Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Rio Mitre Jacket

Finally, a leather jacket you may very well never want to take off, even indoors. Not heavy or bulky, the versatile Rio Mitre Jacket has the familiar heft of your favorite heavyweight flannel overshirt, ensuring comfort and handsome looks with jeans, corduroys, or chinos. Complete with distinctive cuffs, elbow patches, and detachable throat latch. The Orvis Global Pocket System™ keeps you organized when you're on the go. Men's leather outerwear in brown. Genuine leather. Professionally clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 42.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rio Mitre Jacket
Review 1 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great jacket,
January 22, 2010
By: icky
from Central Texas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"love this jacket, it has become my everyday wear everywhere jacket..I don't know what the difference in the leather is between this and the bandera but at half the price I like this leather just fine."
Review 2 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bandera in disguise?,
January 20, 2010
By: fachur
from Northern Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm certainly not complaining, but I am fairly sure that this Rio Mitre is the same jacket as the Bandera. In any case, this is a great jacket, very well made, nice styling and very versatile. My only issue is that it is quite heavy, but not to the point of being a problem."
Review 3 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Short,
January 20, 2010
By: ghost
from RI
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Great quality and value, however for a long sized jacket the tail on this coat is just a little short for the style. It would also be nice to have 3 buttons as well."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team February 8, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the length of the Rio Mitre Jacket wasn't as he expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 4 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Coat; Super Price,
January 6, 2010
By: Mowog
from Scotch Plains NJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Well made, fits perfectly with sweater or just a shirt, warm, functional with all the pockets. The style makes this a very versatile coat. What more can I say. This was a super deal on a great coat. Way to go Orvis!"
Review 5 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great jacket!,
December 17, 2009
By: Orpheus
from Long Island, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this coat partly because it was on sale, partly from other customer reviews. It turned out to be as good as I might have hoped for...roomy, relatively light weight (compared to wool,) warm, lots of useful pockets. Color is light but very attractive. Yes, it could use a third button, but will work well for me without...good room in the shoulders, doesn't bind with a sweater underneath, but keeps its size with just a shirt...at this price, get it! What more do you want?"
Review 6 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket, A Few Flaws,
December 12, 2009
By: Paulg
from Silver City, New Mexico
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Like the heavy leather exterior and the many useful interior pockets. Coat is well made, with good construction and quality. Flaws include neck-strap that is either too tight or too loose, neck button dangles and has no smaller interior button to provide support (as do bottom two buttons), and jacket has no button mid-chest to hold it closed when using the bottom two buttons and neck button. Good for sport jacket use, but not useful when wind blows and you want to button-up."
Review 7 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!!,
November 16, 2009
By: Doglover6365
from Irwin, PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this jacket for my husband for Christmas. I let him try it on to make sure I didn't need to return it and it fit like a glove. The quality is superb, like all Orvis products. I got it on sale so the price was great as well. I can't wait until he can wear it!"
Review 8 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good but,
November 11, 2009
By: Gheri
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Overall a good jacket but I must say it needs two other features to make it a great jacket.
1. a third button, this is not a 2 button jacket another button would make this jacket close better on colder days.
2. lining at the bottom third of the jacket. The unlined portion leaves pilling from the inside of the jacket onto your pants. Not very nice when removing your jacket.
On another note;
slightly disappointed not sure if I was responsible because I did not inspect the jacket meticulously found a stain in the back of jacket. Lesson, check out the merchandize!
"
Review 9 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 11, 2009
By: ADGunner
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The jacket fits very well and is superb quality leather. The colour is a little different than the advertised photograph. The actual weight is slightly heavier than a good Harris Tweed jacket. Very comfortable. Buying the jacket on Sale was a bonus."
Review 10 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leather Jacket -,
November 11, 2009
By: LorenJ
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Soft leather, heavy, wind resistance and will wear forever."
Review 11 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rio Mitre = Bandera Leather Jacket (Light Brown),
August 24, 2009
By: Chico
from Cincinnati, OH
"Rio Mitre jacket is the same pocket configuration, same lines, and same high quality leather as the Bandera Leather jacket. The color is a mocha or fawn brown (as the other reviewer suggested) not a chocolate brown. Great jacket, great lines, at a great price."
Review 12 for Rio Mitre Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent fit,
May 12, 2009
By: solagratia
from South Wales, United Kingdom
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I had been thinking long about buying this jacket so when it appeared in the sale I bought it.
As with all ORVIS products it is stylish and fits well. It is a bit too warm for late Spring/Summer (even for the UK!) and I must be one of the few people waiting for cooler weather.
Just one point the colour of the jacket is a dark fawn brown and not the dark brown seen in the picture."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rio Mitre Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1