Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mesh-Backed Clays Vest

We had Sandanona Shooting Grounds' shooting instructors help create our men's exceptional clay shooting vest, because they know that the details make a good vest great for the serious shooter. That's why this vest sports articulated shoulders for mounting ease, a mesh back for ventilation and comfort, divided pockets for live shells and hulls, a non-slip faux suede shoulder patch, and tab snaps for a towel or ear muffs. Men's clay shooting vest in sage. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 of 30(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Review 1 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mesh-Backed Clays Vest,
September 5, 2014
By: JimVB
"I bought this vest about two years ago and really like it so have rated it 5 stars. I use it with my S/S collection that do not have the recoil butt pads that are on the stocks of my O/U collection. But, it is too hot in temps above 85 degrees or so regardless of the mesh backing. The most irritating thing is that while it has a pocket on the right inside to hold a recoil pad, it does not have a Velcro or any other way of closing that pocket and my recoil pad keeps falling out whenever I take off the vest. I have to remember to look for my recoil pad on the ground or buy a new one. Orvis needs to fix that with some kind of closing button or Velcro strip. For now I use duct tape."
Review 2 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A great Vest,
August 14, 2014
By: Bob77
from Bluffton,SC
"I like the vest however, the tops of the pockets should be reinforced ,perhaps with a darker fabric. After one use the tops soiled badly. I am having this done locally."
Review 3 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mens clay shooting vest,
April 29, 2014
By: vette60
"Quality product double stiiching rivets on pocket corners , easy to tget shells out of pocket easly holds full box of 12 gage shells , feels and works as good as it looks . Lot's of complents from the people at the club . ( where did you get that , nice looking , ect. )
Great buy .
"
Review 4 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality!,
March 27, 2014
By: Paddy420
from Springfield, PA
"Received the vest in record time! It's comfortable. All of the lines are perfectly laid out to insure no obstruction of raising gun in competition. Would like to see a shoulder pad specifically designed for this provided as an option."
Review 5 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good, however..,
February 18, 2014
By: NOGO
from NSCA
"Vest is fine, however can not keep it clean looking. WHEN WILL THE BLUE COLOR COME BACK! Wore the blue one out."
Review 6 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
STILL, BY FAR, The BEST VEST!,
January 16, 2014
By: Quantum
from Charlie, Texas
"I have this vest in XXL, but lost weight and needed a replacement in a smaller size. I have some other vests in smaller sizes and other brands, but found them sadly lacking. Please don't stop offering this vest! This is the BEST!!"
Review 7 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Excellent Christmas Gift,
January 16, 2014
By: Johnny63
from Richmond, VA
"I purchased this shooting vest as a gift to my new son-in-law. We occasionally shoot skeet together and he had commented on one that I have. The sales person was in his first day on the job, but did an outstanding job of going online to locate what I was looking for, ordered it for me and had it shipped to my home. When my son-in-law opened the gift, he was very pleased, and I was almost jealous enough to take it back from him! We look forwrad to shooting together very soon. Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 8 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice quality,
December 26, 2013
By: Ohiodeb
"Bought this vest for my husband for Christmas. He likes how lightweight it is, but wishes it was a little longer (he's 6'3"). Likes it enough he's keeping it."
Review 9 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad for shells,
December 11, 2013
By: NotAFan123
"My hands don't fit in the pockets. I have to curve them in an awkward position to get the shells. As far as I'm concerned this company pretends to know UK hunting styles but doesn't."
Review 10 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality vest,
November 21, 2013
By: MasonStorm
"Well made vest with only the right features, nothing excessive. I would say that sizes are generous; I am 6'2" (220 lbs) and the Large fit perfectly over a light shirt. Front pockets nicely hold a box of shells on each side, and the vest carries the weight well."
Review 11 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great clays vest,
October 21, 2013
By: tarcgaz
from Arizona
"Orvis quality vest as expected. Ordered an XL as I am 5'11" and 230 lbs and it is just a bit on the large size."
Review 12 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shooting vest,
September 4, 2013
By: ShooterSue
"good looking, great fit, pockets in the right places, roomy pockets for shells, pocket under quilted shoulder patch for my gel pack, this vest has it all."
Review 13 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality, as I'd expect,
June 24, 2013
By: 50Group
from New Castle, DE
"Fit, quality and function of this clays vest are excellent. The look of the vest is sharp and is not your run of the mill vest. Holds two boxes of shells easily and feels balanced."
Review 14 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for left handed shooters,
January 1, 2013
By: ladyclay
from Charlotte, NC
"Great looking vest in fit and color but not for left handed shooters. Shooters patch on left side not low enough. Puzzled by the loop on the vest and pocket is in the way. Too bad!!"
Review 15 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Culturally versatil Vest,
June 22, 2012
By: JaimeAlonso
"great to wear for traveling, business smart, and outdoor activities"
Review 16 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest!,
April 19, 2012
By: Brian2good
from Austin, TX
"This is a quality vest! Suede patches are synthetic leather which actually makes the vest less bulky and much lighter. Pockets are easy to use and hold 2 boxes of shells no problem. There is a pouch for gel recoil pad. Looks like the Beretta pads will fit.
Couldn't ask for more in a vest! Definitely my favorite.
"
Review 17 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iron clad vest,
March 16, 2012
By: troubles2
from portland or.
"this is a very popular shooting vest for trap and sporting clays here in oregon. style and just plain tuff."
Review 18 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Shooter's MUST HAVE Vest,
February 14, 2012
By: decoy
from beautiful midwest
"Another great Orvis product. The sizing is right, light weight, nice looking, bought the XL in Navy. It is exactly as described and maybe will improved the scores!!
Don't hesitate on this one.
"
Review 19 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shooting Vest,
February 8, 2012
By: luv2bbq
"Great craftsmanship. Strong zipper.Easy to get to pockets. Rings for shell bag and towel.Long enough for an easy reach into pockets for ammunition."
Review 20 for Mesh-Backed Clays Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves this vest,
January 3, 2012
By: PaulaS
from Spring Grove, IL
"I purchased this vest for my husband as a Christmas gift. He wore it the next day to go clay shooting. He absolutely loved the way it fit, pockets are ample and easy to get in and out of, nice style, very nicely made. I think the rest of his group is ready to go out and buy the same one; it puts theirs to shame."