Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Neoprene Guard Sock

Wet wading during the warm months of summer is one of fly fishing's great pleasures. With these Neoprene Guard Socks you can wear your regular wading shoes while wet wading with the comfort and security you expect. These sculpted, anatomical wading socks of 2.5mm neoprene give maximum comfort on the river, replacing your normal wader bootie when the weather turns warm, you can ditch the waders, and enjoy the option of wet wading. Reinforced boot lace hooks for secure attachment. Integrated gravel guard keeps out debris and gravel. Neoprene wading socks in black/gray. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(7-9),M(8-10), L(9-11), XL(10-12) and XXL(11-13).
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
46 of 49(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Neoprene Guard Sock
Review 1 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just what i needed,
September 21, 2013
By: Trippy
from Crawford CO
"Kept getting sand & gravel in my wading boots while wet wading. These gravel guard socks worked great. No more sand & gravel."
Review 2 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have,
August 26, 2013
By: troutking59
from Blairsville,Pa..
"These socks are an absolute must for wet wading.Great quality,easy to care for,comfortable.Highly recommend."
Review 3 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Foot size chart, for neopren booties doe not match,
August 23, 2013
By: Weevey
from NC
"The size representing a size 10 is big enough for a size 25....way to large...unless I messed up, I would order an extra small size for my size 10 male foot.."
Review 4 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It serves a purpose!,
June 18, 2013
By: GMZFishLI
from Long Island
"They run large, I had to exchange them because the size I was supposed to be fit extremely lose on my feet. I was not able to test it but they seemed well made as the booties of their waders..."
Review 5 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neoprene Sock,
June 11, 2013
By: Shikari
from United Kingdom
"Excellent wader sock. Sculptured fit and almost true to size. I ordered a (M) and am at the lower end of the size guide (7-9). Would suggest use of woollen wader sock to accompany this (Orvis mid-weight) to apck out size issue as well as saving heel rub. Great product"
Review 6 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I wanted,
April 14, 2013
By: Alistair
"Product was as described in on line cartalogue. Quality appears good, & the product will suit my needs."
Review 7 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not full waterproof,
April 6, 2013
By: searchn4steelies
from Grand Rapids, Michigan
"I have slow leak in right foot of my wader boots-cant find it to fix/patch. I bought these to wear as extra layer to keep my foot/sock dry since rest of waders in great shape and hoping for cheaper option than new waders. After few hours fishing/my right foot still pretty soaked. So for wet wading in boots in warm it probably wouldn't matter as much if feet get wet."
Review 8 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WADER SOCKS,
December 28, 2012
By: GHH1
from BOZEMAN, MT
"IN WARM WEATHER THE BOOT WADER SOCKS ARE A MUST IN AND AROUND YELLOWSTONE AND ALL OTHER MONTANA RIVER AND STREAMS. PARTICUARLY GOOD FOR BACKPACKING AND FLY FISHING."
Review 9 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Neo. Guard sock,
November 6, 2012
By: Bozo33153
from Saint Louis, MO.
"What I was looking for, but the tops are a bit tight at the stitching for guys with a huskier calf muscle.I beleive it wll work well for me."
Review 10 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size,
October 23, 2012
By: BigCreek
from Cleveland, Ohio
"Always unsure about the size range. I found the S to be quite roomy for me and I normally wear a 9.
I figured these would be handy to have as already have a couple pairs of nice wading shoes.
They seem to do the trick.
"
Review 11 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent product - excellent value,
October 13, 2012
By: chefcaster
from Montauk NY
"I just purchased my third pair of these neoprene guard socks, why, because they do exactly what they are supposed to do. I wear these with my wet suit and Orvis wading boot. The socks fit snug, but not too tight or too loose. They are easy to clean with regular laundry soap in a washing machine. They are comfortable and keep my feet warm in water as cold as 60 degrees. I like the clip at the top that latches on to my boot laces, this keeps the sock secure over the boot top. After using or washing, turn them inside out to dry, this makes it easier to slide on. One improvement I would like to see, is extra padding around the heal, this should help prevent holes from forming if you do a lot of walking, as I do. So far these are my favorite neoprene socks, and I have tried many. They hold up well, clean easily, slip on and off easily and keep my feet warm. Not much more to ask for."
Review 12 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They'll get the job done,
October 11, 2012
By: Jmhall
"Down in south east texas where I live wet wading is more common sure to our high water temperatures, so I needed something I could wear with my wading boots, and they sign like they'll work nicely."
Review 13 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Work well,
October 8, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Great product for wet wading. Even better product since they were on sale."
Review 14 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well made, a bit large,
October 4, 2012
By: HHCustom
from VA
"These are well made and comfortable, but I wear a 81/2 or size 9 shoe and the med are still to large."
Review 15 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SUPER SOCKS,
September 11, 2012
By: OUTRAGEOUS
from Southern New Jersey
"I purchased the socks to complement a pair of wading shoes purchased recently. They also look to be rugged enough for use as an anti chafe sock with scuba fins. Sized as advertised, thanks Orvis for another fine product available obn sale."
Review 16 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wet Wading Comfort,
September 10, 2012
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"These are great for wet wading with your typical wading boot. I have a 9.5 foot size and the large size fits me well. I wear a sock under them for additional support and the large size provides enough space to accommodate the sock. Metal hook secures on laces to keep gravel guard down.
One minor thing I wish Orvis would improve on it the length of the gravel guard. I bushwhack a lot and roll the gravel guard up my leg to reduce cuts and scratches. I wish they were a little longer to where they would extend to mid-calf."
Review 17 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
September 5, 2012
By: steve52
"Great for summertime wet wading. I used to wear a flats boot, but thanks to these socks, I now get the stability of my regular wading boots. Form fit, with lace hook gravel guards."
Review 18 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable and comfortable,
September 2, 2012
By: Pttsburghonthefly
from Western Pennsylvania
"Very pleased with the product. They are both comfortable and durable. I highly recommend them."
Review 19 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprise Purchase,
August 28, 2012
By: Troutgirl
from Merrimack, NH
"I didn't think these neoprene socks would fit, as they are sized for men. What a surprise! They are perfect, and thin enough for those hot summer days' wading!"
Review 20 for Neoprene Guard Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product - one suggestion.,
August 20, 2012
By: MattLo
"Materials and sewing seem good quality. Regarding sizing, I wear a size 12 and ordered the XXL. Fit around my foot is good. However, fit around ankles is loose (I'm average build). Defeats the point of the gravel guard. I ended up using Velcro straps around my ankles to keep sand and gravel out of the sock. Would be a better product if they fit more snugly around my ankle."