Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill

Orvis Dog's Beds feature luxuriously soft and incredibly comfortable microfibre covers in deep, rich colors. This velvety-smooth, upholstery-grade, antistatic fabric—originally developed for the furniture industry—is built to take a beating, and look great doing it. We use only the highest-quality microfibre in our beds for incredible comfort and long-lasting durability.The Orvis Dog's Bed is available in two classic shapes (round for curlers and rectangular for stretchers), seven sizes, and four fill types. Build the perfect bed for your dog. But don't worry if he doesn't thank you for it; he'll probably be too busy sleeping on it. Washable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.452 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
6
18 of 31(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Review 1 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth the price,
September 25, 2012
By: Capejc
from Cape cod, ma
"I bought the x-large in herringbone and it looked great! Unfortunately it did not even last 6 months. It probably would have lasted even less if it was used daily."
Review 2 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Probably not worth your money,
June 10, 2012
By: veritasliberat
"I was really wanting to love this bed, but it just doesn't hold up and the price is way too high for the way the product performs. My dog did like it and slept on it regularly for the first few months. But the filling compressed quickly and he hasn't used it at all in months, probably because he is basically sleeping on the floor. I contacted customer service to inquire about getting extra stuffing, thinking that would easily solve the problem and make the bed worth the price I paid. But it turns out that for the large size dog nest you need 7 bags of filling and they charge $6 each. At that rate I should have just been buying a cheaper bed every year and saving money. If you're looking for a better than average dog bed maybe some of the other Orvis beds would be better, but I haven't had much luck with this one and I don't think that Orvis really stood behind their product by just offering to sell more stuffing. I'm very dissapointed and I'll be going to a local fabric store and trying to find a cheaper option for re-stuffing the bed."
Review 3 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too overstuffed,
May 3, 2012
By: SEHK
"We ordered this bed in Xtra Large and although the fabric on the covering is very soft, the pillow is overstuffed and lumpy. Our lab seems to be a little intimidated and will not sleep on it. We bought this hoping he would sleep on it instead of his old, flat bed but he keeps going back to the old bed instead."
Review 4 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch Dog Nest,
March 30, 2012
By: Butch1
from Montana
"The best indicator as to the value of this dog nest is that my dog loves the nest. Construction is top notch!"
Review 5 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
March 28, 2012
By: MelissaM
from Keller, TX
"I bought this bed in the Orvis Tartan (Love the Color). THe bed lasted only a few months and then it got a hole in it from my dog's nail first and the filing went totally flat. It is just not worth the $$ I spent. I have had one other thing from Orvis go bad fast, but it was on clearance so I didn't mind as much, but I am really disappointed on this bed. I have 2 Vizsla's and they love to lay on something other than the tile floor."
Review 6 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed, great service,
February 5, 2012
By: Muddypaws
from Atlanta, GA
"I have had my rectangular dog nest for about 1 year. My German Shorthair, Pop, loves it. Unfortunately my backyard is mud (due largely to Pop). After washing it recently I noticed some of the seams were coming open. After chatting with an Orvis online representative, asking if it were a warranty or wear issue, I was told I would receive a replacement cover in the mail. A company that make and sells quality goods is rare. A company that stands behind any possible concern over that quality is even more rare. Aaron T. (Orvis rep) you have cemented my longstanding confidence in the Orvis company.
Go get your dog this bed!
"
Review 7 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
smaller than i thought,
January 27, 2012
By: jackluvr
from eastern panhandle, wv
"i purchased the medium size but found it was too small for my jack russell (s) - even for one, it's a bit tight. the material is nice, microfiber, and a bit poofy...but i guess over time, it will even itself out. i'm returning it for a size large. hope that works out."
Review 8 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Orvis dog bed,
October 17, 2011
By: Cristcross
from North Florida
"Needed a larger bed for white lab that would be easily cleaned of dog hair. Have 2 other Orvis beds and one seemed to attract the dog hair and was difficult to remove the hair. The new bed is large enough for the dog to stretch out and be comfortable and the material in tattersall is better than I could have hoped for! It retains a minimal amount of the dog's hair and is easity cleaned with a little whisk broom. I am very happy with this item."
Review 9 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pretty Dissapointing,
August 17, 2011
By: Kime
"I ordered this bed in XL Herringbone at the same time as the Fleece Wraparound Bed. My dogs NEVER use it. They much prefer the wraparound bed. I can't say that I blame them, it is pretty flat with not much cushion. VERY similiar to the cheap beds they sell at any chain store. My youngest dog chewed the corner a little the day after we go it or it would have gone right back! The only positive feature of this bed is that the herringbone material looks great."
Review 10 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product!,
August 2, 2011
By: Weese
from Salt Lake City, UT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am surprised this bed doesn't have a higher rating. We needed another pillow to fit in her kennel, we looked at the dimensions and since we loved the round one we already had, we ordered a rectangle one in large. It fit perfectly! Like our other pillow, we had to wash the cover before our retriever would get on it, but once we did that she was happy, sleeps on it every night. Very durable and the color is vibrant even after washing. And ours has not yet gone flat, still has cushion to it. Have had it 4 months. We love this bed."
Review 11 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love their Nests,
April 22, 2011
By: TimandKim
from Canandaigua, NY
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Our Labs get too hot in their Orvis Wool topper beds so we purchased these lighter weight ones. These XL rectangular beds are just the right size for our 85 and 90 pound Labs. Haven't washed yet, but this will be a joy. Coverings are lightweight microfiber."
Review 12 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not firm at all,
January 29, 2011
By: irishsetterlover
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"If you are looking for a firm bed forget this one. I bought the extra large for my large male Irish Setter. He won't go near it but our cat loves it. It has no firmness at all but is soft and lumpy. She loves to lay on it because it billows around her providing a hole for her to stay warm in. No firmness here but I am keeping it for my cat, it's great to get her off of my bed. The fabric however, is quite nice. I have a photo of my cat sleeping on it but haven't downloaded it yet on my computer. It speaks volumes though of the fluffiness of this bed (really more like a pillow.)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rectangular Dogs nest,
January 29, 2011
By: sirkoz
from New York
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"The cover is terrible, dog hair sticks to cover. Im not using the bed, and bought it several months ago. wish i could return them, I bought 2."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 4, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that they were not satisfied with the fabric on this bed. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.
Review 14 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible Customer Service Experience!,
November 24, 2010
By: GoldenBeatrice
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"We ordered this bed in the Chocolate Brown size medium, with monogram for our Golden Retriever. I was so excited about the bed since I finally found the color I wanted! When it arrived, I was so disappointed to find that they forgot to monogram it (even though they charged us for the monogramming and it was on the invoice that was in the package). I called customer service and they were very apologetic and said they were sending the new bed out right away and for us to send the old one back. Well, being the good customer that I am, I shipped the bed back to Orvis right away because I did not want my dog getting it dirty and furry. Well, a few days later, the new cover arrived...but no pillow was enclosed! Customer service NEVER mentioned that I should keep the pillow part and just send the cover back! So now we have the right cover with monogram, but no pillow! I was furious, so I called customer service and they were hardly apologetic and said they would send the pillow out as a "no charge replacement"! No charge?!? You had better not charge me since I already paid for both the cover and the pillow and they got the order wrong not once, but twice!!!!! The rep was very sassy with me and when I asked if there is anything else he could do for all of my trouble, he basically laughed at me. He said maybe he could offer me free shipping on my next order (which they offer to everyone very often). I said I would never be ordering from them again since it took them three tries to get my order right. So long Orvis! You might want to think about improving your customer service and not hiring sassy customer service reps!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another great bed,
July 18, 2010
By: chugmom
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This bed is another great Orvis dog bed. I have two retired greyhounds and have 6 Orvis beds! The extra large is perfect for my 83 pound Male, Chuggy. This one is in the closet as he likes to nap in there during the day. The cover feels great and I like it better than the fleece as we live in Arizona. The stuffing is just right and he loved it immediately. Orvis dog beds are the best. I have tried others and there is no comparison."
Review 16 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Durable,
July 9, 2010
By: luvsdgs
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The fabric is not as durable as described in details. My chocolate lab mix not only chewed up the cover, but the $40 waterproof liner I had purchased for the bed as well. Although I appreciate the ability to launder the bedding, the polyester fiber fill goes flat and I don't think it provides much comfort. Next time I will purchase a different fill, another waterproof cover (which was great!), and the tough-chew cover."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 20, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that this bed did not last as expected. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 17 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 12, 2010
By: wireylady
from Scotland
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Unfortunately older dog could not cope with the bouncy filling and she eventually refused to go on it. I was forced to exchange it for the excellent memory foam bed which is a great success."
Review 18 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality Dog Bed,
May 7, 2010
By: Calie
from Hampton, NH
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have a 5yr old Golden who weighs 60 lbs and I purchased the Xlarge bed for her. She likes to strech out. After sleeping on the beed for a whole 10 days the middle of the beed is flat and down to the floor. all the loft has moved to the very outdise edges. I expected more than that after reading all the review. After seeing this happen I would not recomed this bed to anyone. I would only look at the memory foam beds. She is back useing he old bed that is 5 years old. This is sad as I want her to have a new bed."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 14, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit since the filling is no longer supportive. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Orvis also offered to send extra filling to the customer to add more support to the bed. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Bed: Poor Personalization,
April 28, 2010
By: Shiloh
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"This bed works great for us and our dog, He loves it, and the filler makes little noise when he does his spins before a lie down.
However, we ordered his name to be embroidered on the front of the bed, and it came out off-center. Who would embroider a name to one side? How hard can it be to center it?
I guess it's no big deal, but is esthetically unpleasing."
Review 20 for Orvis Dog's Bed with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
February 20, 2010
By: jpwatson
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Though it's on the spendy side, the product is certainly quality. I would recommend erroring on the bigger size. We ordered a large for our Weimaraner. She's still a puppy and will probably stay on the smaller size when full grown (50-60 lbs), but think the large size will fit perfectly. The cover is very tough, rich in color ("slate" is more of a dark chocolate brown), and easily washable. The fill does pack out, but the dog can deal with it! I was also impressed at how water resistant the cover is. An unnoticed "accident" didn't immediately soak through. The zipper and seams are pretty resilient to the chewing and digging. Overall, (and the reason we paid the extra bucks instead of picking up a cheap-o at the local pet store) the bed looks great and is made well. Save the three-figure price, I give it a 5 of 5."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.