Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar

Orvis dog beds now feature luxurious microfiber covers in sizes up to extra large. This upholstery-grade fabric—originally developed for the furniture industry—is built to take a beating, and look great doing it. It's also anti-static and velvety smooth with deep, rich colors. We use only the highest quality microfiber in our extra large dog beds for incredible comfort and long-lasting durability. Dimensions are approximate.
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
3 of 9(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Review 1 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ugh,
July 25, 2012
By: NJHound
from Freehold,NJ
"Purchased this bead filled bed for my xtra large newly rescued greyhound and he loves it. I am very disappointed that after only 4 months the inner liner has ripped and the beads are now loose in the cover. It will be a mess to empty out. I thought this would last and be much higher quality. I will have to figure out my own filler now"
Review 2 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
deceiving colors- not happy,
July 17, 2012
By: roosmom
"Received my large size dog bed today and the quality seems excellent. My big problem is how deceiving the colors are in the covers. I called before i ordered to get the exact colors in the Field Tartan and was told it was red, navy and natural. When I received it today it was maroon, green and tan. Not real thrilled about that but my puppy has been waiting so long for his bed and I don't want to send the cover back for another. There should be a better description of the beds to avoid these issues."
Review 3 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
April 25, 2011
By: Adam20
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My mom has had one of these beds for years and it has survived 3 dogs now and whenever we would go to her house my dog would love to nest in it so we decided to get our own. I am sorry to say that our bed did not last long. We got in in November and about a month ago when we were taking the cover off to wash it we noticed the bag with the beads in it had malfunctioned. It appears the zipper holding the beads in split. So now we have a bed we can't wash and beads everywhere. I had high expectations for this bed and am very disappointed."
Review 4 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
strange bed,
January 31, 2011
By: sptr
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When I first ordered this bed, I purchased the large for my 80 lb. lab. As soon as I took it out of the box, it was obviously much too small. I returned it for the extra large. Now that I have the second, I wish I looked at it more closely. Another reviewer commented on there being too much stuffing. While that is true, that is easily remedied. The bed has a very unusual feel given the nature of the small beads. It's hard to describe, but my dog has a very difficult time even getting on the bed because of the way the beads shift. On top of that, the bed claims to have cedar fill. That is laughable. You have to search the stuffing for the smallest hint of a cedar shaving. The bed smells like plastic!! I would return it except my dog has been on it and I don't feel right returning a "used" product. I would discourage you from purchasing this product regardless of what Mr. Perkins claims about it. Not what I have come to expect from Orvis."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 4, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that they were not satisfied with the filling of this bed. Orvis offered to exchange this bed or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 5 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Full,
August 19, 2010
By: samy
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I think the bed is filled too full. My dog usually takes to new beds right away. She doesn't like this one as much. I got it because she likes to dig into her bed, but it's so full she doesn't do that either. I got a smaller bed for my other dog and now she winds herself up in that one."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that this bed was too full. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 6 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
April 30, 2010
By: noshoes777
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The bed is overstuffed with only poly beads. The cedar is non-existant and that is why my dog won't use it. It's not comfortable, it's like a hard bean-bag. the only good thing is the cover, it seems to be very nice quality. I took an old cedar bed and put the cover over it and now my dog will use it. so I paid a lot of money for a new cover for an old bed."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 10, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit because their dog was not satisfied with this bed. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 7 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Dog Loved It,
January 14, 2010
By: Susa
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 10 year old standard poodle rejected 2 other beds, one being a temperpedic for dogs($$$). She immediately claimed the nest with beads."
Review 8 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
January 4, 2010
By: anon159
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This bed has been great. It still looks good after a couple of years, my dog still loves it, no problems at all. Very high quality."
Review 9 for Orvis Dog's Nest® with Beads/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Beads are a problem,
November 16, 2009
By: GoldenLover
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I ordered two of these for my Goldens. One came with the beads; the other not (though I thought I'd ordered both with beads).
Fortunately, though, one did not have beads. Neither dog would use the bead bed. (One is 8 yrs; the other 18 mos.) They both were fine with the polyester fill bed.
I have ordered dog beds from Orvis for years. This is the first time I've been really unhappy.
When I called to talk about it, the rep said if dogs don't begin sleeping on the beads from the time they are puppies, they often won't use them.
The only caution on the website is about cedar and hunting dogs. Since mine aren't hunters, I didn't worry.
If I'd known about the other caution, I'd not have ordered beads.
Bottom line, it cost me another $40+ to get a replacement liner for a bed my dog wouldn't use in the first place.
Now they are both happy.
Me? Not so much."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 28, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that their dog did not like the bead-filled liner. Orvis offered refund the customer for the bead-filled liner since another liner has already been purchased. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.