Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest

Our best-selling sweater is now available in an equally warm vest knit from pure cotton and lined with soft, warm French-rib Signature Softest® Sweatshirt material. Our men's knit cotton vest has rib-knit trim at arm openings and waist; durable faux-suede trim. Two exterior pockets. Two-way front zip closure. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (270 reviews)
5 stars
217
4 stars
39
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
0
261 of 270(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Review 1 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Comfort,
September 17, 2014
By: Pete9091
from St. Cloud, MN.
"Just the most comforatable and easy to wear with any style, any occasion."
Review 2 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest to have in wardrobe,
March 12, 2014
By: Hosschap
from Hermitage, TN
"The vest is everything as described on the website. The liner inside makes it comfortable in colder weather. I would definitely recommend this to my friends."
Review 3 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as expected,
March 4, 2014
By: ThomO
from Lynnfield,MA
"Just like I pictured it. Heavy knit, nice liner, wore it on a decent feb day downtown Boston,and was quite comfortable. Sharp looking."
Review 4 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandfather-Grandson Gift,
February 24, 2014
By: BEKJRIV
from Tifton, Ga.
"I ordered this vest for my husband because he showed it to me in the catalog because he liked it. When he wore it on Thanksgiving my 16 year old grandson told me later that he really liked what Grandaddy was wearing. After mentioning it another time I decided to order him one too. I never dreamed he would want to wear something like his Grandaddy so this is an item that is great for all ages."
Review 5 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding choice!,
February 21, 2014
By: ProfP
from Copake, NY
"This vest has great style. It is extremely well made and has great quality. Also, it is very warm - ideal for winter, fall and spring weather."
Review 6 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vroom Vroom Vest!,
February 20, 2014
By: Jtoo
from Memphis, TN
"This vest appealed to me not only because it is Orvis but the windproof lining it offered. Substantial fabric that is not too heavy but ideal for those 50°/60° days with a sweater underneath."
Review 7 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great all-around vest!!,
February 13, 2014
By: MattH83
from North Texas
"Great sweater. Very heavy though in weight but I like it because of the great warmth it provides. A little "full" in the mid section."
Review 8 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat Order,
February 12, 2014
By: quaKe23
from Small town, Montana
"My husband was very happy with the first Foul Weather Vest that he received...so happy, in fact, that we purchased a second one recently. He is 77 years old and I think that he looks darn handsome in these vests!"
Review 9 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanics Vest,
February 12, 2014
By: RJpdx
from Vancouver, Washington
"This was my first purchase from Orvis and can't be more pleased. The quality of this vest is very good. It is thick and warm. The heavy weave looks and feels great. I have worn a turtle neck under it and keeps me warm in the Pacific NW. I will order more stuff in the future based on this initial purchase."
Review 10 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable!,
February 11, 2014
By: OrvisTD
"Normally wear a large but had to return this one for a medium - it runs large. Very distinctive, comfortable and a joy to wear. Nice accent features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy,
February 11, 2014
By: JimL4
from Hilton Head, SC
"Smart looking, well made, comfortable, excellent fit."
Review 12 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 10, 2014
By: DenG
"Very handsome looking vest, very warm and comfortable, allowing for freedom of arm movement."
Review 13 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater vest.,
February 10, 2014
By: TJordan
from San Antonio, Texas
"I bought this vest to stay warm in a cold office, and I have not been disappointed.
It is thick, very warm and looks great. Received several compliments.
Very well made! Great job Orvis!
"
Review 14 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 10, 2014
By: gib84
from salinas, ca
"lack of adequate sized pockets, both number and depth detracts from over all satisfaction."
Review 15 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanic's Vest,
February 4, 2014
By: Dick3
from Lafayette, CA
"I purchased the olive-colored vest and it's great. First of all, it's much warner than I expected. I bought it for the look, which is exceptional, but it's functionality is equal to its looks. The ribbing and the suede trim at the shoulders and pocket really make this vest stand out. A guy really looks out-doorsy in it. Love wearing it when I take my dog for a walk."
Review 16 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
February 4, 2014
By: julie4321
from Connecticut
"This vest is nicely tailored but heavy and warm.It looks nice enough to wear for business casual or out to a bistro yet is very warm."
Review 17 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warm & comfortable,
February 3, 2014
By: Dmbarn
"Very warm and comfortable. Stylish.
My only complaints are 1), the collar doesn't stay down all the time, and 2) the pockets can "lose" things while sitting.
"
Review 18 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
February 1, 2014
By: michgrandma
"Bought this sweater vest for my husband forChristmas; very high quality with suede shoulder patches adding a nice touch; warm without being unduly heavy; yarn quality is durable but soft. He liked it so much we ordered another in a second color.
Would highly recommend.
"
Review 19 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid purchase,
February 1, 2014
By: supyakbowzoo
from Cecil County, MD
"This is a nice vest; the quality seems good from a craftsmanship standpoint. The stiching is good on all the accents. It's a solid piece of clothing in more ways than one, as it is a pretty heavy garment so bear that in mind when ordering. Good purchase."
Review 20 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
as good as I'd hoped,
January 27, 2014
By: CSNY
from LI, NY
"I've been looking for a good winter vest for outdoors and around the house, this fit the bill. Comfy, warm, pockets and the double zipper."