Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater

Donegal was originally a thick and warm homespun or tweed woven by Irish peasants in Donegal, Ireland. Donegal now describes wool tweed that has colorful irregularities knit into the fabric. The cashmere adds warmth and a softer hand to the traditional wool. Fully fashioned wool cashmere sweater with a suede tab throat latch and suede trim inside the mechanic-style placket. Rib hem and cuff. Merino wool/cashmere. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
1
103 of 111(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Review 1 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic sweater,
May 9, 2014
By: Erick
from Atlanta, Ga
"This sweater looks great. It wears nice, it's warm, and it looks good in any setting."
Review 2 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great winter sweater,
February 26, 2014
By: dalex
"Bought this as a v-day gift for my husband, and he was very happy with it overall! He did comment that the suede tab looked slightly strange when the sweater was completely buttoned up, but otherwise, the sweater is very warm and nicely colored."
Review 3 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT Sweater!,
February 17, 2014
By: MattH83
from North Texas
"A little roomy, but such is most things on me. The sweater itself is gorgeous and handsome. My fiancé loves this one."
Review 4 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not only a quality donegal but also stylish,
February 11, 2014
By: Northwords
from Scottsdale, AZ
"Winters in Canada are brutal and a warm sweater is mandatory. I'd been watching this donegal sweater go by in the catalogues I receive but was always hesitating because of my uncertainty in sizing.
Lo and behold I spent this terrible winter in Arizona and when I arrived I immediately set off for the Scottsdale Orvis store. Alas, they didn't have my size nor colour. But "Hey, that's no problem" said one of the sales ladies named Linda. "I'll find out where we can get you one". She proceeded on the computer, made a couple of phone calls, located my sweater and arranged to have one my size and colour shipped to my Arizona address. I was very impressed by that service.
So the sweater arrives 5 days later and it fits great, is soft and warm but better yet, it is very stylish. Very cool. It makes me look great. ( now this doesn't happen all the time )
I'm very appreciative of the service I received and glad I found that store. I only wish there was an Orvis in Winnipeg. The quality and stylish clothing would be very popular there.
"
Review 5 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not up to expectations,
February 7, 2014
By: Jaeco
from Chicago
"It was clear that this sweater would not hold its shape. Feels nice, but I suspect it would stretch and hang after a few wearings. I returned it.....not up to my Orvis expectations. I expect a much higher quality product from Orvis."
Review 6 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donegal sweater,
January 15, 2014
By: Fisherman0801
from Arlington, va
"Great fit, looks and construction. Very warm.
Love it!
"
Review 7 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater, highly recommended,
January 14, 2014
By: bonefish101
from Shennandoah Valley
"I bought this as a gift for myself, the quality and weight are top-notch, it's not itchy to wear on bare skin, not as soft and plush as my pure cashmere sweaters but very comfortable none the less. Highly recommended as either a treat for yourself or a gift."
Review 8 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Sweater!!,
January 7, 2014
By: RobD
from New Hampshire
"This sweater exactly what I was looking for. It's warm AND comfortable. Wife says it looks "Very sexy"!
Not scratchy like pure wool, the cashmere buffers that nicely.
I'm glad I got the XL, so if you are at the top of the range for one size, I would suggest going up. Got it just in time for the Polar Vortex hitting New England!!
"
Review 9 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
January 6, 2014
By: mackden
from pasadena, ca
"I live in So Cal. And we have had a very warm spell unlike most of the country. When I opened the package , I immediately tried it own and could tell it was something. The fit was perfect, very nice drape and smooth and soft. I waited until very early morning to walk around when it was much cooler and with a tee shirt and this sweater and I was unbelievably comfortable in the mid 40 degree weather. I just wanted to hang out in my new sweater. Can't wait for my trip to Denver in a few weeks."
Review 10 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
January 6, 2014
By: syoung
from Minneapolis, MN
"I ordered the green version of this sweater. It didn't disappoint. Even though it was a bit pricy, this is a soft, rich-looking sweater that will keep you warm, while making you look like a million bucks. Nice fit and great quality."
Review 11 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Merino Cashmere Sweater,
January 4, 2014
By: usaf74
from Milwaukee WI
"The sweater was exactly what I wanted. It's doesn't have the scratch of a wool sweater, and it's extremely warm."
Review 12 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loved it!,
January 3, 2014
By: Doctormom
from Tennessee
"My husband picked this sweater out and it turned out to be exactly what he had hoped it would be. It is definitely warm, but not too heavy. I was worried it would be too heavy to wear regularly, but it isn't. He wears it all the time!!"
Review 13 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
January 3, 2014
By: Racheal
"Got it for my husband for Christmas. He loves it. I wish there was one in my size!"
Review 14 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly what I was looking for!,
December 31, 2013
By: tallnslim
"I bought this sweater for my husband for Christmas and he loved it! I was very nervous it would be too short--he is 6'3", 235, with an arm length of 37. He usually wears a large tall. This fit perfectly. It is a beautiful sweater, very high quality wool and leather and soft. We are both very pleased and will likely buy another!"
Review 15 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 30, 2013
By: jantastic
from Easton, MD
"Very warm sweater and very good looking. I wore it literally to both a party and in a goose blind and it worked well in both situations."
Review 16 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great gift!,
December 30, 2013
By: abrown
"Very functional, got as a gift for a guy and he loved it. It's soft, but definitely keeps him warm in the cold wisconsin winters. Color looks great too."
Review 17 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful sweater,
December 28, 2013
By: crakon
"wanted something special and a little different for my son in medical school....he's in Minnesota, so it also needed to be warm. this sweater is thick and warm and has some unique detailing around the neck....very cool...very masculine...great good looking sweater."
Review 18 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully comfortable,
December 25, 2013
By: Axelstall
from Denton, TX
"I got this sweater getting ready for winter. The color is great, exactly what I was looking for.
At first it's a little itchy against my back, but after a day I got used to it.
I've been complimented on the look of it several times since wearing it.
I definitely recommend it."
Review 19 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional sweater,
December 24, 2013
By: LittleCornball
from Wisconsin
"Have worn this sweater several times this fall and winter. 4 of 5 because like most products these days the will weave needs to be tighter and heavier weight. despite this the sweater is warm and i like that the collar is functional."
Review 20 for Merino/Cashmere Donegal Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful sweater,
December 23, 2013
By: LewisK
from Houston, TX
"It's soft and warm and fits just right. I would definitely recommend it."