Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lab in the Woods Snow Globe

The serenity of winter is beautifully captured in this elegant dog snow globe. This pristine snowscape features a happy Lab enjoying the day as a bright red cardinal observes from above. High-quality glass globe on a silver-plated resin base with engraved inscription: “The woods would be silent if no birds sang.” 5"H.
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
54 of 60(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Review 1 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful!,
November 10, 2014
By: Elikapeka
from Bremerton, WA
"I bought this to add to my thirteen year old granddaughter's collection of snow globes, and it is undoubtably the most beautiful one she will ever have. I like that it also has a meaningful message inscribed."
Review 2 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snow globe,
November 7, 2014
By: splitrok
"I have put off getting this for years because it is a little expensive. Having finally decided to order it I am very pleased, it arrived promptly in excellent shape"
Review 3 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Gift,
November 5, 2014
By: Ginale
"Nice intimate gift for a relative. The cardinal and the lab both hold a place in her heart!"
Review 4 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
January 23, 2014
By: AgingWithStyle
from Upper Midwest
"I recieved this as a gift several years ago, loved it, and was delighted to find it for my daughter/son-in-law who proclaimed it their favorite Christmas gift of the year. For people who love labs - it truly gives the sense of this warm, gentle animal, their love of nature and the peacefulness of snowfall. I wanted to get another, but it was no longer available - my only disappoinment."
Review 5 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Snow Globe,
January 19, 2014
By: rockhead1971
from Feasterville, PA
"The snow globe has a very peaceful, snowy setting."
Review 6 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ununsual globe,
January 17, 2014
By: BabyB
"Snow globes are snow globes. But this one is unexepected fun!!!!
The labrador looking up to see a red cardinal sitting on a snow covered branch is a unepected delight.
I liked the idea amd the product!!!
Highly recommend.
"
Review 7 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LIfe-like and lovely.,
January 17, 2014
By: Chamoisbrandy
"I gave this as a gift to my husband because we love birch trees, birds, and retrievers. It's a lovely piece and the "snow" falls just like in nature. I was glad that Orvis brought back this snow globe again after several years."
Review 8 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
January 16, 2014
By: Kaitlyn2017
"I bought this for my daughter because we had a yellow lab for 13 years who died in Feb 2013 and for the red bird because her grandma always feed them on her back porch
Grandma passed away in 2001 but whenever we see a red bird we say it's grandma. So now grandma is looking after Sandy Thank you
"
Review 9 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the dog lover,
January 16, 2014
By: NewEnglandKnowsBest
from Valley Forge, PA
"The globe is simple and elegant. Not too big and not so small to that it would be overlooked. We have it perched on a kitchen shelf to overlook the room. The scene and the saying is a celebration of the love we have for our lab. My wife received it as a gift and loved it."
Review 10 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good try...,
January 16, 2014
By: 3DogGirl
from Oregon coast
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I read all the other reviews before purchasing this item for my mother.
Beautiful snow globe and red cardinal--great to remind her of east coast winters. Excellent concept!
Immediately out of the box, we noticed that branches and tree trunks were detached. See photos. Very disappointing. Only poor item ever purchased from Orvis."
Review 11 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Wonderland,
January 15, 2014
By: MichaelNJ
from New Jersey
"The Lab in the Woods snowglobe is the perfect gift for nature and animal lovers alike. It's realistic details allow you to lose yourself in the serenity and solitude of a snow-blanketed forest without leaving the comfort and warmth of your home. The globe is a wonderful focal point for meditation and reflection that can be enjoyed all year long!
a wonderful focal point for meditation that can be enjoyed all year long."
Review 12 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A seasonal treat,
January 15, 2014
By: Chatakwa
from Upstate New York
"If you are a snow globe fan, this one is especially pretty. Right now, we're having a very grey January thaw day, so I just remind myself of the beauty of winter with this woodsy scene. The little bird and the dog are especially sweet. One of the prettiest snow globes I've seen. I've had my eye on it for years, so I treated myself this year."
Review 13 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality control,
December 16, 2013
By: reviewerX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"After two attempts at making this a viable gift for a bird and dog lover I'm giving up. The first globe I received had a botched etching with scratches and black smudges across the text. The white paint on the tree branches missed one so that the underlying copper was clearly visible, and there was a chip in the base. The replacement I received had fewer flaws, but the silver plating is chipped on the back edge, so the underlying black resin base was visible. Although the base looks like smooth silver in the picture, in person it looks like rippled chrome. A bit of glue that attaches the globe to the base was also visible. This was pretty poor quality control for a rather expensive snow globe. The second one will be returned as well."
Review 14 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spirit,
December 16, 2013
By: StephG
"I ordered this snow globe for my boss for Christmas. His family recently lost one of their 2 golden retrievers after many years of friendship...when I saw this globe, it brought tears to my eyes. When it arrived I couldn't wait to open it...the glass is so crystal clear it was like being there in person. Just a beautiful winter scene on its own without the memory it will hold for my boss and his wife of a faithful and loving golden retriever. Thank you, Orvis."
Review 15 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Present Ever,
December 8, 2013
By: Flylady58
from Dodge City, KS
"My mom loves dogs and birds so this was the perfect combination. The globe is beautiful and she is thrilled!"
Review 16 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lab & Cardinal In The Woods,
December 7, 2013
By: Hwchurch
from Clearwater, FL
"This is such a beautifully thought out & well put together piece of art that I can't take my eyes off it. It reminds me of the poignant days gone by when I lived in the north woods of Minnesota....
Thank you Orvis!!!!!"
Review 17 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woods Snowglobe Delight,
December 6, 2013
By: TrinityLady
from Providence, RI
"Bought the Snowglobe to remember a very special canine family member. Beautiful!"
Review 18 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Lab,
December 4, 2013
By: LakeLouise
from Willowick Ohio
"The snow globe with the yellow lab sitting in the woods with a cardinal in a tree is charming. The silver base is perfect. A perfect gift."
Review 19 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful purchase,
November 13, 2013
By: anniemc52
from Denver, CO
"It's a beautiful snow globe because we love yellow labs and snowy evenings!"
Review 20 for Lab in the Woods Snow Globe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Inspiring,
November 5, 2013
By: labadmirer
from Barrington, RI
"This labrador retriever and cardinal snow globe comes exactly as pictured. It is both realistic and magical. I use it as part of an informal table arrangement complemented by a nearby pillar candle. This is truly a work of art and I have already received many compliments about it."