Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate

This innovative design pairs the security and convenience of a wire dog crate with the beauty and functionality of fine wood furniture. Designed to enhance home décor, this dog crate furniture can be used as a side table or freestanding centerpiece. The wire dog crate offers full ventilation and an easy-to-clean slide-out tray.Wood frames (##1K00) fit dog crates(##9L92) only. Included divider panel allows the creation of compartments within the dog crate—perfect for puppies as they grow. Dog cratein cherry. Please note: Wood frames and dog cratesare sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.208 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
20 of 24(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Review 1 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Solution,
May 7, 2012
By: HuskyMom
from Stevensville, MD
"The order arrived quickly and was easy to assemble. My dog is a puppy now so I really appreciate the divider which allows the cage to grow as he does. The furniture cover helps the unit to blend into the surroundings so it doesn't stand out in the room. Overall, I'm happy with this purchase."
Review 2 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FURNITURE QUALITY,
February 9, 2012
By: Busterboss
from Oak PARK ca
"Went together OK. I need to make a screen to block out the back. Finish very good"
Review 3 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasantly Surprised,
January 10, 2012
By: Festerbester
from PA
"Not much to say... Top quality product, PERFECT customer service!!!"
Review 4 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
high quality won't disappoint,
January 1, 2012
By: bxrlvr
from New Jersey
"I am very impressed by the quality and sturdiness of this crate. The three doors make finding a place for the crate easy. My boxer puppy is very happy in his new home."
Review 5 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Piece But...HUGE,
December 2, 2011
By: 2beagles
from Fremont, NE
"This is a very pretty piece and went together very smoothly, however, be warned - it is HUGE. It is extremely tall, wide and long. We set it up in our kitchen eat-in area where we have plenty of extra room, yet the piece still seemed to swallow the whole space. I would simply recommend measuring the space you want to put it in especially the height - it will surprise you!"
Review 6 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a great product for the money,
September 10, 2011
By: labmomlisa
from Tierra Verde, Florida
"I thought this crate would be an easy solution to the problem of unsightly crates in the living areas of my home, however it has caused more problems than it solved. First, I found the assembly to require two people, and even after the legs are attached, they move quite a bit. Second, the finishing on the bottom of the legs is poor quality. The combination of these two factors had a disastrous result--the first time I tried moving the crate out of the corner by sliding it, one of the forward legs left a huge scratch on my wood floors. So now, to clean behind it, I have to have a second person help me LIFT the entire crate and cover to move it as sliding isn't an option.
Also, the cost of the metal part of the crates are substantially higher than they cost if you purchase them at your local pet store.
I don't really recommend this as a purchase."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed,
June 27, 2011
By: Irishgirl63es
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I was really excited to have purchased this item along with the table to dress it up. I set this up in my living room and sat back and enjoyed the functionality of this crate, as well as how well it went and looked. After 5 months the crate started to rust and the my six month old shepard puppy was able to remove some of the wires to escape.
I will continue to come back to see if there is a new crate that will stand up to more than five months of use before it rust and fit the wooden table I purchased along with it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crate,
June 6, 2011
By: ajmrrich
from Kelso, WA
"The pewter colored dog crate goes perfectly with the cherry colored table. It was very easy to set up. A great purchase!"
Review 9 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handy Table,
May 12, 2011
By: HarveysPeople
from Houston, TX
"Love the extra space it gives by combining the crate with the table. Hasn't bothered my dog at all to have a table over a previously open wire crate. Easy to put together and when completed it looks lovely!"
Review 10 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome crate,
May 4, 2011
By: Irishgirl63
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great sturdy crate, looks great in our parlor and the table gives extra space to display photos, hold candles and a clock. We don't have to worry about the puppy knocking them over. We also used the table as a buffet table when entertaining. :)
Easy to set up, however you do need two people to put the table on top of the crate, if you purchased the large. This was a very good investment."
Review 11 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost Perfect,
April 27, 2011
By: AmberSC
from SC
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After looking at crates at the local pet superstore, and not finding one that seemed to fit the bill, I thought to myself, where else to look. Orvis, online, of course. Well, the description with the matching wood tabletop caught my eye, but I opted for the crate only at this time. The crate arrived quickly, much faster than I expected. I love the design and color - three doors plus divider. My only disappointment was the one minor flaw - the wire on the top edge was bent, right where it connects to the catch on the side piece. This makes the connection a little iffy. We forced it into place, and although not "perfect", the pluses far outweighed the one negative, so we gladly kept it."
Review 12 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great item,
April 27, 2011
By: TXCustomer
from Central Texas
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would recommend this as it looks good, assembles easy, and fits over the recommended crate as advertised. My Vizslas love them and got right in and started napping. The only draw back was on the anti skid grips on the legs, the screws were not in completely which caused the legs to scratch my wood floors, once they were tightened they did not cause any scratches in the planks."
Review 13 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
April 11, 2011
By: April
from Roanoke, VA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought the crate and table for our first puppy, an English Bulldog. I was a little worried about her chewing the legs, but so far so good. I don't see how she could get to them from inside the crate even when she gets bigger.
Crate: I'm very pleased with the crate. The "easy-to-clean slide-out-tray" is not so easy if you have the crate in the corner of a room (opposite corner from the product picture.) We've only had to slide out the pan a couple of times, but it's still a pain to move the heavy table and then the crate to get to it. I also like that it came with a divider. We've already had to move it a few times in only a few weeks time. Overall, I'd give the crate a 5 star rating.
Table: The table top is high quality, heavy and finished very nicely. The legs were not as impressive: the finishing on the edges wasn't complete and the hardware to fasten them still allows the legs to move out. I wouldn't trust the table without the crate because of the weight of the top and anything else you'd set on it. Overall, I'd give the table a 3 star rating."
Review 14 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Puppy,
March 25, 2011
By: mamaj
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a beautiful, functional piece of doggy furniture and I love the look and function of the product. I have a 12 week old puppy that loves the new crate. My only complaint is the fact that I'm a little worried to leave him alone for any period of time in it because I'm afraid he may chew on the legs...would it be possible to put some type of temporary "chew-guard"so that little puppy teeth won't be tempted ? It's just to nice to ruin!! Otherwise, I'm happy with the product!!"
Review 15 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jlbrn2,
February 12, 2011
By: jlbrn2
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This crate looks great in my liviing room. I purchased the medium crate for my 2 papillions. Because the room is small I like that the crate is not the first thing that people see. Since there is a door on 3 sides I am not limited in where I can put it. I gave it a 2 for features because the table is a bit wobbly if it is freestanding but once it was set over the crate it was fine."
Review 16 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expensive but worth it!,
December 31, 2010
By: 7valysgirl
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I agree with other reviewers that this is a substantial investment. But, I also believe it is well worth the price. The wire crate is very convenient and worth the price, even on its own. There are doors on three sides to make it accessible for your dog no matter what your arrangement may be. And, the doors are removable if you want your dog to have access without having the door hanging open. Add the wood frame and you have a beautiful piece of furniture that doesn't detract from the rest of your room. I use it like a side table/mantle piece with a clock, flower arrangment, lamp on top and have gotten many compliments on it. A lot of people don't realize it's a dog crate until they look harder! It arrived very well packaged and is EXTREMELY heavy. I got a real workout putting crate and frame together as I was working alone. Easier done with a second person to help with the lifting. My 74-lb Lab loves it! She no longer sleeps in her bed in my bedroom but prefers sleeping in her crate all night! So, I moved her bed into the crate and we all are happy now :)"
Review 17 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durable Crate Not Durable,
October 16, 2010
By: ScoutBoykin
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We purchased this crate for out Boykin Spaniel because we had seen this it at a friend's house and liked the way that it looked. Unfortunately, ours has not held up. Within weeks, Scout was eating away at the sides and now there is very little covering left. Also, we came home once to find him out roaming the house because he was able to break out of the top. Even thought the look was originally great, this has not been a "Durable Crate"."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that their pet was able to chew through this crate. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 18 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Vizsla,
July 29, 2010
By: happyvizslas
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love the crate. Yes, it was expensive to buy both pieces, but it looks great in my living room. Some people would be happy with just the great quality metal crate, but I wanted a nicer "piece of furniture" to go in my living area. I looked at many crates and there aren't any that compare to this quality furniture piece that my dog can see out of. My female vizsla loved the crate and she especially loved it after I put the cherry part on top. My male vizsla then began to get in the crate, as well. It makes a nice comfortable den for her. The crate came right away, but the cherry part was quite delayed. It did ship in great packaging to prevent damage."
Review 19 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Crate Choice for Springers,
January 27, 2010
By: Carli
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We recently adopted two English Springer Spaniel pups. So, we really needed two large 42 inch Wire Crates to treat them them both equally. We received one at first and liked it so much for our young boy pup's crate training that we ordered a second one for our girl pup. The 2nd one went on brief backorder but Orvis shipped it out to us as soon as they could. Both work extremely well and we love the pewter finish. Instead of using the wood overall outer decorative frame, we went with custom matching crate covers and plush velvet dog/crate beds perfectly sized to the crate. Both look excellent together side-by-side. Numerous visitors have complimented the crates. Thank you Orvis for providing such excellent customer service too! We have recommended your catalog/products/service to several family and friends. MANY THANKS!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wood Frame and Metal Dog Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
December 15, 2009
By: Vixter
from Tampa, FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We purchased both the crate and cherry wood frame for our new German Shepherd. It is a quality product and looks great with the rest of our furniture. We did receive the frame with a damanged leg, but after notifing Orvis, they immediately sent a replacement. Prompt and very good customer service. If you are looking for more than a collapseable system, I would highly recommend this duo for a quality crating system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.