Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed

Orvis memory foam dog beds are simply the best therapeutic dog beds you can buy. Our memory foam has been engineered specifically for dogs, whose weight is distributed over a much smaller surface area than humans. Older, arthritic dogs will find comfort and relief in the warmth and support offered by therapeutic memory foam engineered specifically for them. The included water-resistant, breathable liner keeps the odor-resistant solid memory foam slab clean and dry.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
25 of 30(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Review 1 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A message from Cricket the dog,
January 3, 2013
By: Foresters
"I love this bed! It's a zillion times better than any other bed I've had. *wag wag* I'm already a lazy old dog, and this bed makes me want to not get up!
My human family was a bit hesitant about buying this bed because of its cost, and its size would make it difficult to return.
But this bed has exceeded all their expectations. It's seriously amazing. They're jealous because they think my bed is better than theirs. That's true, but I'm so much nice and cute, so don't I deserve the best?
Two tips:
1. When ordering, go by the listed dimensions and not the dog weight guidelines. Measure the amount of space your dog takes up while sleeping. I'm just under 70 lbs, but the medium size would have been way too small because I like to spread out and have extra room on the sides.
2. When using it, my family highly recommends covering it with a twin-size bed sheet. That prevents them from having to clean off the fabric due to pet hair or other debris."
Review 2 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable!,
December 25, 2012
By: mydogcares
from portland
"Well made. Tempted to sleep on it myself! No regrets."
Review 3 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfy dog nest,
October 24, 2012
By: OrvisFamily
from Ellington CT
"Our border collie told us she'd like a second (they're very smart dogs you know) bed for the upstairs. Perhaps for the holidays! Herringbone cover is both comfortable and durable."
Review 4 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I Am Pretty Unhappy,
August 5, 2012
By: 3goodponies
from Eastern Washington
"First, I want to observe that the high density foam seems to be very supportive and comfortable - up to what I expect Orvis standards to be. I have 2 major complaints: first, that the meduim is no way big enough for a 70 lb dog - my Aussie is barely 50 lbs and doesn't fit on it - stretched out (as shown in the photo) his head and back feet are not on the bed. Secondly, the cover is the 100% polyester material, not the same material as the tartan on my original dog's nest - which is what I thought I was getting, as it looks identical to the swatch shown on the website. I am very disappointed - I waited a long time for the bed and it is not at all what I ordered!"
Review 5 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Max loves this bed,
November 28, 2011
By: mommytofour
from Cleveland, OH
"My 11 year old lab, Max absolutely loves this bed! After I take him for his morning walk, he gets a drink and immediately lays down on it. He doesn't move unless he has to go out or when he sees his "daddy" come up the driveway. He has arthritic knees and this bed just does the trick. I bought it about 4 years ago and it looks as good as ever."
Review 6 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed,
November 22, 2011
By: BrittanyDog
from Derbyshire
"Great dog bed and worth the money.
It still looks like new a couple of years on. Our dog has a bad leg and really loves this bed where she can stretch out as she pleases. I use a rug I can wash easily to keep the mud off the bed.
"
Review 7 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bed,
June 27, 2011
By: misscalliope
"I love this bed. My 14 year-old standard poodle is healthy but arthritic. She sleeps very comfortably on this bed and seems much less stiff. I upgraded my own beds to memory foam earlier this year and thought I would do the same for my very best friend. Great thought!"
Review 8 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slightly disappointed with purchase,
February 24, 2011
By: Firsttimebuyer
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am very pleased with the quality of the material of the memory foam bed that I purchased for my 11 year old yellow lab, however, I am dissatisfied with the workmanship of the personalization of my dogs name I had added. The name is off center and the lettering is slanted rather than sewn in a straight line."
Review 9 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
December 5, 2010
By: doglover35
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"When we bought this bed, they only sold the "Memory Foam" insert and Touch Chew cover separately. When it came, we were so excited. We really wanted our dog to have the best bed, and usually those come from Orvis. Unfortunately, this was not the case for this bed. It came with memory foam "cubes" inside a cover, and they have seriously deteriorated over time. Orvis now offers a FULL memory foam piece, and I know why. There are serious quality issues with the cubed memory foam insert they sold, but after contacting them, they were not willing to replace my defective insert. That is SO not like Orvis... Too bad, I'll be buying my dog beds elsewhere from now on."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 5, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and provided a new solid foam liner for their pet's bed. At Orvis we diligently work to address product issues and improve on the quality of our items. We appreciate our customer's and their insight to help us make sure it is absolutely right.
Review 10 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Bed,
November 26, 2010
By: momtokatyandsophieandlucy
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have a 15 year old golden retriever, and even though she doesn't sleep on the bed much, she does seem to be comfortable when she is on it. Because the material seems to hold in heat more, she gets hot and wants to move to the tile floor. Actually, our 2 year old rescue dog seems to like it even more! The bed isn't cheap, by any means, but it does seem to be very supportive for old dogs. We're very happy with our purchase."
Review 11 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soft Bed!,
October 21, 2010
By: Limonsa
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My greyhound loves this bed, in particular, the velvety soft cover. However, I wish that the foam pad were thicker, as when she rests on her elbows she is able to compress the pad to the floor. I recommend that Orvis offers a 5" thick option in the future."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Travel and Home,
October 19, 2010
By: AuggieDogsDad
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We just returned from a 4,300 mile journey with our two dogs nestled in the back of a sport utility. They had perfect support (need to be able to stand up and not be too bouncy in a vehicle), cushy comfort and a consistent feel made their beds outstanding. This is our second time buying these and Orvis has made a great bed even better. They are worthy the extra ... spend it and you and your pet will be happy!"
Review 13 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality product,
October 10, 2010
By: Lab2011
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my second Orvis memory foam dog bed, and I'm hooked. My yellow lab loves her bed. The price is high, but the beds last for years. My lab goes through the cheaper, pet-store beds within months."
Review 14 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An older's dog dream bed!,
October 7, 2010
By: tonsies
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our dog Fargo will be 14 this month! We have tried EVERY bed under the sun as you can imagine. We had tried the larger nest foam beds, but she always slept half on/half off the bed. This rectangular one is perfect and it doesn't take up a lot of space in our tiny NYC apt! I wouldn't get any other bed after this one"
Review 15 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST DOG BED EVER,
September 6, 2010
By: JERRIE
from MASSACHUSETTS
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I HAVE PURCHASE ALOT OF DOG BEDS . THIS ONE IS THE BEST EVER. I HAVE TO ENGLISH SPRINGER SPANIELS. THE DOG BED STILL LOOKS LIKE I JUST BOUGHT IT, IT'S BE A YEAR NOW. I WASH THE COVER ALL THE TIME , THE MEMORY FOAM ALWAYS KEEPS IT'S SHAPE , AND IT IS SO EASY TO TAKE THE COVER OFF AN ON. I LOVE IT!!!! I AM JUST BUYING ANOTHER ONE TO PUT IN ANOTHER ROOM OF THE HOUSE."
Review 16 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A very mixed review,
August 4, 2010
By: OldDogOwner
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Best dog bed we ever had until we were unable to replace the inner replacement liner for our elderly incontinent dog. Orvis no longer sells the replacement liner. I feel that since they are still selling the bed, they should have the easy to damage, wearable liner available for purchase. It is now an expensive waste of a bed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 18, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that we do not have liners available at this time. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service has forwarded this feedback to our product developers for possible future improvements to the item.
Review 17 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent for oldies,
May 25, 2010
By: corfy
from England
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I brought this bed for my 15 year old English Bull Terrier and he adores it. I have had many beds in the past 15 years and he has always taken to the sofa! But he loves this bed. It provides his joints with support at just the right level. Easy to get on and off and he doesnt wake up stiff. My only negative point is the suede cover (in Brown) marks and stains very easily and now looks old and dirty even though it is only a couple of weeks used. It can be washed but this leaves you minus a cover while it dries. A stain proof cover and the bed is 100% perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A big cat bed,
March 15, 2010
By: FurMom
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this for my 70-lb german shepherd, who's 12 with hip dysplasia and arthritis. I bought the Large, thinking it would be big enough, but it wasn't. My smallest dog, a 50-lb basset, can climb on the bed, but not comfortably. The bed seems to be tough for dogs with leg problems (whether old/arthritic or short legs) to climb on.
My female cat, on the other hand, won't get off the bed. She's claimed it as her throne and absolutely loves it. Such is life!
I've always bought Orvis products for my dogs (my other three dog beds are all from Orvis) and I love them. I was looking for something to help my older dog be more comfortable, but this didn't do it."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 30, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit because their dog was not satisfied with this bed. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Three Dogs' Seal of Approval,
March 5, 2010
By: retrieverlady
from NC
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this for my oldest lab, mainly because I thought it would be easy for him to get on and off it, and it is. It has a nice soft cover that comes out of the dryer almost like new. My two younger dogs, who can still get on the sofa or my bed, love the memory foam dog nest, so some dog is on it all the time. I might have to buy another one . . ."
Review 20 for Therapeutic Memory Foam Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog bed for older/big dogs,
February 9, 2010
By: DKGH
from St. Louis MO
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Our dogs love this bed -- thick foam provides great support, and the cover is soft microfiber."