Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads

Orvis luxury dog beds now feature microfibre covers. This upholstery-grade fabric—originally developed for the furniture industry—is built to take a beating, and look great doing it. It's also anti-static and velvety smooth with deep, rich colours. We use only the highest quality microfibre in our luxury dog beds for incredible comfort and long-lasting durability. Dimensions are approximate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
13 of 21(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Review 1 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great cover, bad filling,
July 29, 2012
By: LoveMyHounds
"We purchased two Orvis Dog's Nests with Polystyrene Beads for our coonhound mix and retired racing greyhound. They both refused to sleep on the beds until we swapped the bead filling for a softer fill. The bead filling was packed WAY too tightly into the covers, so there was no give to the filling; our dogs could not dig and fluff the beds at all which was the reason we purchased them! (It says in the product info: "Perfect for dog who like to dig before settling down.")
I would not have given a bad review for this product on this alone, because all dogs are different. The reason I give a bad review is we tried the filling in other dog bed covers and ended up with beads EVERYWHERE. Our dogs do not chew or tear at their beds, but the liners did not hold up at all. Do not buy unless you want a big mess..."
Review 2 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not as pictured,
May 2, 2012
By: Toby123
"Bed showed up today. Ordered llight tan.Doesn't look anything like the color as pictured. It is much darker, more of a rich camel. Don't know if I'll be keeping it. On a positive note my dogs do prefer this type of bed with polystrene beads over other fill."
Review 3 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Beads Don't Last,
March 16, 2012
By: Buckman
from Chapel Hill, NC
"First, the cover on this bed is soft to the touch and highly durable. Excellent quality. However, after about a year of use, the beads have gone flat and now our dog is essentially lying on the floor with about a half inch of padding. I called Orvis and the woman in customer service just suggested I buy another filler for $25. After many years, this is my first un-Orvis-like experience, both in terms of product quality and reaction by the company. I remain a devoted customer, but will not be buying the bead fillers in the future."
Review 4 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Cover, Bad Liner,
March 10, 2012
By: mushbaby
"Having a 10+ years old Orvis Dog's Nest that is still in use, I was happy to order three new ones late last year. The covers, as expected, are fantastic - beautiful and durable. But the inner lining containing the beads is so flimsy. With ordinary use, it has ruptured on two of the beds. I discovered this when I removed the cover of one of the beds to wash it. It was a huge, aggravating mess. Fortunately I was able to use the waterproof liner I had on the old bed to salvage and contain the beads for one of the new beds, but it was disappointing and I still have the second ruptured liner. I still like the beds but would suggest either buying just a cover and fill it with something else, or get a second liner or the waterproof cover to contain the beads."
Review 5 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wouldn't Recommend,
January 5, 2012
By: SESB
"I purchased this dog bed for our yellow lab in the large size.. she likes to dig around before settling down so I thought this would be perfect. The outside cover is great quality, soft & durable material. Although the bead filling was stuffed way to full. She couldn’t lay down comfortably on it. When she tried she looked like a mountain goat sitting on top of a hill or she would roll right off of it. I opened up the outer lining of the bed to try and take some of the beads out. The inner lining is very thin, it ripped right open just from pulling it out, resulting in a huge mess. Once the beads are loose they are a huge pain to try and clean up. I was able to take most of the beads out, sew the lining back together but she still doesn’t like it. I wouldn’t recommend this bed.
We have a few other Orvis beds & have always been impressed with the quality. The bagel beds are the favorites of our lab & our Rhodesian. We’ll stick with those.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My Dogs Did NOT Like This Bed,
November 21, 2011
By: Delia
from Tempe AZ
"If my dog had his choice he would NOT pick this bed! It is great quality, but the bead filling is very deep and both my large terriers hated stepping on it because the filling would shift so dramatically. I appreciate the great customer service allowing for an easy exchange."
Review 7 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Boxer girl loves this!,
September 2, 2011
By: EnglishinFlorida
"Time to buy another one for the summer rental, and there's no need to look any farther than this. The fabric is durable (and softer than it used to be in the past*, in whatever pattern) and washes well. The beads inside are plentiful, and they make the bed more conformable to the dog's shape. I had friends with a polyfiber dog-bed and their dog (same breed as mine) didn't like it: well I could have told them, hard and unyielding isn't comfortable for anyone! Especially for dogs, who don't always need or want 'support' in the same way that humans do.
Anyway, my dog has free access to sofas, chairs, and beds in our home, but she still chooses to spend a lot of time on her own beds. That is surely the greatest recommendation.
*We already have three of these dog's nests -- or beanbags, as we call them -- bought over the past five years: two at home, and one at a relative's house for when we visit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
April 29, 2011
By: wyattsfamily
from New York
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My mother purchased this bed for our 1 year old german shepherd with the expectations that It would be the most favorite bed our pup had ever slept on. Unfortunately, this is not what happened. The bed is not nearly as durable as was origionally thought and our dog has chewed off one of the corners of the bed. While I know it wasn't the special bed that is chew proof, within five minutes of the bed arriving in our house, it was chewed through which probably shouldn't have happened with any bed. He also does not care for the beads which are supposed to mold to the body and he just kind of flops on top of it awkwardly. we are hoping we will be able to return the bed. I do like the color options and the outer fabric, though not that durable, it is very soft."
Review 9 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Does not meet expectations,
February 21, 2011
By: DobieDaneMom
from St. Petersburg, FL
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I purchased the large bed for my doberman, Ammo, and while the size was wonderfully large, and the bed was beautiful, the filling was horrible. The beads do not move easily, so they all clump together to one side. They are also very firm and have no give- Ammo still lays on the bed, but he does not seem comfortable at all. Maybe we will try another type of filling."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 25, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that they were not fully satisfied with the filling in this bed. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 10 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice bed, but...,
December 2, 2010
By: NJH1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have two Great Danes, and I bought this bed for my home office because at least one of them likes to flop in there when I'm working. The extra large is a perfect size for the big boys, but the filling was so excessive that they couldn't lie down on it. One was afraid to even stand on it because it was so overfilled. It would really puff up wherever it was not being sat on and was more like a taco than a nest. Normally a super-stuffed bed would be awesome for my heavy Danes, but this was too much. Obvious solution was to take out about two bagfuls of the filling (do this with your shop vac handy...little balls everywhere!). Now it's perfect and nicely supportive and cozy. The cover is nice quality too."
Review 11 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Someone's Been Sleeping on MY Bed,
July 28, 2010
By: certaindamage
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My 80lb greyhound loves his bead-fill bed. I'm glad I got the Xlarge - anything less would have been too small. It seems a little less "full" after 4 months of use so I may eventually get a replacement bead bag."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
recommendation, but with a caveat,
June 15, 2010
By: lindyhop
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I like this product--well done, looks good--but my dog doesn't. He tried it once or twice and never looked at it again. There's something about how the beads always move around under his weight and poof up on the other side, I think, that turned him off. He'd rather lie on the hard wood floor right next to the bed. So I have to still brand new dog beds that the dog won't use."
Review 13 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, low maintenance bed,
June 5, 2010
By: Ed111
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have 2 Orvis dog beds: one with polyester fill and one with the bead fill. My dogs love them both. The bead bed has the advantage of never needing to be fluffed up. Overall both beds are highly recommended."
Review 14 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!!,
June 1, 2010
By: Jonathan364
from Alexandria, VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dog is a digger, and she loves this bed. The bead allow her to form the bed into the exact shape that she wants. It looks great and performs even better. Do your dog a favor and buy this bed!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can't get my dog out of this bed!,
February 20, 2010
By: leeanne
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"our winters are usually warm in florida. however, this year we have had one cold spell after another. i purchased the large, fleece top bed for my nine year old doberman. the fabric is beautiful and the fleece adds extra warmth and comfort for our aging boy. we have a hard time getting him off this bed!"
Review 16 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
February 19, 2010
By: DaneMom
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 120 lb Great Dane sleeps on this bed. She loves to dig prior to laying down and I love the fact that I can shake the bed right back to its original form, as opposed to the middle being worn out like she did with other beds. It's heavier than I thought, and she likes to throw the bed in the air get underneath before it lands and then settle in. She hasn't been able to do that, but we have made amends and put a blanket over her. Very well made. You definitely get what you pay for!"
Review 17 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bead Filled Large Rectangle Bed,
February 18, 2010
By: BStack
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"At first I couldn't get my dog (a 96lb choc lab) to try the bed out. The noise of the beads freaked him out. However, a few weeks later it's the only place he sleeps. Which is FANTASTIC! The fabric is hard core; it hasn't stained, scratched, faded or been chewed off! And the brown houndstooth pattern hides the choclate brown fur. I give this bed two thumbs up!"
Review 18 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Disappointed,
January 16, 2010
By: misha
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The polystyren beads had an objectionable "toxic" smell.
The bed itself is attractive and looked comfortable."
Review 19 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended.,
December 8, 2009
By: Magic
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have 2 Labs - 75lbs & 83lbs and have just taken delivery of 2 large bean beds - I took each one out of the box and gave it a shake and placed it on the floor, the dogs couldn't wait and nestled into one each. They look so comfortable and contented. I deliberated long and hard before ordering these and the fact that I had been so pleased with items from Orvis previously won me over. The best beds ever and not only am I pleased but my dogs are pleased too! Well done Orvis I would highly recommend these to everyone."
Review 20 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Polystyrene Beads
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
December 3, 2009
By: KaTiem
from Colorado
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"My dog is 85 lbs but the Large size isn't big enough for him. I should have looked at the measurements more closely instead of relying on Orvis' recommendation that this would fit a 70lb-100lb dog. Besides that, the bed is overfilled and the beeds don't press down so it's really a hard surface, it's impossible to nest the beads, and he doesn't sink into it he just lays on top of the mound of beads. I tried pressing it down but that didn't work. This is my first order and the product description and size were completely different than the product I received. Just got it today and it's being returned tomorrow."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 21, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the bed was too small and over-filled. Orvis offered to exchange this bed or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.