Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Jumping-Trout Watch

A jumping trout helps put a distinctive spin on this men's diving watch design. Designed to endure the toughest conditions on stream or at sea, our watch's quartz movement ensures you stay on time anywhere. All-weather rubber strap. Stainless-steel case with rotating bezel. Water resistant to 200m. Case diameter 48mm.
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
22 of 31(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jumping-Trout Watch
Review 1 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice look,
July 21, 2014
By: mice
from LA, Ca
"Great looking time piece. Strap is a little short. Good thing I have a small rist."
Review 2 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfied,
July 21, 2014
By: Johnmc88
from Monroe, NY
"Ordered watch, showed up 4 days early, seems to be of a fine construction. So far so good.
Johnmc88"
Review 3 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT FISHING WATCH,
July 8, 2014
By: RL73
from OLYMPIA, WA
"PERFECT FOR WEARING ON THE RIVER OR LAKE. NICE BIG FACE, WITH EASY TO READ NUMERALS. I HAVE GOT MANY COMPLIMENTS ON IT."
Review 4 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watch band replacement,
March 14, 2014
By: Sarge1968
"I am very happy with my Orvis watch. I like the large dial as in my age need all the help I can have.
I need a watch band replacement but can not find one any where or where I can be referred to to get one. A little disapointed."
Review 5 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
December 18, 2013
By: Akabud
"Could not really recommend product as it was broken when arrived. Stem to set watch pulled completely out of watch"
Review 6 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality,
August 1, 2013
By: XCustomer
"Despite some bad reviews I purchased the watch because I liked the look and large face. Very poor quality when I received. No instructions or information at all. In trying to set date and time, the pin came completely out of the dial. Unbelievable. I guess its my fault, others warned on reviews and I have had issues with Orvis watches and other things before. Guess will stick to luggage in the future, Expected much better from Orvis. Now going to wastes money and time shipping back!"
Review 7 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big face, easy to read,
June 19, 2013
By: MaxandMac
from Smithtown, NY
"I purchased this watch for several reasons: 1.Orvis products are quality, 2. Large face is easy to read and 3. I fly fish so the jumping trout is a nice conversation piece"
Review 8 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,
June 18, 2013
By: Roseland
from Charlottesville, VA
"I love this watch and wear it everywhere and everyday. 5 of my friends also own the watch and they love it also. I have worn it so much that it now needs a new band, which is to be expected. Only problem is that Orvis does not sell the bands and it is a special fit band. . Need an answer on replacement watch band."
Review 9 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jumping Trout Watch,
June 6, 2013
By: amack123
from Charlotte, NC
"Great looking watch but just WAAAAAY TOOO BIG!! I bought it for my son and we had to return it. The band is oversized (from a width perspective) and the face is gigantic! No need to be that big no functional advantage!
It's a shame because I really like Orvis
"
Review 10 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jump Away from Jumping Trout,
June 5, 2013
By: Check
"This watch is poor quality . Indeed it would not work when it arrived. The winding stem was completely out of the watch and I was unsuccessful in putting iti in. Regretfully, I had to return it."
Review 11 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
December 29, 2012
By: ltb33
from Atlanta, GA
"I gave this to my boyfriend for his 24th birthday, and he absolutely loved it! He is not normally a watch guy, but he never takes it off. Getting it engraved makes it even more unique."
Review 12 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
December 28, 2012
By: JDWIl
"Bought two for my two oldest sons.
They both love the watch.
"
Review 13 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
slightly flawed but overall, acceptable,
October 25, 2012
By: Greenwich
"Received this as a gift and after some hesitation - I would never have purchased such a large watch for myself, I decided to keep it and see how I adjusted. It took at least a month but my sluggish brain finally accepted the weight on my wrist and stopped sending me signals that my arm was being dragged down to the ground. But it did take awhile.
I'e found that I do like the extra large (huge) face - my eyesight isn't what it once was and the numbers are easy to read. Useful in one's dotage.
I do have a beef about the stem, however: twice it has backed off on its own to the half-way position and let moisture enter. The first time, I just left the stem in that position and after three weeks or so it dried out and the moisture disappeared. I don't know about long-term damage but I trust Orvis's lifetime guarantee so I'm not particularly worried. A nuisance though.
And now, six months later, it's happened again! This is gettig beyond nuisance to genuine annoyance. That annoyance increased last week when I discovered that the rubber wrist band has torn half-way through - I'm actually on line on the Orivis site right now because I'm looking for a replacement - this is not a size or material stocked by a normal jewelry store, unfortunately.
So I'm of two minds on this watch. I have come to accept its size as a tradeoff with such an easy-reading watch, and I like the fact that, assuming that doomed-to-perdition (Orvis nanny checker won't allow the use of the other, shorter word) stem is properly shut, I can wear it sailing, fishing, anything, really - and not worry about ruining it.
Right now, I'm of a mind to find a new band and keep the watch - if that proves a mistake, then there's that great Orvis guarantee to rely on.
"
Review 14 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent watch,
September 7, 2012
By: jadavid1
from Boulder, CO
"It's large with large numbers so it's easy to see even in poor light.It keeps great time.
No bells and whistles so it is perfect for me.
"
Review 15 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking,
August 15, 2012
By: bboo
"Good looking watch. The face is larger than I expected but my son likes it. What he didn't like was the rubber watch band. It is stiff. Also, bezel is hard to move. Price was right on."
Review 16 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible purchase,
July 1, 2012
By: Abaco
from Nashville, TN
"This watch was a terrible purchase, and I would strongly discourage its purchase by any individual. I received the Jumping Trout watch with a blue face about 2 1/2 weeks ago just prior to leaving for the Bahamas to Bonefish. The case was impressive, but the watch is of poor quality - poor enough that I opted to leave watch behind. The bezel does not sit or operate well, seems uneven or out-of-round, which left me questioning the watch's ability to withstand water. I also found the watch stem to operate poorly as well. This was an ill-advised purchase, and in retrospect, I should have heeded the written warnings by others who made the same purchase. Orvis needs to examine the quality of its products before selling."
Review 17 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Get Too Many Jokes When I Wear This! ;-(,
June 18, 2012
By: RochesterMan
from Rochester NY
"First off, it is a great looking watch, with excellent contrast and appears to be very good quality.
Unfortunately it is ridiculously over-sized. I just got it and wore it one day, despite my misgivings about it being way too big. I got constant jokes from my wife and family that this must be a watch for the blind, etc.
The strap is also uncomfortable, probably because it is out of proportion for a normal American man's wrist.
Unfortunately, its going back today. Don't the designers at Orvis actually try on items when they come off the drawing board?
This watch would be great if made in a normal size. I don't have wrists like King Kong!
Fortunately, Orvis has a very reasonable return policy, so I am disappointed but not going to go ape."
Review 18 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great casual watch,
May 7, 2012
By: Tribetown
"My kids bought this watch for me for my bday. I have worn a rolex for years but its great to have a watch that is less pretentious and equally durable and attractive. Compared to other inexpensive casual watches I have seen you cannot beat this one even if it may not lastt a lifetime...was not designed to."
Review 19 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many compliments on this watch.,
April 23, 2012
By: Hedgehawgin
from Alpharetta, GA
"I bought this as a "knock around" watch to wear fishing, boating, hiking, etc. It has proven to be rugged and accurate. I have also received more compliments on this watch than I ever have on much more expensive ones. One caveat, the face is quite large."
Review 20 for Jumping-Trout Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
December 27, 2011
By: JUGGLESS
"ITS TO BIG AND BULKY AND THERE ARE NO INSTURCTIONS ON TAKING THE LITTLE PLASTIC CLIP FROM THE STEM"