Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Plantation Work Jacket

Simple, warm, and functional. This jacket is a favorite on the farms and plantations of the South when the cooler weather shows up. It is quilted with 100-gram polyester-fill insulation to provide a comfortable layer when frost comes. Two front handwarmer pockets. Contrasting rib-knit collar and cuffs on jacket sleeves keep the drafts at bay. Full zip and fully lined. In olive. Nylon shell with polyester lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 29" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plantation Work Jacket
Review 1 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Basic Use,
June 28, 2014
By: Mike43
from Bergan County NJ
"This is a good, function based coat that cuts the wind and chill. I use it between 30* and the mid 50*'s. Would be improved with an interior pocket to stow cigars, but useful all the same."
Review 2 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
style and quality,
February 11, 2014
By: ad2233
"the jacket is warm,stylish,and of the best quality. people are always commenting how good it looks. simple, but classy"
Review 3 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket,
December 30, 2013
By: BettyLu
from Lk. Stevens, WA
"It's sized a tad on "big." I typically take a L and at times a XL; but the L was too large. Returned for a M. Not quite the same cloth quality or as water repellant as now defunct Atlantic Rancher's similar jacket was, but fine nonetheless. Hard to find one with similar collar and cuffs."
Review 4 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Plantation work jacket,
December 14, 2013
By: Teddy11628
from Woodstock, Georgia
"Quality of product did not meet my expectations of an Orvis product. Threads were loose in the outer lining, and I had to return one. End of sleves is very large and does not fit tight to wrists."
Review 5 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Missing pocket,
October 14, 2013
By: 1dogwrangler1
"Great jacket but no interior nor exterior pocket to hold and secure a cell phone."
Review 6 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad sizing,
August 19, 2013
By: bpaul
from Cedar Rapids, IA
"I was really excited about getting this jacket. I am 5'9" approx 170lbs. I usually wear a men's size 40 jacket or medium. I originally ordered a size medium, and found the jacket to have long sleeves and and overall bulky fit. Today I received the small which I thought would be dead on, but it looked like the size had jumped to an extra small. I also agree with other reviewers, that at this price point, an inside pocket seems practical and appropriate. Not sure what I will be out on shipping to find out that their sizing is inaccurate, but it seems that free shipping tends the norm these days."
Review 7 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
December 5, 2012
By: OutdoorsFan
from Baltimore
"I didn't like the collar- too high in back. Also expected an inside pocket or two."
Review 8 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Southern lightweight jacket,
December 1, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Colorado Springs, Colorado
"I received my new lightweight 'southern-style' jacket and am very pleased with it so far. I have worn it only once but am sure that it will suit my needs.
I would have liked to see some inside pockets and the ORVIS logo left off of it but you can't have it all, all the time.
TL
"
Review 9 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfy and Warm,
October 9, 2012
By: Traveler75
"This jacket delivers as advertised. Comfortable and warm. Deep pockets for the hands which I appreciate. Could use an inside pocket or two but if you want to spend the day outdoors in the fall this is a great jacket."
Review 10 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice light weight coat,
October 4, 2012
By: daffney
from Rothschild Wi
"I've been looking at this coat for some time. Finally bought it and I'm glad I did. Just right for fall days. Not heavy and bulky. Just right with my new cord shirt Thanks orvis"
Review 11 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product,
September 29, 2012
By: Chesbay
from White stone, va.
"Exactly what I was looking for, light weight fall jacket. It needs an inside pocket to make it perfect."
Review 12 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quilted Plantation Work Jacket,
April 2, 2012
By: smoser
from New York NY
"Upon discovering this jacket via a Google search for quilted jackets, I was enthralled. I did however want to see this in person and as luck has it, there is an Orvis store here in Manhattan just above Bryant Park.
After calling the store it was not in stock and the clerk suggested ordering online.
After receiving the jacket I was so disappointed. The jacket was cut way to LARGE ( typical) and was so heavy. The finish color etc was gorgeous but it simply was way too large and gapey to use as a light spring jacket or layering piece.
Now I am out all the shipping to return.
"
Review 13 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 1, 2012
By: ewebber
from Austin, TX
"Great lightweight jacket, perfect for the climate down south. The muted color gives it an almost vintage look, which I like, and the length is just right - it allows you to be active without riding up like a shorter jacket would. The only downside, and it's a minor one, is that it's a little stiff. I'm assuming that will go away with washing and wearing."
Review 14 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unsurpassed quality and comfort,
October 25, 2011
By: Billonthehill
from Columbia County, NY
"The perfect jacket to wear in the fall, or early spring. Comfortable fit and a timeless style that can go with anything from jeans to khakis. Just the right amount of insulation to keep the jacket from looking puffy and bulky and priced to make this a great value for years of service."
Review 15 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good, but...,
February 7, 2011
By: Moonpaddle
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The jacket is lightweight but provides decent insulation and wind protection. Where it lacks is in pockets. This is the age of cell phones, ipods, etc. An inner, breast or other third pocket would enhance the product quite a bit."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamFebruary 18, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were sorry to hear he wasn't happy with his purchase. We thanked him for his honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers; we have forwarded his comment on to our product developers, who will take it into consideration in future product refinements.
Review 16 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat,
January 24, 2011
By: Emory
from Huntsville, Alabama
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this jacket as a "let's get into spring" jacket. It looks great and fits perfectly. I like the material's high quality and color. I like the way the cuffs and the collar fit. The sleeves are proper length for my 6' 2" frame."
Review 17 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Jacket,
December 28, 2010
By: Hilts
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this jacket at an Orvis discount outlet store in Maine back in the summer. It's perfect for the fll and Spring. It fits me perfectly and i enjoy wearing it it."
Review 18 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it says,
December 13, 2010
By: Cubanchem
from Maryland
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I got this jacket to fill a niche between spring weight jacket and winter coat. The jacket meets that need quite well. The previous poster mentioned long sleeves and as far as I am concerned, the sleeves are the right length to not ride up when you stretch your arms out. The cuffs are thick and cover well and the collar is snug but I think that's the point. An interior or napoleon style pocket would have been perfect, but the outer pockets are roomy and fit most of my things, even my sunglasses in a case. I am a big fellow and wear a 52 L in a sport coat and this coat fit me well. Plus the material is really smooth but not shiny and a perfect neutral color. Easy on and off, even with rolled up sleeves."
Review 19 for Plantation Work Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fit,
January 21, 2010
By: lite
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This was almost the perfect jacket for this area. The weight was ideal. I was very excited until I put it on. It was too long, the collar was too high, and I did not like the cuffs. Even though I had to return the jacket, my experience with the company has been very good to this point."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.