Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Denver Leather Jacket

With the cut and utility features of a classic barn coat, the Denver Jacket is built in America to unflinchingly meet the elements with a rugged, handsome look. Butter-soft lambskin leather with contrasting full-grain leather trim provides years of wear; the wool-blend houndstooth lining and cotton poplin kicker ensure warmth and an easy fit. Bi-swing back offers full range of motion. Full-zip front with snap-closed storm flap. Snap cuffs. Two outside pockets; two interior pockets, one with secure closure.In dark brown. Polyester/acrylic/wool/other upper body lining; acetate/cotton sleeve lining; cotton lower-body lining. Professionally clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 40-52. About 30" long in size 44 regular.
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Denver Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You get what you pay for!,
March 24, 2014
By: Recon
from Avon, Ct
"Iv'e always a leather jacket and I search the web endlessly. I finally saw this jacket and said WOW, but the price was a bit steep. I'm a 100% combat Vietnam Veteran and some stores treat us with a slight discount; every bit helps. I always hate myself when I want something and decide not to purchase. I'm not a material person. I purchase only out of need. Well this was perfect and the quality was outstanding almost hate to put it on it's so nice. Never had anything so nice to ware it. The sales persons are just as nice."
Review 2 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denver coat,
February 18, 2014
By: Bees123
from Suffolk, UK
"I NEVER spend this much money on a coat - but - when this came up briefly in the sale with 30% off I decided that it was time to replace my 20 year old Dryza Bone which with inflation probably cost the same.
Very similar in look but this is a much more grown up less ruffty-tuffty (like me ) coat.I fully expect it to do me the next 20 years by which time I can hand it on to a child/grandchild. The materials and workmanship appear most excellent and in hindsight, even at full price I would recommend this coat
"
Review 3 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 13, 2014
By: SWC1
from Carmel, IN
"Terrific leather coat. Did my homework and, as usual, Orvis had the best product available. Pricey, but worth it."
Review 4 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Supple Leather,
February 12, 2014
By: Charlie77
from Ligonier, PA
"Wonderful jacket, very suppler. You can really wear this jacket on almost all ocassions where you are not wearing a suit.
Beautiful workmanship.
"
Review 5 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket But Not What I am Looking For,
February 11, 2014
By: GaryDee
from Philadelphia, PA
"This is a very nice jacket. The quality of the leather is exquisite. Unfortunately I am looking for a jacket with more insulation. The lining of the Denver Jacket is nice and of good quality but doesn't provide adequate warmth for me. I live in the northeast and this jacket is just not warm enough for the winter months. If you live in a warmer climate or are less sensitive to cold than me I would highly recommend this jacket."
Review 6 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The finest coat I have owned,
February 4, 2014
By: Ventus2
from Wiltshire, England
"Been watching this jacket for nearly a year now and when a special deal came along I didn't hesitate. The coat was quickly delivered from the USA and is of breathtaking quality and perfect in every way. It is comfortable, warm and has an air of total quality. The great thing is that even if it picks up a couple of blemishes from every day wear it will still be great. Mine fits perfectly and I'm really glad I took the plunge and purchased it. You won't get a finer quality coat on this planet."
Review 7 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good News Bad News,
January 24, 2014
By: TarHeel1
"The Good News: A great product; high quality leather, good color, dress up or down. A jacket that I'm sure I'd wear for many years.
The Bad News: It just didn't fit me. Too "blocky" for my body type at 5'11" & 168 lbs. Wish it worked for me.
"
Review 8 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the cost,
January 16, 2014
By: Rodatthebeach
from Destin, FL
"This is a fine leather jacket. Period. It is of the best quality that you could possibly ask for, and looks super good (and expensive) on.
I can see that a lot of people could not afford this, however, if you can, it will be the last leather jacket you'll ever need. It goes well with dressy clothes or with blue jeans. I've been looking at a lot of other websites for a quality leather jacket, and when I saw this at Orvis, I IMMEDIATELY knew it was what I've been looking for. It is very comfortable and warm and is true to size.
"
Review 9 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful...but wouldn't zip,
December 29, 2013
By: WifeofSalmonfly
from Federal Way, WA
"My husband FINALLY loved a leather jacket I picked out for him. The leather is sumptuous and the styling is excellent. Unfortunately, my husband couldn't get the zipper to align properly so he could close the jacket. I am very sad I have to return this jacket. I am hoping Orvis will replace it with the same size with a zipper that actually works, and works easily without the man's mommy or wife having to zip him up!"
Review 10 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice,
December 6, 2013
By: RGK1
"The Denver jacket is a very well made product, and the quality and care taken in its manufacture is apparent.
The only noted issue, a minor one thus far, is that the two way zipper can be a bit difficult, again a minor detail.
I gave the jacket 4 stars due to the extremely high price tag.
"
Review 11 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
October 21, 2013
By: BMcDoug
from Calgary, Canada
"Love this jacket period. Looked long and hard for a jacket and this one fits the bill in every way. Love the quality, fit, finish, style and that it will be with me for many years as a favourite. I have waited before writing this review to make sure I would recommend this jacket. If you buy it I bet you'll feel the same way I do."
Review 12 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat Ever,
February 7, 2013
By: Wanderer59
from Marion,Ohio
"This is the nicest coat I have ever purchased. It cost me a fair amount but sometimes in life you have to spoil yourself. I wish the pockets had zippers on them though.
Outside of that the coat is an Outstanding Garment. Glad it was made in The USA.
"
Review 13 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good leather coat,
January 21, 2013
By: MustangBOB
from Lincoln, NE
"I really like my Denver Leather jacket. The leather is first rate, the zipper is bulletproof. The fit according to my wife is superb, and the 42 in is true to size. I would have liked it a tad darker brown. For 1800 dollars it should have more than one button closed inner pocket. Those of us that don't immediately flinch at the sticker price of this jacket will miss 2 more secure (zippered!) pockets for car keys, wallet, cell phone and pen / note pad."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket,
December 28, 2012
By: TWELL
from washington
"The quality and texture of this jacket was the highest quality. It was the softest of any leather jackets that I have ever seen. I do have several 0ther jackets, but this jacket is my top favorite. Orvis always has the best."
Review 15 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Jacket,
December 15, 2012
By: Haasome
from Massachusetts
"I have owned this jacket for 3 months now and like it very much. It fits perfectly and is very well made. It is a little lighter in weight than you might expect from the description and picture which shows the lining, but comfortable down to 30 degrees F without a sweater. The leather is exceptionally soft -- read not heavy and thick -- so I can find agreement with another reviewer who had some concern that the jacket might rip over the long hall. Because the leather is thin, the snaps under the wind flap front closure (covering the zipper) create very noticeable shiny lumps/marks on the front of the coat along the zipper line. The zipper and snaps work great. An excellent coat, but for the money it should be perfect. I'm pleased that I purchased this jacket and would recommend it, but would hope they will tweak the design."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
December 14, 2012
By: TRJ0731
"I am very pleased with this jacket. My size 44 fit perfectly! The workmanship and leather quality are outstanding. I was looking for a slightly lighter jacket but it is still a very nice product. Like most leather jackets you need to wear it a bit to relax the fit. Out of the box the jacket is not as relaxed looking as the photo in the catalog."
Review 17 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Denver Leather Jacket,
October 24, 2012
By: MHW1
"Great quality, fit and warmth.
Actual color is lighter brown than shown in catalog.
"
Review 18 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 23, 2012
By: Barraken
from Newport, RI
"It is expensive but no more so than some of the other vendors selling similar high quality products. Great finish and great cut.
It does run somewhat big so I chose to exchange mine for one size smaller.
"
Review 19 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
rugged ..no,
October 15, 2012
By: hoteego1
from Maryland
"For the price of this jacket..you would expect a more substantial piece.This is more of a dress jacket.The fit is good but the leather is soft and will not stand up to any type of activity.I see the chances of the leather ripping as high.At this price..a better and thicker hide should have been chosen.As far as warmth is concerned,make sure that you have a sweater underneath.The lining is thin and no additional zip out lining is included.At $1800,this jacket is way overpriced."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Denver Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost perfect,
October 9, 2012
By: Cruiser001
from Chicago, il
"For the price it should be perfect. Leather is very soft and comfortable, fit is perfect. Wish it had a zip in liner for cold weather and more pockets."