Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Round Orvis Dog's Nest®

Orvis Dog's Nests now feature luxurious upholstery-grade fabric—originally developed for the furniture industry. Our dog beds are built to take a beating, and look great doing it. We use only the highest quality materials in our round dog bed for incredible comfort and long-lasting durability. Choose from polyester fill or bead fill, with or without cedar. Round dog bed dimensions are approximate. Round shape is perfect for dogs who curl up when they sleep
Average Customer Rating:
3.965 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
21
3 stars
18
2 stars
7
1 star
10
84 of 114(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Review 1 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Loves It!,
January 26, 2014
By: yogimn
from Saint Paul, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My dog took to the new bed like moths to a flame. He is now off the furniture and in his own bed, yea!"
Review 2 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing But The Best... I mean The Nest!,
January 2, 2014
By: SAPMMGRL
from South Georgia
"This review is written for the Medium Size Nest...I have a hard-headed spoiled Boykin Spaniel that will only lay on the Orvis Round Nest Beds... 40Lbs of fury and attitude that will not settle for anything less. I purchased a nest for my little buddy 4 years ago and now no other bed will work... literally pouts while airing out the bed and washing the cover... So I ordered another bed this year... more for me as I grew tired of moving the bed between the living/sleeping areas of our home. So now we have two Nests for one dog... The Boykin is happy... which means we all are.
Personal Suggestion - Both beds are polyester fill...so I ordered an additional insert of the Styrofoam bead fill... dumped half in the old nest and half in the new nest... this gave the beds a more aesthetic appeal as well as better support for the ever demanding Boykin... with the constant use and all the digging, scratching and circle turning the filling does tend to compress over time."
Review 3 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent bed, except for the liners...,
December 31, 2013
By: Juko
"We have owned two of the Orvis round dog nests for our retired greyhounds, and after several other kinds of beds I'm returning to buy a third-and-a-half.
Our original canvas shell has withstood ten years and dozens of washings, but we HATED the liners--they kept disintegrating over time and we could find no solution from Orvis. My dogs are not scratchers but circle before sleeping, and even with their light use the liners ripped and cleaning the bed became a nightmare.
When one of our dogs died I found myself with an extra cover, and this became the perfect solution: if you place a dog nest (with liner) inside ANOTHER cover, the two shells protect the flimsy fabric of the inner lining from scratches. After a year our flimsy inner lining is still intact.
Every positive comment about the durability of the shells has been true for us. Now I have a solution for the liner, and I'm happy to buy another round nest--this time with an extra cover from the get-go. It's certainly expensive, but this way the bed will outlast my dogs without requiring a spendy new liner twice yearly.
We use the beads as filling, and I have seen many people complain about the firmness and noise of the bed. This solution is simple: take out extra beads until the bed has the right "loft" for your dog; then as the bed flattens out add the beads back to the bed. The beads acquire little-to-no odor, making the bed customizable and easy to clean (with an intact liner, of course!)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dogs love it!,
December 17, 2013
By: houseofdog
"We got the herringbone color and polyester fill. My german shepherd has not gotten off of the bed yet! I just wish we had gotten the x-large, instead of large, for our two dogs. We just might have to get a second bed they love it so much! The monogram turned out perfect."
Review 5 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best beds ever!,
December 8, 2013
By: Greytmom2
from Meriden, CT
"With two greyhounds (truly couch potatoes) we have purchased a lot of beds, including the bed nest. I originally ordered them for the greyhounds because of the rescue recommendation and have bought others since. Today, I am back to order two more - this makes 5 of them in the house! I will throw out the others we have tried that are destroyed and are not holding up to use. Can't find a better value for your dollar or a bed that is loved more. My dogs will choose these beds over anything - and they are champion sleepers!"
Review 6 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product, but sizing info is wrong,
November 21, 2013
By: BorderCollie
from Vail, CO
"The only problem was the sizing. Orvis size chart is off. We ordered a medium round, and our border collie puppy (5 months old, and 30lbs) is already out growing it. Looking into a rectangle version next, but will order a large. It's not the weight of the dog that's important, it's their size that matters."
Review 7 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
going to return,
October 28, 2013
By: Bubbles2
"Have had this bed for about a month. My dog is a hound and refuses to sleep on it. The interior material is from US but the cover is from China. I wonder if there is something about the smell she does not like."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing is wrong,
September 29, 2013
By: CollieGirl
from Upstate NY
"I bought this bed a while ago and my dogs like it so I ordered another one. I wasn't sure what size I should get so I ordered a large which says it is for dogs 45-70ibs. Way to small for my smallest dog who is 55lbs. Had to return for the XL size."
Review 9 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dog's nest",
September 18, 2013
By: Even
from Cardiff Wales UK
"This s a soft bed and the dog sinks into it to make a cosy nest.We chose Tattersal cover which I can see from the inside is a thick and strong cover which will tolerate a bit of scratching . The cover feels like a silky nubeck and the pattern is unobtrusive anywhere in the house."
Review 10 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
August 27, 2013
By: edazmrb
"This bed is perfect. It's so soft and fluffy. It cannot be beat and is well worth the price! If you love your dog(s), buy the bed!"
Review 11 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Basset hound doesn't like it !,
August 26, 2013
By: Kissy
"I originally bought the fleece wraparound bed which my 70lb basset hound loved but after experiencing bald patches in the fleece cover I decided to try this bed after Orvis offered a refund . I was impressed by its strength and durability and the bed does look good . However my dog never looks comfortable on it and I often find him on the floor instead . I'm going to re buy the fleece wraparound as the fleece formula has been changed and hopefully be better"
Review 12 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good dog bed,
August 11, 2013
By: tcblanx
from Charlotte, NC
"This my first dog bed purchase from Orvis. I bought two and had them monogrammed. I gave the bed three stars only because after almost two months the filling seems to have collapsed a bit and is noticeably not as cushioned as when they first arrived."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product with one drawback,
July 16, 2013
By: KimGreyhounds
from San Antonio, TX
"We have 6 of these beds (lg round, rectangle and 4 round). The outside case is great and washes well, however the inside liner that holds the beads is not great and tears releasing beads everywhere. So my advise is before opening to clean, put a piece of tape over your bathtub drain and open them in the tub. Use dryer sheets to get loose balls off liner and bath tub and scoop with an also dryer sheeted dust pan. Duct tape does the job. You cannot order liners without beads."
Review 14 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Dog Bed,
July 10, 2013
By: camper123
from Vermont
"This is an awesome dog bed and I have been buying them for my dogs for a long time now. My dog loves the new fabric for the cover and does not mind the plastic beads. The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because they run smaller than advertised. My dog is about 20 pounds and Orvis recommended a size small, when he barely fits on the medium. I would recommend buying the next size up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nest w/Spun-Polyester Fill (Herringbone),
June 26, 2013
By: Deb0rah
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I ordered the Orvis Dog's Nest with Spun-Polyester Fill bed in size small and the color herringbone. I have a yorkshire terrier and the bed is the perfect size for him to stretch out and lie down or curl up into a ball in the center. He is the type of dog to dig before he rests in a comfortable curled up position. My dog sometimes sleeps on his side or stretches out on his back. He jumped onto his new bed as soon as I put it on the floor. It's a soft bed and has a velvet smooth fabric in herringbone. The quality of the fabric and bed looks high quality. The bed looks aesthetically pleasing as well and goes with any home interior. Most of all, my dog seems to love his bed and I feel confident that he'll get many great sleeps on this bed for a long time. I love that the bed cover has a zipper closure and is machine washable. Please note that I added a photo of my dog when he first jumped onto his new bed."
Review 16 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed—Excellent Customer Service!!,
May 6, 2013
By: MaineTime
from Maine
"I recently purchased one of these great smelling beds for our dog. We had a problem with the zipper and after writing a review a Orvis rep contacted me and offered to replace the cover free of charge. We love this product, it smells great and our dog adores the bed/nest, he literally leaps into it. We were a little bothered when the zipper broke but the Orvis customer service folks were on top of it so quickly, we're thrilled! This is why we purchase from Orvis, great products, extraordinary customer service! Thank you Orvis."
Review 17 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does your Dog Like Beads?,
April 26, 2013
By: vvanvlym
"I ordered this bed because of a referral and because of statements that stated this was their dogs favorite bed. Well, my dog does not like the sound or feel of this bed. You can imagine if you laid down on a bean bag, all the beads shift to where the weight is'nt. It makes that area hard and firm. I am wanting to trade this bed in for a soft comfy bed that my dog will use."
Review 18 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dog bed,
March 24, 2013
By: doglver
from Baltimore, MD
"Our labs love your dog beds and after having one for 20 years, we had to finally replace it with a new one."
Review 19 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog loves bed!,
March 19, 2013
By: Torrie
"I have now bought 3 of these, one for a friend's dog and 2 for mine for different rooms. She prefers it to sleeping on my bed ....usually! And the covers wash well"
Review 20 for Round Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nesting dogs,
March 15, 2013
By: workingdogs
from South East
"Our two spaniels love the round shape and because the beds are so light they can drag them around the kitchen to find the warmest, and usually most awkward spot.
The material is very cosy and easy to wash but I have found that the filling tends to compact down very considerably in the centre"