Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Genuine American Bison Wool Cap

Keep warm in a handsome hat knit from a plush bison wool blend. Bison shed their winter fur each spring; we gather, comb, and clean the fibers, spinning them into soft, supple yarn that guarantees long wear. Hat features polypropylene lining around the ears for added warmth. In brown. One size fits most. Bison wool/nylon. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Review 1 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Beanie,
November 19, 2014
By: Trooper13
"Just as good as the Bison Gloves and i would recommend this Product"
Review 2 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
November 16, 2014
By: GHoward
from Greenville, SC
"I was excited to get this one, and finally got to try it out just last night. Attended and outdoor party on one of the first cold nights down here (it hovered around 33 degrees all night), and this hat id the job. Warmer than a fleece hat I'd been using for the past two year. Love it."
Review 3 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
January 15, 2014
By: Mmap
from Hollywood, FL
"Comfortable, snug without being too tight. I have worn it in cold weather but not in extreme cold. Very happy that my wife found it in the catalog and we were able to order it during a visit to Orvis' flagship store in Manchester,VT. It arrived at our home quickly."
Review 4 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 18, 2013
By: blueline
"The cap is warm, it fits well and it exceeded my expectations. In addition, it's comfortable and is not at all scratchy. Very pleased."
Review 5 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Squeeze Fingers Too Tightly,
December 11, 2012
By: Adolos
from North Carolina
"Like every other Orvis (or other company) glove I have tried this year, the largest size offered has fingers that squeeze my fingers so tightly that they are too uncomfortable to tolerate."
Review 6 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Products,
October 26, 2012
By: ChicagoLobbyist
from Chicago, IL
"Bought the hat and gloves. Terrific fitting hat - big enough for a man (not a skimpy beanie), soft, and warm. Gloves are also soft and warm, and nice to find them adequately sized. Now Orvis just needs to start stocking them in black or gray."
Review 7 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft Bison Hair?,
December 31, 2011
By: guido1
"This was a gift for my son-in-law who lives in Coeur d'Alene, Idaho. A former Marine, his head is shaved; the cold requires headgear. He is delighted with the Bison cap. My daughter was impressed with how soft it is. Admittedly, the fact that it is from a bison had its own charm.
Good product, good service.
"
Review 8 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift for my son,
December 20, 2011
By: KateDartmouthMA
from Dartmouth, MA
"He loved it. Warm and fit well (bison down was a plus!). Good point that "one size fits most", since it was way too small for his dad's head!"
Review 9 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great material, poor quality control,
January 3, 2011
By: WilliamH
from Kenmore, NY
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Bison down material is awesome, but my pair arrived coming apart at the elastic cuff area. If you're expecting a thick pair of gloves, well, lower your expectations.
My pair obviously was returned.
My review is not a reflection of Orvis. I love their stuff and will always be a customer."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 11, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize these gloves did not perform as expected. We have let our product specialists know of this issue so they may review this product for durability. We gladly processed this customer's refund-our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business!
Review 10 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
January 2, 2011
By: jbboy
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this hat while on a trip but it was out-of-stock and did not arrive until I returned home. It arrived quickly and safely and it is one of the warmest hats I have ever owned. The lining is extremely soft and it can be worn with or without ear coverage as needed for the weather conditions. I would highly recommend it for cold weather."
Review 11 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy customer!,
August 10, 2010
By: Anonymous
from Miami, FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the hat & gloves while visiting NYC for New Years Eve. I thought that I dressed warm enough to survive all day/night in the snow & freezing winds...I was sadly mistaken. Luckily I found a Orvis & found this beautiful set, made very well & amazingly soft. I am SO glad I found this beautiful set! worth every penny!"
Review 12 for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 14, 2009
By: stooky
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"excellent warmth - all you need in a hat for cold weather. Pricey but a rare product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Genuine American Bison Wool Cap
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3