Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

World's Sharpest Puukko Knife

Crafted in Karesuando, Sweden—far north of the Arctic Circle. Local reindeer leather, horn, bone, and curly-grained birch make up the main components. Leather sheath includes a fire starter, which the back side of the knife can be struck against as striker, so as not to dull the sharp blade.Blade approx. 3¼"; total length approx. 7".
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Review 1 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique and well made,
January 15, 2014
By: Blondiee
"This was bought for a gift and after my husband saw the outstanding quality and unique quality of the item, he wanted to keep it for himself!!"
Review 2 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharpest knife ever,
August 28, 2012
By: BillySue
from Oklanoma City, OK.
"The Puukko knife is the sharpest and best handling of all 15 knives that I own. A man just can't have too many knives, but now I don't need any more."
Review 3 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best knife purchase ever,
August 14, 2012
By: knifebuyer1
from TX
"this was the best knife purchase that i've ever made. it is durable, classic, nice, and inexpensive for such a knife."
Review 4 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Beautiful with Function,
January 10, 2012
By: GreginSC
from Tega Cay, SC
"Absolutely the most beautiful knife I own. Excellent workmanship built to work in the field. It has replaced my "survival knife" that I normally carry. The best words: "Form & Function""
Review 5 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SHARP,
January 3, 2012
By: PETE1
"SHARP COMFORTABLE KNIFE WILL GET A WORKOUT AS A BOAT KNIFE IN CANADA ALL SUMMER"
Review 6 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gun safe,
October 27, 2011
By: wolfman40
from BARDINIA N.Y.
"I think purchasing the gun safe was worth while for me because having six grand kids i feel safe knowing that the guns i own are safe and out if reach of the children, and also security from theft. . JAY"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Selection,
September 1, 2011
By: Starkey
from The Woodlands, Texas
"As somewhat of a knife collector, approximately 150) I look for unique and interesting knives. I have not been able to get the fire starter to make sparks but, I will keep trying."
Review 8 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful tool,
March 17, 2011
By: jonfrei
from Rural Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I received this knife as a Christmas present. I have always wanted a Puukko knife (but had never told my wife!), so it was a very nice surprise. Fit and finish are top notch. The burled birch handle is georgeous. Blade is bright and came quite sharp - a light hone was all that was necessary to make it razor sharp. It holds it's edge very well, even when doing rough tasks such as splitting kindling. The sheath is nice leather & fits the knife well. The insert in the sheath protects both the blade and the wearer, as well as preventing the leather from tarnishing the blade. The fire starter throws a large amount of hot sparks - a very nice add-on. This knife immediately became my every day working knife and I couldn't be more pleased with it. The handle is large enough for a good grip and well shaped. The blade is big enough for any task, but short enough that it is never cumbersome. Excellent balance & feel. If I could only keep one of my belt knives, this would be the one!"
Review 9 for World's Sharpest Puukko Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pukko knife with a modern feel,
November 17, 2009
By: CaScot
from West Coast
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I've been a fan of pukko knives for quite some time, and when I saw this advertised, I was very interested. In person, it's a good knife and pretty much lives up to its description.
The handle is very nicely done, with old wood and "ivory" and fits nicely into the hand. The blade came with a very nice edge and seems likely to hold it fairly well (I've only had if for a couple of weeks - it's too early to tell for sure :-). The sheath is well made and incorporates a knife guard rather than forming the leather around the blade. The fire started is as advertised -- it wasn't why I bought the knife, but I can see how it could be a nice addition to a woods knife.
My only objection to the knife is that it has a mirror bright, almost chrome-bright surface, which is not my preference in knives and detracts from the classic feel of the knife overall. Other than perhaps an issue of how well the knife will wear cosmetically, this is a matter of personal taste."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.