Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest

Our best-selling sweater is now available in an equally warm vest knit from pure cotton and lined with soft, warm French-rib Signature Softest® Sweatshirt material. Our men's knit cotton vest has rib-knit trim at arm openings and waist; durable faux-suede trim. Two exterior pockets. Two-way front zip closure. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (326 reviews)
5 stars
262
4 stars
49
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
1
316 of 326(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Review 1 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where did you get that vest?,
January 28, 2015
By: underpar78
from S.L.C., UT.
"Great fit and style. I've never had so many inquiries into where I purchased an item of clothing."
Review 2 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foul-Weather Vest,
January 28, 2015
By: 1873
from Tx
"Have a lot of vests and this style is my favorite...in fact, I have the vest in both brown and black. The name, "foul-weather", is somewhat of a misnomer...true, the vest is appropriate for cold weather but it is a really handsome vest that looks awesome with dress slacks."
Review 3 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
January 27, 2015
By: Hannah8888
from Kansas City, MO
"I bought this as a gift for my husband because I was sure he would like it, and he absolutely does. It's warm. It's soft and comfortable, and it's well made. Most importantly, it looks good on and he will wear it often. He's hard to please when it comes to clothes, but this vest was a winner."
Review 4 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
January 26, 2015
By: FWMH52
from Nottinghamshire
"This item came promptly and was the size I expected. It maintains the usual Orvis quality and I am pleased with it."
Review 5 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice vest but not for my build,
January 26, 2015
By: MichaelRelaxed
from Bluffton SC
"I think this vest looks good and is made well. However, I felt it made me look a bit "fluffy". I'm not small, but I thought the CFO down vest was a much more flattering fit for me. I think this vest would be really great on someone who was tall and a bit smaller in frame. The sizing is about standard Orvis."
Review 6 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good vest,
January 26, 2015
By: sweet2594
from Jeffersonville, IN
"I love wearing vests with long sleeve shirts, and I love this purchase. The only reason I did not give it 5 starts is I truly don't like the pockets. They are not deep enough and they're difficult to put anything in, and even more difficult to keep the items in. Example, I have an Iphone 6+, I have to get it at just the right angle to get it into the pocket where there is a chance of it staying. Regardless I would still buy it again, it just limits the items I can carry in it."
Review 7 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for layering,
January 22, 2015
By: Richie80PO
from Laconia, NH
"Bought this sweater to wear under a winter jacket. It fits very comfortable for my purpose, which is to layer under a coat for those cold days and nights. My arms are still able to move freely and it does not bulk me up. Now I can wear my favorite jacket and remain warm."
Review 8 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor sewing,
January 15, 2015
By: Orvis1fan
from Roanoke, VA
"I have returned two Foul Weather sweaters because of poor sewing. I ended up having a seamstress "fix" the mismatched zipper so I would not go through the agony of another try to get it right.
Not a happy camper!"
Review 9 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
January 14, 2015
By: David1361
from Ellington,CT
"I use it as a layer under my coat. it is well made.and very comfortable. attractive as well. maintains heat well. Attractive vest. what's there not to love about this vest?"
Review 10 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality Product,
January 14, 2015
By: HIW1121treetop
"I recently purchased the Mechanic's Foul a Weather Vest after looking at it in four months previous catalogs.
It is classy looking with leather trim
And is very warm.
The stitching at the waistline is close knit and holds its shape. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Overall rating: 5
"
Review 11 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He won't be workin in this!!,
January 12, 2015
By: Geelover1
from Stockton Calif
"I purchased this sweater as a present for my cousin who live in Chicago... I'd told him "I'm sending you something to keep you warm while your at work" He's never heard of Orvis...Once he recieved the sweater he said " Hey Cousin I love the sweater!! I will not be working in this!!"
Review 12 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm, cozy and looks good too!,
December 30, 2014
By: lynwrn1987
from Exeter, NH
"We tend to keep the temperature setting fairly low in the winter and I wanted a sweater vest for my husband that was comfortable, warm and easily cleaned. Orvis' sweater vest fit the bill.... no regrets!"
Review 13 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
December 30, 2014
By: janea10
from Northern Virginia
"This vest is exactly what I wanted. Fits well also over a lightweight sweater. It's cotton but heavy and warm. Well made and although casual, it's stylish. I bought it in black."
Review 14 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Men's vest,
December 29, 2014
By: GrifsSis
from Dallas, TX
"I thought my big brother would look quite handsome in this practical vest... Outdoorsy guy & all... Chose black one fir Christmas and it was a real hit!!! Yea!"
Review 15 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is that a sweater or a Vest?,
December 29, 2014
By: FishingFrenzy13
from Eau Claire, WI - Go!! Packers!!!
"One of the most comfortable sweater vests I have had the good fortune of receiving from my bride for the holidays - Love the color and the 2-way zipper..! FB"
Review 16 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality vest,
December 25, 2014
By: GifterinCT
"lined pockets, nice- were the words of the receiver.....great quality, strong zipper, nice details around pocket, zip and shoulders"
Review 17 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Pleased,
December 23, 2014
By: JABC1947
from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
"The quality of the vest is superb and true to size."
Review 18 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm and warm,
December 20, 2014
By: Classinthecold1516
from Denver,Co.
"Nice quality and good looking. Could be used as a light coat with shirt or sweater."
Review 19 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater seems nice,
December 19, 2014
By: Romaine
"Will have to give later review as it is Christmas gift"
Review 20 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIts great, warm and cozy,
December 16, 2014
By: kbigelow
from California
"Great vest, fits great, its warm and cozy without being too cumbersome. Very well made. Looks great too."