Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Bolster Bed with Memory Foam

Give your dog a comfortable bolster bed with memory foam designed just for him. Memory foam promotes circulation and cushions joints while preventing discomfort associated with uneven support. Microfiber cover with fleece sleeping surface. A water-resistant inner liner protects against accidents. Memory foam dog beds are 4" thick. Water-resistant liner. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
1
65 of 74(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Review 1 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cover is terrible,
May 23, 2013
By: Mols
"After several washings, the micro suede totally comes off. What's left is a bald, ugly surface. The fleece also gets thin from just use. This is the second cover I've used, & will not purchase another one. Just ordered a bed from another vendor."
Review 2 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shed, shed, shed,
April 25, 2012
By: RLS1
"The fleece will not stop shedding, even after washing it and vaccuming repeatedly. I've had to vaccuum my carpet everyday because of the lint off of this bed. I finally gave up after four months and ordered a new cover that is all microfiber. Orvis offered me a 20% discount on a different cover and free shipping.
Still, it's my pup's favorite bed.
"
Review 3 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bolster Bed w/memory foam,
March 29, 2012
By: my2bears
from Chicago, IL
"My dogs really liked the bed and it was nice and soft. However, I was afraid that over time, the fleece would wear down. This is what I read in some of the other reviews and when I called orvis catalog orders, they said microfiber all-around would last longer and be more durable. So I ordered the super-absorbent bolster bed, but the microfiber doesn't feel as soft to the touch....not sure my dogs mind, but I am still unsure as to which memory foam bed will be best. Wish I could see the dogs in the store rather than ordering and returning on-line."
Review 4 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very nice bed!,
March 19, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Campbell, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Overall I am happy with this bed. I own the medium and the large sizes for my 45lb and 72lb dogs. I could easily have gotten mediums for both dogs as the medium is big enough for both to sleep on together (if curled up). My one complaint is that the fleece sleeping surface allows hair through to the surface of the foam (where it is very hard to get it off). I think it would be better if the whole bed was made of the microfiber bottom and bolster fabrics."
Review 5 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dog loves this bed!,
March 17, 2012
By: DaleJR88Fan
from Gaithersburg, MD
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We purchased this dog for our 5 year old border collie to replace another Orvis bed that we moved to a different room in the house. I was worried that he wouldn't like the new bed, but as soon as we put it in his "spot", he climbed right in and he loves it. He was diagnosed with hip dysplasia when he was 2, so I hope that sleeping in this bed will be more comfortable for him as he gets older."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We Should Have Bought 2,
February 2, 2012
By: LilyBoxerMom
from Chicago, IL
"Lily, our 6 year old boxer, has arthritis. We decided to get her this bed to check out the Orvis quality. I think my husband thought I was nuts (given the price of the bed), but the minute I pulled this bed out of the box Lily was in love. The girl who loves laying on the couch loves this bed even more! I would buy one for every room in the house if I could! FYI - Lily is a 60lb. boxer and I bought her the medium - it is PLENTY big."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Bed...terrible cover,
January 18, 2012
By: Xana
from Fairfax, VA
"Bought this bed for our then two 90 pound ridgebacks to give them incentive to sleep on the floor and not our bed. This bed definitely did the trick and our dogs now sleep on the floor with very little resistance. We bought the large, which could almost fit another 90 pound dog. The large is huge and works for two dogs if they are ok with sharing space.
My only complaint, which resulted in a two star rating, is the cover. The faux sherpa fur is of awful quality and does not meet our Orvis expectations. After only 10 or so washes, it has pretty much disintegrated and we can see the weaving through what is left. If you rarely wash your dog beds, this may not be a problem. However, we wash our beds about once a month so they don't stink up our bedroom. As the replacement cover is quite expensive, and will likely also fall apart after a few washes, I would not recommend this bed as it is not cost effective. Most of our dog beds and covers have lasted years, this bed will likely last, but the cover is not holding up so we will have to figure out a way of preserving the memory foam. Will probably end up buying a regular round cover w/out the bolster.
I have purchased the rectangular memory foam bed (for our third dog) that does not have the faux cover in the hopes that it will hold up better. Listen to this and the other reviews before buying this particular bed.
My recommendation to Orvis is to provide a cover without the sherpa lining as that will likely solve the problem. Other than the cover, the bed is great and relatively easy to remove and wash."
Review 8 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
January 12, 2012
By: Omeko
"My 14 year old weimaramer loves her new bed. The bolster wraps nicely around her curled up body and provides a perfect pillow for her head. Our best friend has cancer and will probably not be with us much longer but it is so wonderful to be able to give her a perfect bed to rest in. She has many Orvis beds but this one is perfect for this stage of life. Thanks"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wearing out,
December 27, 2011
By: bruceandkate
from Bend, OR
"I have this bed in both a small and a medium. The dogs love them and the bed themselves are in good shape. My complaint is that the fleece part of the bed cover began wearing out quickly. After the first couple of months there were already places that were wearing thin and small holes have continued to develop. Now they look like they will have to be replaced soon, which is disappointing for such expensive beds."
Review 10 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
December 25, 2011
By: Whacko8
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"First off, I literally just gave this bed to my dog an hour ago, so this is a "first impression" review, I'll write another one later on if need be.
I bought this for my 1 year old German Shepherd Mix who was diagnosed with hip dysplasia in his right hip; although, I probably would have bought it for him even if he didn't have hip dysplasia :P.
As for first impressions, he and I LOVE it! He went straight to it when I set it down and passed out. The cover material (aside from the basic fleece) is very nice in look and texture; it seems very sturdy too. I don't have much experience with memory foam, but as far as firmness goes, it seems fine to me...all I know is it felt amazing when I pressed down on it; plus, my dog doesn't seem to be complaining! I also love the bed design and color, and I'm super picky! It is very contemporary and, I believe, would fit nicely with any decor.
I searched high and low for a dog bed that had non-toxic memory foam. A lot of companies make their foam with horrid chemicals and toxins that would eventually seep into your dog's body over time. I asked an Orvis representative if the foam was nontoxic, but they had to contact the manufacturer of the foam. I later received an email stating that it was non-toxic. I talked once again to a representative asking if I should believe that I was told the truth because it doesn't state anywhere on Orvis' website or bed tags that the foam material is certified non-toxic (which should be published somewhere if it is), and he said that he can guarantee that it is non-toxic despite it not being stated anywhere. So, assuming that the truth is being told, I am beyond elated!
I ordered the large, and my dog is 80lbs -- he's lean and tall vs. wide and bulky. He and two of my other dogs (both around 20lbs) fit on the bed. The medium would have been fine, but I wanted the extra room for him because he likes to stretch out as well as curl (which, by the way, he loves the bolster for).
This bed is great and I would recommend it to anyone! The price is intimidating, but WELL worth it! I think I might get another one for him to have downstairs :D"
Review 11 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just ordered a second bed,
December 16, 2011
By: Gipper
from Decatur, GA
"I ordered this dog bed for my 1 year old golden retriever. We love it. The XL was too big but often, my children will lay on it with the dog. It will last the life time of the dog and the memory foam is worth the expense. My previous golden had hip dysplasia and arthritis and he would have loved this bed."
Review 12 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Check the picture,
December 12, 2011
By: Gertie12
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Our English setter pup adores this bed. Never had a problem with her wanting to sleep with us!"
Review 13 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
great bed, bad cover,
October 23, 2011
By: 3dogsinCA
"I bought this bed for my arthritic 14 year old dog after she had knee surgery at 11 years old. She needed a stable but comfortable bed. She adores this bed and always chooses it over every other bed in the house. The only problem is the cover. The sherpa sheds which I can overlook, but I just went to wash the cover and found a large hole in the sherpa where it meets the heavier fabric on the bolster. I have had this bed about a year and the quality of the cover is disappointing. I have several other Orvis dog beds and I am willing to pay more for the quality of materials and craftsmanship. I would not recommend this bed with the currently available cover fabric."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog's first choice,
July 21, 2011
By: JRTMom
from Vermont
"We were actually in the store in Manchester, Vermont browsing with our Jack Russells and our older girl picked this bed out! As we were browsing the dog section, she decided she wanted this bed- she curled up on it right in the store. We have a Tempur bed for us, and it only made sense to us that she would decide it was very comfortable- and as she gets older she appreciates her comfort. We have had it for a few weeks now, and it is still a favorite- even over the sofa sometimes!"
Review 15 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A bit "blah" frankly....,
June 9, 2011
By: DennyK
"I bought this bolster bed for my English Cocker Spaniel, Paddy. I think we're both a bit disappointed - it's fine, but not great, especially when you think that it's £175 for the small one!
My comments:
1. the memory foam is very soft - I was expecting something firmer, more like Tempur. Even a dog Paddy's size (14kg/about 30lbs) just "sinks" into it and it doesn't give as much support as I'd expected. Larger dogs - or ones with joint problems etc - may find this too "soggy" to be comfortable;
2. the "small" is massive - yes, i got the tape measure out before buying it, but it's still way too big for a Cocker Spaniel (but the "extra small" one was too small). I could, quite easily, fit two Cockers into it with space to move and curl up;
3. the bolster bit is very nicely constructed and the right balance between soft and firm;
4. BUT.... the bolster doesn't curve far enough around the whole bed, so positioning it in a corner means that Paddy doesn't get the benefit of a bolster to loaf on while watching what's going on round him. I looked at the double bagel bed and was put off that by reviews that said that the bed bit was so soft and thin that it gave no real cushioning and buyers had had to add bedding/cushioning to the base.
Overall - it's OK. It looks lovely but nothing more and for £175, it should be a "wow" from me and a "wow" from Paddy. I guess he's voted with his feet: he doesn't go into the bed unless told to "go to your bed". At night, he moved out of it because the lack of "wraparound" on the bolster made him feel insecure.
So... blah."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great bed, but...,
May 8, 2011
By: JoshVA
"I purchased this bed for my aging labrador, and it was fantastic - she absolutely loved it. When she developed bone cancer, she ended up spending a lot of her last few months in bed - so it was worth the very high price to give her a little more comfort.
I recently got a new puppy, and she loves the big bed.
The only negative is that after a couple washes, the fleece/bed material started shedding to the point where I can actually see the base material of the bed. Further, it almost falls apart when washed, so I've had to stop washing it. Great bed, but for this price, it really was disappointing to see it falling apart after not that much use.
Recommend, but save the receipt."
Review 17 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Dog Bed,
April 25, 2011
By: Alyson
from Upstate, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is a phenomenal dog bed!! I purchased the Therapeutic Memory Foam bed in a size Large for my 60lb English Pointer 3 years ago (for reference - a Medium would have suited my dog perfectly however I wanted extra room for toys and blankets, thus ordered the large). He is a definiltey one who loves his comfort and this bed is the perfect fit. He curls up against the bolster and sometimes sleeps in a ball position, at other times he paws at the bolster making it the perfect cushion support for his body and head (it is extremely durable) and at other times sprawls out on the memory foam cushion with his head on the bolster looking out the window. 3 years later - it still looks and feels brand new! The material wears very well and is extremely durable. (Plus it survives the washing machine!!). The memory foam cushioning is perfect for a very active or elderly dog. The reason for this review 3 years later is the fact that I am looking to purchase a 2nd therapeutic memory foam bed for my dog at our 2nd residence. It is worth EVERY penny and is a great investment for your dog. I HIGHLY recommend this bed."
Review 18 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fabric Needs Updated,
April 12, 2011
By: CotonMama
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I absolutely LOVE the comfort of this bed for my 2 dogs, but the fleece material does not hold up at all. If you have a dog that nests, this bed is NOT for you. I was very disappointed on the material and wish I would have reviewd others comments before purchasing.
However the size, style and comfort my dogs just love. Have many additional Orvis products that are far superior, but this material needs changed for durabliity. I am constantly picking up pieces from the fleece material."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamApril 25, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the fleece is shedding on this bed. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 19 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't let the price tag scare you,
April 7, 2011
By: MabelDoodle
from London
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The first thing you've probably thought when looking at this price of this bed is "WHOA". But before you look elsewhere, think. You will never have to buy another bed again.
Our dog is almost 4. She has had this bed for just over a year. In the first 3 years of her life we spent approximately £100 (GBP) PER YEAR on her beds. She is not a destructive dog, they've just been poorly made beds and not able to stand up to a high temperature wash ie anything above 30 degrees.
The last bed she had lasted 2 months. We had to wash it after Mabel rolled in fox pooh and ran to her bed. The cover needed a good wash. After it was washed I put it on the bed, she jumped in and poof, the zip and seams burst. This bed's cover is a dream to wash. A dream! I've washed it at 60 degrees (don't shout at me Orvis people!) and it still slipped on to the bed and the zip was as easy to close as ever. That applies to the very cleverly placed liner too. The bed has a main cover but the bottom part, the expensive memory foam bit also has a zippable waterproof backed cover.
Mabel is 25lbs and leggy. We ordered the large but I think we could have done with the medium. Mabel doesn't have a particular way of sleeping, sometimes she will curl up and other time she will stretch out. The large allows her to do both and still be comfortable.
The colour we order seems to no longer be available but we're more than happy with the bed but more importantly, so is Mabel. She is a cross breed and her dominant breed has a tendency to have hip problems. After doing our research we decided on a memory foam bed to help reduce the likelihood she'll have problems later in life.
All in all I couldn't recommend the bed enough. The only thing I would say to be wary of is the size. We're lucky that the bed fits in the corner of a rather large bedroom but make sure you get your measurements right. Once your dog has tried the bed you won't be able to exchange it if it's too big, your dog won't let you!"
Review 20 for Bolster Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service Disappointing,
March 30, 2011
By: therapyk9
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The memory foam bed is just what my elderly, three legged cancer surviving greyhound needs. It provides much needed support. However, the bolster began to sag away from the round memory foam part of the bed and thus began to form a hole. When I called our local Orvis store and asked if I might get a replacement cover due to the hole they said, "Just bring the whole bed and we will replace it for you!" I was delighted at the customer service. My excitement was short lived. When they found I purchased it on sale they started back tracking.They did take the bed and said they would send it to the warehouse and get back to me.I explained if I was only going to get a refund I would just keep the bed-I can't purchase a new one for the price I paid on sale. After 2 1/2 weeks I called the warehouse number I was given and was told no one knew where my bed was. A phone inquiry was made to the store by the warehouse people and I was told I would be called shortly. Five days later my husband called the store after we had received no phone call. They said the bed was taken to the warehouse and they would "get back to us". It has now been over three WEEKS since the bed was dropped off at the store and I still can't get an answer out of them as to what they are going to do and my greyhound has been without his bed for almost a month and it looks like it will be even longer. My husband was told it may take "a couple weeks" to figure out what they are going to do. After finally getting a contact name at the warehouse, my husband called yesterday and left a message at noon. We are still waiting for the return call. I am VERY disappointed in customer service, not the bed."