Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed

A higher bolster increases the sense of security, a deeper sleeping area increases the comfort—it's a combination your dog will find blissfully inviting. Wrapped in our velvety-soft microfiber with piping along the bolster edges, our dog bed is stuffed with fluffy spun-polyester fill. Bolster and sleeping pad covers are removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.123 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
52 of 65(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Review 1 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Bed Ever!,
September 3, 2014
By: BertieBubbles63
from Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK
"I received this dog bed today and was absolutely thrilled with the size and quality of the product. My chocolate Labrador retriever jumped in it straight away and I can tell he loves it. My other dog cocker spaniel also loves it and there is enough room for both of them! Thank you Orvis very much."
Review 2 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The regal dog bed,
September 1, 2014
By: Colbysnumom
from Santa Fe, NM
"My beautiful Great Pyrenees rescue dog loves this bed. He!s not quite as fond of the sideless rectangular bed although HE nudged it into the wall and has spent two nights in it.
He rode for 14 hours to his new home in his Orvis car hammock and had a lot more room than just the back seat. He's been with us two weeks and likes it here!
"
Review 3 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is this really a dog bed?,
August 27, 2014
By: KellyB38
"My dogs think this dog bed is another couch! When my son gets on the dog bed the dogs run over to join him and push him out!"
Review 4 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My puppy loves this bed!,
August 15, 2014
By: Gregory11
"I bought this bed with hopes that my 9 month old 70 pound lab puppy would find it more comfortable than my bed, and she loves it! Like others have said it was not filled as much as the picture shows but I just contacted Orvis’s customer service and they sent me more filling, which now makes it as fluffy as the picture. This product seems like it will last a long time and the material is very durable. I love the fact that I can remove the filling and wash the outer cover. It is a great product and Orvis has wonderful customer service!"
Review 5 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Bed!,
July 28, 2014
By: ThomasDog
"Love this bed - my dog has never slept harder/snored louder! First night I've ever slept all the way through because he didn't jump on my bed and wake me up (I think this bed has magical powers!) I bought the Large size, because I wanted him to have a lot of extra room to stretch out. He's 60+ pounds and definitely could have gone with the Medium, but I'm satisfied with the size I got nonetheless. As other reviewers have said, it is not as stuffed with filling as the picture shows. I didn't want to spend the extra money on the filling, so I just put two old pillows underneath of the cushion, and it looks more plump! The sides not being as bulky doesn't bother me as much; as long as they stay up and are comfy for my pup dog's head!"
Review 6 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Bed,
July 23, 2014
By: Kimberleyy
from Timperley, UK
"I have to say this is the best bed I have bought and my two staffies and dog de bordeaux all fit in it together and dont get on the couch any longer! Only down side is it could do with a bit more filling as doesnt come as filled as what the picture look like but moaning over definately worth investing in"
Review 7 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My baby loves this bed,
July 17, 2014
By: Dee1369
from Orlando, FL
"My boxer, Jack loves this bed. However, it arrived limp and didn't hold a shape. At first, he didn't like it at all and spent the night in his old bed. I had read in the reviews that the bed didn't have enough filling so I planned ahead and ordered extra filling. It definitely needed it! Once I added the entire bag of filling, it was perfect for him. I don't understand why, even with all the comments and reviews and especially the price, they don't put enough filling in the bed in the first place. They make the customer purchase the additional filling and then have to go to the hassle of stuffing each section. This was the only reason I didn't rate it the full five stars."
Review 8 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paws up!,
July 16, 2014
By: Bashnee
"Warning~ If you want your dog to be active & lively, then don't buy this bed! Seriously my dog absolutely loves it, cannot get him out of it. He was practically wrestling me to the ground just getting it out of the box. He's gone through a great many beds, grown too big for them or they've flatterned out but this one I know will last. He now gets a good night sleep which means We do too, worth every penny!"
Review 9 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 paws!,
July 9, 2014
By: Katiebrody
"I was hesitant to buy this Bc our American dingo is known to chew. He wasn't super interested when the bed first arrived but now he loves it ! Every morning when I wake up Brody is laying in his bed. He even hides his favorite toys under the cushion. Like other customers who have written reviews, the stuffing was somewhat lacking - but Brody could care less. He loves it regardless. If need be well but more stuffing but I highly recommend this bed. Brody is 55lbs and fits very comfortably on the large bed. A medium would have sufficed but he has plenty of room to stretch and to play with his toys!"
Review 10 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Comfy!,
June 20, 2014
By: GL220
from SC
"I have a Shepard/Shar pei Mix. He is a medium sized dog (47lbs) but he loves spreading out on my love seat and laying his head on the arm rest. I wanted to reclaim my love seat so I got him a large deep dish dog bed to be safe. He was afraid to crawl in it so I curled up inside of it first and I was really amazed at how comfortable it was!! It also has the arm rest layout that he is used to. I think it was worth the money I spend so hopefully it will last a long time."
Review 11 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice, But Not Quite Perfect,
May 22, 2014
By: CraigD
from Hoboken, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This bed is a good choice if you want something with very tall bolsters to give your pet a sense of security. Unlike some of the other beds sold by Orvis where there are complaints of the bolsters flattening out, that won't happen with this one. There's a double-bolster design (one stacked on the other) that maintains the shape and structural integrity of the bed.
As you can see in the photo, my 22 lb. Westie has plenty of space in the medium. 40" x 26½" are the posted exterior dimensions, but it's closer to 40" x 30". The interior dimensions are 28" x 20" for the removable pad, and then there's another 5" of depth if you include the front lip of the bed. The pad is about 4" thick. The bolsters are roughly 7" tall from the pad surface.
The one place this bed is let down is the lack of support the polyfill provides. It doesn't sink to the floor under my dog's weight as some have complained. But If you have a heavier dog, and you want a bed that won't sink, you have to go with memory foam. I am swapping out the polyfill for a 4" slab of memory foam inserted in the cover. Bottom line: this bed would be perfect if it used memory foam instead of polyfill - and for what it costs, it ought to come that way. I docked it one star because of this. Despite that one flaw, I still recommend it."
Review 12 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Bed Ever!!,
May 9, 2014
By: AllisonJ
from Chappell Hill, TX
"I just received our new dog bed and our dogs LOVE it!! We have 5 dogs and if one gets out, another immediately takes their place so we ordering another one!"
Review 13 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed!!,
April 24, 2014
By: LizaS
from Virginia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this bed for our 100+lb Cane Corso so that she would stop getting on the couch. She immediately got on the bed after it took it out of box and loved it! I was worried after reading reviews about the bed not having enough stuffing, so I went ahead and purchased extra stuffing at the same time."
Review 14 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loves his new bed,
April 4, 2014
By: carcar61
from hamden, ct.
"I recently purchased this bed for my one year old American Bulldog, Frankie. he LOVES it! I purchased the large, and it is so big! he can curl up or easily stretch all the way out and still have plenty of room left. I did have to have more stuffing sent to me, which they did promptly, and once filled, its a great great bed. very good quality material. well worth the money. arrives very fast, and the people at orvis are wonderful to deal with. I would definitely recommend this bed to a friend!"
Review 15 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted!,
March 13, 2014
By: GuinnessthePoodle
from NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is the bed I originally wanted but I read a few reviews that said the filling was not enough, so, I chatted with an Orvis Rep., she assured me that if I was not happy they would even send me more fill. Now that I have the bed, I think the filling, in the bed, is perfect. I purchased this bed in Medium for our 50lb Standard Poodle and it is just what I wanted because he LOVES to lean up against the bolster and the fit is perfect as you can see from the pictures. He got right in it and stayed there all night! We will be purchasing another to replace his bed in our bedroom. You will be happy with this bed!"
Review 16 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice!,
February 25, 2014
By: Elliott1282
from Columbus, Oh
"I found this product while surfing Pinterest, and immediately loved it! It looked like something nice enough to have in my home, and looked thick and comfortable enough that I could convince my 70+lb. Doberman to sleep in it and no longer in my bed. I read all of the negative reviews before going in to my local Orvis store where they promised if I was unhappy I could return it, no questions asked.
The bed arrived one week later and was just as I expected, looked just like the picture, and my dog loves it! For those reviews that say it doesn't have enough filling, perhaps they have heavier and larger dogs, but for my little girl, the large had plenty filling for her (she still curls up into a ball in the corner, although I bought it big enough so she can stretch out if need be). Thank you, Orvis, from a satisfied first time customer!"
Review 17 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
February 23, 2014
By: Weimaraners4
from Northants, England
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased 2 of the large beds for my 4 Weimaraners, was only assuming that there would be one in the bed at the same time however 2 manage to get in together more often than not and they prefer to sleep in the orvis rather than in bed cuddled with me!!! Best purchase and will be looking to purchase another in the not too distant future."
Review 18 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Good Product but missing one key item,
February 17, 2014
By: Klew14
from Ohio
"I researched multiple sites and types of beds at exhaustion and decided on this one because of price (I didn't want to spend $300 - $400) and great reviews on Orvis customer care. I have a 50lb Vizsla dog and went for the large size bed...PLENTY of room, I'm sure my dog could have fit in the medium but there are times when he likes to stretch out. The BIG complaint I have is that the actual bed part where he sleeps did not have adequate filling. I called prior to ask about this and was told it wouldn't be an issue...well it was. I ended up buying a 3" piece of standard foam from a fabric store ($45) and inserted into the cover (under the poly fill bag) and that made the difference - that's how under filled the bed part was. I would think for $200 + shipping that the there would be enough fill in the part of the bed the dog lies in."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Your dog will love this...,
December 29, 2013
By: PicklePack2010
from Essex
"There are lots of reviews on here saying that, there isn't enough stuffing, the sides aren't high enough..etc. Well, whatever WE as humans may think of it, I can testify that our Golden Retriever and German Shepherd LOVE this bed SO much that they race each other to get in it each night! It has even lured our big Retriever off the end of our bed, which is no small miracle. No bed has EVER done this before! The bed is made of very soft, durable material. We bought the charcoal one and it looks very smart in our bedroom.
The stuffing doesn't squish too low (we've had it a few months and the dog sleeps on it every night and sometimes during the day). It puffs up nicely with a quick shake. The sides are just high enough to give big dogs a really nice sense of security. The sides come up about 6 inches abouv our retriever's head and body when he is curled up in it. I was going to put some memory foam in the bottom to reinforce it but to be honest, I haven't bothered as they love it so much. They have another Orvis bed- the memory foam deep dish one, but they really do seem to love this one...I would very much recommend it as a super cosy, super comfy, super smart doggie bed (from two super fussy, large testers!)
"
Review 20 for Lounger Deep Dish Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 13, 2013
By: Rock11
"Orvis was very nice to deal with but the bed as many reviews stated does not look like the picture as it does needs much more stuffing in the laying area. For this level of bed I thought this was a very weak spot for the item. The bed was well made with that exception. After more stuffing and an insert of memory foam my whippet loved it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.