Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

A-2 Summer Flight Jacket

The A-2 military flight jacket specification dates to the 1930s. Originally constructed of horsehide leather for durability and comfort from the airfield to high altitudes and back again, the A-2 has only one shortcoming: the heavy leather makes an unwelcome layer when the mercury climbs. Our summer jacket is built from wind- and water-resistant Amphibious Cotton™ for excellent breathability and comfort in foul weather—each pure cotton fiber is permanently encased in a high-tech polymer that shuts out the elements. Rib-knit cuff, interior collar, and waist. Two pleated button-flap front pockets with hidden handwarmers. Fully lined with airy Power Mesh. Four exterior pockets; eight interior pockets, four with secure closure. Pure cotton shell. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XL(46-48). 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Review 1 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
August 12, 2012
By: Dicter
"From sports car with the top down to international travel, This is the jacket I've been waiting for. Great sizing, multiple pockets, and stylish to boot. Pricey but well worth it. This is the only jacket you'll ever need."
Review 2 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Flight Jacket,
January 8, 2013
By: SFFlyer
from Maryland
"I don't do reviews unless things are either terribly bad or awfully good; the Orvis Summer A-2 is the later. Very comfortable in the cockpit, enough pockets to keep things organized, and great looking both on or off the flight line. Collar lining, knit cuffs, bi-swing back...all the details are here for a great piece of flying gear.
This is really a three and a half season jacket...over a t-shirt, it's got things taken care of on desert summer evenings when the temps start heading down, while a light sweater keeps thing warm for cooler weather. Even on winter days, I will wear a shell or a parka for preflight, then wear something lighter in the cockpit if the heater is working...the A-2 is about right.
Yes - still like my horsehide A-2, but let's face it...leather is perfect for a couple months out of the year...the rest of the time, a fabric flight jacket makes a lot more sense.
Orvis: Keep this jacket in production, but tighten up the waist just a bit...6'2", 195...pretty much perfect except for that."
Review 3 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stylish & useful jacket,
September 18, 2012
By: size4
from Seattle, WA
"Great jacket! Nice color & fit, and useful pockets. Perfect for Fall and Spring too in Pacific Northwest climate."
Review 4 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A-2 Jacket,
September 18, 2012
By: RaggsDad
from Atlanta, Ga.
"This product sis "exactly" what I was looking for. The right weight, looks and quality. At first I thought it to be a little costly, but, after I received it I thought it was worth every penny."
Review 5 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable jacket,
September 10, 2012
By: delrew
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"At the current sale price this jacket may very well be worth the money. Size L, which is also my shirt size, fits me comfortably, even with a light sweater underneath. Quality overall is as expected. Although the cotton shell is fairly light, the overall weight, on account of the extra lining an plethora of inside pockets, is not what I'd consider a summer jacket. With said sweater I will certainly wear it during the autumn months as well. Small thing that appears to be missing in the item description: the jacket has a fair size pleat in the back; this feature is quite practical, as one's arm movements never feel constrained. Great three-season jacket -- definitely a buy at the sale price."
Review 6 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket.,
June 18, 2012
By: rustom
from toronto,canada
"only "defect" if it is a defect, is the collar. single button a tad tricky.
otherwise terrific jacket.
"
Review 7 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific jacket!,
June 18, 2011
By: EastEnder
"Just received this jacket and am absolutely delighted. The fabric, fit and tailoring are spot on and I'm anticipating many years of constant use. The weight of the jacket is perfect for spring, cooler summer days and early fall. I was a bit concerned that the cut would be oversized but it's not. Can layer only a light sweater but who wants more layering for a summer jacket? It is more pricey than other similar jackets but the quality, amphibious cotton fabric and serviceability more than compensate.
One criticism: the jacket was packaged in a plastic bag and both the outer plastic and inner clear plastic were ripped all the way through. Fortunately, there does not appear to be any damage to the jacket.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Too Big,
June 7, 2011
By: iskipc
"I have purchased several items and they are all too large for the stated/advertised size. No big deal except that the large is really an extra large, etc. I do like your giving the actual measurements over the phone.
The large A-2 was at least four inches too large at the waist while fitting in the arms. We will see if the medium works. I do like the concept of the jacket. MM"
Review 9 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Spring and Fall Jacket,
April 10, 2011
By: TresPalos
from Oakton, VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wanted to wait a few months and really live with this jacket before reviewing it. I'm totally sold on this jacket, even though I bought it hoping that it would be lightweight enough for summer wear. Alas, it's not...BUT, once the temperature drops below 60 degrees, it's a superb, versatile jacket that I reach for again and again. Water repellence is very good, comfort is excellent, and lots of pockets give you plenty of room for your gear. I, too, had problems with inside pockets being sewn shut, but quickly opened them up with some scissors, and now have full use of the smartly designed pocket system. Buy this jacket, you won't be sorry!"
Review 10 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
January 18, 2011
By: 57TR3
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Love the style and comfort. The only improvement I would strongly recommend is a tighter fitting waist band. In my opinion the waist band is not snug enough, a little too loose. Otherwise, a great jacket."
Review 11 for A-2 Summer Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Oops!,
July 27, 2010
By: Piobair
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great jacket, great fit, although it is cut on the large side, so check your own sizing. Life chat was helpful. Minor manufacturing defect in mine that my tailor sorted out quickly. The stitching in the pen pockets was sewn al the way through making the breast pocket unusable. After a quick repair, it is fine. Lots of pockets & I like that for all the incidentials I tend to cart around. It is a little on the heavy (weight) side for a jacket. I am sure I will get lots of wear out of it though."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.