Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Neoprene Guard Sock

Wet wading during the warm months of summer is one of fly fishing's great pleasures. With these Neoprene Guard Socks you can wear your regular wading shoes while wet wading with the comfort and security you expect. These sculpted, anatomical wading socks of 2.5mm neoprene give maximum comfort on the river, replacing your normal wader bootie when the weather turns warm, you can ditch the waders, and enjoy the option of wet wading. Reinforced boot lace hooks for secure attachment. Integrated gravel guard keeps out debris and gravel. Neoprene wading socks in black/gray. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(7-9),M(8-10), L(9-11), XL(10-12) and XXL(11-13).
Average Customer Rating:
4.406 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
64 of 69(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Neoprene Guard Sock
Review 1 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gaiter Top is too Tight,
June 19, 2015
By: grayfox75
from Gardiner, MT
"The elastic band at the top of the gaiter is way too tight. It barely stretches enough to pull down over the wading boot. It also is too tight to pull up over the calf of the leg while putting on your wading boot."
Review 2 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy phone purchase,
June 15, 2015
By: Pro5Jeff
"Very nice neoprene guard sock!
I made this purchase from the store over the phone. The purchase was very easy and was shipped to my house directly within two days!
"
Review 3 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great wet wading socks,
June 15, 2015
By: obsessiveflyguy
from Cary, NC
"These are just the "ticket" down here in NC for summertime, wet wading fly fishing. Comfortable, sized correctly, and good looking over my Orvis wading boots."
Review 4 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit well, well made, watch packaging,
June 15, 2015
By: Vlostlouis
from St Louis Mo
"Woman who wears size 8 shoe and have size 8 shoe. I wear men's 8 shoe and did not buy larger for neoprene sock. Size small neoprene sock fit me and no problem fitting into shoe. Nicely made, no seam bothering my toes. Be careful taking sockes off cardboard packaging. I did not know there was one off those plastic attaching string thing that while pulling cardboard out broke apart to release socks leaving visable holes in socks. Don't know if they will leak. I should test in bath tub. Beaware aware and careful when opening."
Review 5 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
June 8, 2015
By: MisplacedAlaskan
from Durham, NC
"Wore these yesterday under my wading boots for wet wading. Walked quite a bit from spot to spot, very comfortable and no blisters. Much better traction this way than with water sandals, but wouldn't try it without the wet socks. Great product."
Review 6 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT FOR WET WADING,
June 4, 2015
By: Emmette1
from Bristol, TN, USA
"My boots are a little oversized to fit my waders so, the guard socks help with my feet fitting comfortably in the boot. Works well with keeping gravel out and not having to deal with stones,etc. Would also recommend the hydro socks in lieu of just regular socks, much better feel and keep feet much more comfortable."
Review 7 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stellar socks!,
May 17, 2015
By: Ithaca
from Plano, TX
"I do a lot of wet wading here in the Texas/Oklahoma area. Being a female angler, I have small feet and love that these socks do not slide around in my wading boots. They're comfortable while hiking, and stay in place with the lace hook. I push my wet wading season as long as possible because I'd rather wear theses socks than my waders. Stellar socks --definitely worth their value!"
Review 8 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just wish the logo wasn't so bright...,
May 5, 2015
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"Good socks, fit well and all that - the kind of quality you expect from Orvis.
In trout fishing, we go to great lengths to be stealthy and wear colors that make us less visible. The Orvis logo is bright white, large and on the front of the sock. This seems counter intuitive and even gaudy.
I wish Orvis would redesign these, at least, with the logo on the back of the sock so the logo was less conspicuous."
Review 9 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 25, 2015
By: Siets
"Good fit, and what I was hoping for in a wet wading sock/boot. Maybe could be a bit better fit on the ankles as far as tightness, but overall a great fit."
Review 10 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok but lace hook is on the wrong side,
April 13, 2015
By: uplander1234
from New Zealand
"these socks are fine as socks, but have a major design flaw if you are intending to walk long distances in them. The lace hook is on the bottom of the tongue, rather than on the top, so it comes off regularly when walking long distances. If it were on top of the tongue it could be trapped under the laces and would never come loose."
Review 11 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, perfect for boot waders,
March 31, 2015
By: RRR1
from Wisconsin
"Great product, additional warmth and support. also adds to the comfort of the Orvis boots and waders. Perfect combination."
Review 12 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality product,
January 11, 2015
By: Bassfreak
from Wingate, NC
"These guard socks stay in place and don't bunch up in your boots like most brands do. They are very comfortable and durable. An all around quality product."
Review 13 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality Products,
October 26, 2014
By: cornholenut
from richmond va
"Orvis has some of best quality products on the market.And products you can't find in other stores.Enjoy shopping at the richmond store always a fun time.Stock up on the special sales."
Review 14 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Sock,
September 25, 2014
By: Fred11
from Bremerton, WA
"Not only did my order come quicky and accurately, the sock fit was perfect, and the sock works great!"
Review 15 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great boot...,
September 3, 2014
By: Arnell
from Sacramento, CA
"This boot works well and does what its supposed to do. It's durable and comfortable. The only change I would like to have with this boot is to be make it thicker, better mimicking the boot on my waders. This causes my wading boots to fit a bit loser, but nothing tightening of my wading boots can't accommodate. Overall, I'd recommend this product."
Review 16 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
August 19, 2014
By: TBCC99
from Wise River, MT
"I fish a lot of free stone small creeks in MT and these guard socks are a must for wet wading. Typical excellent Orvis quality and these should last a very long time."
Review 17 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best summer fishing,
August 13, 2014
By: Booinbox1
from Madisonville, TN
"I would highly recommend the neoprene guard sock to anyone who wades trout waters in warmer weather. My neoprene socks kept my feet dry and I love them..."
Review 18 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works great!,
June 17, 2014
By: fishingNZ
from otago, New Zealand
"they have held up to a full season, including hours in saltwater. Shuld last me years."
Review 19 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
June 16, 2014
By: jr88keys
"Perfect for wet wading. I don't wear socks with them, and I've had no problems. I'm a 9-9 1/2 shoe, and the medium size was just right. Highly recommend."
Review 20 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neoprene Guard Sock,
May 28, 2014
By: rivercaptain
from Evergreen, CO
"I am trending toward going waderless in the summers, drift boats, small creeks, etc. and these are the perfect boot filler and foot warmer for this style of fishing. I have several neoprene socks from my white water rafting gear, but these are my favorites, as they are most comfortable on the feet."