Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed

A higher bolster increases the sense of security, a deeper sleeping area increases the comfort—it's a combination your dog will find blissfully inviting. Wrapped in our velvety-soft microfiber with piping along the bolster edges, our dog bed is stuffed with fluffy spun-polyester fill. Bolster and sleeping pad covers are removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
38 of 51(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Review 1 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loves his new bed,
April 4, 2014
By: carcar61
from hamden, ct.
"I recently purchased this bed for my one year old American Bulldog, Frankie. he LOVES it! I purchased the large, and it is so big! he can curl up or easily stretch all the way out and still have plenty of room left. I did have to have more stuffing sent to me, which they did promptly, and once filled, its a great great bed. very good quality material. well worth the money. arrives very fast, and the people at orvis are wonderful to deal with. I would definitely recommend this bed to a friend!"
Review 2 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted!,
March 13, 2014
By: GuinnessthePoodle
from NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is the bed I originally wanted but I read a few reviews that said the filling was not enough, so, I chatted with an Orvis Rep., she assured me that if I was not happy they would even send me more fill. Now that I have the bed, I think the filling, in the bed, is perfect. I purchased this bed in Medium for our 50lb Standard Poodle and it is just what I wanted because he LOVES to lean up against the bolster and the fit is perfect as you can see from the pictures. He got right in it and stayed there all night! We will be purchasing another to replace his bed in our bedroom. You will be happy with this bed!"
Review 3 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice!,
February 25, 2014
By: Elliott1282
from Columbus, Oh
"I found this product while surfing Pinterest, and immediately loved it! It looked like something nice enough to have in my home, and looked thick and comfortable enough that I could convince my 70+lb. Doberman to sleep in it and no longer in my bed. I read all of the negative reviews before going in to my local Orvis store where they promised if I was unhappy I could return it, no questions asked.
The bed arrived one week later and was just as I expected, looked just like the picture, and my dog loves it! For those reviews that say it doesn't have enough filling, perhaps they have heavier and larger dogs, but for my little girl, the large had plenty filling for her (she still curls up into a ball in the corner, although I bought it big enough so she can stretch out if need be). Thank you, Orvis, from a satisfied first time customer!"
Review 4 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
February 23, 2014
By: Weimaraners4
from Northants, England
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased 2 of the large beds for my 4 Weimaraners, was only assuming that there would be one in the bed at the same time however 2 manage to get in together more often than not and they prefer to sleep in the orvis rather than in bed cuddled with me!!! Best purchase and will be looking to purchase another in the not too distant future."
Review 5 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Good Product but missing one key item,
February 17, 2014
By: Klew14
from Ohio
"I researched multiple sites and types of beds at exhaustion and decided on this one because of price (I didn't want to spend $300 - $400) and great reviews on Orvis customer care. I have a 50lb Vizsla dog and went for the large size bed...PLENTY of room, I'm sure my dog could have fit in the medium but there are times when he likes to stretch out. The BIG complaint I have is that the actual bed part where he sleeps did not have adequate filling. I called prior to ask about this and was told it wouldn't be an issue...well it was. I ended up buying a 3" piece of standard foam from a fabric store ($45) and inserted into the cover (under the poly fill bag) and that made the difference - that's how under filled the bed part was. I would think for $200 + shipping that the there would be enough fill in the part of the bed the dog lies in."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Your dog will love this...,
December 29, 2013
By: PicklePack2010
from Essex
"There are lots of reviews on here saying that, there isn't enough stuffing, the sides aren't high enough..etc. Well, whatever WE as humans may think of it, I can testify that our Golden Retriever and German Shepherd LOVE this bed SO much that they race each other to get in it each night! It has even lured our big Retriever off the end of our bed, which is no small miracle. No bed has EVER done this before! The bed is made of very soft, durable material. We bought the charcoal one and it looks very smart in our bedroom.
The stuffing doesn't squish too low (we've had it a few months and the dog sleeps on it every night and sometimes during the day). It puffs up nicely with a quick shake. The sides are just high enough to give big dogs a really nice sense of security. The sides come up about 6 inches abouv our retriever's head and body when he is curled up in it. I was going to put some memory foam in the bottom to reinforce it but to be honest, I haven't bothered as they love it so much. They have another Orvis bed- the memory foam deep dish one, but they really do seem to love this one...I would very much recommend it as a super cosy, super comfy, super smart doggie bed (from two super fussy, large testers!)
"
Review 7 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 13, 2013
By: Rock11
"Orvis was very nice to deal with but the bed as many reviews stated does not look like the picture as it does needs much more stuffing in the laying area. For this level of bed I thought this was a very weak spot for the item. The bed was well made with that exception. After more stuffing and an insert of memory foam my whippet loved it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Bed Ever,
December 11, 2013
By: gg17
from Ireland
"I was very concerned after reading the reviews about this bed wheather or not I would buy this bed as some were very negative, but I took the chance and I am so delighted I did, I have a female Boxer who is spoilt as it is who was constantly luying on out couch and as soon as she got in to hers she doesn't want to get out, She loves it. I purchased large as she loves to stretch out and she has plenty of room, There is also plenty of padding in it also. Would definitely buy another one"
Review 9 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BIG bed,
December 11, 2013
By: Bauer
from Independence , MN
"This bed is awesome! I ordered the Large in Herringbone. It is big and beautiful. I have a 75 pound Black Lab and I have to say he would have easily fit in the Medium--probably would be more cozy, however he can stretch out as much as he wants in the Large. The inside measurements are 34x24, but the bolsters add a lot more squishy space. I ordered an extra bag of fill based on some of the reviews. Doesn't need it new, but I can see where after awhile it might need more fluff--I'd just go to a fabric store and buy loose poly fill as that is all the extra stuffing is anyway. The Herringbone is a nice neutral that would fit in anywhere."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks Good,
December 4, 2013
By: mortarboard
from Nottinghamshire UK
"Met all expectations and has replaced two previous dog beds.
Neat and tidy and fits in well with the decore"
Review 11 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
horrible,
November 30, 2013
By: chessie2
"when tried to get apart to wash was nightmare. the batting fell part. could not get back together . the square zipper very hard to close broke all of my finger nails."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Bed,
November 27, 2013
By: Beardedcollieheaven
from North Wales
"What can I say - our Bearded Collies love it. It is definitely a rival for their memory foam bed from Orvis. I would highly recommend this bed if your dog loves cosy comfort and a bolster surround. Thank you again - another great purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought for both of my older dogs,
November 27, 2013
By: artguy
from Carmichael, CA
"Purchased 2 of these beds in the large size in Oct 2013. The fabric and construction of the beds are very good... too bad the center bedpads on which the dogs sleep have such a small amount of fiberfill. The baffles in the bedpads that should be filled with cushioning are almost empty and provide the dogs no protection from the hard floor! Not characteristic of ORVIS Co. products! If this problems is fixed this bed would be a 5 Star product"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hot bunk,
November 15, 2013
By: giantbeagle
from Canandaigua, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This has quickly become the "hot bunk" in our house. There is usually a dog or a cat in the bed at all times; sometimes both at once. We plan to order another one soon."
Review 15 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
November 8, 2013
By: Jessiesmum
from East Sussex
"The photo on the site and in the catalogue is a complete misrepresentation, as it suggests that this dog bed is higher off the floor than the regular dog beds. This is absolutely not the case. When we unpacked it, we discovered that it is the just the standard 4 inches, or thereabouts, off the floor. If you're looking for a little height to keep your dog safe from draughts, forget about this one. Also, I didn't particularly see any extra height on the bolster, nor how the bolster would stay up straight over time. In my opinion there's nothing to stop it from flattening out, just like all the others. We were VERY disappointed, to be honest. The material is lovely, as always, but that's just not enough, is it? After complaining to Orvis they sent a courier to pick up the bed, gave us a full refund including the P&P we paid. So no complaints about the Customer Services. But we'd much rather have had the bed in the photo....."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality covering but.......,
November 5, 2013
By: Labinsuffolk
"I cannot fault the material used in this product and its construction apart from the the base material, despite the sales picture of the dog lying on a lovely padded layer is wrong - it's far to thin - (my 13 year old Lab is very picky but knows what he likes to lay on). He tried it and gt out within seconds looking well upset, He refused to get in it again until I spent another £25-00 on some 4" foam and popped that underneath the center of the bed - result one happy lab. If you're into cooking then my best analogy would be a sunken Yorkshire pudding all sides but little in the important area's ie the bottom.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog bed money can buy!,
October 8, 2013
By: Sarahbeach1
from Weymouth, UK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I rarely write reviews, but this bed was unpacked 2 hours ago and we are all still smiling and cooing at it! Truly wonderful bed, the dog lurves it - thanks orvis! I ordered extra stuffing, but to be honest I'm not sure I agree with the other reviews on here, I don't think it needs it after all. The bed is incredibly well made, with soft but strong corderouy type fabric and just the right amount of plumpness to the overall bed. I ordered the large, which if you want your dog to be able to curl up and be snug, or have the option to spread out, like mine does, this is the bed. I have a husky of 44lbs and this is perfect for her. Go on, spend a bit more than you thought you would... It's soo worth it to know its comfy! So pleased."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deep DISH,
August 6, 2013
By: laurenl
from Missouri
"I purchased the deep dish bed and just received it today. My great dane is in LOVE. Once I let her know it was hers, she cuddled up right in it and hasn't left. Still there, as I write this review. I wanted an x-large, but it didn't come in that size, so I was stuck with the large. I would recommend getting extra stuffing; it was a little flat, and glad I ordered more. She hangs over it, but also sleeps in a ball. She is 9 years old and getting frail, so I wanted her to be extra comfy. This bed is worth the big bucks. Make the purchase, you won't be disappointed!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lonunger Deep Dish Dog Bed.,
June 4, 2013
By: Zanymonster
from Llanelli in Wales UK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Right I read all the reviews for this bed and thought they were fair.I have just received mine very quickly from the USA and it is as I thought NOT enough filling.So what I have done is throw away the rubbish center cushion and replace it with reflex form as the main support,then I have put 3" memory form inside a waterproof cover just in case of any accidents.
Now the bed is really comfortable and the center cushion is about 6" thick my dog loves it now.I did contact customer services before buying just to see if they would send out extra filling there answer was yes but they refused to send it with the bed I would have to ask for it when the bed arrived.My advice is don't bother with the cotton rubbish it compacts no mater how much is in there.
The memory form cost £35 for a single bed mattress topper and the form cost £45.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
May 7, 2013
By: TayThom
from Houston, TX
"Only had the bed for 1 day and the dog loves it. We have a 67lb GSP and ordered the medium based on other comments. I think the size is just fine, he mostly curls up to sleep and very rarely stretches all the way out to sleep, so the medium is plenty big enough for him. It is not as large as the picture looks or as firm but he seems to think it's heavenly!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.