Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap

Keep the intense rays of the sun out of your eyes and stay cool in a men's ventilated mesh baseball cap at home on the flats or ashore. The brushed-twill cotton front features grand-slam embroidery (tarpon, permit, or bonefish); soft, washed poly mesh back breathes exceptionally well. Hook-and-loop-adjustable tab with Orvis logo. Tonal embroidered Orvis logo on front. Mesh baseball caps for men in light gray with tarpon, ocean blue with permit, sage with bonefish. Cotton/polyester. Imported. One size fits most.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Review 1 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits great!,
August 26, 2013
By: Chelldaddy
from Cloverdale, CA
"Fits great and I love the color! Skeptical of trucker hats, at first, but I love this hat. Don't recommend washing it in the washing machine, as the gray color fades and the mesh on the back starts to fray."
Review 2 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellant Product,
August 20, 2013
By: hiredgun
from Saginaw MI
"Fit was perfect, good quality materials and of course reflects the orvis company well."
Review 3 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wear This Hat All the Time,
June 8, 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"Trucker style caps are ubiquitous - varying in quality and style. For me, the Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap is just about perfect.
I like that it's unstructured - the front of the cap isn't firm. That means it has a more relaxed look that fits my head more closely. Others may not like that. But for me it's how I like a cap to wear.
I have the cap in sage, which is a nice color. The bonefish and Orvis on the front are subdued - adding a bit of class (too many caps look like billboards).
One detail I appreciate is the dark green on the underside of the bill. Helps reduce the reflected glare. Too many hats don't have the dark underside. Well done, Orvis."
Review 4 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fitting hat,
May 4, 2013
By: Mctrout28
from New Braunfels, TX
"This hat is well built I've been looking for a comfortable fishing hat
I have problems finding hats that fit good I'm folic challenged and I have ordered two more hats only problem I have is my wife keeps stealing it.
"
Review 5 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works the way a ball cap should.,
April 20, 2013
By: heo9542
from San Diego, CA
"The hat fits good and is vented well for the heat. Only drawback is the mesh being bright white. I am outdoors constantly and it isn't going to stay white long."
Review 6 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son loved it!,
December 29, 2012
By: Cottonwood
from Clearwater, FL
"The Bum Mesh Cap that I ordered for my son is a huge hit!
The color came true to the illustration on-line, and the expected Orvis quality is in every stitch."
Review 7 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everyday hat,
October 8, 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"I've worn this hat for everything for the last 10 months and it has held up pretty well. Like others I've had problems with the velcro ripping the mesh but given the amount of use I could only expect it to have some wear and tear."
Review 8 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect out of the box,
October 1, 2012
By: sway
"light weight and cool
easy adjustable fit
like it with sunglasees
"
Review 9 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Great Chapeau,
June 15, 2012
By: spiker2
"The hat fits like a glove and amazingly scares away flies and other demons of the sky. The only difficulty I have is Old Salty types insist on trying to take it away from me and claim it as their own. I've had to shimmy up a light post and run a quarter of a mile to get away from these guys. All I can say is, its an incredible hat."
Review 10 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable, well made hat,
March 13, 2012
By: ducky1
from Charlotte NC
"Nice hat, well made and very comfortable to wear. Good product"
Review 11 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these hats!,
March 13, 2012
By: GuapoDave
"I'd recommend this to anyone. I have three now (one in each color). Things are a little thin on top for me, so a hat is a must when I'm in the sun. These hats are comfortable and breathe well. They are unstructured and don't stick up like a sail like many ball caps do. Get one (or three)...you won't regret it."
Review 12 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
February 28, 2012
By: lmk4
from Texas
"Like the look, but the hat is small. If I didn't know any better, I would of thought it was a child's hat. Need to make it in a bigger size."
Review 13 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
December 13, 2011
By: windsurfmt
"Getting ready for first trip with hat. Curious if mesh will let the sun burn my balding head... Otherwise, love the fit of the hat."
Review 14 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Little Small,
November 16, 2011
By: Anonymous
"Very nice hat, however I have a big head and the hat was a little smaller than I would have liked, but it still fits okay and looks good, I would recommend it."
Review 15 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
August 31, 2011
By: rapple
"Nice looking hat but much smaller than expected. I usually wear normal size hats but this one is very small."
Review 16 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfection,
August 5, 2011
By: sweis
"Stop shopping around, this is the hat for you. Perfect shape and color. Very soft."
Review 17 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
mesh problems,
July 13, 2011
By: Permit
"The hat is light and comfortable, but the flimsy mesh gets hung up in the back velcro strap, tearing it up. My hat is new, but it does not look like it."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 20, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the hat did not meet his expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. We appreciate our customer's feedback and are currently reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure this hat is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Review 18 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really like this hat,
May 8, 2011
By: AuburnCatfish
from Saint Louis MO
"Got this at an Orvis store, and I like all aspects of this hat. Mesh+Style+Fish+Color. Fits well and looks sharp. The lady even likes..."
Review 19 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Looking Hat,
November 30, 2009
By: Troutfitter02
from Tampa, FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hat snob here. I find it very difficult to find a hat that fits my heard perfectly and looks great. Well here it is. This hat is my new favorite, and most likely going to purchase 2 or 3 more for the future. I'm rough on hats. Only suggestion...do not catch a fly or velcro on the mesh part. The mesh will pull out like a thread on a sweater."
Review 20 for Saltwater Bum Mesh Cap
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
August 26, 2009
By: flyfishertx
from Dallas, Texas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dude,
this is my new lucky fishing hat. Fits great and looks cool."