Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill

Built for the puppy or the avid chewer, ToughChew® dog beds have always been doubly tough. And now, with our improved fabric, it's the best looking, most comfortable ToughChew Dog's Nest® ever. The cover and inner liner are both constructed of rugged 1,000-denier Cordura® nylon, while the covers are softer and more vibrant with a water/liquid-repellent finish. Through your stories and our own experience, we've found these indestructible dog beds to be chew resistant, even with the most persistent of chewers. And just in case, all ToughChew Dog's Nests are filled with easy-cleanup spun-polyester fill. So go ahead and test a ToughChew. If you've got one of those rare dogs who can chew through the practically indestructible dog bed, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Washable. USA and Imported. Dimensions are approximate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.152 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
14
3 stars
19
2 stars
17
1 star
26
62 of 112(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Review 1 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Bed for Tough Dogs,
September 1, 2012
By: DocMom2Four
from Midwest
"This bed was a replacement for the Orvis outdoor bed we bought. We thought the outdoor fabric would be sturdy for our 85 lb Ridgeback (it wasn't). The fabric of the ToughChew bed is very sturdy and holds up to his muscular weight and size. He is not a chewer, but sometimes like to drag his bed to the other side of the room, so the fabric needs to hold up to his bite. This fabric does (we have the Sage), and there are no holes in it at all. The zipper is also substantial. My only recommendation is that it needs much more filling. Orvis customer service was great and sent an extra bag of fill. Without the extra bag, it falls flat in the middle. Maybe this wouldn't be an issue with a small dog, but it definitely is a problem with a large dog. This should just automatically come with double the filling. All in all, we are very happy with our purchase. It's one of 5 Orvis beds (2 are 12 years old--please bring bag the old woven fabric and inner linings like those 12 year old nest beds have!)."
Review 2 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Bed - Pup Chewed Through,
May 21, 2012
By: MSmithLab
from NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I first have to say that I do love this dog bed very much. It is perfect for my older lab that doesn’t chew anymore. But as far as being a tough chew for a puppy forget it! My 5 month old puppy chewed through it his first night on it. Orvis did replace the bed right away… I kept the replacement in the box for a while. My puppy is now 9 months old so I thought I would give the replacement bed a try and he chewed straight though it again the same night… mind you, my lab is very calm for this type of breed. Either way, I called Orvis again. They are hopefully refunding me my money although that was over 2 weeks ago now. End result, I still love the dog bed, but if you have a chewer, I do not recommend it until they are over that stage."
Review 3 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed with Herringbone.,
May 14, 2012
By: cooperw
from Florida
"We got the herrringbone patterned Tough Chew bed and within 1 hour there were several snags from the material. After a week it looks terrible and we do not leave our dog unattended with this bed. When he moves it around to get comfortable, more snags. I love Orvis and actually had two Orvis no chew beds about 10 years ago that lasted for years (eventually threw them out when I moved-- but they were still intact). They felt more like canvas whereas this current version just feels like any other cheap dog bed. I am really surprised Orvis is selling these as no-chew. MAybe it is the herringbone but from other reviews (which I should have read before we bought) I am not sure. Orvis is great about returns so we may try the solid color to see if its a different sturdier material? As an aside there was very little polyester filling at first-- but over the week it seemed to fluff out a litte, Still not great but that is easy to fix and with my old orvis beds i changed the filling many times over to freshen it up."
Review 4 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not tough enough,
April 14, 2012
By: kariher
from Gulf Breeze, FL
"My dog ripped this bed up in less than 24 hours. But, I wrote customer service an email on a Friday and by Saturday morning had a response that they found my order number and would process the return immediately, no questions asked. Orvis has great customer service and I'll keep coming back!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not great,
March 14, 2012
By: Ebbie
"While claiming to be a tough and durable product even for teething puppies, our dog had a hole in it within minutes of putting it on the floor. For 200.00 and the product description, I expected a great deal more."
Review 6 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor quality for price,
March 11, 2012
By: Sarajane
from Kent, UK
"I read the reviews of this bed before I bought it. I needed a bed that my pointer wouldn't chew as he has started getting a bit anxious since our other dog had to be put to sleep and he is on his own. I read the earleir reviews about the bed not having much filling, but thought this must have been addressed - it hasn't!! The outer of the bed seems good quality and chew proof (so far!) but the filling is totally inadequate. It is lumpy and very thin and does not give enaough protection. I rang Orvis customer service and spoke to someone who basically said that if I didn't like I could send it back, but not if the dog had already used it. I said it was poor quality for the price and that it did not look like the photo and he was quite rude and said the photos were taken by a professional and showed the beds to the best of their ability and then told me I had '2 choices and I could do as I liked'. I said that the outer looked good and asked if they just sold the outer cover - I was told that they didn't. Because of this I kept the bed but bought a single duvet from the supermarket to put inside, which works well. I then looked at the website as well and saw that Orvis do sell just the covers - at a much reduced price - I can't believe how much they charge for the complete bed in comparison. Very poor customer service - I won't buy from Orvis again. If you do want this bed because of the tough chew outer I suggest you just buy the cover and buy a cheap single duvet to put inside as the filling is appaling. Sorry Orvis, but you won't get any more of my custom!"
Review 7 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Solution,
March 2, 2012
By: ktk313
from Allentown, PA
"I bought this bed for my retriever/collie mix who insists on shredding anything she gets a hold of. I had gone through numerous beds before a family friend suggested Orvis. It really is TOUGH CHEW, you can see the marks where she has tried and failed. She also has the bad habit of wetting her bed out of spite and the liquid NEVER leaks through to the pillow itself - I simply unzip the cover and wash. I am now ordering my second so she has one on each floor!"
Review 8 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Indestructible,
February 28, 2012
By: SLynn
from Albany, NY
"My breeder gave me this website and said she loved the beds sold from here. I've been through many "cheap" beds and my dog destroyed every one of them. I thought if I bought a nice, expensive bed, he will not win the chewing game. The bed was delivered at 2:30 in the afternoon and my dog had it chewed apart by 4:00. I guess he is just a chewer. I would recommend this high-quality bed to the non-chewing dog as it is very well made and comfortable. I'm sorry it did not work out for my dog. No questions asked, just "a refund will be on the way." Thank you Orvis!!"
Review 9 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Labrador Invinsible,
February 26, 2012
By: LostValley
from Atlanta
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My 11 month old Lab not only figured out how to unzip the cover, but she also shredded the filling in under 2 hours."
Review 10 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Does NOT hold up,
January 19, 2012
By: LeahMB
"Took less than 12 (noncontinuous) total hours in his crate for my 20 lb boston terrier to rip this bed to shreds. Very easy to get refunded though."
Review 11 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not quite tough enough,
January 10, 2012
By: Matthew44
from Oxford, Mississippi
"I was given this bed as a present for my two year old German Shorthair. He made quick work of it with several holes, and a broken zipper. I would have to say that my dog is pretty aggressive with chewing. I was slightly surprised with the results because everything Orvis makes is such good quality. Overall, it was a very good looking bed to begin with, but my dog got the better of it."
Review 12 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough Chew Dog Bed,
January 2, 2012
By: Queso
from Oklahoma
"I recently purchased the Extra Large ToughChew Dog's Nest for my ~110 pound German Shepherd Dog. He seemed to instantly like the bed itself, but he is fond of chewing up beds in his crate overnight and this did occur the first night with the Orvis bed. He was able to chew fairly large hole in the cover, but did not make it through the inner lining of the bed. I flipped the bed over and he didn't mess with it again for a few more days, but eventually did chew a hole on that side as well. I e-mailed Orvis and they immediately offered to ship a replacement cover. Although this bed is far from indestructible, I am very pleased with Orvis's customer service and I plan to use them in the future because of how well they back their products and the customer service they provide."
Review 13 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bed for chewers,
December 29, 2011
By: Miss28
from Ann Arbor Mich
"Love my Orvis bed. Have been through many beds for my lab who loves to chew. This bed is great she has tried many times to chew bed. But bed still looks great. The best is you can wash the cover. I do wish it had more stuffing for her I did add some foam it is perfect know. I will order another one for the bed room she love to lay in the sun in front of our door wall."
Review 14 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for Danes!!,
December 27, 2011
By: DaneGuy
from Cincinnati, OH
"Let me preface by saying we love Orvis as a company and the general fit and finish of their products, as we have purchased many over the years with much success. However the dog nest rated as "Tough Chew" fell way short on expectations. We first bought this when our Dane was a puppy for his kennel. He chewed through it in no time. We chalked this up as expected with our puppy and didn't request a refund from Orvis as he, like all puppys, was going through his chewing phase. We bought it again now that he is 3 1/2 and NOT A CHEWER on anything except his Nylabones. In 5-10 minutes with this bed, he was able to put 4-5 nice chew holes through it, with seemingly little effort. I don't know what it is with these beds, but he seems to like to chew them!! We will be sending this one back for a refund."
Review 15 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Orvis guarantee - best around,
December 19, 2011
By: BigGamecock
from Lexington, KY
"Purchased the original "indestructible bed" a few years ago. As with most products claiming to be such, my lab can and will destroy them. She's not content until she does. The ToughChew is a better reflection of the product - tough, but not indestructible.
The Orvis Guarantee makes the purchase more than worthwhile. The bed lasts much longer than any other on the market, but when she does defeat it, Orvis stands behind their quality and promise. I buy literally all of my outdoor and dog equipment/clothing from Orvis for this reason."
Review 16 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
teeth of steel,
November 25, 2011
By: kalasmom
from oregon
"my 18 month old Lab looked so cute curled up on her new tough chew bed. The next morning there was a 4x6 inch hiole in the outer cover. I was amazed that she had done this overnight.I was not totally shocked as she is a chewer. Orvis was great getting me a replacement cover."
Review 17 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog bed,
November 16, 2011
By: nascardiva43
from Dedham. Ma
"This was a very well made bed. However my two year old Golden Retriever would not sleep on it. I had to return it and th staff at Orvis in Legacy Place in Dedham, Mass were very kind."
Review 18 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Attractive but not durable for Doberman,
October 20, 2011
By: mimicplay
from Yorkville, IL
"This bed was super soft and looked lovely. The embroidery was adorable. Unfortunately, our now 7 month old Doberman female had two edges chewed out and polyester filling all over her crate in less than 4 hours. I called Orvis at 10pm, they offered to replace, but I told them to just do a refund as she'll chew up the next one equally as fast. Good service, good looking bed, definitely NOT indestructible. We'll keep looking for a truly indestructible dog bed for our little one (who is actually not so little anymore at 51 lbs.)."
Review 19 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much better...,
October 20, 2011
By: Katie2131
from Albany, NY
"I originally ordered the "medium" toughchew in "herringbone" - I found it to be too small (my dogs are 60lbs)...and the herringbone material was easy to pull...eventually did not last. Orvis was great and gave me and instant refund on that one...But because it at least lasted 6 months, I replaced it with the "large" in "sage"- hoping for better results...and there were MUCH BETTER..and I am delighted with it. The material is much stronger...and my dogs haven't been able to get through it yet. The larger size is much better too! Thanks again Orvis..."
Review 20 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for German Shepherds,
October 17, 2011
By: scrabblefan2
from McAlester, OK
"I was hoping the new, stronger fabric would withstand my one year old german shepherd; however he ate the cushion in one weekend."