Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Leatherman Freestyle Tool

The first true knife/fly-fishing multi-tool hybrid. Includes regular/needle nose pliers, 100% stainless-steel, wire/hard wire cutters, pocket clip. Great as a stand-alone fly-fishing tool or a companion tool. Length: 3½". 4.5 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Review 1 for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Knife,
October 21, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Argentina
"Very beautiful and great quality but I hoped it had more extras."
Review 2 for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leatherman Quality,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"The Freestyle is a great tool: it has the necessities in it, compact, and built like a tank. I always have a use for it when I'm out fishing."
Review 3 for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and Useful,
July 17, 2012
By: wmgr9394
from Roanoke, VA
"I got this item for my brother last Christmas and he loves it and uses it all the time. When we go camping or fishing I even find myself borrowing it. It works great and closes so nicely. The curvature design makes it fit awesome in your hand."
Review 4 for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product,
March 27, 2012
By: FshFndr
from Virginia
"Small, lightweight and with the right mix of tools. Looks to be very durable - maybe needs a lanyard hole... Fits my needs perfectly for the task."
Review 5 for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest ever,
December 30, 2011
By: Chack
from Kansas
"I have three different leathermen but this Freestyle is the most useful on a daily basis. The others are pretty bulky and don't fit a busy non-labor lifestyle. The freestyle is steak and has the knife, which i razor sharp, the wire cutters and the pliers. I use it for fishing (as its advertised) but I also keep it with me as a versatile pocket knife because of its smaller size, simple sleak disign and it's non intrusive aesthetics. All around it's my favorite pocket knife I've ever owned. Thanks leathermen for putting this out there."
Review 6 for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Knife,
June 17, 2011
By: aclark
"I bought this as a replacement for a much-loved Leatherman tool that I recently lost. I was expecting this to be a traditional Leatherman with all the different tools (screwdrivers, pliers, scissors, saw, etc.), although it should be noted this item really just contains two tools: a knife, and a set of pliers. (It's my fault for not reading the description more clearly.) That being said, I really like this knife, and in some ways I prefer it to a regular Leatherman (most especially the fact that it's smaller and fits easily in a pocket). I think of this more as a pocket knife (with a bonus set of pliers) than a multitool."
Review 7 for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great fishing tool,
February 28, 2011
By: Mung1
from Alexandria, LA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This leatherman works well to cut line, disgorge hooks and for any fishing need. The only downside was that it rusted the first time I used it in brackish water. It is supposed to be stainless so I would not have expected that. I continue to use it and the rust affects nothing but the appearance."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leatherman Freestyle Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
February 18, 2011
By: timeout
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent pocket Knife and Tool. Very well built and great finish...Fits easily in a pocket... Yet has strong pliers supported by a effective grip design.
Blade is of excellent quality and finish and has super saftey features.
It is a keeper...for a long time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.