Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket

Beautifully distressed leather that already looks like it's been around for years. Deep, full shearling lining for superior warmth in even the coldest conditions. This is a once-in-a-lifetime purchase that will find its way to the next generation. Full front zipper with lower hand-warmer pockets. Adjustable snap sleeves. Rugged, straightforward, and the best of its kind. Men's leather shearling jacket in brown. Genuine shearling leather. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 of 22(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Review 1 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
small pockets,
February 3, 2013
By: nwahog
from Fayetteville AR
"I got this jacket on sale, and it is a good looking jacket. For me there is not enough arm room to layer, and the pockets are VERY small. I am glad I bought it on sale!"
Review 2 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
September 10, 2012
By: 1OldChief
from Northeast Wisconsin
"I was first concerned that this was an off-shore product and the cut may not be Amerrican standard. The XL was a comfortable fit and I am lookingh forward to wearing it in the winter season."
Review 3 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shearling,
September 8, 2012
By: UncleBilly
from Central Illionis
"Sturdy, light-weight, roomy yet still good fitting.
I have 6 or 8 shearlings, sort of a collector, and this is a deserving addition.
"
Review 4 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality, warm jacket,
March 18, 2012
By: Toontell
"This jacket appears to be well made. I am 5'11" and 160 pounds and the medium fit too snugly for comfort. I wore it on a chilly, very breezy morning and the wind did not penetrate the jacket at all. The only thing that prevented a 5-star rating was that the collar was not rolled properly, exposing the seam at the back of the neck."
Review 5 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
How wrong can you be.,
February 24, 2012
By: BeachboyUK
from Devon, UK
"I spent many months looking at this jacket & thought, I know this is not going to be for me but i will try it anyway. I was quite excited waiting for this jacket to arrive out of curiosity, Just to see. WOW i loved it, fitted beautifully much to my surprise, As soon as i put it on it seemed like i had owned it for years. I did not want to take it off. The shearling is kitten soft & the outer leather is just perfect. Their are a couple of negatives the first being the seems are single stitched and not rolled or overlapped, Which i feel for a jacket of this price is poor & i always like a secure pocket on a jacket which this does not have."
Review 6 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wear It Out!,
January 10, 2012
By: FlatusMan
from Ellicott City, MD
"This jacket has been the best purchase of they year! It fits so well it feels like a custom jacket just for me. It has kept me warm when I need it and looking good!
I waited for this purchase and I'm glad I did it, but I'm sorry I waited. This will wear well as it ages and I'm giving it a good start.
"
Review 7 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Anniversary Gift,
December 31, 2011
By: giantbubbie
from King City, CA
"I gave this to my husband for our 35th anniversary. He was blown away. He wears it every morning when he walks the dog. It has been very frosty this winter, but my husband has been very toasty! He absolutely loves it."
Review 8 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and Warm,
December 30, 2011
By: Kevbeau
from NY
"Received as Christmas present. What a coat! Not only nice and warm, but also great looking. Looking forward to wearing it for many, many years."
Review 9 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ok jacket,
December 20, 2011
By: Clamdigger
from Newport, RI
"Looks liike pic, but what you don't see is that it is very thin, and not that well made. Seems are single stitched an not rolled or overlapped. Looks ok but not worth more than high 400 to very low 600$. Would not expect this coat to last with heavy use, or many seasons"
Review 10 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Choice,
November 21, 2011
By: Packard
"Fit was skimpy, I normally wear a 44 or large but had to return this one for an XL. Shearling was considered thin. The XL has also been returned because it was, a) too large, and b), the pocket interiors stuck out of the jacket when worn un-zipped. Looked sloppy. I'm still in the market for a quality shearling jacket."
Review 11 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shear Indulgence,
November 15, 2011
By: Golspeijohn
from South Coast
"This jacket is pure comfort. The zip is a real heavyweight - very tough and easy to use. The quality of the fleece is superb and the construction of the jacket makes one virtually unaware of the internal seams. Sizing is vital, make sure you are wearing the appropriate knitwear underneath when purchasing. Even though I got this wrong the staff at my local branch quickly ordered the next size from the USA and I was able to compare and exchange within a week. Great service and an excellent garment."
Review 12 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
good quality,
November 3, 2011
By: cubdrive
from redmond, wa
"I returned this item. It was well made and fairly priced. The problem with the jacket was the zipper. Because the item did not have a double zipper, when the jacket was zipped and you sat down, the coat would ride up on your chest. If Orvis put a two way zipper in this coat, I would buy it immediately."
Review 13 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
January 31, 2011
By: DougB
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am 5'11" and weigh 210, and ordered the large, which fits just fine. Very high quality and soft as a kitten. Perfect coat for with jeans on a cold day."
Review 14 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted,
January 26, 2011
By: SystemicKid
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very pleased with this jacket: oozes quality in a quiet understated manner. Not too heavy or cumbersome and won't go out of style thanks to its simple but classic design. It's also nice and warm for those chilly days. Picture in the on-line catalogue is pretty faithful to the actual jacket I received."
Review 15 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Classic,
January 9, 2011
By: Welshman
from Wales
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This jacket has everything, quality, a simplistic individuality, and style, It has an excellent cut, fits well and is a 'must' for the decerning man.
It's not until you compare this jacket with the over cluttered, expensive and often disfunctional fashion items offered by the 'top marque' high street shops that you realise what you have bought.
I have owned and worn this jacket for over two months and found it to be ligh,t subtle and comfortable. It proved to be deceptively warm during the recent cold spells of UK weather......and it still exudes that wonderful expensive leather aroma!...who needs aftershave!
The jacket design is well thought out, the hand warmer pockets could be slightly bigger and a simplistic secure inside pocket to take a wallet would be a good addition.
The quality and manufacture are exactly what you would expect from Orvis...overall its a Classic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
January 2, 2011
By: Mig5
from MA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The jacket is very warm without being bulky, it is not stiff. The jacket is sized well."
Review 17 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
October 21, 2010
By: Shrink
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is one beautiful jacket. The distressed leather looks great, and is soft and supple. The construction (to my untrained eye) is excellent - fit and finish are superior. The jacket fits very well. I'm a Medium and the jacket fits great - room for a semi-bulky sweater, but not so roomy you swim around in it if you're just wearing a flannel shirt. It's not cheap, but the jacket is worth the price, and it looks like it will last. I recommend this jacket if you want a great looking, warm and beautifully made jacket."
Review 18 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding purchase,
October 13, 2010
By: Quincy
"I have been looking for an attractive shearling jacket/coat to add to my fall/winter outerwear collection - and didn't want to break the bank in doing so - therefore this new offering is right on target....versatile, looks rugged, fits well with a sweater, nice alternative to a barn coat/pea coat for those crisp/cold days!"
Review 19 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet,
January 13, 2010
By: fibonacci1618
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Love this jacket. Looks great and a perfect fit for me."
Review 20 for Vintage Shearling Zip Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the picture,
October 13, 2009
By: Ihatenicknames
from Cary, NC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is one jacket that actually looks better in person than in the picture...and the picture isn't bad. Put this with a pair of jeans and a white sweater and you are pretty much ready for anything. Fits true to size and is very warm. You might find shearling for cheaper, but I haven't seen any that looks this good."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.