit!,
June 10, 2013
By: KansasBoy
from Wichita, KS
"I like many of the Orvis Clothing products, but I always have to have them 'tailored' when I receive them. It appears they are always cut for 'large', 'heavier' men. Other companies have clothing with a 'tailored fit' or 'slimmer' fit. Orvis never does. The same was with the Safari shirt. I order the shirt, but have to take it to a local tailor for it to be fitted properly. Love the 'quality' of the clothes, but the sizing needs to be re-thought by corporate."
Review 15 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
June 5, 2013
By: PleasedinKY
"I am really impressed with the fit and quality of this shirt. Will buy another."
Review 16 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt - wrong size,
May 29, 2013
By: SoCalGentleman
from Los Angeles, CA
"This is a soft & substantial, very sturdy shirt. I am learning that Orvis shirts are cut full sized, as opposed to many other on-line retailers, so the shirt was too large for me.
The disappointing fact is I have to wait another week to have this great shirt in my size."
Review 17 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Make sure to try it on,
May 24, 2013
By: Orviscustomersw
from Austin, TX
"The Bush shirt looks great in the catalog but upon trying it on i realized how much larger it is, thicker, and overall different in person. The shirt is of good quality however anyone like myself should try it on first unless one doesn't mind returning clothing until the proper apparel size is matched to the individual."
Review 18 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Enjoying my Safari shirt,
May 23, 2013
By: Boreal
from London Ontario
"This Safari shirt is everything I expected and more. The light olive color is perfect. The pockets are a decent size unlike many other "trendy" shirts on the market today. Excellent quality cotton that is fine right out of the dryer and placed on a hanger. Will eventually pick up a long sleeve model."
Review 19 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
traveler,
May 22, 2013
By: bisa
"i may never go on a safari, but while wearing my bushshirt, i'ii appear to be a far and wide traveler."
Review 20 for Short-Sleeved Bush Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Getting warm in FLA.,
April 12, 2013
By: gunknifefan
from Northeast Florida
"Just received this shirt two days ago, at first look the fabric looked a little heavy for a short sleeve shirt. But, after wearing it to work today it looked and felt great.
I have two similar shirts from a few years ago, when Orvis offered the shirt with a Buzz-off treatment.
Another Orvis shirt that should last for years.
"