Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest

Our best-selling sweater is now available in an equally warm vest knit from pure cotton and lined with soft, warm French-rib Signature Softest® Sweatshirt material. Our men's knit cotton vest has rib-knit trim at arm openings and waist; durable faux-suede trim. Two exterior pockets. Two-way front zip closure. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (289 reviews)
5 stars
232
4 stars
43
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
0
280 of 289(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Review 1 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY VEST,
November 14, 2014
By: BCHBUM
from FORKED RIVER, NJ 08731
"MY VEST BRINGS A LOT OF MEMORIES FROM MY TOUR OF DUTY, IN GERMANY, ALONG WITH MY SWEATER WHICH I HAVE PURCHASED THE SAME TIME! BOTH OF THESE ARTICLES LASTED ME OVER 50 YEARS, AND NOW , I CAN RELIVE MY OLD MEMORIES ! THANK YOU ORVIS,FOR BEING THERE!"
Review 2 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cold weather garment,
November 14, 2014
By: Sammy408
from Staunton, VA
"For an outer wear garment, the Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest provides the versatility of movement and protection from colder temperatures. Another quality garment of its type offered by Orvis!"
Review 3 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice vest,
November 10, 2014
By: BF2013
from Arkansas
"The light colored vest is very nice. It is a great fall look and goes with just about anything. It isnt as light as a wool vest because its a knit but if a knit vest is what you're looking for then this is a great one. I got both the boiled wool vest and this knit one and I am pleased with them both."
Review 4 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice,
November 10, 2014
By: gnc2
from kansas
"excellent comfort and quality vest.
Highly recommended."
Review 5 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
November 3, 2014
By: Badge
"This is the nicest vest sweater I've seen. I now have to have one of each color!"
Review 6 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice,
November 3, 2014
By: BF2013
from Arkansas
"Very nice vest. The weather here just turned cold and this is the perfect weight to keep you warm. Looks very nice, clean, look and feel to it."
Review 7 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Homerum success,
October 28, 2014
By: Louis2
from Orangeburg, NY
"Once again ORVIS maintains the utmost quality in all the garments and clothing that you manufacture.
Love the sweater and it was a very big success with friends and colleagues.
"
Review 8 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it.,
October 28, 2014
By: grsvllyjack
from Grass Valley, California
"The vest is perfect for this area. Good weight, color and it looks good. Comfortable in it and proud of it. Thank you. Jack"
Review 9 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater,
October 22, 2014
By: Allenb
from Bartlesville, Oklahoma
"Order was placed quickly and delivered as promised. Quality is top notch.
Customer Service rep was very friendly and knowledgable.
Thanks!
"
Review 10 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
October 22, 2014
By: motts
from Woodstock GA
"This vest is perfect for the purpose it was purchased for."
Review 11 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Style,
October 15, 2014
By: Mickeymac
from Madison WI
"I never knew I had a style --but my brother said the vest looks like me --
I really like the way it looks and feels
"
Review 12 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Vest,
October 7, 2014
By: Lieutenant
from Piedmont NC
"Well-made, styling details appealing, soft, mid-weight good for autumn into winter. Can be dressed up or down. Expect several seasons of wear and enjoyment. Above standard product."
Review 13 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have for your loved ones!,
September 30, 2014
By: Brienella
"Bought this for my husband as a gift and he absolutely loves it!! Very well made and responsibly priced. I would recommend this to family and friends!"
Review 14 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Toasty,
September 29, 2014
By: Tordi
from NE Iowa
"This is one warm vest. I've used it a couple of times under a windbreaker and it's a very warm layer. The color is a little greener than it looks; it's a slightly greenish khaki. Overall it's a good looking WARM vest."
Review 15 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Vest,
September 23, 2014
By: HarrisGrey
from Surrey B.C.
"This fits great...XXL, very warm, looks great, the only improvement would be the pockets, too shallow to store things...good for hands only."
Review 16 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 22, 2014
By: RlwOhio
from Ohio
"I own the mechanics sweater. Love it so I came back to Orvis for the Mechanics Vest. Great fit good quality. My wife says it looks good on me!"
Review 17 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive Vest,
September 21, 2014
By: RASairedale
from Northern New Jersey
"I am impressed with both the quality and the style of this vest. I was looking for a vest that will not only keep me warm but will look good and this product satisfies both issues."
Review 18 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Comfort,
September 17, 2014
By: Pete9091
from St. Cloud, MN.
"Just the most comforatable and easy to wear with any style, any occasion."
Review 19 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest to have in wardrobe,
March 12, 2014
By: Hosschap
from Hermitage, TN
"The vest is everything as described on the website. The liner inside makes it comfortable in colder weather. I would definitely recommend this to my friends."
Review 20 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as expected,
March 4, 2014
By: ThomO
from Lynnfield,MA
"Just like I pictured it. Heavy knit, nice liner, wore it on a decent feb day downtown Boston,and was quite comfortable. Sharp looking."