Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar

Built for the puppy or the avid chewer, ToughChew® has always been doubly tough. And ever since we added our improved fabric, it's become the best looking, most comfortable ToughChew Dog's Nest® ever. The round dog bed cover and inner liner are both constructed of rugged 1,000-denier Cordura® nylon, while the covers are softer and more vibrant with a water/liquid-repellent finish. Through your stories and our own experience, we've found these round beds for dogs to be chew resistant, even with the most persistent of chewers. And just in case, all ToughChew Dog's Nests are filled with easy-cleanup spun-polyester fill. So go ahead and test a ToughChew. If you've got one of those rare dogs who can chew through it, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Washable. USA and Imported. Dimensions are approximate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.267 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
8 of 15(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Review 1 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis Is Honest!!,
September 21, 2012
By: Anonymous
from South Carolina
"want to say that Orvis is one Honest Company!! They put in their catalog about their "Tough Crew" dog pillow, that if your dog chews threw it, they will refund your money. Well we have had our tough crew dog pillow 4 days and our Great Dane puppy has put 5 holes in it. I called them last night and they are sending us a new one overnight. They said if he chews through it again they will still refund our money. Thanks Orvis!!!"
Review 2 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't believe it,
August 6, 2012
By: GrannyK
from Massachusetts
"We adopted a 4-month-old random-bred puppy who chews. She was clearly going to destroy the pet store bed in short order, so I began searching for a bed she wouldn't be able to chew to pieces. I found this one on sale and even so gulped at the price, but it's been fabulous. She's managed to pull one thread, but the bed is still whole.
As others had commented, more fill would be better, but it's adequate. The only real draw back is the zipper, which she's been able to undo. I sewed it with monofilament, but that lasted only a short while. We keep spraying bitter apple on it.
I've had to wash it once, and it came out beautifully. What a great product! It's tempting to get a second for upstairs..."
Review 3 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
January 20, 2012
By: Tooltime
from Fenway Park
"Bought the cedar/poly bed for its toughness. It was chewed up in one day. A replacement was received and that one lasted a couple of weeks. Cant fault Orvis for that, my dogs are chewers. The reason for the one star is that there was hardly any filling in the bed. In parts of the bed there was no filling, it is just the bed cover between the dog and the floor. There is just not enough filling for the bed. The dogs do not lay on it, its too uncomfortable. It looks and feels like something you would buy from a cheap discount store. Yeah its that bad. On top of that the material used for fill is hard as a rock in some places, that is just weird. Obviously Orvis will stand behind the product so I have no doubts their intention was to sell a good product."
Review 4 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great Disappointment,
May 14, 2011
By: Anonymous
from Pottstown, PA
"I had mulled over whether I should get this bed for several months. On one hand, it was very expensive. On the other hand, our Jack Russell Terrier had been going through cheaper beds pretty quick. So as he turned one year old, I decided it was time to get him a grown up bed. If this one got destroyed, the company supposedly sticks behind their product, so I couldn't lose.
I will be contacting Orvis or would hope they would contact me. My terrier has breached the outer part of the bed in three days. He already has a sizable hole right through the outside worked into it. I am now glad I have the company's guarantee to get a refund, but boy am I bummed that there seems to be no real dog bed solution out there for us with rascals who just won't quit."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 2, 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the bed was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the bed. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded this feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 5 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pretty but torn up,
November 27, 2010
By: Aptosmom
from Aptos, California
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The bed we ordered, large, green tartan, was a beautiful and comfortable bed. Unfortunately, it was shredded within 24 hours. The dog in question was a nine month old bulldog. We were hoping that she would have met her match, but alas, she won. Bed is being returned."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 2, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the bed was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the bed. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded this feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 6 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't cut it,
October 26, 2010
By: MMSanAntonio
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"2 minutes. That is how long it took my 7 month old Boxer mix to tear open the bed. He loves the bed and seems to find it very comfortable, however, it just doesn't hold up to a dog that likes to chew.
The only reason I give this bed 2 stars instead of 1 is that I'm sure it would make a great bed for a dog that has no desire to gnaw on his bed. But if you consider your dog to be a chewer to any degree, I would not recommend this product."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 4, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the bed was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the bed. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded this feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 7 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
so disappointed,
October 20, 2010
By: tugsmom
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"So it just took 11 days to receive my pup's new tough chew bed... and after opening it I realized that someone at Orvis didn't bother to monogram it before packing it (even though it took 4 days between the order date and ship date). The bed is in herringbone - not only is the fabric MUCH more brown than it appears online and in the catalog, but there are pulled threads and stitching on it right out of the box, without my dog even getting a chance at it! It is also a couple inches shy of the 34" diameter quoted measurement, and despite the sizing parameters given for the medium bed as being appropriate for dogs between 25 and 45 lbs, it seems pretty small for my 30 lb dog. All in all, extremely disappointing. The lady on the phone with customer service was very polite and did her best to help me, but Orvis apparently cannot expedite shipping on the replacement (which I am ordering in a different pattern to hopefully avoid it coming pre-torn). Sooo....I'm stuck having to ship back this one and wait another stretch that will probably also be close to 2 weeks. I also asked about the possibility of paying the difference for a large, as I was going to have to return this one regardless, and apparently I would have to then do two separate transactions, thus not receiving my refund for the first purchase until they get it back at the warehouse, and causing me to have to pay for shipping twice. Not too upset about that because it's at least more understandable than sending out an un-monogrammed, supposedly indestructible bed that already has pulls and tears in it."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 3, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that they received the bed in such poor condition. Orvis has passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review in regards to sizing of this bed. Also Orvis will review the product with it's quality assurance department to ensure that this does not happen in the future.
Review 8 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this bed,
March 21, 2010
By: KatCat
from Atlanta, GA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My dog chews everything, including every other bed I have ever gotten him. Day 1 they get shredded and thats that. This bed, on the other hand, is great. The first thing he did was pick it up with his teeth and wrestle with it. He made a small hole, but then he set it down and laid on it. Now he loves it and spends almost as much time on his bed as he does on ours. The only thing I might suggest is to get the polyster only filling. The cedar chips are great but when the cat peed on Gus's bed it was a pain to wash the covers. Other than that, I love it and it looks great!"
Review 9 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long lasting dog bed,
February 19, 2010
By: christieATL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased the ToughChew dog bed for my yellow lab almost 5 years ago when he was a puppy. I have washed it soooo many times; and he has played tug with it on quite a few occasions over the years. The bed has stayed in great condition, there is only a tiny hole in it. He still sleeps on it every day and loves it. Definitely a great investment that stands the test of time."
Review 10 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
too bad!!!,
January 14, 2010
By: Remi
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought a large tuff chew dog bed. Within days it was in tatters {Treeing Walker Coonhound}. we returned but, have always enjoyed the products and services from Orvis. Keep up the good work!!!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJanuary 20, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that this bed was chewed through so easily. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service has forwarded the customer's feedback to our product developers for possible future improvements to the item.
Review 11 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
favorite bed,
January 14, 2010
By: flossie
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this bed for our new puppy. Our other two dogs never slept on a dog bed.....now there's a race every night to get to the bed first! ALL our dogs love it!"
Review 12 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I needed,
January 3, 2010
By: Anonymous
from Lenexa, Kansas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My puppies began using the beds immediately. One cover was chewed and torn within 30 minutes. I called Orvis and another engraved cover was sent. I left on the torn cover and removed the beds whenever chewing started. They did not like my removing the beds. After a couple of weeks they quit chewing and I put on the new cover. They love their new beds and are not chewing them anymore."
Review 13 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
problem solved, Chew Spirits defeated,
December 29, 2009
By: cantabridge
from Indianapolis
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our two Rhodesian Ridgebacks are not particularly determined chewers. Yet every once in a while, always while no humans are home, the Spirit of Chewing visits our abode. Havoc ensues.
After trying all manner of cheaper alternatives, we settled upon the Orvis TouchChew Dog's Nest bed, one oval the other rectangular.
Problem solved. Rosie and Sammy love their new beds—although their embroidered names have not proved to them persuasively which dog belongs in which bed.
Better yet, the Chew Spirits have fled, frustrated—nay, vanquished!—from the neighborhood."
Review 14 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Less than satisfied,
November 8, 2009
By: buddie
from Tampa, FL
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this bed for my golden retriever thinking this would be the last bed that I would ever have to purchase. Overall we liked the bed but it didn't live up to it's name. In less than 6 months, our dog got the best of it and was able to chew through it in several placfes. Orvis was really good in sending us a replacment but this did not last either. For us, this bed was not worth the extra money spent."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 16, 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that both of their Toughchew beds were able to be chewed through. Although these are labeled as Toughchew, Orvis is aware that some dogs can chew through anything. These beds are guaranteed, so Orvis offered to refund the customer for the full price of the original bed. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 15 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Spun-Polyester Fill/Cedar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ToughChew® Dog's Nest®Spun Polyester Fill /Cedar,
October 21, 2009
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This dog bed is wonderful. We have 3 dogs and not only do they LOVE their beds, the cedar is just enough scent to keep the room smelling fresh. I would highly recommend this dog bed to those with large pets."