Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill

Built for the puppy or the avid chewer, ToughChew® has always been doubly tough. And ever since we added our improved fabric, it's become the best looking, most comfortable ToughChew Dog's Nest® ever. The cover and inner liner are both constructed of rugged 1,000-denier Cordura® nylon, while the covers are softer and more vibrant with a water/liquid-repellent finish. Through your stories and our own experience, we've found these durable dog beds to be chew resistant, even with the most persistent of chewers. And just in case, all of these durable dog beds are filled with easy-cleanup spun-polyester fill. So go ahead and test a ToughChew. If you've got one of those rare dogs who can chew through it, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Washable. USA and Imported. Dimensions are approximate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.49 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
24
3 stars
21
2 stars
5
1 star
19
69 of 104(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Review 1 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
functional as well as beautiful,
December 26, 2009
By: Anonymous
"My 2 little pekes have several beds of different types throughout the house. When I first received these particular beds I thought they must be medium or large, but they were indeed the small size. Eventually the dogs learned to climb up on them and the beds became softer and flat enough so the dogs wouldn't fall off.. They really got in to digging their nests and making them comfortable. A real plus about these beds is that they don't necessarily look like dog beds. The fabric the beds are covered with is the microfiber paisley print. They go so well in my living room that they have been mistaken for big plush pillows when we have had company. We have had them fo 2 years now, and the covers have been washed about 4 times. They have retained their color and the fabric has held up well.( My dogs have never been chewers, however, one is a licker). After this long, I thought it was well worth writing a review."
Review 2 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Investment,
December 17, 2009
By: Bixby
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this bed about 4 years ago because it seemed like my Golden Retriever was destroying every bed I had purchased. My dog loves this bed and he will drag it around from room to room with him and when he sleeps he will sleep with the bed in his mouth while laying on it. Orvis replaced the cover very quickly for me once when he actually put a hole in it. I have recently got a new puppy and will be ordering a second bed, because she keeps stealing the bed from my other dog. Orvis thanks for making such a good bed and I know my dog appreciates it. I have attached a image of my dog sleeping on the bed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny,
October 3, 2012
By: Robbi1
from Yorkshire. UK
"I bought this bed for our Boxer. I hesitated about this bed for a while before being convinced that with the full refund or replacement guarantee, I could give it a try with complete peace of mind. I have to admit when the bed arrived I thought, it is never going to withstand his determination to rip it to shreds and I coated it with an anti chew spray just to increase it's survival chances ;-) I put the bed on the floor and he loved it, i am sure he was smiling. I think he appreciated that it was so comfortable that he didn't want to spoil it by chewing it to bits. I think the Orvis bed is worth every penny and very reasonable. Today, I find that he has chewed the zip and dragged out the inner liner, he hasnt chewed the inner, I rang Orvis A replacemt is on it's way. Wonderful. Thank you Orvis"
Review 4 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent bed, but...,
August 9, 2012
By: GOK9GO
"Our dogs love the bed, but our pup managed to tear it. Orvis acknowledged there was a quality issue with some of the beds and promptly refunded my purchase. I am thrilled with the superb customer service, which is why I gave it a five-star rating. I will get a new one when they become available."
Review 5 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Herringbone Cover,
July 11, 2012
By: ThreeTerriers
"I had ordered this bed in herringbone, and while I like the look of the bed and my dogs love it, this woven fabric pulls out from the bed. I was sent a replacement for the first one that pulled, but this one is pulling as well. It really bothers me, as the dogs are not chewing on it, but rather their nails just pull out the fabric from normal use. I will be returning this bed as well."
Review 6 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cool,
June 9, 2012
By: jacksoon123
"very good for golden retrievers and puppys i like xbox"
Review 7 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent bed!,
May 3, 2012
By: HappyInToney
from Toney, AL
"We bought to replace several beds from other companies that were being chewed up quickly by our beagle/boxer youngster. I agree, it's pricey, and I hesitated buying for awhile. The puppies LOVED the bed from the first moment. It has withstood a couple of stays in a kennel, but just got torn and frayed during a fierce playtime. I called and Orvis couldn't have been more helpful. They are sending out a replacement bed immediately"
Review 8 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Moderately Pleased,
May 1, 2012
By: ShepradorBoxadorMom
from Lancaster, CA
"As my Lab/Boxer/Shorthair mix who is 18 months old is a bed shredder. I tried this bed. One I purchased from another catalog lasted 2 hours. This one has done fine now for 2 months. Parfait, the dog in question finally perforated the cover and tore a hole, but not the liner. I purchased a new cover at the time I bought this bed so I'll try that. I have to buy a bed for her sister and litter mate, the Sheprador, so I'll buy another. Their not perfect, but so far the best I've found."
Review 9 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
can still be chewed,
January 17, 2012
By: shihtzuowner
from Charlotte, NC
"Unfortunately my 10 pound shihtzu was still able to chew through the cover of this lovely dog bed. The interior section has remained intact, however the cover has sustained tears and rips exposing the lining. This is a lovely product...perfect size and shape for my dog. Gratefully the stuffing has not been dispersed all over the floor as has been the case with other beds. Therefore the rating of 3 stars."
Review 10 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't last one week,
January 17, 2012
By: RoccosMom
from Texas
"We've had this bed 4 days and our 9-month old Lab chewed a hole in it today. He hasn't been alone with the bed for any extended period of time and hasn't seemed too interested in chewing it. But, at some point during nap time today, he must have decided it looked delicious. I walked in and found the hole in the cover, but not through the liner. We like the brown tartan fabric colors, but had hoped for a stronger material. A replacement cover is on the way, so we'll see how it does. We've had the round nest beds for years with our previous two Labs and they never tried to chew them, even with the standard covers, so we're not unhappy with the beds themselves, just the cover in this case."
Review 11 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Bed Ever - 21 years it's still kick'n,
January 12, 2012
By: BigDogsRule
from Columbus, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was getting ready to purchase an additional Toughchew dog bed to put in my living room and it occurred to me that this dog bed I have now is probably around 21 years old.. I have been thrilled with the Toughchew bed that I inherited from my mother-in-law. It has been thru 4 dogs - an Irish Setter and we are currently on our 3rd Great Dane and getting ready to get another puppy. My mother-in-law bought the bed approximately 21 years ago. She gave us the bed when we got our first two Great Danes. We currently have Blu - our blue Great Dane who is 5 1/2 years old. He just loves that bed - it's his favorite place in the whole house. I'm going to order one of those waterproof liners to put around the current liner - the original liner hasn't even been able to out last the cover after 21 years of wear. Every time I wash the cover now, I have little white baIls fall on the floor but after 21 years what do you expect. I'm getting ready to order another Touchchew dog bed to make room for the new puppy on its way. It truely has been time tested after 21 years of wear."
Review 12 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Claim is overstated,
January 11, 2012
By: MidasMom
from Schaumburg, IL
"Received this bed the first week in December. By the 15th of December my Golden Retriever had chewed a hole in one corner. As he really liked the bed, I sewed it up.
This is now the 11th of January and it has been chewed thru again. I will give it one more try, but I'm not sure it is worth the effort.
"
Review 13 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item,
January 10, 2012
By: Holly1555
from Michigan
"I got this dog bed because my 13 year old dog loves beds! She will lay on a bed in every room. It is how she knows it's her spot. Well, we have a 1 year old dog and he loves to eat her beds. Since we got this he leaves it alone, but loves to lay on it. So we just ordered him one. I highly recommend. For some reason they just don't chew it!"
Review 14 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed,
January 6, 2012
By: Anonymous25
from Evanston, IL
"Within a week of giving my dog the bed, she chewed through the zipper and cover. I contacted an Orvis representative and they are replacing the cover, no questions asked. The bed is well worth the cost. My dog loves the bed and has barely gotten out of it since we gave it to her!"
Review 15 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love these Beds,
December 30, 2011
By: Joyce
from Downey, CA
"We have purchased at least 3 of these beds. They are great. Really are chew proof and last a long time. We have one in den, bedroom and our second home. Our lab was a chewer and is a rough "arranger", but bed withstands her. My only criticism is that the loft does stay as well as the beads. But polyester fill is much easier than the beads. I will only buy Orvis dog beds. Well worth the high cost."
Review 16 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boston love,
December 29, 2011
By: BostonMom
from Denver, CO
"I have two Boston terriers and they just love their two tough chew beds. The girl Boston is notorious for destroying beds so I was sure she would do the same to this one, but that has not been the case. Great purchase."
Review 17 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Bed,
December 21, 2011
By: HoustonDogLover
"The tough chew dog bed is the best investment we made for our dogs. Both our dogs love them, easy to clean, and Orvis backs the guarantee!"
Review 18 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
New Material Not Durable,
December 8, 2011
By: Michigandoglover
"Our yellow lab female just chewed through her second ToughChew Nest in record time--15 minutes. We tried the Herringbone pattern first and then the Tattersall. Both did not stand up to our 10 month old lab who is an average chewer. We bought a ToughChew Nest in Tattersall 9 years ago for our yellow lab male, and it never gave way to his chewing despite his efforts. The fabric of the beds is different now and not in a good way. We read the negative reviews before we bought the bed, but we were optimistic. Now we know they weren't exaggerating. On a positive note, Orvis upheld their warranty and replaced the first chewed bed quickly and refunded us our money after the 2nd bed failed. The customer service was wonderful. I would not have high expectations for this bed unless your dog doesn't chew on anything at all."
Review 19 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Indeed a ToughChew, but not invincible,
November 8, 2011
By: dogdays
from Fort Worth, TX
"We ordered two, one for each dog. My Ridgeback thinks the bed is his best friend, probably because he's a hound and sleeps on it a majority of the day. The CavaPoo, our chewer, had managed to get a hole in both of them 6 months later. Orvis replaced them and suggested to put the old cover underneath the new one as to protect the stuffing. We are HIGHLYimpressed first with Orivs and their customer service, second that the bed lasted as long as it did and lastly that they replaced our chewed ones. Sad to say, the CavaPoo managed a hole again...so they are not totally invincible beds. Well worth the money however."
Review 20 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Spun-Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our dog LOVES his new bed!,
October 31, 2011
By: kebhouse
"Our beagle has destroyed every bed we've gotten him within hours of bringing it home. I bought this one because of the guarantee and we are very happy with it. Tchoupitoulas loves curling up in this bed. As far as I can tell, he loves it so much he hasn't even tried to destroy it. If he has, then it has lived up to it's name and hasn't yielded to his sharp teeth."